Find companies:
General Dynamics
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
931 reviews

General Dynamics Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trained USA Militery
Service Representative (Former Employee), London, ONAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great money and benifits
Cons: long days
.All my work was Classified
classified
classified
Classified
Classified
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, takes care of their customers
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), London, ONApril 23, 2014
My day started with email and messenger communication. Going through your work, if you have special projects, looking at schedule to see what I was up to that day. 1/2 hour lunch. Afternoon meetings, team meeting once a week. Once a month company overview

I learned many programs. I was doing a lot inventory control which I am very versed in but I learned – more... about goverment warehouses. I learned 3 new systems
My co-workers with great team players and I made many life long friends.

The most enjoyable part was all my work with data. I enjoy analyzing data. I was able to work with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Supply chain (Former Employee), London, ONApril 18, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: horrible working conditions, management uses threats and intimidation.
Working for GD was a horrible experience between nepotism gone wild and poor manager who believe to be a leader you have to threaten and "ride" the employee. Going to Human resources to complain your human rights have been violated or the working conditions are unsafe is a one way ticket out the door. This is a company that says all the right things, – more... but cannot back them up. I have heard of people being physically attacked by other co-workers with no consequences to the other worker. The battle damaged vehicles coming back from the front line are not "clean" but HR will tell you they are and that you are a liar. I have seen things that GD did not prepare me to see. Forced to work over-time upto 7 days a week for over a year. No regard for burning out employees, plenty more waiting in line to join GD is the theory they subscribe too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Train new employees, lead hand, repair welds (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 30, 2014
i would do something different almost everyday..the day seemed to go by quickly most days.. i learned alot about lavs..and how they work in the battle field..what they can do and how they protect the army personnel...my co-workers were great easy to get along with..the hardest part of job was repairing someones eleses work..the most enjoyable was the – more... paycheck.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A process-driven workplace full of system engineers
Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 28, 2013
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: low morale
This used to be a descent workplace. Recent cutbacks have lowered the morale of the entire company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility
Mechanical Engineering Designer (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: in house cafeteria
Cons: contract based work which can be inconsistent and dependant
GD Canada is a great place to work for junior to senior employees.They are very flexible when it comes to work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it rains it pours
Systems (Current Employee), OntarioOctober 16, 2013
Pros: overtime pay
Cons: long hours, low morale
A typical day involves most coworkers unhappily trudging through their workload as the hours are long. After 12 hour days, refusal to do more that day can result in being viewed by higher ups as "not a team player". The most enjoyable part of the job is the overtime pay, when it is given. Coworkers are great and are helpful digging through the trenches – more... with you, often supplying cards and treats when someone works themselves to sickness, but thanks from management is hollow. Constant talk of layoffs gives the coworkers nervous chuckles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company where people are friendly and work together to achieve the challenging work goals
Senior Component Specialist (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2013
Pros: the people work and interact great together.
Cons: work greatly influenced by outside contracts - or the lack of it
The company sets the goals high and through the combined effort of employees usually achieves them. It is a good place to work for.

In-house fitness programs and the gym right on-site. It is a good way to workout the stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company - Many good people
Field Service Rep (Former Employee), Kingston, OntarioOctober 2, 2013
Very good company. I worked on a project that was managed in Calgary but located in Ontario. With Government budget cuts my position was cancelled. Excellent benefits, good salary and outstanding support from Staff managing travel, benefits, pay etc. Would love to work for GD again some day. Alot of special people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 Years with GD so very enjoyable place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: benefits, pension plan, well known company
I love working here and have been in Finance for the past 32 years. I would just like to find some part time work in a different setting such as retail in a store like Bouclair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced defence organization
Data Transfer and Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee), London, ONJanuary 21, 2013
working with engineers, government bodies and sub-contractors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Junior System Integration Engineer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 7, 2013
Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.Great people. Good work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average work environment, delays in winning/awarding new contracts creates some job security uncertainty
ILS (Former Employee), OttawaNovember 9, 2012
Pros: compensation
Cons: long hours
Excellent compensation and benefits
work hard play hard attitude
at core is Engineering company
need to win to big contracts to keep system integration critical mass rolling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GDC is an excellent company. Employee support is outstanding
Senior Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 30, 2012
Pros: excellent employee support, outreach programs, good benefits and pension, supports employee welfare
Cons: very long hours
As a long term employee of General Dynamics, I feel I am in a position to give them a very positive and honest review. Through strong leadership, GDC has overcome many obstacles over the years to enable itself to thrive in the marketplace. Being recognized as a grandfather in hi-tech, it has built its reputation on quality products and delivery excellence.
They – more... have an outstanding employee support program that includes not only the financial benefits of their employees but the mental and physical attributes of their employees.
GDC has honorably earned 5 stars – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast paced position
Network Engineer (Current Employee), Coronado, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: beautiful environment
Cons: don't get time to take a break for lunch to enjoy beautiful environment
Never boring - always something new and exciting to work on.
Learned a lot about LAN/CAN/MAN/WAN network engineering/administration. Learned a lot about Cisco Call Manager, Network Security, IPV4 Subnetting, DHCP appliance, Cisco Secure ACS, Fiber and Cat5/5e/6 cabling and infrastructure. Working with TACLAN Encryptors.
Worked with management and managed – more... small staff of network engineers.
Trained co-workers on various tasks - delegated responsibilities to co-workers.
Hardest part of the job is the extreme workload and finding enough time in the day to train co-workers, solve problems, plan future network changes, attend meetings.
Enjoyable part of the job is solving problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun till we started getting busy and they lied and would make us work on mandatory days. I have to work 13 days once without a day off.
Customer service rep (Former Employee), Sandy UtahAugust 23, 2014
Pros: holiday pay from day one. cheap health insurance.
It was good for the most part but the management would always lie to us. They would offer employee referral and wouldn't give you your bonuses and stuff like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Tedious Work.
Mechanic (Current Employee), JBLM, WAAugust 22, 2014
Pros: good way to travel the world, great pay
Cons: long hours, away from family for along time
Typical day would be I show up at the office at 0720, 0740 safety meeting begins. At 0800 drive your personal vehicle over to the service bay start unpacking a connex into the bay. Move vehicles into the bay and start servicing them. At 1200 take lunch, 1300 go back to to work until vehicles are complete or 1530, whichever one comes first. 1600 start – more... doing time-cards on KIOSKS (2 laptops, 10 people). 1630 leave the work site for the house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work. But, good people to do it with
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee), Getzville NYAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: losing ground on maintaining work
5x8 work week when not under the gun
60 or 80 hr work week when under the gun
hard work and results don't always pay off
management would work with you
co-workers were good at their work and good to be around
finding out that we didn't have more work awarded
the feeling of accomplishment when you and your team delivers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medicare Representative at GDIT
Medicare Bilingual Specialist (Current Employee), Riverview, FLAugust 22, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: lack of leadership, poor managment
Calls are always back to back, but it is a very easy job.
The company trains you well and you are provided with all the materials needed to perform an excellent job. Lots of overtime during Open Enrollment Season
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, but good work environment
Current Employee (Current Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
Good for driven people. Good room for advancement. No negatives, not much management favoritism. Must be good at your craft or profession, nothing wrong with that. Pay is competitive, however global competition in shipbuilding industry may keep salary down. Better salaries for your skill set are likely. However, good place to get your feet wet and learn. – more... Pro process improvement environment, everyone from sweepers to VP's participate. Team worker is key to success. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About General Dynamics

Generally dynamic, General Dynamics is a prime military contractor to the Pentagon (the US government accounts for about 70% of – Read more

General Dynamics Photos