Gemma Communications Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 100 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Call Centre Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 28, 2016
Good experience working out here. Nice management. Lovely and diversified culture. Balanced working hours, good Team leaders and trainers. Fun at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3RD PARTY INBOUND CALL CENTRE FOR ROGERS
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  North YorkJune 9, 2015
Don't know where to begin. This place is absolutely terrible. I lasted 7 months i don't know how people last more than 3 years. The co-workers are nice and friendly, but the Team Leaders on the rogers floor are clueless. Management is mismanaged. There is no communication between middle management and upper management.
People get fired and hired all the time. In my time at Gemma i seen TL's get fried and hired, Production Managers get fired even the Chief operator of Gemma left the job.
And oh yeah, if you dont make sales you wont LAST. be prepared to be hounded for sales but stupid TL's who don't even know how to use the systems. Get ready to be underpaid and over worked. If you are looking for a dead end job to get by this is the job for you.
Pros
none
Cons
UNPAID BREAKS, LOW HOURLY PAY, NO COMPANY CULTURE, POOR MANAGEMENT
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Q.A. (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OnFebruary 19, 2016
Buyer beware.... favoritism and ethnocentric nepotism is rife within an organization which otherwise has a good business plan, providing customer and sales services to organizations.. Indians appear to be given a lot of breaks and offers for advancement....
Pros
Good business concept.
Cons
favoritism and ethnic nepotism and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too competitive
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 25, 2016
Based on how many sales you made during the first half of your day would determine whether or not you were sent home. Co-workers was fine most of the time.
Pros
in a mall with a food court
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales agent
Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMarch 15, 2016
good working environment.great experience as sales agent, good commission and salary
cowerkers friendly and ready to help .Hardest part was to make sales but with patient it paid al well
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call centre aiming in achieving sales targets
Call Centre Agent (Inbound/Outbound) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 31, 2016
Working at Gemma was a new challenge. The co workers and managers were helpful in building your talents at the same time focusing on sales targets. It had a very competitive and challenging workplace environment.
Pros
sales incentives
Cons
sales targets
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lunch room renovated with, coffee machines , good seating and TV for entertainment
Team Supervisor - Quality Assurance Department (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 28, 2016
A busy environment Co-workers friendly but management not very approachable . I loved coming in because I loved my job and what I was doing and I loved my team.
Pros
free lunch at Christmas time
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 12, 2016
Great management and staff! Great training. Supervisors excellent. Timely and excellent coaching. Supervisors are excellent at providing accurate and timely feedback.
Pros
Excellent training and feedback
Cons
Great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 12, 2016
it was very fun with all the incentive programs, prizes and just overall lots of fun while your meeting your targets. good people to work with and really no complaints and no regrets
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Financial Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 14, 2016
A typical day at work is as follows:
Team meeting and briefing session
Completing daily job duties
Debriefing & discussion of sales targets

Work environment is fast paced and highly enthusiastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives and company activities
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 19, 2016
A typical day at gemma would be selling discount plans to customers for everyday activities, restaurants and hotels. I would also provide information to customers regarding discounts
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  700 lawrence avenueJune 2, 2016
Good working atmosphere.
Motivational supervisors.
2 months of inclass and on floor Detailed training.
Flexible hours.
Base salary + good commision and incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just work
Inbound/Outbound Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 6, 2016
I needed to do something more in life. I didnt really love what i was doing there. so i had to change it to make more of life. thats why i left that job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCJune 6, 2016
- to get our target
-good vibes with co-workers
-respect each other
-have a time to share between us our culture from our home country
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 5, 2016
Excellent trainers and very supportive in completing the targets
really nice place to work and learnt so much from supportive colleagues and management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young environment and fun place to work
Rogers Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  toronto, ontarioMarch 25, 2015
Fun place to work however no room for advancement and pay is horrible. Call centre job, meant for beginners. Job is stressful and management is critical about breaks and schedule
Pros
weekly and monthly prizes for top sellers
Cons
long hours and short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great, management unstable as it's constantly changing.
Call Center Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 5, 2016
Very multi-cultural environment. People are quite friendly...you gain experience that will help you in the future. Schedules are a mess...not stable at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 29, 2015
A very cliquey environment with a poor selection of team leaders. Instead of constructive feedback, they preferred to make snide and often inappropriate remarks. Very dated equipment and furniture made it an uncomfortable place to work and the training was substandard for the job. Sales, sales, sales. If you cannot hard sell useless products to people who clearly have no intention of taking it, then I highly recommend not working here. They also have not heard of a personal life. They change the schedule on a weekly basis, and you could be working anything from 8am - Midnight, 7 days a week. Was usually 40 hours a week, but you could not plan your personal schedule more than a week in advance, because the schedule would change.
Pros
Large lunch room with vending machines and mircowaves
Cons
Inconsistent schedule and poor middle management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low morale, agents are friendly but you are extremely micro managed.
Inside Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONSeptember 29, 2015
Not much to write... constant training classes going on for new recruits... my class had 43 in the beginning and now there are 5 left just after 9 months so they have to recruit new people constantly. The start pay is just $11.45 and then after training it increases to $12.50/hr + some minor commissions (which can add up on average to about $400-600 per mth). They encourage you to work more than 8 hour days and they deduct pay for going to the washroom...taking 5 min to go speak with someone and they DO NOT PAY YOU FOR THEIR MANDATORY 15 MINUTE BREAKS!!!

They blame their client(s) for everything... your hours...your pay (even though they keep over 1/2 for themselves).

Most people who work as agents are either new people to Canada or mature people who have a hard time finding a job.

Why did I leave? I moved to Guelph and driving for 90+ minutes twice a day became too much for me.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Constant reviewing of your calls, very low pay, terrible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you're desperate and need money fast
Inbound agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2013
Worked here for a few years, management doesn't care about their staff and there is no room for advancement. Most people have been there for years and still make $12.50 an hour, they don't increase your wage and they dock you for every minute you're logged out. Most people I know just stay for training and then leave, its easy and fast money if you really need it.
Cons
long hours, back to back calls, unpaid breaks, rude team leaders, unsupportive management, late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes7No

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 101 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3

Gemma Communications Reviews by Location