General Dynamics Information Technology

General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, takes care of their customers
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON23 April 2014
My day started with email and messenger communication. Going through your work, if you have special projects, looking at schedule to see what I was up to that day. 1/2 hour lunch. Afternoon meetings, team meeting once a week. Once a month company overview

I learned many programs. I was doing a lot inventory control which I am very versed in but I learned about goverment warehouses. I learned 3 new systems
My co-workers with great team players and I made many life long friends.

The most enjoyable part was all my work with data. I enjoy analyzing data. I was able to work with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, Ontario5 March 2013
Typical day at work:
Going to see your friends. We work in a profesional way and we do respect one another.

Learned how to be patient,how to appreciate having a job.

Management: I don't deal with the management, but from an employee point of view, i would give them a 6 out of 10.

co-workers: great personalities

Hardest part of the job: sometimes we get so much work we have to concentrate all day.

the most enjoyable part of the job: is one when laugh, when we tell jokes to eath other, or when i bring tea bags and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive workaholic environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 January 2016
There was little to no change in the workflow that made the keying of the same information quite dull. There was no room for creativity or innovation to help improve the workflow.
Cons
Dull
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging position
Area Manager Customer Service and Support (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 July 2015
As an Area Manager of the Field Service Team I was responsible to:

Analyze the scope of work required to complete engineering changes to the GD produced family of armoured vehicles
co-ordinate parts ordering and shipping to the customer facility.
Team selection to travel to install changes
Arrange Travel for all personnel
Supervise personnel at the job site
Maintain accurate vehicle records
Input information into the vehicle database at the completion of the job
Pros
World Travel
Cons
Duration of some jobs and working conditions at some facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 August 2015
Up till this year I enjoyed working for General Dynamics, the people were nice. But work was too boring. Unfortunately the company didn't help me do better to get my keystrokes better.

My co-workers were really nice to work with, but management not so much with some exceptions.
Pros
Co-workers were great to with
Cons
Management didn't help me keep my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company that strives to meet requirements
Electronic Assembler (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 August 2015
Everyday we followed a schedule in order to meet the quota. This involved tasks such as soldering and final assembly of military equipment and printed circuit boards. I learned about quality control and time management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military procurement
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 September 2014
Company had a excellent business culture. Well focused and goal oriented. The culture was so entrenched that changing things was a challenge for management
Was this review helpful?YesNo7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience!
Environmental, Health and Safety, Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 June 2015
I was happy to enhance my career working at General Dynamics Land Systems. I worked with some wonderful people. The most enjoyable part of my job was protecting the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly place to work
Sr.Technologist (Current Employee) –  London, ON21 October 2015
Everyone is so helpful when asked upon.
If you are ever confused or not sure what needs to be done, you can ask anybody in the office and they would be glad to help you.
Pros
Flex Time
Cons
contractor to start
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Flexibility
Mechanical Engineering Designer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta23 October 2013
GD Canada is a great place to work for junior to senior employees.They are very flexible when it comes to work/life balance.
Pros
In house cafeteria
Cons
Contract based work which can be inconsistent and dependant
Was this review helpful?Yes4No7Report

Want to know more about General Dynamics Information Technology?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fast paced
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton24 June 2014
The supervisor was not allowing for growth. Many levels of service that need special knowledge and was not given the needed time to learn.
Pros
Learning faster ways to manage data entry
Cons
Management/trainer infighting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company where people are friendly and work together to achieve the challenging work goals
Senior Component Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2013
The company sets the goals high and through the combined effort of employees usually achieves them. It is a good place to work for.

In-house fitness programs and the gym right on-site. It is a good way to workout the stress.
Pros
The people work and interact great together.
Cons
Work greatly influenced by outside contracts - or the lack of it
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hear productivity is very excellent,
Supply Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kuwait13 January 2013
We are working here 6 days a week every day 8 to 10 hours , We learned about safety about how to growing behavior , about perfect management. I am working with my co-workers together .......
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Train new employees, lead hand, repair welds (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 January 2014
i would do something different almost everyday..the day seemed to go by quickly most days.. i learned alot about lavs..and how they work in the battle field..what they can do and how they protect the army personnel...my co-workers were great easy to get along with..the hardest part of job was repairing someones eleses work..the most enjoyable was the paycheck..
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vangent Canada is fun and exciting
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 August 2013
The hardest part is Vangent Canada is no longer in the business anymore.
Pros
We have everymonth birthday celebration
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A process-driven workplace full of system engineers
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2013
This used to be a descent workplace. Recent cutbacks have lowered the morale of the entire company.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Low Morale
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and fun people
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2012
Working in vangent is so great because i have many good peers and very kind boss. They also treal me very well ever since in a newbie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, small enviorment
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 March 2013
It was like a small office with about 20 staff so we were like a little family, and most of the employees got along very well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced defence organization
Data Transfer and Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 January 2013
working with engineers, government bodies and sub-contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bel environnement de travail, belles conditions et sécurité d'emploi
Opératrice de production (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QC28 January 2017
J'ai travaillé dans plusieurs secteurs et j'y ai acquis beaucoup d'expérience.

Bonnes relations entre l'employé et l'employeur.

Très bien rémunéré.

Sécurité d'emploi

De très bon avantages sociaux.

Bons plan d'assurances maladie et dentaire.

Bel horaire de travail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Dynamics Information Technology. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,862 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

General Dynamics Information Technology Reviews by Location