Garmin Employee Reviews

Showing all 119 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, global experience
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg9 February 2017
My role was to be the the primary contact for all IT functions & Infrastructure in South Africa and had to manage all the IT for the SA Office. Great experience going from a small company to a global company and was enabled to work on worldwide projects with worldwide remember , hardest part for me was to leave as i wanted to relocate & enjoyed the people the most , felt like family.
Pros
Good benefits including wellness programs
Cons
Working with global teams can be a challenge in terms of time zones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive company
CUSTOMER SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO2 February 2017
Enjoyed working for Garmin. Had excellent new employee training program. Excellent benefits. Was always given ability to use judgement when offering customer resolution. Opportunities to transfer to different device support.
Pros
Benefits, hours, fun yet rewarding cusotmer and coworker interactions
Cons
Some days were not as challenging as others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Steady Job
Product Support Specialist- Marine (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR25 January 2017
Great place to work if you only want to pay your bills. Little to no chance for internal advancement. Very stingy on raises. EVERYTHING is decided by the people in Kansas.
Super chill atmosphere.
Pros
Good stable company.
Cons
No raises, no advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful - slave labour
Customer Care/ Product Support (Former Employee) –  Totton24 January 2017
Made a lot of promises in interview which wasn't kept. Only had 3 weeks training instead of the 6 promised and then you get moaned at constantly for not knowing answers or being slow. Told you can ask for help at any time but managers get stressy when you ask. Have reasonable breaks but got moaned at for going to the loo outside of breaks or getting water. If you finished phonecall and took more than 90 seconds to go on next one (to catch your breath) they would Skype you constantly saying hurry up. Same if you went to loo and were just about to sit down they would bombard you with Skype messages saying hurry up log on. Told in interview that you will do mix of time on calls and emails but you are given calls all day and have to do emails at same time, or you get publicly shamed. Forced to go to meetings but then have to sacrifice your lunch break.
Pros
Good facilities, occasional outings, discount products (if you pass probation which is impossible) friendly Co workers
Cons
Stressful work, no support, no progression, high staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develope skills
Product Support Specialist 2 (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS23 January 2017
On a daily basis I work with customers to determine what best serves the customer's individual needs. I provides “how to” assistance and support on consumer devices by answering phone calls and emails. I monitor and document then report failure trends in Garmin equipment while identifying and recommending improvements in Garmin products. I answer inquiries and requests regarding products, orders, pricing and other services offered by Garmin. I Mentor new hires, guiding them through their daily routine. I train in a class room setting or one-on-one to solidify procedural concepts and product knowledge.

Garmin is a amazing place to work. I have grown so much since I started here. Management is open and approachable, teams are focused on growth and level of service being offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garmin in UK very poor
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire20 January 2017
Garmin in the UK is awful. Their customer service if you can call it that is appalling. You are trained not to talk through the customers problem but to send emails with instructions.

Garmin products are not cheap and I expected better more professional people. Apparently in the states is a different story as this is were the company is from. I think Garmin products are great but Garmin UK is dreadful and you can tell by the trainers that they do not spend much money on getting good people actually I think they were from the council. Which shows how low Garmin are prepared to go to cut costs.

