Find companies:
General Mills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
308 reviews

General Mills Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautifull Culture
Global Business Manager (Current Employee), MississaugaJune 25, 2014
Empowering employees to do more
great management
Work life balance
Employees matter
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workpalce
Position: Machine Operator (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 24, 2014
I liked my job and I was a great worker and now just wanted to change my job and my career
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great inviroment
Shift Analyst (Former Employee), Trenton, ONJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: great workplace
Cons: us based moved division back to usa
chances for advancement, learning in the workplace, continue training, diverse culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the daily different tasks i had to encounter.
Multi-Pack Operator (Former Employee), Carson, CAJanuary 8, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits.
Cons: to many days of work before a day off.
I enjoyed my job duties. I learned to be open to new ideas. Management always emphasized on safety. My co workers where very special. My job wasn't hard at all. I enjoyed producing a food for consumers and knowing at the end of the day it was enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off frequently, management always talking about the place closing
Machine Operator/Labourer (Former Employee), Midland, ONOctober 6, 2012
Pros: pay is good when you actually work
Cons: always laid off. expected to be waiting by the phone in case they call
I had a supervisor break a piece off one of my machines and then write me up and supend me for three days. When I made a harassment claim through the union the company agreed to pay me for the three days I was suspended... And take thR suspension off my record.

October 23, 2012

Haa they will never change.....NEVER!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Food Mixer (Former Employee), Midland, ONSeptember 30, 2012
A typical day at work would include alot of weighing and dumping.
I learned alot about food with allergens.
Mangement were part of our team to help produce great products.
Team work enviroment. Very helpful.
Hardest part of job was alot of heavy lifting.
Most enjoyable i'd say was punch out time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers
Industrial Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), New Albany, INJanuary 23, 2015
New Albany, Indiana General Mills, Inc. plant is closing. Like the people that I work with, made a lot of good friends while working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre work environment
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: consistent work
Cons: poor management and no opportunities for advancement
The facility I worked at was small and managed poorly. It has since closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a well balance company
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Covington, GAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: the pay was good
Cons: it was a little to far to commute
I think that it was a great place to work and I got a lot of experience there under good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to grow professionally
Logistics Team Leader III (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 21, 2015
The company is supportive of its employees. Because of the large size, employees are able to work in a variety of areas, and are encouraged to find the best fit for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Logistics Business Manager (Current Employee), Golden Valley MNJanuary 20, 2015
I really enjoy working with great brands and great people.

2 rounds of layoffs in 2 years isn't fun to go through. Hopefully it will make the company stronger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and Downs
Customer Replenishment Analyst (Current Employee), Golden Valley, MNJanuary 20, 2015
Overall I have enjoyed my time with GMI. Like any job there are pros and cons. It’s an enormous company and people have a tendency to get stuck/lost if they are not able to lay out a plan and communicate with their manager next steps and career plans. Company is currently going through a large scale restructuring plan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capable Account to maintained accurate accounts assigned
Accountant I (Current Employee), MinnesotaJanuary 19, 2015
A typical day tend to work in fast -paced to meet deadline- oriented projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the relationship with coworkers
Operator (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: had a hard time with emergencies with my children
I enjoyed doing my daily jobs which were filling for anyone that was not at work. each day was a different task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management changed
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: free christmas dinner
Cons: great health benifits
the job was fun to have, its like any other place its always the people you work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has provided for many
Facilties Maintenance Pipe Fitter (Current Employee), Lodi, CAJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: onsite personal trainer and a very nice gym
Cons: plant is closing down
My day starts with a meeting with co-workers and direct manager.
We go over any issues from the previous shift.
Using the Maximo work order system. We prioritize our back log work orders. Print them out and get to working on them.
I do enjoy working with my co-workers. Their varying personalities makes for an enjoyable environment to be apart of.
My direct manager allows us the time to be creative and put pride into our projects.
The hardest part of my job would be the push to get a project installed between production down times. So far, we have never missed a dead line..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union environment
Quality Engineer I (Current Employee), West Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2015
The harder part of the job is the union environment and the plant culture. However, the salary team is very innovative and full of talent, to drive change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
SharePoint Client Services Consultant (Former Employee), Golden Valley, MNJanuary 9, 2015
I would have given General Mills all 5 Stars but I am only a contract so my job security/advancement is missing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the atmosphere.
Assistant Chef (Former Employee), Minneapolis MinnesotaJanuary 6, 2015
There was not enough hours and the upper management was all about himself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for motivated team players.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: great place to learn more than work skill...
Cons: management will play the numbers game with your hours. remember it's business not personal, but i understand it's hard not to take short hours as personal.
Great work environment for motivated team players. The hardest part about working here is you can't find job security on the hourly 40 bases as often as you may like. However, you can take advantage of learning more than one warehouse work environment skill set.

1 2 3 4 5

About General Mills

Our Brands. Your Legacy. Great brands start with the people that make them great. One of the world's leading food companies, – Read more

General Mills Photos