Garmin Employee Reviews

Showing all 112 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and dynamic place but not the work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR3 January 2017
The most enjoyable part is the people who work there and the atmosphere. There is a certain amount of time that is recommended to help solve a problem but this is never a hard cap. Because of the lax requirements on the floor, people mingle quite a lot. In addition, the upper management are very friendly. In addition, everyone around you is in the same boat so if you need help with something there are plenty of people to ask. If it wasn't for the type of work it is I would have given a 5 star.
Pros
No time limit on calls, integrated system, friendly coworkers
Cons
Clunky tracking system, same call every day
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR31 December 2016
Call center work can be challenging and stressful but when you have great people, both co-workers & Supervisors it makes the day easier to get through.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporation, horrible local management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR13 December 2016
The company overall provides great benefits and treats employees well, globally. The local management / leadership needs to go through a culture change. Facilities and management in the mid west are top notch. Salem Oregon is in the stone age. Low level employees are not paid well and the level of politics holds many of the back from ever moving up in the ranks.
Pros
good insurance, recreation equipment and facilities
Cons
poor leadership and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work
Administrative Assistant / Order Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mexico, ME12 October 2016
Garmin is a company who cares of their employees and gives oportunities to grow on knowledge and experience.
Garmin is a leading company in technology who cares of the enviroment and on giving the best product to people.
The star products are GPS for cars, airplanes and boats, also they offer products to improve health and to for measure data for athletes.
My experience working with them was productive and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it ok
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS 6606226 September 2016
they are moving everything to Olathe and i live in MO i cant afford to make the drive on the salary they provide so i have to quit and find a new job and they are offering no compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work and Life balance.
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS25 September 2016
Challenging work environment. 0 growth opportunity. If you want job security but no career, this is the place. No Bonuses. Great 401K, health benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work but can't compete rivals at all
Software Engineer, Testing Team (Former Employee) –  Taipei21 September 2016
I was working at the smartphone department of this company. The company culture was good, everyone enjoyed life working there but the management was terrible. I only had only done two complete projects during the two hand half years there. Won't learn too much there.
Pros
Highly balanced life
Cons
nothing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workload was okay but won't get too much achievements
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Taipei Taiwan21 September 2016
I worked at Garmin Taiwan, the company was okay overall. The superiors were a little bossy somehow. Colleagues were good mostly. Salary and benefits were about the average and that's all. The management was bad in some teams and not likely to change at all. A company you can stay if you just want a stable career.
Pros
Stable, OK salary, life balance
Cons
Nothing cool, conservative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers, great benefits.
Operator (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS25 August 2016
I enjoyed my co-workers...2nd shift management usually played there little games of who they like and don't like. Job was easy. benefits were great. I got let go during time off for health reasons. i was shocked when i got the call not to return to work the following week. if you work there, work on 1st shift. 2nd shift management was terrible in the production area alot of work needs to be done there.
Pros
company outings, benefits.
Cons
2nd shift management in production areas, getting letting go while i was on fmla
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS23 August 2016
Fast paced work environment. People are great. Cutting edge technology. What I enjoyed the most was the introduction of a new product into production. It was fun solving the problems and suggesting solutions. I enjoyed working with the engineers with troubleshoot, repair and production flow.
Pros
Excellent staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great inviroment
Production/Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS11 August 2016
Wonderful hours and people. loved the OVER TIME. Nothing compared to the work it wasn't hard but NOT easy. The people were nice to
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best call center of Salem!
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR7 August 2016
Garmin AT is a great place to work! They have great benefits, good pay, and a great structure. The employees are super friendly, and the supervisors really care to know you and what your goals are. If you don't mind or love Customer Service/Tech Support, this would be the call center to work at.

Note: I was there as a temp so my pay was different than the full time reps.
Pros
Great Benefits, management cares, friendly relaxed enviroment
Cons
Can be repetative, schedule stays the same
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NZ brand with US influence
International Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Auckland6 August 2016
FUSION operates in the fast paced marine tech sector and thus needs to be fast to adapt when change happens. Because of this there is always something new going on which makes it exciting on a daily basis.

Since the Garmin takeover there is more of a US influence on what happens at FUSION which has improved some efficiency and added some complexities.

The co-workers are great and everyone works towards a common goal. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with stakeholders from all over the world and getting to experience the various markets in which FUSION participates.
Pros
Great team of people
Cons
No family friendly activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reliable company to work for
Product support specialist, Company (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR12 July 2016
Very reliable company to work for with great hours. Once of the downfalls is there is only full time positions available. I recently had a baby and being a first time mom I would rather work part time that full time.
Pros
reliable company with great benefits
Cons
no part time
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The marine team at Garmin is the absolute best!
Marine Product Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS5 July 2016
From engineering to sales, the marine team really cares about the success of the product lines. The team is spread thin and overworked.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Lack of trust and loyalty
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and conpetetive
MERCHANDISER/PROMOTER (Former Employee) –  Al-Ayn31 May 2016
8 hours a day
explaining products
managing stocks
providing customer service
management is good
we deal at customers technical problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
File Coordinator, accounts pay/receive (Current Employee) –  Olathe Ks11 May 2016
Garmin International is a great company to work for. I answered phones and took care of a lot of customers. I was taught how to work with Oracle system and Outlook. Love the founders of the company, the integrity of these men is incredible.
Pros
Very flexible family first at this company
Cons
Very under staffed, company grew too fast and not enough employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Software Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS19 April 2016
In sum, major advancements have occurred in the area of cultural competence among managed care plans, health insurers, and health care purchasers. However, there still exists strong resistance to investing in cultural competence as these entities search for evidence that supports a potential for quality
Was this review helpful?Yes4No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, Good benefits medical, dental, vision and matching 401 K plan.
Product Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS7 April 2016
Great co-workers and good benefits and 401 K plan. Learned a lot about different departments within the company. Got to work with most of those departments on a daily basis.
Pros
Medical, dental, vision among the benefits along with a matching 401 K plan.
Cons
Low pay with an average of 2% to 3% annual raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, good benefits
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO2 April 2016
I worked as a customer service Rep. Job duties are easy. Not a phycial job. Co workers are a treat to work with, got along with everyone. Got to talk to some interesting people. Some fun to talk to. Others not so much. Customers can be difficult to talk to.
Pros
benefit's, pay is good, fun work parties.
Cons
not always a fair place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 112 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8