Find companies:
General Dynamics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
960 reviews

General Dynamics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take good care of employees.
Field Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: promotions
Cons: almost none
Always provided a challenging environment. Pay raises were timely and usually based on performance. Also provided promotions opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company when government has contracts available
Senior Robotics Technician (Former Employee), Westminster, MDAugust 7, 2014
Very collaborative atmosphere, short sighted executive management.
Should have diversified into commercial contracts, when Govt. contracts expired. Will suffer loss of subject matter experts for many years to come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its onlya temporary job
Marine Machine Mechanic (Current Employee), norfolk,vaAugust 6, 2014
it doesn't give you any benefits.
no incentives
a lot of over time hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no one on one customer contact was difficult for me
Telemarketing (Former Employee), Las Cruces NMAugust 5, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: on the phone the entire time
I truly enjoy one on one contact with customers, this position was confined to a cubicle and a phone, was not something I enjoyed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company. Decent benefits. Average Salary. Good Managers.
Security Control Assessor (Current Employee), VirginiaAugust 4, 2014
The workforce was good. Large company but you still felt somewhat like family with your immediate management. Flexible hours when the Contract could support it. Management was good at providing a work-life balance approach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Stryker NET Instructor (Current Employee), Irving,TXAugust 3, 2014
Great work environment with a diverse work location. Managers are very helpful with guiding their thought process though out to completion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
AFJWICS Exchange/Directory System Administrator (Current Employee), Lackland AFB, TXAugust 1, 2014
GDIT is a great employer with good opportunties for its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
IT Manager (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAJuly 31, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: possible positions changes attributed to being a contractor
We were a close knit group in the section of GD that I was in. However, since departure, they have increased in numbers, because of acquisitions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense, highly stressful job working with a challenging website and extremely frustrated and often angry people from across the U.S
Customer Service (Former Employee), Sandy, UTJuly 31, 2014
Pros: i learned a lot of new skills. the people i worked with. the benefits.
Cons: flawed website, poor training, they had a reduction of force for 600 of us
My day started out with letting my team know it was time to go onto the phones for the day. We had constant training and and updates on the changes in procedures for the Healthcare.gov website and signing up for the Affordable Care Act. We were required to learn how all the agencies interacted with each other and how to effectively explain to customers – more... how insurance works. We were rated both individually and as a team for quality, adherence and attendance. I then did my best to assist customers and agents in navigating and completing the application on a website that was not working properly. Our training was 40 hrs. and then we were on the phones. I learned to use soft skills (personal peace of mind techniques) to assist a very diverse group of people from across the U.S. I also learned a great deal about all aspects of the health and dental insurance industries, including medicaid and medicare. My coworkers were also a very diverse and awesome group of people and we helped each other all day everyday. I got skilled at managing my time and effectively assisting people. I learned to be more flexible because in a six month period we changed supervisors, teams, desks and lockers five times. The most difficult part of the job was working with a website that wasn't working properly for people who didn't want to have to sign up in the first place. We all needed more training. Communicating with consumers the results of their applications when they were not what they wanted to hear or when we knew there was an error because of the website and there was nothing we could do about it. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I could assist customers from start to finish and actually help them get insurance. I enjoyed educating people on how insurance works so they could make choices that were beneficial to them. I truly enjoyed the camaraderie we developed on all five of the teams I was a part of. I received a $500.00 bonus for maintaining a 92% or better score on quality, adherence and attendance for a six week period until my effective lay-off date. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice company to work for
Aoc ISA Support Network Engineer (Current Employee), Langley AFB, VAJuly 30, 2014
Had no problems working for GDIT and would except a position with them if given the chance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Torrinio Long
Senior Training and Development Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Huachuca, AZJuly 30, 2014
I am a Senior Training and Development Specialist in the 35M10 Human Intelligence Collections Course with educational and employment experience in: Human Services, Case Management, Counter-intelligence and Intelligence Operations. I have a reputation as a quick learner and is known for my public focus and my skills in problem-solving and interpersonal – more... skills working both collectively with a team and independently to complete all assignments. The foundation for my passion for training and development was formed in the two years involvement in Americorps /American Red Cross, working in the Special Education Department at Bolton High School and my involvement in the U.S. Army Intelligence Corps. I hold a Bachelor’s degree in Intelligence Operations and plan to attend Wayland Baptist University Online to pursue Master’s degree in Management and Leadership.

