Gateway Casinos & Entertainment Limited

Gateway Casinos & Entertainment Limited Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
F&b
Server (Former Employee) –  London, ON31 January 2018
Very negative atmosphere, management only cares when you don't go above and beyond when you usually, but will pat the person beside you on the back for doing less than expected. Lots of gossip and hardly any teamwork displayed. I was there for almost 2 years and there are no windows and it honestly just sucks the life out of you. most servers get 1 day off a week and always understaffed. The pay however, is competitive and the benefits aren't bad. A lot of miscommunication if any swell. Very poor hours and it's difficult to attain another job and they don't work around schedules at all, so if you're a student, do not apply here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company - stay away
Surveillance Operator (Current Employee) –  Point Edward, ON21 January 2018
The worst company I’ve worked for
They do not care about healthy life balance
We are under staffed - no wage increase- can’t take vacation - no training . Better to go work at a minimum wage job at healthy hours for better managers

Toxic atmosphere having to watch people say in and day out waste their money and ruin their lives.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Hours, pay, atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON13 January 2018
The people I work with are great. Management has been great in solving issues as they arise. Management has also been very good to me in terms of career advancement. Overall a good place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sub par management
Surveillance Operator (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC11 January 2018
Unless your looking for a job that requires no imagination, drive, or skills Do Not apply here. There are too many people whom believe in the CYA attitude. Cover your butt. There are managers whom have never managed and decided to take on a dictator role instead of a mentoring role.

The hardest part of this job is seeing patrons wasting thier life saving day in and day out.

The best part of this job is the pay. They pay you fine for the mediocre job duties that you must perform.

Workplace culture at Gateway is horrendous. Over pretentious managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many warnings about how this company sets you up to fail!!! ALL TRUE!!! Minimal training, no job description, EVERYTHING thrown at you with criticism
Casino worker (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC6 January 2018
Many warnings about how this company sets you up to fail and this is sadly true! No job description, even when this was asked for many times!! After the so called training period they will through everything under the sun at you plus anything and everything you were not even trained on. When you can't do it, because you don't know how you get constant negative criticism. You are treated with ZERO respect!! No wonder the frontline staff are unionized!!!

Penticton, General manager and managers make fun of employees or colleagues with speach impediments or disabilities, really sad
Pros
None
Cons
Zero respect, to all
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Dealer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 December 2017
Players are friendly but some of them are not very when they are losing money.
Supervisors and management are ok. Just as anywhere else; some bad some good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Surveillance Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 November 2017
You do not want to be in the security or surveillance departments, work over 44 hours a week and over 88 per two you do not get over time. Management has no practical experience and is a joke. Do not expect any formal training at this job and be prepared to hear no we aren't going to train you when you ask.
Pros
Work alot
Cons
Bad management and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gateway
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 October 2017
Good company, good pay. Management sucks but everywhere does. Various positions and room for advancement. Unionized for employees so good and bad. Overall a decent place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relief Table Games Supervisor
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC4 October 2017
Working at Gateway was very memorable for me. I learned a lot, grew a lot as an individual and enjoyed my employment. Family illness had me relocate to another province so unfortunately i had to end my career.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working for longtime,time to change in different menu
3rd Cook (Current Employee) –  British Columbia30 September 2017
I need to change, fresh menua for excellent area, and crowded people,. fun to work it,.well ready for interview, just let me know, so far dayoff this October wed/thu/.hardworking , and past especialy rush hour, smile with customer anytime give them excellent service,.
Pros
2for one
Cons
40hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, heavy workload, no life-work ballance because of shift work
Cage Cashier (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 September 2017
Fast paced environment, high standards of customer service.
Heavy workload, not enough cashiers, always short staffed.
No life-work ballance because of shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and fun workplace
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC13 September 2017
Stable and fun workplace. Lot of things you will learned in gaming company. Lot of personal growth can be attained in working in this company. You can be sure to attain a very good relationship with co- employee and patron as well. The hardest part of our job is when there is a promotion and the casino were almost full and the minors were trying to enter.. The most enjoyable part is when somebody won a major prize. everybody is happy.
Pros
xmas gift
Cons
suspension
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still early days
Security Supervisor EMR & First Aid instructor (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON4 August 2017
Still early days since Gateway took over, waiting for good things to come to Ontario. Hoping for better schedules and staffing levels to increase providing more flexibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment
Food and Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Villa Casino Edmonton15 July 2017
Very fast paced energetic environment. Lots of pressure from upper management to increase sales. Bonuses are pulled if you do not achieve overly high sales expectations.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long hours 10-12
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's about the MONEY!
Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC11 June 2017
A day in the life of a Gateway employee. Look busy, cover your back, make sure the bullseye is on someone else.
For the most part, under educated individuals with large egos who control the casino empire for Catalyst Equity Group.
There has not been a just case for employee dismissal since the original founders sold it Catalyst.
Bullying is the normal, senior leadership team have absolutely no ethical behavioural traits.
Pros
Non
Cons
Low pay. Long hours and zero gratitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, never a dull moment
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 May 2017
You have to put in a lot of hours, even beyond that is normally expected. I was pulled into doing the transition from the Grand Villa Casino from Baccarat. It was an 8 month contract. Typical IT work. I was not involved in the intricate details of the planning process. Help was needed in the whole transition, and I had done what I was supposed to do. There was a lot of coordination between vendors, suppliers, and contractors. In the end the Grand Villa Casino was a success in terms of getting the IT completed. I enjoyed working with Thomas who was my supervisor. He was very involved in the whole transition. Before the opening on September, I was pretty burnt out in travelling back and forth from the casinos. I can't really complain, due to the fact that this was a temporary position. During this whole endevour I learned to provide a good plan and plan for alternative options. The casino life is a bit different than what is to be expected.The fun part is seeing the patrons roaming around with smiles across their faces and mesmerized by the atmosphere. The most difficult part is to maintain proper timelines to ensure the opening was a success.
Pros
Environment is exciting and new, can get discounts on food, always on the run
Cons
Loud (all you hear is noises, bells, slot machines, laughter etc, but this should be expected).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
admin (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC30 March 2017
Worked in the head office.. Management bully's.. they fire employees for no reason other than a manager has a personal conflict with you. Development team has so many people going in and out because of the management.

Bullying, and HR department does nothing. Senior Manager has a reputation in the industry as being a bully, swears, yells and talks down to employees, trades, etc.

Shame on you Gateway.. horrible place to work. If you want a short-lived career.. work here.. otherwise stay away!
Pros
nice fellow employees in the office
Cons
Management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work with many opportunities they have a strong managment team willing to help any way possible its fun and many ways to advance
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 March 2017
Working in this company was a great experience and would be to anybody with a great work ethic. There are many opportunities to advance ones self. They have a great team with many diffrent support systems. It's a place of communication and to me that is a very important thing in any aspect of hospitality.
Pros
Great benefits, rrsp programs, and a great lunch program many other sister company benifits
Cons
Its a very busy place and may need to ask more than once for equipment needed like tongs spoons etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Dealer (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC1 March 2017
its a great place to work people are very helpful when i have questions and the management team is always helping when i make mistakes giving good feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lakecity Casino in Vernon BC
security guard (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC31 January 2017
it was a fun place to work, lots of different people with different views and at different walks of life came through those doors. friendly coworkers, competent management, however their policies and procedures are very strict and it is very easy to fall out of their good graces.
Pros
25% discount at the restaurant
Cons
they have a no mercy approach to screw ups
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gateway Casinos & Entertainment Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 45 reviews
58
411
39
25
112

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.7Culture