Find companies:
General Cable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

General Cable Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
electro-mechanic (Current Employee), Altoona, PAOctober 20, 2014
Pros: good wages
Cons: health benefits
Repair equipment and help solve process quality issues
Learned importance of working in a team environment
Safety and Quality are a top priority
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Extrusion Operator (Former Employee), Willimantic, CTOctober 16, 2014
Pros: work schedules
Cons: hot in summer, poor ventalation
Overall a good place to work. Pay is ok and benefits are great. Union job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Lead Cell Operator (Former Employee), Altoona, PAOctober 7, 2014
It was overall a nice job. I got 8 hour shifts 5-6 days a week. It was an easy job but repetitive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, TNSeptember 11, 2014
I don't have anything to say bad. I only wish there were room to grow within this company. I appreciated the opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place & nice to get some international experience
Product Engineer (Current Employee), christ churchSeptember 7, 2014
Cons: mostly indecisive state
its good place to work. Nice to work. friendly colleague. To learn there is not much assistance. You have to go , put yours hand on machine , get dirty hand & learn.

Pay scale is a issue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, poor management decisions
Inside Sales Associate (Former Employee), Highland Heights, KYAugust 15, 2014
The pay skill is horrible. Feels like a call center. For what you are expected to do you don't get paid near enough!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if that's if its your bag
Process Engineering Co-op (Former Employee), Lawrenceburg, KYAugust 10, 2014
I'm very hands on and like to get my hands dirty. I worked exclusively in the office environment and it wasn't for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tires
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJuly 29, 2014
I used to work on 3rd shift. A typical day is going in . Preparing for exercise that last 20 minutes. Then have a meeting. The go to our workstation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in a cross-trained team environment
Material Handler / Warehouse Lead (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJune 12, 2014
Pros: optional lunch break length (half hour or hour), trust among employees and management, plenty of overtime, very productive environment, great benefits and bonuses
Cons: there were none
The usual work week was 6 days a week, 10-12 hours each day. Our team would work until all orders were filled. The morale was great and our team became comparable to a family. I learned to drive a forklift, cherry picker, and stand up lift, and powerful leadership skills from management. Management identified my abilities to lead and mentored me in – more... key areas for success. During management's lunch and meetings, I would lead co-workers and help them with RF scanner issues, product discrepancies, and handle any other problems that would arise in that time frame while performing my own duties. The hardest part of the job was when my team learned that General Cable was closing their doors. This was a wonderful job. The most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers and the sense of completion when the orders were all filled at the end of the night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and engaging work enviornment
Process Engineer Intern (Former Employee), Jackson, TNJune 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch monthly.
learned the general overview of the cable production process
Saw various demonstrations about how to adjust and correct an error in multiple processes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
laborer (Former Employee), Montoursville, PAMay 8, 2014
I would have retired from this place. The pay was great had great benefits, very positive work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Lincoln, RIApril 30, 2014
Pros: keeps you busy, nice people
Cons: short breaks, lack of communication
I worked there for a while but was laid off due to a union issue. I was hired as a temp and they were not allowed to hire a temp. I was brought back for a job that paid less money in a different area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Establish the entire business plan in the country
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Located in EgyptApril 20, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short break and healthcare
Analyze the market, and channels of business for distribution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, environment and place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Jackson, TNApril 19, 2014
Can't say enough about the employees that work here that helped to make the Jackson, Tn. plant of the year in 2012
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for the area
End Sealer/Fabricator (Current Employee), IllinoisMarch 27, 2014
Good pay for the area I live in. Management is okay. Some will help you out, others won't. No room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already reviewed
Associate Engineer (Current Employee), Altoona, PAMarch 14, 2014
Already reviewed in a previous review. I began at this company in 2011 and am currently still employed here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience with my chosen profession
Extruder Operator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 22, 2014
With general cable i learned alot of the process and functions of various audio and industrial cables and got a first hand experience at how there made, and the quality for which they are held against. The coworkers were some of the best, and very helpful in training me. The most enjoyable part of my time here was working hands on with audio products – more... i knew intimately and gave 100% of my attention to detail to. It was a culmination of all of the skills i gathered in manufacturing and audio training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work/life balance
Inside Sales (Current Employee), Highland Heights, KYJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: open door policy
I enjoy the people I work with at this company as most are tenured employees who have had a steady career at General Cable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical warehouse environment
General laborer (Current Employee), Lebanon, INJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
It's a typical warehouse. You learn typical warehouse management. My coworkers are typical warehouse coworkers. The hardest part of my job is typical warehouse work. The most enjoyable part of my day is that its a typical warehouse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and great friends
DATA ENTRY CLERK (Former Employee), Scottsville, TexasJanuary 5, 2014
General Cable was an awesome place to work. I enjoyed my job very much. My co-workers were awesome and made my time working for the company enjoyable. I miss all my friends that I made while working there.

1 2 3