My experience within the Department of Defense, the American Red Cross and Volunteerism as well as being a disabled veteran has given me a breadth of knowledge involving intelligence, case work/ customer service and public affairs. Over the course of the pass 17 years I have grown in my knowledge of team building and leading. I also gained greater knowledge of assessing needs, problem solving through the use of collection and analytical tools while using Microsoft Outlook, Word, Excel and PowerPoint to produce link Diagrams, flow chart and graphs to both produce and promote the best service as well as making recommendations. At the Fort Huachuca U.S. Army Intelligence Center of Excellence I deliver trainings in developing people skills and working both individually as well as a team and play a key role in a ground-up analysis, and rewrite of training plans and documentation, consulting heavily with colleagues and managing teams of soldiers to ascertain and serve public’s needs. During my time of service with Americorps, I upgraded and maintained outreach to grade school students as well as senior citizens with the American Red Cross message. This afforded me opportunity to meet local and state officials and represent the American Red Cross on the national level as a member of the Louisiana First Responders team in Public Affairs. My work performance consistently demonstrates a tenacious ability to manage projects through to completion.

I am passionate for training and development involvement and believe it play’ a vital role in sustaining America’s future through partnering with the workforce in order to provide excellent services. I am open to and available for interviews at this time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviornment
Master Planner (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 30, 2014
I enjoyed the fast pace of the company. Planning the construction of Navy Vessels was very challenging and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Eng. Technician (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZ.July 29, 2014
Was a contractor with no benefits. Typical GD. Good learning experience. Received Exposure to new Equipment & Technologies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced work environment
Marine Electrician (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great healthcare benefits, great co workers
Cons: poor management in certain departments, hard to advance.
Some co workers are the reason to come into work, they are very loyal. Hardest part of the job is the physical demand, and weather conditions mixed with certain work environments. Management needs an upgrade as far as foremans and leadmen go. Benefits are great if you have a family. Advancement is hard to get within certain shops, because some supervisors – more... base it off of how much they like you individually rather then basing it off of your work. Job security is there and will always be there as long as contracts keep rolling in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Employee Morale
Customer Service Benefit Specialist/Peer Mentor (Former Employee), Riverview, FLJuly 28, 2014
My review is that there was lack of motivation, coming from those in higher authority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, OK Pay
Network Technician (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GAJuly 28, 2014
Great company to work for. Really great people and great employee benefits. Pay can be lower than alot of other competing companies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assembly Mechanic (Former Employee), Anniston, ALJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great place to work for
Cons: contract jobs
Typical day at this job was very short actually. I learned how military tanks were built and how things were put on them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Waco, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches and supervisors help
Cons: sometimes wasn't able to take my breaks on time
Help customers who had problems with passwords or just not being able to submit an application for healthcare. I mainly learned to be open minded and patient and to let consumer vent out. The hardest part was being cussed at from the consumers due to they were frustrated and tired of calling. Most enjoyable part was being able to help all those consumers – more... out by getting them health insurance or resetting the passwords after they had many failed attempts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A security officers job. Interesting, but no room for advancement.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Electric Boat Groton Ct.July 26, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: no job stability due to cut backs.
Overall job was good. I was there 4 years, was laid off due to cut backs. A typical day of working included plant facility security or controlling an access point throughout the facility. Management was good. Always had an open door policy. Co-workers were fun to work with and always available to teach new things, hardest part of the job was the boredom. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace excellent benefits and pay.
I obtained an Interim Security Clearance (Former Employee), Marion, VAJuly 22, 2014
Great place to work, it just isn't secure due to the orders received. I got layed-off within a year.

About General Dynamics

Generally dynamic, General Dynamics is a prime military contractor to the Pentagon (the US government accounts for about 70% of – Read more

General Dynamics Photos