GDI Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pas beacoup d'évolution dans l'entreprise
Commis comptable stagiaire (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC20 February 2018
Peu de possibilité quand à la carrière, même si on a les diplômes ou que l'on démontre de l'intérêt à évoluer.
Pros
Bons contrats quelques fois
Cons
Peu d'évolution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiance chaleureuse autant avec les collègues qu’avec les clients
Femme de chambre (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC11 February 2018
super endroit. Collègues très sympathique.
Belle expérience de travail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bien comm job étudiant
Femme de chambre (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 January 2018
je n'ai pas de réel avis pas travaillé assez longtemps
Cons
salaire trop bas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Company
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON5 December 2017
GDI is a very unorganized poorly managed company
They are more worried about saving a dollar
Dont care about their employees
Nothing anyone ever did was ever good enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its all about the $$$
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Cape Breton, NS26 November 2017
I worked for this company, and worked an average of 120 hrs a pay period, with little time off. I had to use my own vehicle to trave from one job site to another, and transport materials and supplies without reimbursement. Area manager was ex military and figured everyone should salute and kiss his a**.
For GDI it is all about the number and making shareholder happy. You are just a number!
Pros
N/a
Cons
Workload, No recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Remplacement
Concierge (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 November 2017
Au début quand vous rentrerez dans la compagnie il va vous falloir etre sur appel et ce la peut prendre du temps avant d'avoir un poste qui vous convient. Par exemple, moi, je suis un etudiant au cegep et je ne travaille pas beaucoup car les heures ne peuvent etre accomodées, donc cela fais 3 ans que je suis sur appel et que je remplace. Mais c'est un bon travail, je vous dirais si vous etes un etudiant d'evaluer d'autres endroits qui embauche avant GDI.
Pros
Bonne paie, Tres bon avantages sociaux.
Cons
Disponibilités d'heures, long avant d'avoir une poste.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an alright company to work for
Cleaner/Janitor (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 November 2017
Employed by the company because they bought the cleaning company who hired me. Have a lot issues with equipment repair/replacement. For a company as large as GDI, they don’t offer any medical benefits and only pay minimum wage, which is disappointing.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Wage doesn’t match work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON4 November 2017
Looking for something different. They are friendly and helpful. Easy to get along with. Very efficient and training is provided. Daily communication is done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a bit half and half
Janitor/Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Lasalle, QC27 October 2017
My job varies when working here but for the most part it's manageable. There's friendly co-workers to work with. However, the management could improve.
Pros
Decent hours, good pay
Cons
Unorthodox hours, management could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lieux de travail agreable
Préposée à l'entretien ménager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 October 2017
j ai beaucoup aimé , le milieu du travail était agréable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLA/Centre Eaton très mauvaise endroit
MMF (Former Employee) –  CLA/Centre eaton12 October 2017
Nouveau chef d'équipe, très mauvaise ambiance de travail, ( parle mal au employés) environement ou le client a toujours raison et la faute et toujours au employé. Roulement de personel énorme (environ 50 MMF en 3-5 ans) et ce n'es pas pour rien.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place was very stressful and management at the Ottawa was the worst
Heavy Duty Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB4 October 2017
After working for GDI services for 3.5 years in another province with no issues. I relocated to Ottawa I worked for GDI for the first three months . It was the worst experience of my life. The operations manager was a real jerk and treated his employees like garbage I would be very generous to give this company a 1 out of 5.
Pros
non
Cons
not a good company to work for in Ottawa
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was Very Bad
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Saint John East, NB13 September 2017
I work at the refinery. The work was not bad, but the Manager kept changing my job. And she was nasty to the staff if you where not in her click.
She treated people like garbage.
The pay was good and the hours where good. But GDI needs to get her out and her family and put real Management team in there and run it better and then it would be a great place to work.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail productif et agreable
Entretiens menager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 September 2017
Travail simple environnement tranquille, entraide entre emplyés
Pros
longue pause
Cons
le rush des vacances
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have been working there fopr 7 years
Janitor/Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON25 August 2017
very stable company , not many promotion oportunities,tryinf to find a day shift work.since i have been working overnight, management has been changed two times .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent.
Service aux tables (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC18 July 2017
Le travail était parfait. Les tâches étaient très bien choisies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment with incompetant management
Light Duty Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON9 May 2017
Worked for GDI for 3.5 years and was constantly told I wasn't doing good enough work and getting complaints about me from other staff. Being unionized if that was the case they should have files formal complaints in writing and handled them appropriately- which I welcomed but never saw a single one. All of this complaining about me lead to a pattern of harrassment all because I wasn't part of the group of favorites. Thankfully I found full time work elsewhere and left with the bit of dignity I had left. Management never listens when you tell them where the real problems are despite your best efforts. Also notorious for making big mistakes on scheduling and pay. Avoid this company at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Ontario5 May 2017
job description was not clear ever and hours were minimal. most of the people who worked there were nice. wish they could be a bit more flexible with giving hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working
Cleaner/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Down town Montreal27 April 2017
This 2 jodsthat I have is a good place to work and I love it because it's very interesting. I left Empire maintenance because I am not getting along with my boss, he makes me work long hours.
At this present job GDI, for almost 8 years working , I make a lot of hours too but this pass few months, they are curing hours. I love my job and I enjoy working, eve night 7 days.
Pros
Paid break
Cons
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement du travail agreable
PREPOSE A L'ENTRETIEN (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 April 2017
une bonne sociabilité entre employé et employeur. mes journées avec mes collègues était toute aussi stimulant que mon travail. j'ai beaucoup apprécie travail avec qu'eux.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GDI Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 74 reviews
518
411
324
213
18

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture