GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to if you work on the second floor......next to the CEO !!!!
Transportation (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 January 2018
Not a very good place to work if you work on the ground floor in the front lines !!!

Not a very good environment to work in.

High turn over of people
Pros
none
Cons
Job comes first before anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail kitchen
RETAIL KITCHEN (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 January 2018
Safty of the employees comes first. The employees at gate gourmet work as a team, with little or no supervision. Employees finish their task assign to them on time
Pros
Good benefit
Cons
Cold environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work wherein you dont need to worry about the food.
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC26 December 2017
Its a tough job. You should always follow Standard Operating Procedure. Its a big responsibility and you should do or finish the flight on time without delay.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Tough job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work at.
Transportation (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 December 2017
Worked there for a while in the Edmonton location.
All what you can see is careless managers that has no common sense & no brain.
If there will be an Oscar Awards in stupidity, then Gate Gourmet management will win it proudly with no doubt.
My advice is to stay away from that place. Too much headache & nobody care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a really good job
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 November 2017
I enjoyed working at Gate Gourmet because it has provided with me new skills that I can use in the future with other jobs. It helped me interact with others, count supplies, and organize food as well as ship/receive products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization in Need of Organizing
CATEGORY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON6 November 2017
Procurement and buying teams were in severe need of reorganization. Fast pace of menu changes presents a unique set of changes that requires a very organized efficient procurement and buying team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Food Stores Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 October 2017
Awesome Experience
Great environment
Great People
Friendly Place
No Complaints
Lots to Learn
Great Work Culture
Great Management
Great Days at work
Everything was fantastic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 September 2017
its ok hard work. little to no benefits. No bonuses. Mediocre salary. A lot of expectations Upper management is involved to a certain extent but hope they were more involved in the operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customs Assistant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 September 2017
A Good company to work with.The management is very serious about his work ethics.
The Union is helpful for the union members. Everyone respect other co-worker and make the working environment safe and sound.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak
Commissary (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 July 2017
Working for a transport catering outfit is never going to come to much, so there's not really much scope for getting more out of this unionised job. The work can be relatively easy and the teams are fun to work with, but getting the place to be more efficient is nearly impossible as the management are focused on the Gate OPEX standards and not on the encouragement of a positive attitude in the workplace.
Pros
Lunch is fifty cents off your paycheck. Full benefits when on full time hours.
Cons
Sometimes scheduled for a four hour shift, end up having to do 12 hours because someone else screwed up
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to build a career
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 June 2017
- Great environment
- New challenge
- Team work
- People so friendly
- Well organized
- Challenging place

--------------------
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent learning space
General Seasonal Helper (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 June 2017
I enjoyed working at Gate Gourmet because it has provided with me new skills that I can use in the future with other jobs. It helped me interact with others, count supplies, and organize food as well as ship/receive products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad environment
Supervisor Operations Controller (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC18 April 2017
all that is good is health care, salary reasonable.

company is to be avoided long term. many mental health and phisical issues due to lack of respect and negligence,
Pros
benifats
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 April 2017
Don't have too much to say about the company itself. Staff are overworked and under appreciated! They are short staffed most days but refuse to hire anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
Not a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really like to work here
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2017
I am working as buyer in this since 2012.,good place to work. management is very helpful.
workplces culture is very comfetable.
Enjoyable part of job is full fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with learning oppurtunity
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 February 2017
I had been blessed to work at this company. I have learned different softwares and have got oppurtunity to meet different kind of people with different background.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 February 2017
in this company i got work placement, everybody very supportive
i learnt and get Canadian experience. due to short span of time i only focus on my day to day work and report to my supervisor. the work schedule was so tight. you have to maintain dead line.
Pros
Multitask
Cons
only no pacement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace Environment
Refiller (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 January 2017
The thing I enjoyed the most about working at Gate Gourmet was a schedule was given and you had to finish that within 8 hours. Since I am a face pace worker I would finish everything within 4-5 hours and would try to help others as much as possible.
Pros
Finishing Early
Cons
Food wasnt good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management requires improvement
1st cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 November 2016
Need to invest more in staff.

keep cutting budget and forces workers to produce more.

management do not know how to handle problems.

equipment keep breaking and not fixing it.

horrible staff meals.

Pay is not that high.

people who work there long time very lazy.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
bad management with low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst senior management
Operations, former employee (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC30 October 2016
One of the way to tell how good a company is to work for is its ability to retain talent. I keep seeing the same job postings coming up for GG over and over again in the last few years. This must make one thinks what they do to employees to make them leave so often, especially when these postings are mid-management positions.

The General Manager was a tyranny, had little knowledge of the food industry and still ran on the 'iron fist' management style from the 70's. Senior management is so focus on labour cost that he does not see other important aspects of running a food business, such a quality, waste, and employee morales.

I would not recommend this place to anyone that already have senior management experience from other progressive companies, it will just leave you frustrated and feel suffocated due to the micromanagement style from the top. However, it can be a good stepping stone for freshly graduates.
Pros
Competitive pay and benefits
Cons
Micromanagement, Silo mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 902 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2