The place is ok if you have no experience and want to be around non professional people but want to gain some customer service experience but please do not think this is the standard to attain.
Pros
None
Cons
its a let down for garmin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Southampton10 January 2017
fun workplace to work, a lot of friends and funny people. The management was perfect and the salary too. Good city and place to live.
Pros
all
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and dynamic place but not the work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR3 January 2017
The most enjoyable part is the people who work there and the atmosphere. There is a certain amount of time that is recommended to help solve a problem but this is never a hard cap. Because of the lax requirements on the floor, people mingle quite a lot. In addition, the upper management are very friendly. In addition, everyone around you is in the same boat so if you need help with something there are plenty of people to ask. If it wasn't for the type of work it is I would have given a 5 star.
Pros
No time limit on calls, integrated system, friendly coworkers
Cons
Clunky tracking system, same call every day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR31 December 2016
Call center work can be challenging and stressful but when you have great people, both co-workers & Supervisors it makes the day easier to get through.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporation, horrible local management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR13 December 2016
The company overall provides great benefits and treats employees well, globally. The local management / leadership needs to go through a culture change. Facilities and management in the mid west are top notch. Salem Oregon is in the stone age. Low level employees are not paid well and the level of politics holds many of the back from ever moving up in the ranks.
Pros
good insurance, recreation equipment and facilities
Cons
poor leadership and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work
Administrative Assistant / Order Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mexico, ME12 October 2016
Garmin is a company who cares of their employees and gives oportunities to grow on knowledge and experience.
Garmin is a leading company in technology who cares of the enviroment and on giving the best product to people.
The star products are GPS for cars, airplanes and boats, also they offer products to improve health and to for measure data for athletes.
My experience working with them was productive and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it ok
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS 6606226 September 2016
they are moving everything to Olathe and i live in MO i cant afford to make the drive on the salary they provide so i have to quit and find a new job and they are offering no compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work and Life balance.
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS25 September 2016
Challenging work environment. 0 growth opportunity. If you want job security but no career, this is the place. No Bonuses. Great 401K, health benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work but can't compete rivals at all
Software Engineer, Testing Team (Former Employee) –  Taipei21 September 2016
I was working at the smartphone department of this company. The company culture was good, everyone enjoyed life working there but the management was terrible. I only had only done two complete projects during the two hand half years there. Won't learn too much there.
Pros
Highly balanced life
Cons
nothing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workload was okay but won't get too much achievements
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Taipei Taiwan21 September 2016
I worked at Garmin Taiwan, the company was okay overall. The superiors were a little bossy somehow. Colleagues were good mostly. Salary and benefits were about the average and that's all. The management was bad in some teams and not likely to change at all. A company you can stay if you just want a stable career.
Pros
Stable, OK salary, life balance
Cons
Nothing cool, conservative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, great benefits.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS25 August 2016
I enjoyed my co-workers...2nd shift management usually played there little games of who they like and don't like. Job was easy. benefits were great. I got let go during time off for health reasons. i was shocked when i got the call not to return to work the following week. if you work there, work on 1st shift. 2nd shift management was terrible in the production area alot of work needs to be done there.
Pros
company outings, benefits.
Cons
2nd shift management in production areas, getting letting go while i was on fmla
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS23 August 2016
Fast paced work environment. People are great. Cutting edge technology. What I enjoyed the most was the introduction of a new product into production. It was fun solving the problems and suggesting solutions. I enjoyed working with the engineers with troubleshoot, repair and production flow.
Pros
Excellent staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great inviroment
Production/Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS11 August 2016
Wonderful hours and people. loved the OVER TIME. Nothing compared to the work it wasn't hard but NOT easy. The people were nice to
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best call center of Salem!
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR7 August 2016
Garmin AT is a great place to work! They have great benefits, good pay, and a great structure. The employees are super friendly, and the supervisors really care to know you and what your goals are. If you don't mind or love Customer Service/Tech Support, this would be the call center to work at.

Note: I was there as a temp so my pay was different than the full time reps.
Pros
Great Benefits, management cares, friendly relaxed enviroment
Cons
Can be repetative, schedule stays the same
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NZ brand with US influence
International Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland6 August 2016
FUSION operates in the fast paced marine tech sector and thus needs to be fast to adapt when change happens. Because of this there is always something new going on which makes it exciting on a daily basis.

Since the Garmin takeover there is more of a US influence on what happens at FUSION which has improved some efficiency and added some complexities.

The co-workers are great and everyone works towards a common goal. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with stakeholders from all over the world and getting to experience the various markets in which FUSION participates.
Pros
Great team of people
Cons
No family friendly activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 119 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7
64%

CEO Approval

Based on 31 ratings
Add your rating