GATX Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Company to work with
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  222 W Adam street, ChicagoFebruary 19, 2016
People here are excellent, super nice and friendly. I learnt a lot from this working experience. The company cares about their people and the benefit is quite well.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for GATX As a repairman
Senior field service repairman WIS (Former Employee) –  Tumwater, WADecember 12, 2015
My experience with GATX was awesome as far as the ability to be a positive presence and entity for the companies customers
I loved helping to customers with any of their rail car needs and interacting with them
I had 15 years with GATX and had the opportunity to work all over the United states
Alaska Texas Georgia Louisiana Idaho Oregon & California .
All in all a positive experience
I truly miss some of the personalities I was working with as well.
Pros
Travel yet most days I was home with my family
Cons
Sometimes travel ment I was not home when my kids were younger
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place it once was
worker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLNovember 4, 2015
The changes in upper management has really put a toll on the workforce as far as company moral. They have adopted a micro management style that has pushed out good employees and losing customer focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Switchman (Former Employee) –  Hearne, TXJuly 29, 2015
Learned what was needed to make it a productive day worked hard and like co workers.It was a job and I liked what I was learning.
Pros
Lunch break
Cons
insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive end fun workplace
mechanic welder (Former Employee) –  Colton, CAMarch 1, 2013
give maintenence to diffrent type of rail cars its a union work the union offer better benefits
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breacks
Was this review helpful?Yes49No31
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 24, 2012
Learned much here in this warehouse from managing to import/export and inventory. Too many work hours not enough pay or compensation.
Pros
discounts on electronics
Cons
lack of time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes18No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Office
Mailroom Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 28, 2012
Working for GATX was a lot of work but I enjoyed every moment. A lot of mail and packages but I love to stay busy at work. I went from being a mail clerk to being a Mailroom Coordinator which I was very proud of. The Supervisor was like a 2nd mom to me always helpful such a great boss
Pros
big company, like family, team players
Was this review helpful?Yes10No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work with
Communications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Normal, ILJune 11, 2012
I worked with GATX for 7 years in the past. Was challenging and fun.
Would work with them again if possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GATX Rail is a great company with many offers
field service leadman (Current Employee) –  lakeland, flDecember 3, 2011
GATX Rail is a great company with great benefits and competitive wages. I really enjoy working for GATX but more money is always welcome, GATX has giving me many oppurtunities to grow and expand my mind
Pros
great benefits
Cons
not many raises
Was this review helpful?Yes24No11

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0