Garmin Employee Reviews

Showing all 138 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comercial de ventas
Comercial de ventas (Former Employee) –  Estepona, Málaga17 August 2017
Perfecta comprenetracion con la empresa, todo ha ido perfecto.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hambiente tranquilo con poco trabajo fuera de mis proyectos
Atención al cliente (Current Employee) –  Lomas de Zamora, Buenos Aires6 July 2017
Es un local con poca venta con lo cual mi tiempo se torna interminable y me siento estancada.
Pros
Cerca y cómodo
Cons
Poco aprendizaje
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company with great products but horrible approach to employees
Customer Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire22 June 2017
I worked as a customer advisor, taking inbound calls and responding to emails before being promoted to a position equal to manager's assistant. Dealing with customers was the easiest part of the job even when you factor in the escalations and PC-illiterate folks. Staying on top of all the new products was more challenging, while the worst experience was provided by the HR, who were constantly trying to cut you down. The people you work with are also a problem, especially when the mistakes they make become a liability for everyone who has to clean up after them. Overall I would recommend as a good place to climb up the ranks quickly but get out before it poisons you.
Pros
opportunity to loan great tech
Cons
micromanagement, everpresent negativity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, no real promotions
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR8 June 2017
Garmin was a great company to work for and they take great care of their employees! Wonderful call center environment, great benefits, but like most call centers there is no real possibility for promotion.
Pros
Great atmospher, great work culture, wonderful benefits
Cons
No promotion opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Software Engineering Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS1 June 2017
From day 1 I have continuously been pleasantly surprised at how Garmin treats their employees. The area is wonderful and the people are very likable. I have enjoyed developing my career here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do the training then leave, easy money
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire30 May 2017
Garmin is a terrible place to work, the respect they have for they're employees is a disgrace. Because of the lack of respect they have for they're employees causes a big turn around in staff. People often leave because of the way they are treated or eventually get sacked because they simply don't like you, usually this is because some people actually stand up for themselves and they're basic human rights (they don't let you go to the toilet, you will go as and when they want you to, not when you need to). I wouldn't recommend Garmin to anyone, though If i where to suggest anything I would say that if you are offered a job there then go the 3 weeks classroom training (the trainers are nice and its an easy to just sit there and do nothing). once you've done the 3 weeks training just leave, get paid 3 weeks for doing nothing.
Pros
pay is decent
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS29 May 2017
This place is warehouse heaven. Heated and cooled with organization and teams who know their roles as well as management who has a level head and good management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work in consumer electronics.
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS22 May 2017
It is great to be able to tell anyone where you work and for the name to be instantly recognized as a brand for consumer electronics all around the globe. Love it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for. Very efficient and willing to listen and possibly implement ideas.
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  The only con was getting laid off.21 May 2017
As a technical support representative, trainer and mentor my day was filled with taking inbound calls and making outbound calls to completely satisfy our customers issues they were having with any of our Garmin equipment. Had to be proficient in all Microsoft programs as well as Oracle and internal sites.
Pros
Great people and great company. Actual advancement opportunities available
Cons
The only con was getting laid off.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
visual check (Former Employee) –  Taiwan9 May 2017
not so good but they also give equal treatment for their employees.salary is very low because its just a pioneering company.but they also give free tour for their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place!
Product Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS28 April 2017
You are well taken care of at Garmin. Relationships are amazing and work environment is encouraging. Training is constant, makes you a better employee.
Pros
Product discounts
Cons
Time keeping system
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, advancement is minimum
FITNESS PRODUCT SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS24 April 2017
Work days can be easy and fun, depending on management. There can be micro management that tends to drive down the morale. However, not all managers are like that. The schedules are flexible which is a plus. Advancement within the company can be tricky, and they often hire externally instead of internally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garmin has two sides, engineering and operations.
Reverse Logistics Processor (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS22 April 2017
While the benefits are great, and the company is expanding, they seem to not favor hiring from within. The people I work with are great, and take pride in what we do, but don't necessarily feel engaged by the company.
Pros
Great healthcare, vision, and dental insurance
Cons
Difficult to advance from hourly to salary even after getting a degree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, but stagnant.
Trainer, Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZ 8571018 April 2017
The job is easy enough, but dead-end, especially in the Tucson office. They do not put enough focus into customer service, so employees in this field are very undervalued.
Pros
Discounts on cool stuff, benefits are pretty good
Cons
No room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work, Relaxed Atmosphere
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS1 April 2017
At Garmin, I enjoy lots of collaboration. From code reviews to design discussions, working with the other associates is a pleasure. The people are smart and easy to work with.

Management does a good job of directing projects, and work hard to avoid overworking the associates. They are also actively and openly working to improve their management style based on feedback from annual company surveys.

There is no dress code, and the company provides many amenities like premium coffee, game room areas, Foosball, ping pong tables, workout facility, soccer field, volleyball courts, walking trail.. you get the picture.
Pros
Relaxed environment, nice amenities, good work-life balance, fun projects
Cons
High stress periods, less-than transparent advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
TECHNICAL SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS29 March 2017
Great Company with strong values and excellent management. Very flexible and understanding. The work was challenging and very easy to stay busy. Overall I was very happy with my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Benefits, Fair Management
Customer Care/Product Support (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, Missouri27 March 2017
Assisted Customers with GPS products to resolve issues and update.
Garmin provides ongoing training with new and existing products.
Workplace is clean, and managed efficiently.
Management is fair.
Hardest part of this job is striving to keep customers happy.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you resolve an issue for a customer and they are satisfied.
Pros
Good benefits and incentives
Cons
Negative point system used for time betwn calls, breaks, sick time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Garmin
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZ7 March 2017
My experience at Garmin was great. Everyone was easy going and helpful. I learned so much at fitness equipment and how serious taking care of my health is. Management was understanding and helpful. The workplace culture was easy going and friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours. The center is open from business hours and closed weekends. It worked great for a while but as life changed my schedule needed to change with it. Every day was an enjoyable experience at Garmin. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mostly Good Short-Term Gig
Electronics Assembler (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR3 March 2017
• A typical day at work: Usually no less than five or six separately-trained tasks over the course of a day. Some multi-tasking, but well within reason most of the time.

• What I learned: Many interesting aspects of SMT assembly and Garmin's product line, brushed up on electronic assembly skills, mainly manual soldering and wave machine operation.

• Workplace culture: Civil and reasonable. Apart from some isolated instances of "office politics" (a resentful senior assembly worker who was about to retire, thus immune to any consequences of "throwing people under the bus," and an emotionally unstable test technician with territorial issues) it's ordinarily a very pleasant place to work, with supervisory staff quite approachable most of the time.

• The hardest part of the job: In the final months prior to being discharged for seeking permanent employment elsewhere, working with the knowledge that it would never be more than a temporary position.

• The most enjoyable part of the job: generally pleasant co-workers, a low-stress environment (usually) and always something new to learn about the process.

• Management: Generally rational, sensible and easy to work with, but not forthcoming about their intentions with regard to hiring. A supervisor who gives hiring preference to a 19-year-old (brought aboard as a temp several months after myself) on the basis of being friends with that candidate's father, should at least make the effort to come up with a more imaginative explanation than "your résumé got lost in the shuffle."
Pros
Clean, organized, well-lit work environment, line lead(s) and support staff always helpful, "permanent temps" are treated like full employees in some respects.
Cons
Gray hair viewed unfavorably with regard to bottom-end production floor hiring preferences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Employees
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS13 February 2017
Seems like a great pleace to work, but not enough work to keep me busy all day everyday. I don't like being bored and it seems the job is not what they told me about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Garmin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 138 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7