Find companies:
General Dynamics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,006 reviews

General Dynamics Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 7, 2014
Provides a good informational training, calm atmosphere. Was already aware of the call center and clients that I was working for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), London, KYDecember 6, 2014
Pros: good pay, good insurance and three breaks
Cons: consumers who would cuss you out for trying to help
I learnt more about computers, phone headsets and people in general. My co-workers were easy to get along with. A typical day at work was like any other. Log in to computer and phone, start up caller program and handle calls from agents/consumers/doctors. The hardest part was dealing with foreigners who were hard to understand and couldn't understand – more... you, consumers who were hard of hearing and consumers who would cuss you out for no reason. The most enjoyable might have been consumers who were pleasant and polite. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for General Dynamics for almost 12 years
Systems Administrator (Former Employee), Qatar, and MarylandNovember 30, 2014
I was a helpdesk IT lead technician in charge of over 13 people. I am willing to take a job in the IT field but am also very open to working any job that might be available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Work and long hours
C4ISR Deprocessor Lead (Former Employee), Fort Lewis, WANovember 28, 2014
Work 8 to 12 hour shifts 5 to 7 days a week to meet a fielding dead line of a new Army vehicle during a time of war. The Team Chief was a normal retired maintenance sergeant attitude blunt and no nonsense which I was use to. Dealt with it and paid a good wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice enviorment to work
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Lynn Haven, FLNovember 24, 2014
Pros: free education and the chance to help people understand insuranceand how it works
Cons: it was temporary
I really liked this work we did here. I had a chance to help as if I would if I worked in the medical field. General dynamics is a government organization that took on the contract of enrolling America into the affordable care act. I was a customer service representative that made and received inbound and outbound calls also web chat mostly at the same – more... time. My job was to not only to enroll but to educate as well. With mostly every call or chat I had to educate my fellow American about what they are signing up for and why it was important to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GDIT Experience
Senior Computer Analyst/Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), MDNovember 23, 2014
• Web Applications Team Project Manager, supporting the Information Technology/Information Management (IT/IM) 7.2.2, was responsible for managing, coordinating resources and processes to deliver software releases/upgrades of web-based products, while helping to define the vision, definition and strategy for the team following policy, procedures, standards – more... and guidelines
• Managed 100’s of NAVAIR’s web sites/web application projects from analyzing, refining requirements gathering with customers, design, architecture/coding, integration, testing, implementation, milestone/progress monitoring, quality assessment controls, financial tracking and training/maintenance support
• Proficient in working in a fast moving, high pressure, dynamic team-oriented environment with critical deadlines
• I evaluated and provided recommendations on new technology and architecture; supporting customers to solve website and web browser issues; experience designing, developing, installing, implementing and maintaining web applications; and troubleshooting HTML and CSS to solve website rendering issues
• GDIT Team Lead in which I managing multiple employees who require leave, timesheet, personnel actions, employee appraisals, data calls and monthly status reports
• Assisted in managing the NAVAIR’s corporate portal, MyNavair, a commercial portal development tool, as well as development of web-based software applications
• Worked on a daily basis with other team leads to plan and execute projects, ensure that teams have appropriate product and technical specifications, direction, project plans, impact analyst, cost estimates, ROM, Memorandum of Agreements (MOA), Technical Service Agreements (TSA), translate functional/technical requirements into technical specifications and resources to deliver products effectively by establishing realistic estimates for timelines while ensuring that projects remain on target to meet deadlines – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Instructor (Former Employee), MichiganNovember 21, 2014
Great Company to work I started out as a mechanic working for a temp agency and was able to get hired on full time as an instructor. From there I was able to travel OCONUS, athough nowhere exciting, it enabled me to gain valuable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work politics made life hard
Electrician/Testing Engineer (Former Employee), Groton CTNovember 21, 2014
Constant threats of lay offs - power hungry people.
Good people outside of ones own department.
Had ability to work independently, little supervision or over sight, was relied on to perform highest level of tasking and coordination with other departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work habbits
1 class welder/ pipe /structural (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 20, 2014
Pros: must have good people to work with but can adaped to ant envirmeny
Cons: safe working conditions
I just enjoy working hard,building new things,love a challenge.read blue prints pretty good,like to work lot of hours when required.stick,mig,tig,plasma cut,burn,grind,operate anything.given the chance with the right company will make that company lots of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Sr.Consultant (Current Employee), CTNovember 20, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: low pay
Fun place to work and good learning environment. You are encouraged to learn new technologies and implement them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized and very unfriendly
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sandy, UtahNovember 19, 2014
Pros: over time available
Cons: you can't have any personal items at your desk.
I have never worked for a company as micromanaged as this company. I'm an educated adult and have a variety of experience in different fields. This company treats everyone as a number and not by experience or special training. Its completely ran by who knows who.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work and pay
Customer Service/Call Center (Current Employee), Sandy, UTNovember 19, 2014
A good place to work for a short period of time. It was hard to move up and a lot of supervisors were not helpful at all, I don't know how they got that position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOV contract MRAP
MRAP Heavy Equipment Quality Assurance Supervisor (Former Employee), AfghanistanNovember 19, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: gone for a year at a time in a war zone
OCONUS position, made lots of money working 7 - 12's for a 360 day rotation, fixed MRAP's for anyone who needs the job done. Life sucked but the pay makes up for it. The company is awesome and took very good care of everything needed or wanted. My management team was outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
CSR agent (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 18, 2014
Cons: very stressful
Collections representative for Macy's, Home Depot, Avon and Chevron. High volume calls, at-least 120 plus calls per day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 18, 2014
I would receive incoming calls on a daily basis on assisting the customer with applying for healthcare.I learned to be patient, listen to customers and problem solve. I enjoyed my job. The hardest part of the job was finding out the Houston location was closing down
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Trainee (Former Employee), London, KYNovember 17, 2014
Pros: trainers was fun
Cons: short breaks
i sit there a listened to them talk and took notes and did everything they said.
got 3 breaks a day
co-workers was nice
had good people around me they was nice and helped me when i had a problem with my computer
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience in a high pace environment.
Manager of Human Resources & EEO/AA Officer (Former Employee), North Kingstown, RINovember 17, 2014
Very friendly people and extremely structured environment to work in. Company is growing rapidly and has a great stable outlook ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fun place to work.
Technician II-Engineering (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNNovember 16, 2014
The company was fun to work with. People are friendly. I enjoy working with the company because I received thoroughly trained on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
CSR (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSNovember 16, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: using empower
I think manager an supervisor should have been more available
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job duties basically was on the phone all day long
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chester, VANovember 15, 2014
Pros: very good pay for that time (2007)
Cons: short lunch break (30 mins.)
Punch the time clock about 8:30 (I think?). Go to desk and immediately put head phones on and start answering phone calls. Whenever necessary, transferred calls to proper location. Enjoyed speaking to the clients as they were calling about their Medicare/Medicaid benefits. Spoke to people all over the United States as well as some people who were in – more... other parts of the world. Although beneficiaries are given handbooks, however, they do not read their handbooks or if they do, they do not understand. Therefore we are there to help them with any information they need to know. We were always taking classes to keep abreast of changes in Medicare. – less

About General Dynamics

Generally dynamic, General Dynamics is a prime military contractor to the Pentagon (the US government accounts for about 70% of – Read more

General Dynamics Photos