GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to build a career
Operation Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 June 2017
- Great environment
- New challenge
- Team work
- People so friendly
- Well organized
- Challenging place

--------------------
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent learning space
General Seasonal Helper (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 June 2017
I enjoyed working at Gate Gourmet because it has provided with me new skills that I can use in the future with other jobs. It helped me interact with others, count supplies, and organize food as well as ship/receive products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 April 2017
Don't have too much to say about the company itself. Staff are overworked and under appreciated! They are short staffed most days but refuse to hire anyone.
Pros
None
Cons
Not a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really like to work here
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2017
I am working as buyer in this since 2012.,good place to work. management is very helpful.
workplces culture is very comfetable.
Enjoyable part of job is full fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work with learning oppurtunity
Pricing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 February 2017
I had been blessed to work at this company. I have learned different softwares and have got oppurtunity to meet different kind of people with different background.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace Environment
Refiller (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 January 2017
The thing I enjoyed the most about working at Gate Gourmet was a schedule was given and you had to finish that within 8 hours. Since I am a face pace worker I would finish everything within 4-5 hours and would try to help others as much as possible.
Pros
Finishing Early
Cons
Food wasnt good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management requires improvement
1st cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 November 2016
Need to invest more in staff.

keep cutting budget and forces workers to produce more.

management do not know how to handle problems.

equipment keep breaking and not fixing it.

horrible staff meals.

Pay is not that high.

people who work there long time very lazy.
Pros
good co workers
Cons
bad management with low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst senior management
Operations, former employee (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC30 October 2016
One of the way to tell how good a company is to work for is its ability to retain talent. I keep seeing the same job postings coming up for GG over and over again in the last few years. This must make one thinks what they do to employees to make them leave so often, especially when these postings are mid-management positions.

The General Manager was a tyranny, had little knowledge of the food industry and still ran on the 'iron fist' management style from the 70's. Senior management is so focus on labour cost that he does not see other important aspects of running a food business, such a quality, waste, and employee morales.

I would not recommend this place to anyone that already have senior management experience from other progressive companies, it will just leave you frustrated and feel suffocated due to the micromanagement style from the top. However, it can be a good stepping stone for freshly graduates.
Pros
Competitive pay and benefits
Cons
Micromanagement, Silo mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
atmosphère réellement pas bonne
ancien chauffeur (Former Employee) –  montréal-trudeau30 July 2016
la pire compagnie pour qui j,ai travaillé pas le temps de souper la plus part du temps et plus tu en donne a la compagnie plus il en demande pendant que les sans coeur je pogne le c_ _ les autres travail comme des fous pas capable d'apprécier les bons employé moins tu en fait mieux tu est traité
Pros
repas gratuit oui quand tu as le temps de manger 10 minutes et pas mangeable
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate gourmet review
Liquor Handler/ Final Assembly (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 May 2016
Great company to work for, excellent management and amazing team to work with. Always looking forward to my next shift. It's a great company to work for
Pros
Provides lunches
Cons
low hours during summer months
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No time to play around, just concentration at work
Miantenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 May 2016
Working a Gate a Gourmet it was one of my best experience in life, moving inside of the international airport inspecting and helping the fleet trucks serving food for the different airlines on time. My co-workers all them show all the secret to be an expert in a short time. the hardest part of the job was, when we have a broken truck in the door of one airplane Gate Gourmet have to pay $1,000 for every minute to take off deleted
Pros
The food at any break time was good
Cons
The time at working hours we were busy all day full
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and friendly people
Operations Excellence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2016
Great place to start a career as most people are friendly easy to approach and willing to help.
Cafe provides free meals 3 times a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive under stress and fun department.
Foodstore Leadhand Receiver (HACCP) (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC22 January 2016
learned alot about different aircraft types,
when working with a good group of co-workers, makes a day enjoyable!
responsiblity and leadership.
learned about quality of foods(fruits,veg,meats and fish)
very good experience in the work force.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
some poor managment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright place to work
ware wash (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 November 2015
the working environment is very cold, messy because of the leftover food and wet at times depending on which division you work in.
Pros
lunch is provided
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desired place to Work at but can be stressful and hard at times.
Commissary Worker at Pearson Airport (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2015
There would be days where work tasks wouldn't be too tedious and were manageable by one person. Other days one person would be expected to do the work-load of 2-3 people by himself. Equipment and elevators sometimes didn't work which complicated work-load for everybody. Staff was properly taken care of and fed in terms of health and safety.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great management and working environment
Maintenance Technician - (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 October 2015
My manager at the time was always very supportive from the beginning. The work was very extensive and organized. Got every job done with ease as all equipment and training was available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favoritisme/racial
chauffeur (Former Employee) –  dorval26 July 2015
le travail que je faisais était motivant on ne voit pas l'heure passer
cependant le management le rendait compliqué en favorisant certains et écrasant d'autres
Pros
repas inclus
Cons
syndicat corrompu
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst ever team
Planner - Dispatcher - Transport Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 March 2015
This was like working back in the 60's .... 1860
Unfortunately management has less than necessary skill sets and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Lead Hand, BarBuilder (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC23 February 2015
the funnest part of the job is going home after 8hrs...good co-workers to be around, I've learned to that the airport business is not for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on locations
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 December 2014
Like many large company, how good is to work there depends on your immediate boss and the exact location you are working in. I am not going to put the whole company down, but the location that I had a brief encounter with was not a place I would suggest. The senior management was not transparent, he micro-manages (like management meeting daily!) I have been in similar role in a similar size company, and I meet with my senior staff once a week, not daily!!! My first 90 days there, the GM wants me to suspend close to 20% of my department! When I voiced my opinion he decided to discharge me. Furthermore, during my time there, I told him that we should look at the quality of food we produced by doing taste test (like most food manufacturing company that I headed up), his comment was that we never got our audition marks dotted because of taste!!! Good grief, that's what we are feeding the airline customers?!!!
Pros
Large company, chance to grow
Cons
Senior management has very little knowledge of food industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 757 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

67%
237 ratings
Add your rating