Find companies:
GateGourmet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
273 reviews

GateGourmet Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced work place
Kitchen Assistant and Galley Builder (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches, benefits
A typical day at work starts at 6:30 am and ends at 3:00pm. I prepare meals for flights and help with packaging. I learned a lot about team work, precision and punctuality. We have a good management team and helpful co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
Food Prep/Production (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 18, 2014
Good union job,& benefits,but no where to move up.Working in the airline industry,new owners are trying to break up our union,work stability is in the dark.Over all my fellow employees,supervisors are good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Final Assembler (Former Employee), Toronto International AirportNovember 21, 2013
Pros: fresh buffet lunches cooked by chef
Cons: short hours per weekly
A typical day is starting my shift around 10 am until 7pm, pick up my flight schedules and list of flights for the day, usually domestic flights; such as montreal, vancouver, etc. I rarely dealt with international flights since i was a seasonal p/timer and a junior within the company because they are bigger flights, and i mean by that with return meals – more... as well so it's double. Atleast, i received 10-12 flights per day. The management and co-workers were great, loved them all but i barely use to see the supervisor around, but quality assurance is usually around or customer service since it is food handling. As a final Assembler, my job was to ensure/check all the required meals are on board and ready to go onto the departing flight at my own pace within datelines provided by the management. The hardest part was not getting enough hours to work as the other senior employees. The most enjoyable was each worker gets their own flights to work with at their own timeframe and separated. I loved everyone and Gate gourmet is a great company, fun, huge and has a great reputation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly working environment
Production Team Member (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBSeptember 11, 2013
Learned to work as a Team Member , Had friendly environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at, worst boss to work for
Warehouse & Procurement (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: unclear priorities, undisciplined work place, worst boss
I came on board with a vast experience and background in distribution. However, I found the GM of YEG is involved in hiding facts and selective in his approach. He targeted those who he didn't like regardless of their work ethics. Evidence of theft on the job was provided to him on several instances and he gave the employees in question a benefit of – more... doubt. He also worked on projects without a clear priority in mind and did not do any follow up. He showed his senior management that everything was great but in fact it wasn't. Through out my time, I didn't receive any praise for my work despite my long hours or extra work to get the job done. I will never recommend him to any one nor will I work for such a person in my life. His management team included some persons that were not qualified and were getting a free hand due to his selective targeting. The work place was a terrible example of a plant that provided catering to the best airlines in the world. The GM should have been removed long time ago as he was in the footsteps of previous management who I didn't work with but heard numerous stories about their malpractices and other unprofessional work ethics. Overall the company is not a bad company but the Edmonton branch was the worst place to work at due to the senior management. I will never go back there as I have nightmares of the place. You will be surprised that your work is being judged by a person who doesn't even know your work and is unable to support and ducks you. There were instances where my boss left me face the heat directly from customers when there could have been a better explanation of things, had my boss knew what was going on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every month birthday and anniversary cup cakes.
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch and parking.
Cons: i wake up at 3:00am
Everyday is a great day at work, a typical day is doing inventory, shipping, receiving and make sure all things are supplied so that there is no delays.
I learn that you have to be flexible and when you work with others it's a good idea to lead by example
I work with great management that are willing to listen and make it easy for us to give our customers – more... the best service.
I have great co-workers where we can help each other and get the work done.
The hardest part of my job is not knowing if I have a job or if I am going to be laid off at any giving time.
I really do enjoy everything about my job, I fell like what ever you are doing for a living you have to enjoy it and it will not fell like work at all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many long hours, short staffed, high turnover
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Montreal, QuebecMarch 2, 2013
Pros: some nice people
Cons: long hours, hectic constantly
Hours are long, working conditions not the best, short staffed and a high turnover of employees. Salary freezes and when time for a raise after salary freezes, you are back to square 1, more salary freezes !

Alm819 – March 15, 2013

I am a former employee and I feel that we were not able to communicate with the checkers or general aids. I found there was favoritism and jealousy. No matter how hard you worked you never get recognized and don't feel appreciated.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Airline Catering
ASG Analyst (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 13, 2012
Fast paced environment.
Good management.
Fun loving colleagues.

