General Dynamics Information Technology

General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility
Mechanical Engineering Designer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta23 October 2013
GD Canada is a great place to work for junior to senior employees.They are very flexible when it comes to work/life balance.
Pros
In house cafeteria
Cons
Contract based work which can be inconsistent and dependant
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it rains it pours
Systems (Current Employee) –  Ontario16 October 2013
A typical day involves most coworkers unhappily trudging through their workload as the hours are long. After 12 hour days, refusal to do more that day can result in being viewed by higher ups as "not a team player". The most enjoyable part of the job is the overtime pay, when it is given. Coworkers are great and are helpful digging through the trenches with you, often supplying cards and treats when someone works themselves to sickness, but thanks from management is hollow. Constant talk of layoffs gives the coworkers nervous chuckles.
Pros
overtime pay
Cons
Long hours, low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company where people are friendly and work together to achieve the challenging work goals
Senior Component Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2013
The company sets the goals high and through the combined effort of employees usually achieves them. It is a good place to work for.

In-house fitness programs and the gym right on-site. It is a good way to workout the stress.
Pros
The people work and interact great together.
Cons
Work greatly influenced by outside contracts - or the lack of it
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company - Many good people
Field Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Kingston, Ontario2 October 2013
Very good company. I worked on a project that was managed in Calgary but located in Ontario. With Government budget cuts my position was cancelled. Excellent benefits, good salary and outstanding support from Staff managing travel, benefits, pay etc. Would love to work for GD again some day. Alot of special people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vangent Canada is fun and exciting
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 August 2013
The hardest part is Vangent Canada is no longer in the business anymore.
Pros
We have everymonth birthday celebration
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviromment de travail agréable
OPÉRATEUR DE PRODUCTION (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC2 April 2013
Mon travail consiste à assembler différente composante sur des mortiers, manipulation d'automate, partir les automates au début de chaque quart et arrêts pour les pauses, entretients des tempoprints: au début du quart, netoyer les imprimantes, changer l'encre, si problème avec les imprimantes,les mettres à l'arrêt et renettoyer ou changer les tempons de l'imprimante ou encore changer la plaque de métal ou sont gravé le lettrage à imprimer sur les mortiers. Je travail d'habitude avec un autre employé dans le cubicule (endroit fermé par des portes blindés car là nous mettons les beignes remplient d'explosif sur la queue du mortier (4 par tête) soit environs 4800 beignes par jours pour un total de 1200 mortier. Ce que j'aime dans mon travail c'est qu'il y a beaucoup de chose différente à faire et à vérifier, beaucoup de point d'inspection visuelle à faire, les automates à débuger, la vittesse d'exicution pour mettre les beignes sur les queues ( à coup de six mortier x 4 beignes en moins d'une minute) Bref un environnement stimulant où les nombreuses tâches à accomplir remplissent bien une journée et le temps passe vite,un environnement très sécuritaire malgré le danger de manipuler de l'explosif.
Pros
la paye est bonne, les conditions de travail sont excellante, nous sommes bien respecter de tous les dirigeant du plus petit au plus grand, on ne se sents pas en bas de l'échelle
Cons
souvent des mises à pieds donc insécurité d'emploie
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, small enviorment
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 March 2013
It was like a small office with about 20 staff so we were like a little family, and most of the employees got along very well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, Ontario5 March 2013
Typical day at work:
Going to see your friends. We work in a profesional way and we do respect one another.

Learned how to be patient,how to appreciate having a job.

Management: I don't deal with the management, but from an employee point of view, i would give them a 6 out of 10.

co-workers: great personalities

Hardest part of the job: sometimes we get so much work we have to concentrate all day.

the most enjoyable part of the job: is one when laugh, when we tell jokes to eath other, or when i bring tea bags and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement très Agréable
Opératrice de production (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC24 February 2013
C'est une belle ambiance , un bon salaire , mais il manque de travail.
Instructif la fabrication de munitions ..
Pros
de bons avantages sociaux, travail d'équipe, formation en usine
Cons
il manque de travail!
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 Years with GD so very enjoyable place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 January 2013
I love working here and have been in Finance for the past 32 years. I would just like to find some part time work in a different setting such as retail in a store like Bouclair.
Pros
benefits, pension plan, well known company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced defence organization
Data Transfer and Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 January 2013
working with engineers, government bodies and sub-contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hear productivity is very excellent,
Supply Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kuwait13 January 2013
We are working here 6 days a week every day 8 to 10 hours , We learned about safety about how to growing behavior , about perfect management. I am working with my co-workers together .......
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail normal et bon salaire
Journalier (Current Employee) –  Québec, QC20 November 2012
beaucoup de formation obtenu dans cette entreprise.bonne relation entre les patrons et employés.
Pros
condition de travail
Cons
rotation horaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average work environment, delays in winning/awarding new contracts creates some job security uncertainty
ILS (Former Employee) –  Ottawa9 November 2012
Excellent compensation and benefits
work hard play hard attitude
at core is Engineering company
need to win to big contracts to keep system integration critical mass rolling
Pros
compensation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail agréable
Opérateur de production (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC31 October 2012
un bon rendement avec une bonne esprit d'equipe le developpement etait possible.Le plus difficile c'était de mettre ma vie en danger à tous les jours vu le explosifs avec lequels je travaillait.
Pros
personnel de bonne humeur
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 May 2012
This place was a good place to work, the employees and manager where very friendly and pleasant to work for
Cons
contract work no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and fun people
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2012
Working in vangent is so great because i have many good peers and very kind boss. They also treal me very well ever since in a newbie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GDC is an excellent company. Employee support is outstanding
Senior Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 March 2012
As a long term employee of General Dynamics, I feel I am in a position to give them a very positive and honest review. Through strong leadership, GDC has overcome many obstacles over the years to enable itself to thrive in the marketplace. Being recognized as a grandfather in hi-tech, it has built its reputation on quality products and delivery excellence.
They have an outstanding employee support program that includes not only the financial benefits of their employees but the mental and physical attributes of their employees.
GDC has honorably earned 5 stars
Pros
excellent employee support, outreach programs, good benefits and pension, supports employee welfare
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report

See more General Dynamics Information Technology reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Dynamics Information Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,121 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

80%
913 ratings
Add your rating

General Dynamics Information Technology Reviews by Location