GENBAND Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GenBand
Desktop/Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Plano, TX9 November 2016
Genband has many talented employees that I had the pleasure of assisting during my tenure with the company. Great staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place to work
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TX4 August 2016
Management focused on making numbers, while making headcount cuts makes for difficult work environment. Consistent rumors of another lay-off.
Pros
none
Cons
24/7 emails
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable place to work
IT Site Prime (Former Employee) –  Billerica, MA3 August 2016
Ok company, lots of remote communication to sites across the country. Generally middle aged and older culture. Not many young employees.
Pros
Not over managed
Cons
Medical benefits are very high deductible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people ,
Richardson/ Plano CONTRACTOR (Current Employee) –  Plano, TX11 July 2016
good people working at GENBAND, but the executive levels are a bit
lacking in knowledge of what they have and what they do.
Pros
great people working there
Cons
may be going in wrong direction, for future buisness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers but have no faith in upper management.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NC24 June 2016
Good coworkers but have no faith in upper management. No long term vision. Required to work many hours to keep up with workload.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IPV integration and test
Technical Customer Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Plano, TX7 March 2016
Trouble shooting IPV network systems .
Task could vary from day to day.
Often by yourself with very little management .
Finding direction in the middle of the night.
Pros
healthcare learning new tech.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and Steady wins the race
Senior Systems Engineer/Infrastructure (Current Employee) –  Plano, TX9 November 2015
GENBAND has been around a while in the telecom industry, as it has weathered many a storm. Right now they are currently working on new virtualized/cloud communications solutions for media presentation to go along with their general switching software technologies they offer.
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
Uncertainty about the future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun. Worked with great team players
Inventory/Materials Specialist (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NC27 October 2015
Genband is a great company. I learned alot from my immediate management team and was also able to utilize my personal work experiences.
Pros
Free lunches/breakfasts monthly
Cons
short term position
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy, fun, enjoyable.
Change Management/Administrative Assistance (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NC24 September 2015
I enjoyed working at GENBAND, although it was unstable business. Management was fair. Vacation time, comp time, flex time provided. Opportunity to work at home if needed. The people are great to work with.
Pros
Flexible hours, pay
Cons
Unstable business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely old fasioned / Non motivational
Global Technical Support Engineer (Current Employee) –  Maidenhead19 July 2015
- Techincal staff get too much to work and too less pay.
- Management are only focused in numbers.
- Professional development, courses you get depend on what the customers will be deploying in their sites...
- UK is not fun to work at all.
- People is good though.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job paid well - combination of salary plus commission
Inside Sales Account Manager -Tier II (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TX13 February 2015
The company is heavy sales focused, but there are many times where that gets hindered due to break down in communications and different areas of the sales and operation teams not keeping each other informed.
GENBAND provided a good environment to work, and my direct supervisor seemed to really care about well being of her team.
Pros
compensations and direct supervisor
Cons
Communication and documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Network Engineer/Emergency Response Engineer (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NC11 February 2015
Genband is a wonderful company to work for. Management empowered you to do you job and was there whenever needed. The company provided excellent training and assistance whenever needed. If anyone is lucky enough to work for this company be thankful.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Assignment was not permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Internship with no bounds
Marketing & Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TX20 January 2015
My internship with GENBAND allowed me to take initiative and try different things. They had me travel and be a part of their trade shows and marketing decisions. After I arrived in the morning I was greeted by my coworkers, followed by a daily meeting with my supervisor about the day's projects. After that I worked on projects while attending conference calls. Occasionally I would be taken along for business lunches and would get to sit in on marketing meetings with the Chief Marketing Officer and the Chief Executive Officer along with my boss - the Executive VP of Marketing. It felt very prestigious and I learned so much from all the professional experiences. My favorite part was traveling for meetings in New York and the Tradeshow in Florida, I felt so important and it felt so good to be part of something big. The hardest part of the job was the constant need to stay on schedule and deadline, but I caught on quickly.
Pros
Business lunches, traveling
Cons
No overtime for interns, short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced enjoyable work environment
Technical Builder (Former Employee) –  Durham, NC4 December 2014
The work environment was interactive, pleasant, fast paced, and most of all worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Available upon request
Global Services & Business Development (Current Employee) –  New Jersery23 September 2014
Available upon request
Great place to work
Excellent workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New challenges in day to day life, fun place to work
Senior Designer (Current Employee) –  Billerica, MA7 September 2014
Co-workers are great
New challenges in day to day life
help is always close to overcome a problem.
Pros
Good people, good work life balance
Cons
Hard to switch between roles, no option to work on different technologies
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plano location more casual than Frisco
Sr. Engineer Facilities (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TX17 March 2014
I would consider working at the Plano location again. The corporate headquarters is the Frisco location.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was challenging and rewarding.
Oracle Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Plano, TX11 September 2013
I was tasked with acquiring over 40 client databases into data center. The staff including the applications DBA were very supportive and I was allowed to work as many hours as necessary to satisfy milestones.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multimedia Development Billerica, MA
employee (Current Employee) –  Billerica, MA19 March 2013
The R&D team in Billerica is hiring a lot. There is an on-site recruiter who moves quickly and provides solid information about the company and the job. Not just a paper pusher - but someone who knows technology. Interview process is streamlined and you get feedback. The Billerica group is set apart from the legacy business and focuses on Session Border Controllers and media gateways - the product line has strong growth! Looks like a great company!
Pros
sip/ims - growth market - solid engineering team
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical large company mindset
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA15 February 2013
Not a great place for R&D work. Upper management are not very truthful.
Pros
worked from home
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2