Find companies:
GARMIN
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

GARMIN Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Politics
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Olathe, KSMay 21, 2014
Pros: co-workers, sales staff
Cons: health insurance not subsidized, fight tooth and nail to get a raise, upper management clueless.
Started in the company's first year. Worked as much as 16 hours a day, 7 days a week. Kept getting the "share the wealth" speech from the owner. The bigger they got, the harder it was to get a raise. Talent and work ethic meat nothing, politics meant everything. Worked there for 9 years, never saw "share the wealth" for anyone. There's a reason why – more... most of the employees who started in the first year are gone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, great management
SMT Operator (Former Employee), Olathe, KsMay 7, 2014
Running the small parts machine building circuit boards for Garmin products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An engineer driven and customer-centric environment
Marine Product Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Salem, ORApril 23, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: no bonuses
Garmin started out as a smaller, incredibly positive environment. However, it's currently going through growing pains, however, and becoming more stressful and metric driven.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garmin provides a healthy workplace environment
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee), Salem, ORApril 18, 2014
Pros: supportive work environment, low turnover rate
Cons: customer interaction can sometimes be unpleasant on their end
As an employee at Garmin, there is never a sense of worry or dread that one is not doing their job correctly and is going to be fired. Garmin provides a great workplace where co-workers coexist in a fun and helpful manner and customers are taken care of to the best of our abilities. A typical day at work involves answering somewhere between 20-30 phone – more... calls of varying length and helping customers solve their issues with the products in a thorough manner. Management are supportive and available to assist constantly. The hardest part of the job can be the rigid nature of some customers when trying to assist them. The most enjoyable part of the job are the co-workers and being able to collaborate and enjoy each other's company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is good
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 16, 2014
Learned Media Player Technologies
Management is good.
And I working with good engineers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Support Specialist / Sales
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOMarch 29, 2014
Pros: ongoing training & learning opportunities
As a Product Support Specialist I have the opportunity to assist customers with their Garmin Automotive products. I answer questions about purchasing GPS products and assist customers with the purchase of GPS units and accessories. I answer questions about how to use the products that have been purchased. And, I assist customers with any service, or – more... repair, needs that they may have with their GPS products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work, managers need to work on people skills
facilties Maint Tech (Former Employee), Olathe, KSMarch 29, 2014
i enjoyed my 17 + years at garmin garmin associates are good people and are friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and great company to work for
Senior Design Engineer (Current Employee), Olathe, KSFebruary 5, 2014
Great company to work for. Many projects, great colleagues,...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at Garmin, so far it has been a great learning experience.
Android Developer (Current Employee), Cluj-Napoca, CJJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: stocked kitchen, happy hours, collegial environment, consistent manager feedback
Cons: benefits are good but could be better.
Working at Garmin, this is the first time I'm actually excited on my commute in the morning. Management is transparent and shares high-level goals and company changes; they're accessible, and want to see employees succeed. Feedback from managers is a balance of constructive criticism and insight into your strengths, and provides clear direction on how – more... to continue to develop.

My team is motivated and fun - they take pride in their work, and collaborate together. I learn from them, and continue to be impressed by the ways they challenge themselves to improve their skills and knowledge.
I feel trusted to make decisions, and help change the business for the better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to have worked.
Consumer Electronics Acct. Rep. (Marketing Admin.) (Former Employee), Olathe, KSDecember 4, 2013
Pros: very nice place to have worked
Cons: liked the job i had.
Place orders via phone, fax or email for Aviation Dealer-Ship for products offered by Garmin Inc. and provide tech help for product that wouldn't need to be transferred. Directing and assisting customers as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An innovative, passionate and employee-centric workplace
Product Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Olathe, KSOctober 29, 2013
Garmin is a global company built on creativity, innovation and market leading products. The culture encourages new ideas and out-of-the-box thinking. Employees are valued and empowered. Hard-work and dedication are noticed and rewarded by leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
IT eCommerce Project Analyst (Current Employee), olathe ksOctober 13, 2013
Pros: job secturity
Cons: olathe
It has great people.
Hours are nice.
Pay is respectable.
Benefits are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Senior Structural/Aircraft Certification Engineer (Current Employee), Olathe, KSSeptember 30, 2013
Overall a good place to work. Garmin takes good care of their employees and provides the tools and opportunities for growth. Everyday brings new challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
software support was awesome
SOFTWARE SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Olathe, KSSeptember 10, 2013
i like the freedom of software and computer technology. you can fix someones issues and feel great at the end again i love the troubleshooting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are great. love my co-workers
AVIATION ENGINEERING ELECTRICAIN ASSEMBLER (Current Employee), Olathe,KansasAugust 30, 2013
working for this company was the best. I got learn alot. My co-workers are the best. I got to meet new people, learn about what kind of work they do.
The best part was the PEOPLE's AND THE FRIEND'S, I have made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Product Support Site Manager (Former Employee), Salem, ORAugust 4, 2013
Product Support Site Manager
• Responsible for new site build out.
• Recruited, interviewed, and hired staff.
• Projected budget through 2014.
• Updated all training materials for new hires.
• Tracked call drivers and presented to Chief Operating Officer.
• Set core values and mentored management team for compliance.
• Responsible for ensuring site – more... was ISO compliant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee), Olathe, KSJuly 27, 2013
High volume of inbound calls for assistance with Garmin products and services. Knowing at the end of the day that I was successful at assisting and serving others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Product Support Specialist (Former Employee), Olathe, KSJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: do the same thing all day long
Take customer inbound calls and setup repair orders and help customers setup their gps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Too Old Fashioned
Coordinator (Current Employee), Olathe KSJune 24, 2013
Pros: the community within the company. many employees still have faith, even when the top down feeling is of opression
Cons: the higher management. the closed minded atmosphere. the "my way is the only way" mentality
The VP's of each department are so behind the times on employee relations and company management. The VP of HR openly admits she is so disconnected from the processes of the company that she isn't sure how the department is run: she relies solely on the reports from her Team Leads.
Advancement is based more on who has become the favorite more than it – more... is who has the skills. Because the VP's are so closed minded (meaning they believe their way is the only way to reach a solution) the Team Leads and other management acts the same. They hire in new talent to solve problems and build the company, but if those new thoughts and ideas don't fit with the old model of "this is how we've always done it" then your thoughts/ideas won't be considered. New "career paths" have been created, but these career paths limit your advancement rather than expand the opportunities. One absolutely must be in a certain position for a specific amount of time before advancing to another specific position; zero deviation from the "advancement" path is allowed.
The employees within the company are so talented, but it is quickly losing this talent and skill due to the blindness of the upper management. One large problem is the upper management admits, again openly, that they believe online reviews of a company are just disgruntled employees "venting". They still think that if an employee was so dissatisfied with their place of business they would seek help from HR. HR is a road block. Any "help" sought within that department soon leads to your departure...most often involuntary, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Regional Product Trainer (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: pay could be a lot higher
Great place to work. Benefits are incredible, but the pay is not competitive. If you work out of the headquarters office in Kansas there are a lot of perks, but not so much for off-site employees. Overall, a good and stable company.

About GARMIN

"Dreaming big and obsessing about the details.” It’s a dynamic philosophy that has taken Garmin from a start-up – Read more