Find companies:
General Dynamics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,009 reviews

General Dynamics Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
CSR (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSNovember 16, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: using empower
I think manager an supervisor should have been more available
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job duties basically was on the phone all day long
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chester, VANovember 15, 2014
Pros: very good pay for that time (2007)
Cons: short lunch break (30 mins.)
Punch the time clock about 8:30 (I think?). Go to desk and immediately put head phones on and start answering phone calls. Whenever necessary, transferred calls to proper location. Enjoyed speaking to the clients as they were calling about their Medicare/Medicaid benefits. Spoke to people all over the United States as well as some people who were in – more... other parts of the world. Although beneficiaries are given handbooks, however, they do not read their handbooks or if they do, they do not understand. Therefore we are there to help them with any information they need to know. We were always taking classes to keep abreast of changes in Medicare. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houston facility closed.
Supervisor - Customer Service (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 13, 2014
Pros: new venture
Cons: constant day to day changes, system issues.
Challenging. Rolled out the new Affordable Care Act. Federal Government contractor. Daily changes. Ongoing training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Groton, CTNovember 11, 2014
This company provides great job security and benefits. Great job for students fresh out of college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Customer Service (Current Employee), Panama City, FLNovember 11, 2014
Pros: buy lunches
Cons: breaks are short
The hardest part of the job is keeping up with your schedule adherence and your call quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
SIGINT Instructor (Current Employee), Fort Huachuca, AZNovember 10, 2014
Pros: open minded
Very balanced and fair company to work for.
Strong belief in team support and teamwork processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
PC Technician (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GANovember 9, 2014
Pros: excellent salary
Only worked 90 contract position but was impressed with companies structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Days
customer service (Current Employee), tampa flNovember 7, 2014
A typical work environment great place to work nice amtosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Dynamics
Advanced Resolution Customer Service (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSNovember 4, 2014
Loading up your computer and seeing how many outbound calls you had to make in a certain time period for the day. I learned a lot about health insurance. Management was at times unprofessional. I had some awesome co-workers within my team/isle. Hardest part of the job was not having proper information in front of me so I could perform duties that were – more... requested by customers. Most enjoyable part of the job was decent pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support and great management
Senior Information Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Atlanta, Ga.November 4, 2014
I would recommend this company to new hires.

This company offers great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great company
Security Specialist, Office of Space Launch NROV (Current Employee), Vandenberg, AFB CANovember 4, 2014
General Dynamics is a great company to work for, they offer great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intense and stressful work environment
Gen Med 1 (Former Employee), Chester, VANovember 3, 2014
Pros: an hour for lunch (depending on your shift), it's a sit down job, not too hard
Cons: all about the call volume and less about the people calling in for help and information
I found General Dynamics to be a stressful place to work. You're graded on each phone call and they do come back to back most of the time. Your entire work life there seems to revolve around a score card. Nothing is consistent, not your locker, not your desk, they move you around several times. I was there 6 months and my desk was moved 3 times as was – more... my locker. Oh and each call is timed! So rather than taking your time to help each person you are expected to take as many calls as possible while giving them accurate information. Less than 5 minutes is desirable. Not nearly enough time to properly help because you start looking at the clock and rushing them off the phone. It's my opinion this needs to change! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chester, VANovember 1, 2014
on a daily basis this was a very strict job they were not flexible when it came down to a single mom life things change with schools and if something came up and if you let them know it still penalized you once you reach a certain number of points you were on a warning and then your job was on the line
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical workday at General Dynamics Inoformation Technology
Certified Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chester, VAOctober 31, 2014
Pros: free health insurance
Cons: too noisy
Sign on to your computer
Logon to the phone
study different scripts
wait for a call to come in
answer call
discuss services GDIT has to offer with consumer
end call
wait for next call
continue to study scripts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job was a chill office type enviorment
Customer Service (Former Employee), Chester, VAOctober 30, 2014
A day at this job went by pretty smoothly when you just do your job, i learned good communication and computer skills here at this job, the management wasnt very good but it was ok, i got along with the coworkers there but they were mostly women, the hardest part of my job was talking all day almost non stop, the enjoyable part was that it was a chill – more... relaxing sit down job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for retirement.
Systems Administrator 3 (Current Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: a great place to retire
Cons: poor management, no advancements, lots of deadbeats
- Poor management
- No advancements
- Many people working here are sitting around waiting to retire
- Employees not held accountable for their mistakes
- Low morale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable co-workers
assist customers (Current Employee), Lynn Haven, FLOctober 29, 2014
help consumers with their health insurance needs. Answer questions that consumers have with their applications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company all around
Welder and R&D Fabricator (Former Employee), Quonset point, Rhode islandOctober 28, 2014
Pros: great pay and packages
Cons: shift work can take its toll on your family life
Great company too work for with amazing benefits and good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Project Administrator (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 27, 2014
This job allowed me to work early hours to assist with taking care of my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Dynamics
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Winchester, KyOctober 26, 2014
A typical day at General Dynamics is overall laid back, it can be stressful but it is a good place to be employed. I've learned quite a bit, such as health care, NGD (next generation desktop), how to handle crisis situations, etc. All of my coworkers are great and the management team is overall pretty good. Most everyone there is willing to help you – more... in any way they can. My coworkers are the most enjoyable part of this job. – less

About General Dynamics

Generally dynamic, General Dynamics is a prime military contractor to the Pentagon (the US government accounts for about 70% of – Read more

General Dynamics Photos