General Dynamics Information Technology

General Dynamics Information Technology Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 50 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When it rains it pours
Systems (Current Employee) –  OntarioOctober 16, 2013
A typical day involves most coworkers unhappily trudging through their workload as the hours are long. After 12 hour days, refusal to do more that day can result in being viewed by higher ups as "not a team player". The most enjoyable part of the job is the overtime pay, when it is given. Coworkers are great and are helpful digging through the trenches with you, often supplying cards and treats when someone works themselves to sickness, but thanks from management is hollow. Constant talk of layoffs gives the coworkers nervous chuckles.
Pros
overtime pay
Cons
Long hours, low morale
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company where people are friendly and work together to achieve the challenging work goals
Senior Component Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2013
The company sets the goals high and through the combined effort of employees usually achieves them. It is a good place to work for.

In-house fitness programs and the gym right on-site. It is a good way to workout the stress.
Pros
The people work and interact great together.
Cons
Work greatly influenced by outside contracts - or the lack of it
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company - Many good people
Field Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Kingston, OntarioOctober 2, 2013
Very good company. I worked on a project that was managed in Calgary but located in Ontario. With Government budget cuts my position was cancelled. Excellent benefits, good salary and outstanding support from Staff managing travel, benefits, pay etc. Would love to work for GD again some day. Alot of special people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vangent Canada is fun and exciting
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 15, 2013
The hardest part is Vangent Canada is no longer in the business anymore.
Pros
we have everymonth birthday celebration
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, small enviorment
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 22, 2013
It was like a small office with about 20 staff so we were like a little family, and most of the employees got along very well
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly place to work
Data Entry Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, OntarioMarch 5, 2013
Typical day at work:
Going to see your friends. We work in a profesional way and we do respect one another.

Learned how to be patient,how to appreciate having a job.

Management: I don't deal with the management, but from an employee point of view, i would give them a 6 out of 10.

co-workers: great personalities

Hardest part of the job: sometimes we get so much work we have to concentrate all day.

the most enjoyable part of the job: is one when laugh, when we tell jokes to eath other, or when i bring tea bags and share it with everyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 Years with GD so very enjoyable place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 23, 2013
I love working here and have been in Finance for the past 32 years. I would just like to find some part time work in a different setting such as retail in a store like Bouclair.
Pros
benefits, pension plan, well known company
Was this review helpful?Yes3No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced defence organization
Data Transfer and Document Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  London, ONJanuary 21, 2013
working with engineers, government bodies and sub-contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNo8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hear productivity is very excellent,
Supply Specialist (Current Employee) –  KuwaitJanuary 13, 2013
We are working here 6 days a week every day 8 to 10 hours , We learned about safety about how to growing behavior , about perfect management. I am working with my co-workers together .......
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average work environment, delays in winning/awarding new contracts creates some job security uncertainty
ILS (Former Employee) –  OttawaNovember 9, 2012
Excellent compensation and benefits
work hard play hard attitude
at core is Engineering company
need to win to big contracts to keep system integration critical mass rolling
Pros
compensation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABMay 18, 2012
This place was a good place to work, the employees and manager where very friendly and pleasant to work for
Cons
contract work no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very kind and fun people
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 13, 2012
Working in vangent is so great because i have many good peers and very kind boss. They also treal me very well ever since in a newbie.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GDC is an excellent company. Employee support is outstanding
Senior Supply Chain Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 30, 2012
As a long term employee of General Dynamics, I feel I am in a position to give them a very positive and honest review. Through strong leadership, GDC has overcome many obstacles over the years to enable itself to thrive in the marketplace. Being recognized as a grandfather in hi-tech, it has built its reputation on quality products and delivery excellence.
They have an outstanding employee support program that includes not only the financial benefits of their employees but the mental and physical attributes of their employees.
GDC has honorably earned 5 stars
Pros
excellent employee support, outreach programs, good benefits and pension, supports employee welfare
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aucun respect envers ses employés avec plus d"expérience
Opérateur-ajusteur (Former Employee) –  Saint-Augustin, QCJanuary 13, 2016
ne respecte pas l'ancienneté, environnement toxique,abus de pouvoir
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne collaboration de la direction
concepteur mécanique (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QCJanuary 6, 2016
conception sur solidwork
la cynematique des produits de production
-management par le bas
-collaboration difficile
-faire accepter mes idées
-la fierté des machines concues
Pros
familliale
Cons
sindicat
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dommage
(Qc) Machiniste commandes numériques (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QCMarch 21, 2015
Dommage ,très belle job mais malheureusement plus d'ouvrage. Rien à dire contre
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Directeur de Production
DIRECTEUR DE PRODUCTION, QUART DE NUIT (Former Employee) –  Le Gardeur, QCFebruary 3, 2015
La journée type est de voir ce qui ces fait avant et de s'assurer que pour votre quart il y est le personnel voulu pour comblé la production.

Voir a ce que chacun utilise les EPI et exécute le travail sécuritairement.
Pros
Bonus trimestre et annuel
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
Adjointe administrative (Former Employee) –  Le GardeurDecember 4, 2014
Respect envers tous les employés, donc réciprocité.
Beaucoup d'ouverture envers les employés.
Particulièrement aimé gérer les agendas, la réservation de voyages.
Egalement participer au journal mensuel de l'entreprise.
Organisation des visites à l'international.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emplois agréable
Opératrice de production (Former Employee) –  LeGardeurSeptember 23, 2014
Ambiance de travail correct , bon salaire , mais à risque . Rotation de chiffres (jour , Nuit, soir ) . Avantages vraiment très bon . Aux contrats donc souvent mise en disponibilité ou à pied .
Pros
salaire, avantages
Cons
Souvent mise en disponibilité ou mise à pied
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail de production
Opérateur-ajusteur (Former Employee) –  Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, QCAugust 5, 2014
une entreprise de production militaire (munition) qui a une très grande
expertise dans ce domaine .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,396 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

General Dynamics Information Technology Reviews by Location