Find companies:
General Dynamics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
890 reviews

General Dynamics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, takes care of their customers
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), London, ONApril 23, 2014
My day started with email and messenger communication. Going through your work, if you have special projects, looking at schedule to see what I was up to that day. 1/2 hour lunch. Afternoon meetings, team meeting once a week. Once a month company overview

I learned many programs. I was doing a lot inventory control which I am very versed in but I learned – more... about goverment warehouses. I learned 3 new systems
My co-workers with great team players and I made many life long friends.

The most enjoyable part was all my work with data. I enjoy analyzing data. I was able to work with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Supply chain (Former Employee), London, ONApril 18, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: horrible working conditions, management uses threats and intimidation.
Working for GD was a horrible experience between nepotism gone wild and poor manager who believe to be a leader you have to threaten and "ride" the employee. Going to Human resources to complain your human rights have been violated or the working conditions are unsafe is a one way ticket out the door. This is a company that says all the right things, – more... but cannot back them up. I have heard of people being physically attacked by other co-workers with no consequences to the other worker. The battle damaged vehicles coming back from the front line are not "clean" but HR will tell you they are and that you are a liar. I have seen things that GD did not prepare me to see. Forced to work over-time upto 7 days a week for over a year. No regard for burning out employees, plenty more waiting in line to join GD is the theory they subscribe too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was very challenging.
Electrician Journeyman (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: good christmas vacations yearly
Cons: the "defense cuts".
Started as an apprentice - left as a journeyman. Learned numerous details about shipbuilding production as well as ship repair work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Train new employees, lead hand, repair welds (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 30, 2014
i would do something different almost everyday..the day seemed to go by quickly most days.. i learned alot about lavs..and how they work in the battle field..what they can do and how they protect the army personnel...my co-workers were great easy to get along with..the hardest part of job was repairing someones eleses work..the most enjoyable was the – more... paycheck.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A process-driven workplace full of system engineers
Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: low morale
This used to be a descent workplace. Recent cutbacks have lowered the morale of the entire company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility
Mechanical Engineering Designer (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: in house cafeteria
Cons: contract based work which can be inconsistent and dependant
GD Canada is a great place to work for junior to senior employees.They are very flexible when it comes to work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it rains it pours
Systems (Current Employee), OntarioOctober 16, 2013
Pros: overtime pay
Cons: long hours, low morale
A typical day involves most coworkers unhappily trudging through their workload as the hours are long. After 12 hour days, refusal to do more that day can result in being viewed by higher ups as "not a team player". The most enjoyable part of the job is the overtime pay, when it is given. Coworkers are great and are helpful digging through the trenches – more... with you, often supplying cards and treats when someone works themselves to sickness, but thanks from management is hollow. Constant talk of layoffs gives the coworkers nervous chuckles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company where people are friendly and work together to achieve the challenging work goals
Senior Component Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2013
Pros: the people work and interact great together.
Cons: work greatly influenced by outside contracts - or the lack of it
The company sets the goals high and through the combined effort of employees usually achieves them. It is a good place to work for.

In-house fitness programs and the gym right on-site. It is a good way to workout the stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 Years with GD so very enjoyable place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: benefits, pension plan, well known company
I love working here and have been in Finance for the past 32 years. I would just like to find some part time work in a different setting such as retail in a store like Bouclair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced defence organization
Data Transfer and Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 21, 2013
working with engineers, government bodies and sub-contractors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Junior System Integration Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 7, 2013
Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average work environment, delays in winning/awarding new contracts creates some job security uncertainty
ILS (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 9, 2012
Pros: compensation
Cons: long hours
Excellent compensation and benefits
work hard play hard attitude
at core is Engineering company
need to win to big contracts to keep system integration critical mass rolling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GDC is an excellent company. Employee support is outstanding
Senior Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 30, 2012
Pros: excellent employee support, outreach programs, good benefits and pension, supports employee welfare
Cons: very long hours
As a long term employee of General Dynamics, I feel I am in a position to give them a very positive and honest review. Through strong leadership, GDC has overcome many obstacles over the years to enable itself to thrive in the marketplace. Being recognized as a grandfather in hi-tech, it has built its reputation on quality products and delivery excellence.
They – more... have an outstanding employee support program that includes not only the financial benefits of their employees but the mental and physical attributes of their employees.
GDC has honorably earned 5 stars – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very "Good old Boy" organization.
Senior Specialist Instructor/Training Developer (Current Employee), Sierra Vista, AZJuly 21, 2014
Learning about the forensic field is fantastic. So many areas. During the course of the day you may be required to be involved in many aspects of the course. The management to me is partial to many and could have more discipline in controlling individual action of coworkers. Some of the co-workers are very knowledgeable and many need to grow up. These, – more... unfortunately are the ones in the "Good old Boy" arena. Communication is the hardest part between the workers. I believe the most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfaction that comes from seeing the students graduate with a wealth of knowledge this course has to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Administrative Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee), Manassas, VAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: we had a lot of team building
Cons: sometimes space did not allow for seperation of gathering
Emails, how to deal with the day to day atmosphere, receiving the information from management regarding tasks to be carried out,
the job was always moving, it had its challenges. Though the job moved constant everyone was there for each other. At the end of the day I had a feeling of knowing I was part of a bigger picture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
customer service (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: pay, people, benefits
Cons: short breaks
i loved working for a call center. the pay was awesome. the people i met in the work place were amazing. it just felt right. hardest part of the job was signing people up for what they called for. sometimes they didnt really cooperate it was a little frustrating sometimes but cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place, co workers get along well
Machinist 1/CNC Operator 1 (Current Employee), Kilgore, TXJuly 18, 2014
Pros: company activities
Cons: short lunch breaks, frequent short periods of no work
Create parts on manual mill or lathe
I have learned many procedures for creating parts on the manual lathe such as knurling, threating, and boreing
All my co-workers are very friendly and always happy to help when you ask for assistance
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great
Mechanical Designer (Current Employee), Newton, NCJuly 17, 2014
Pros: healthcare, learning opportunities
Cons: no advancement, poor management, poor management structuring
Used to love it but now the management is structured poorly. None of them know what really goes on to bring a product from a customer specification to a finished deliverable. They can only evaluate an employee's worth by his educational and social background, and not the talent or skills he has. Many of the managers are not even on site now so they – more... are disconnected from the people here. They do not compensate their current experienced employees, but will hire new employees and pay them more. Therefore, it is good for initial starting pay, but it is not a good place for advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative,very unorganized
csr (Former Employee), sandy utahJuly 15, 2014
Pros: schedule swap
Cons: no supervisior
it was not very organized, no supervisors no one to keep track hard to get in and speak with any managment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced & fun work place.
Naval Ship Repair Material Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: i make $23hr
Cons: no room to advance for at least 12 years
I started at Metro Machine three months after I separated from service, which was sold to General Dynamics along with three other companies. I like my job, but the opportunity for advancement has gone up in smoke due to the managers who have been at Earl Industries or Metro for 20+ years. I like the companies direction, but I have a skill set meant – more... for a management position.

My wife and I are from the Triad of N.C. We would like to move closer to home to be with aging family. This is the perfect opportunity to find employment until retirement and be able to move. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About General Dynamics

Generally dynamic, General Dynamics is a prime military contractor to the Pentagon (the US government accounts for about 70% of – Read more

General Dynamics Photos