JSTE – June 3, 2013

I don't agree with the last 2 comments.....sorry but this is my opinion. Its fast paced but management is the worst and there is a lot of jealousy among colleagues and people pass the buck to save themselves from getting the heat!!!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A GOOD PLACE TO BE EMPLOYEED
NO COMMENT (Current Employee), TORONTOAugust 3, 2012
Pros: no comment
Cons: long hours-rude employees and management
WORST JOB EVER!!!....DO NOT APPLY, YOU WILL REGRET IT BIG TIME.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Business oriented
CXP/SAP Billing Analyst, ASG Finance (Former Employee), Reston, VAJuly 21, 2014
Cons: no merit increases
I learned much on my own regarding SAP collectives to process Invoices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Lead (Current Employee), Miami, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: free breakfast and lunches
Cons: working environment with very high cold temperatures
Working environment with very high cold temperatures.
Food Assembler.
Completes and assembles food items on upright carts and airline equipment, including tray setups. Tray setups must follow airline specifications and usually include tray, paper tray liner, cup, plates, dessert, salad, snacks, bread, butter, condiments and eating utensils.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Account Lead (Current Employee), VAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: management is horrible, not properly trained. they are not on same page
This is a great place for a full-time part-time job. Management is not working as a team. This will make working here a challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), Inwood, NYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: cold environment, employee turnover.
Cool to work in a kitchen that prepared foods fresh for airlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*****
HR Coordinator/Payroll Administrator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: *****
Cons: *****
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont apply for this job!!!
Delivery Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 15, 2014
If I knew the things I know I NEVER have ap0plied for this job! They're people working there that haven't received a raise in 4-5 years. There is suppose to a union but you never hear from but they take the union fee out of your check. I wouldn't recommend everyone to this job!!!! No free luches and no breaks, you barely have time to take a lunch and – more... they dont care just work!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
CSR DRIVER (AIRLINE CATERER) (Former Employee), NYJuly 14, 2014
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of there is no issues an ok place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy
A Flight Coordinator (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: benefits medical, 401k, vision
typical day is really busy and you never know how its going to be, real active and hectic environment. meet new people every day since they are different flight attendants in every daily flight..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfing job, many goals are set and uptained. Customer service is the most important result of typical day.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 2, 2014
Pros: benefits, insurance and over communication
Cons: longs hours on some days.
Typical day depends on the work load, airline catering has many different parts that make it a very interesting business. Have learned to work at a fast pace, with different culture of people and how to make decisions on the go. hardest part of the job is the amount of hours on some days. Most enjoyable is being presented with Unit of the quarter for – more... United Airlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse group of fellow co-workers and job responsibilities.
Administrative Operations Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch, nice cafeteria, friendly working environment
Cons: long hours, sometimes short breaks, always overtime.
I update, revise, fix daily dispatch paper to delivery to the departments. I work with several databases such as CXP, IFX4, Airvision, Skywest and more.The dispatch paper gives information to different departments in order to cater the planes going out of O'hare for the day. I learned how to create data for a extra flight added to the original dispatch – more... sheet for the day. My co-worker is always available for any questions I have concerning my job responsibilities. The hardest part is getting back to back changes for planes services which takes time to recreate and delivery to the floor. I enjoy completing my day of work on a timely basis with now incidents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate Gourmet is a great work environment
Food Assembler/Food Production (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJJune 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch from the hot kitchen every day
a typical day at work with Gate Gourmet is high energy with scheduled responsibilities which you become accustomed to wile working in the environment. following directions as a team or even a single worker is key when your working in food production. working with co-workers and staff is an honor,you'l always learn something new and exciting to make – more... your work flow as smooth as possible.Gate Gourmet is a work place with growth,the company is always looking for co-workers and staff that has great work ethic and may even be consider'd employee of the month etc. Gate Gourmet is a great place to work. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About GateGourmet

Dining at 30,000 feet is no problem when the plane is loaded with food from Gate Gourmet. The foodservice company is one of the – Read more