General Dynamics Information Technology

General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position
Area Manager Customer Service and Support (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 July 2015
As an Area Manager of the Field Service Team I was responsible to:

Analyze the scope of work required to complete engineering changes to the GD produced family of armoured vehicles
co-ordinate parts ordering and shipping to the customer facility.
Team selection to travel to install changes
Arrange Travel for all personnel
Supervise personnel at the job site
Maintain accurate vehicle records
Input information into the vehicle database at the completion of the job
Pros
World Travel
Cons
Duration of some jobs and working conditions at some facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience!
Environmental, Health and Safety, Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 June 2015
I was happy to enhance my career working at General Dynamics Land Systems. I worked with some wonderful people. The most enjoyable part of my job was protecting the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great salary, poor opportunities for advancement, inept middle management.
Engineering (Current Employee) –  London, ON23 June 2015
The pros:
Great starting salary

The cons:
Little training or mentorship
Inept middle management
Little opportunity for advancement
Rife with nepotism and favouritism
Hires on contract
Pros
Great starting salary
Cons
Little training or mentorship, Inept middle management, Little opportunity for advancement, Rife with nepotism and favouritism, Hires on contract
Was this review helpful?Yes12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dommage
(Qc) Machiniste commandes numériques (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC21 March 2015
Dommage ,très belle job mais malheureusement plus d'ouvrage. Rien à dire contre
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an exciting International Company.
Manager, Quality Systems (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 February 2015
General Dynamics is a manufacturing organization with high Quality and People standards. It rewards employees with some of the best benefits and career opportunities available. I would gladly recommend it to anyone.
Your hours of work are flexible. Core hours are expected but accommodations can be made for personal requirements.
The people are very professional with high levels of education.
Pros
Annual bonuses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Directeur de Production
DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION, QUART DE NUIT (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC3 February 2015
La journée type est de voir ce qui ces fait avant et de s'assurer que pour votre quart il y est le personnel voulu pour comblé la production.

Voir a ce que chacun utilise les EPI et exécute le travail sécuritairement.
Pros
Bonus trimestre et annuel
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur4 December 2014
Respect envers tous les employés, donc réciprocité.
Beaucoup d'ouverture envers les employés.
Particulièrement aimé gérer les agendas, la réservation de voyages.
Egalement participer au journal mensuel de l'entreprise.
Organisation des visites à l'international.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emplois agréable
Opératrice de production (Former Employee) –  LeGardeur23 September 2014
Ambiance de travail correct , bon salaire , mais à risque . Rotation de chiffres (jour , Nuit, soir ) . Avantages vraiment très bon . Aux contrats donc souvent mise en disponibilité ou à pied .
Pros
salaire, avantages
Cons
Souvent mise en disponibilité ou mise à pied
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military procurement
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 September 2014
Company had a excellent business culture. Well focused and goal oriented. The culture was so entrenched that changing things was a challenge for management
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail de production
Opérateur-ajusteur (Former Employee) –  Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, QC5 August 2014
une entreprise de production militaire (munition) qui a une très grande
expertise dans ce domaine .
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast paced
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton24 June 2014
The supervisor was not allowing for growth. Many levels of service that need special knowledge and was not given the needed time to learn.
Pros
Learning faster ways to manage data entry
Cons
Management/trainer infighting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
OPÉRATRICE DE PRODUCTION (Former Employee) –  Repentigny, QC26 May 2014
 Effectuer des opérations de production sur plusieurs chaînes de montage, avec minutie;
 Réaliser des tests de qualité à l’aide de gabarits en respectant les standards;
 Monter les pièces et les composantes afin d’assembler le produit fini;
 Empaqueter les produits finis en s’assurant de bien les identifier (étiquettes, sceaux, etc.);
 Développer un sens élevé de la sécurité, autant dans l’exécution des tâches que dans l’environnement de travail, en respectant les différentes normes (STOP, SIMDUT, etc.).
Pros
avantages sociaux et salaire
Cons
mises en disonibilités fréquentes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, takes care of their customers
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 April 2014
My day started with email and messenger communication. Going through your work, if you have special projects, looking at schedule to see what I was up to that day. 1/2 hour lunch. Afternoon meetings, team meeting once a week. Once a month company overview

I learned many programs. I was doing a lot inventory control which I am very versed in but I learned about goverment warehouses. I learned 3 new systems
My co-workers with great team players and I made many life long friends.

The most enjoyable part was all my work with data. I enjoy analyzing data. I was able to work with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Supply chain (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 April 2014
Working for GD was a horrible experience between nepotism gone wild and poor manager who believe to be a leader you have to threaten and "ride" the employee. Going to Human resources to complain your human rights have been violated or the working conditions are unsafe is a one way ticket out the door. This is a company that says all the right things, but cannot back them up. I have heard of people being physically attacked by other co-workers with no consequences to the other worker. The battle damaged vehicles coming back from the front line are not "clean" but HR will tell you they are and that you are a liar. I have seen things that GD did not prepare me to see. Forced to work over-time upto 7 days a week for over a year. No regard for burning out employees, plenty more waiting in line to join GD is the theory they subscribe too.
Pros
good pay
Cons
horrible working conditions, management uses threats and intimidation.
Was this review helpful?Yes26NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon travail
Opérateur production (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur16 April 2014
Travail qui consiste en l'assemblage de pièces sur ligne de montage.
Possibilité de nouveaux postes en usine. (ajusteur, radio-graphe, chef de groupe, etc.)
Bon encadrement
Plusieurs personnes ressources (directeurs, agents de changements, officiers de ligne, etc.)
Aspect difficile du poste: Travail répétitif.
Aspect agréable: Acquisition d'expérience sur plusieurs machines.
Pros
Belle horaire de travail
Cons
Travail routinier
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milieu de tavrail
Opérateur ajusteur (Current Employee) –  saint-augustin8 April 2014
Bonne horaire de travail,peu d`opportunités de travail.

pas de travail à l`année

travail stimulent
Pros
bon salaire et avantage social
Cons
travail incertain
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environement gestionnaire inconpétenpt
Mécanicien, entretien, montage, démontage (Former Employee) –  Repentigny, 9910 March 2014
moi je sius un mécanicien de mécanic lourde hors donc la tache était facile
Pros
temps suplémentaire gratuit
Cons
gestionnaire inconpétant
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sociable
Conducteur de chariot élévateur (Former Employee) –  legardeur11 February 2014
travaille sur une ligne de production et voir au bonne fonctionnement des equipements et voir a etablir un bonne relation avec mais confreres de travail.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Train new employees, lead hand, repair welds (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 January 2014
i would do something different almost everyday..the day seemed to go by quickly most days.. i learned alot about lavs..and how they work in the battle field..what they can do and how they protect the army personnel...my co-workers were great easy to get along with..the hardest part of job was repairing someones eleses work..the most enjoyable was the paycheck..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A process-driven workplace full of system engineers
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2013
This used to be a descent workplace. Recent cutbacks have lowered the morale of the entire company.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Low Morale
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Dynamics Information Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,233 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

General Dynamics Information Technology Reviews by Location