Gemma Communications Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Agent de télévente (Former Employee), Montréal, QCNovember 12, 2015
Pros: free gifts cards
Cons: no cons
manager was very professional and always ready to help. Excellent job environment with targets. My first job and work experience in Canada.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive peers and leaders encouraging to do well
TD Canada Trust customer service representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 26, 2015
Pros: Flexibility, Friendly Environment, Understanding leaders.
Cons: Poor scheduling.
One thing that was great working for Gemma Communication was the co-workers were very friendly and helpful, they will always support you and encourage you to perform well. I was guaranteed to learn and gain a new experience everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low morale, agents are friendly but you are extremely micro managed.
Inside Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 29, 2015
Pros: Friendly atmosphere
Cons: Constant reviewing of your calls, very low pay, terrible hours.
Not much to write... constant training classes going on for new recruits... my class had 43 in the beginning and now there are 5 left just after 9 months so they have to recruit new people constantly. The start pay is just $11.45 and then after training it increases to $12.50/hr + some minor commissions (which can add up on average to about $400-600 per mth). They encourage you to work more than 8 hour days and they deduct pay for going to the washroom...taking 5 min to go speak with someone and they DO NOT PAY YOU FOR THEIR MANDATORY 15 MINUTE BREAKS!!!

They blame their client(s) for everything... your hours...your pay (even though they keep over 1/2 for themselves).

Most people who work as agents are either new people to Canada or mature people who have a hard time finding a job.

Why did I leave? I moved to Guelph and driving for 90+ minutes twice a day became too much for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Inbound Sales Representative (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 28, 2015
It is a decent place to work at with lots to learn. I have gained quite a bit of experience with sales and how to interact with customers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3RD PARTY INBOUND CALL CENTRE FOR ROGERS
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee), North YorkJune 9, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: UNPAID BREAKS, LOW HOURLY PAY, NO COMPANY CULTURE, POOR MANAGEMENT
Don't know where to begin. This place is absolutely terrible. I lasted 7 months i don't know how people last more than 3 years. The co-workers are nice and friendly, but the Team Leaders on the rogers floor are clueless. Management is mismanaged. There is no communication between middle management and upper management.
People get fired and hired all the time. In my time at Gemma i seen TL's get fried and hired, Production Managers get fired even the Chief operator of Gemma left the job.
And oh yeah, if you dont make sales you wont LAST. be prepared to be hounded for sales but stupid TL's who don't even know how to use the systems. Get ready to be underpaid and over worked. If you are looking for a dead end job to get by this is the job for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 6, 2015
Pros: fun, friends
Cons: strict, low pay
Workplace is fun. The team leaders are nice. all breaks are unpaid. They make and agreement to put you on work on saturday but they compel you to work on sunday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2015
Was a Team Leader at Gemma Communications. Typical day would consist of coaching and developing team members in a sales environment. Attend quality sessions once a week and provide feedback to reps. Great people at the company with a great support staff. Really turned things around for the better in recent times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 29, 2015
Pros: Large lunch room with vending machines and mircowaves
Cons: Inconsistent schedule and poor middle management
A very cliquey environment with a poor selection of team leaders. Instead of constructive feedback, they preferred to make snide and often inappropriate remarks. Very dated equipment and furniture made it an uncomfortable place to work and the training was substandard for the job. Sales, sales, sales. If you cannot hard sell useless products to people who clearly have no intention of taking it, then I highly recommend not working here. They also have not heard of a personal life. They change the schedule on a weekly basis, and you could be working anything from 8am - Midnight, 7 days a week. Was usually 40 hours a week, but you could not plan your personal schedule more than a week in advance, because the schedule would change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 700 Lawrence Avenue EastMay 9, 2015
Pros: no free breaks and lunches
its a good place to start your CSR experience, breaks are not paid, hard to get day off during emergency,, other than nice co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young environment and fun place to work
Rogers Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee), toronto, ontarioMarch 25, 2015
Pros: weekly and monthly prizes for top sellers
Cons: long hours and short breaks
Fun place to work however no room for advancement and pay is horrible. Call centre job, meant for beginners. Job is stressful and management is critical about breaks and schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment.
Customer Services Representative- TD Inbound (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: free gift cards for the top sellers
Cons: poor wages
A typical work day is acceptable.I have learned how to enhance my customer skills more efficiently and effectively. However, the management for this call center needs to be improved. My co-workers are excellent. The hardest part of the job is to be perfect. The most enjoyable part of the job is when there is competition between agents to get the most sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Third Party Sales
Sales Agent - Rogers account (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioFebruary 9, 2015
I enjoyed working at Gemma communications for Rogers because it motivated me to look for further sale opportunities and become more comfortable as a sales agent. The environment was the hardest part of the job. The scheduling and break schedule made it difficult to work the long hours required for each shift. The most enjoyable part of the job were the bonuses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), TorontoJanuary 7, 2015
A typical day at work, would mostly be answering calls. I learnt that managing your time is very important, and to be very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent entry level but very poor overall - NOT LONG TERM/NOT ENJOYABLE/POOR CULTURE
Call Centre Supervisor (Former Employee), TorontoNovember 13, 2014
Pros: i guess decent entry level pay
Cons: just about everything
Typical day consist of supervising call centre staff - QA. Gained some valuable supervisory experience and life experience. I most certainly learned not to trust people you work with! Management was very poor, no support and you are blamed for their lack of commitment. The hardest part of being a supervisor there was having to bite my tongue about the BS I would constantly witness on a daily basis. Met a few good people but that's about the only pro about this place. A lot of unprofessional things would happen in this place! STAY AWAY BY ALL MEANS!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Inside Sales/ Verification Agent (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Cons: plenty
no review, i have no review to write, it is an average company with no real room for advancement. Good place to work if your looking for a parttime job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with good people
TD Inbound Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 9, 2014
A very welcoming environment and flexible hours. The managers are very friendly and try to accommodate to any needs you may have. Also the company culture is great with added incentives and activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
Inbound Telemarketer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 4, 2014
Pros: shifts
Cons: salary
Typical day at work involves taking incoming calls to resolve customer problems and sell company products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relatively relaxed atmosphere
Sales Representative, Assurant Solutions (Former Employee), Montréal, QCAugust 27, 2014
Hardest part is dealing with French callers due to my limited knowledge in French, there are times they get routed erroneously to our queue.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 21, 2014
Pros: parties
Cons: long hours
Very challenging sales environment. Developed good customer service skills as dealing with at least more than 200 customers a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Centre
Customer Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lawrence PlazaAugust 12, 2014
Pros: supportive workmates
Cons: long hours
Attend to customer needs thru inbound calls. Deals with different issues.