Garmin Employee Reviews

Showing all 127 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garmin has two sides, engineering and operations.
Reverse Logistics Processor (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS22 April 2017
While the benefits are great, and the company is expanding, they seem to not favor hiring from within. The people I work with are great, and take pride in what we do, but don't necessarily feel engaged by the company.
Pros
Great healthcare, vision, and dental insurance
Cons
Difficult to advance from hourly to salary even after getting a degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, but stagnant.
Trainer, Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZ 8571018 April 2017
The job is easy enough, but dead-end, especially in the Tucson office. They do not put enough focus into customer service, so employees in this field are very undervalued.
Pros
Discounts on cool stuff, benefits are pretty good
Cons
No room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work, Relaxed Atmosphere
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS1 April 2017
At Garmin, I enjoy lots of collaboration. From code reviews to design discussions, working with the other associates is a pleasure. The people are smart and easy to work with.

Management does a good job of directing projects, and work hard to avoid overworking the associates. They are also actively and openly working to improve their management style based on feedback from annual company surveys.

There is no dress code, and the company provides many amenities like premium coffee, game room areas, Foosball, ping pong tables, workout facility, soccer field, volleyball courts, walking trail.. you get the picture.
Pros
Relaxed environment, nice amenities, good work-life balance, fun projects
Cons
High stress periods, less-than transparent advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
TECHNICAL SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KS29 March 2017
Great Company with strong values and excellent management. Very flexible and understanding. The work was challenging and very easy to stay busy. Overall I was very happy with my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, Good Benefits, Fair Management
Customer Care/Product Support (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, Missouri27 March 2017
Assisted Customers with GPS products to resolve issues and update.
Garmin provides ongoing training with new and existing products.
Workplace is clean, and managed efficiently.
Management is fair.
Hardest part of this job is striving to keep customers happy.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when you resolve an issue for a customer and they are satisfied.
Pros
Good benefits and incentives
Cons
Negative point system used for time betwn calls, breaks, sick time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at Garmin
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZ7 March 2017
My experience at Garmin was great. Everyone was easy going and helpful. I learned so much at fitness equipment and how serious taking care of my health is. Management was understanding and helpful. The workplace culture was easy going and friendly. The hardest part of the job was the hours. The center is open from business hours and closed weekends. It worked great for a while but as life changed my schedule needed to change with it. Every day was an enjoyable experience at Garmin. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mostly Good Short-Term Gig
Electronics Assembler (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR3 March 2017
• A typical day at work: Usually no less than five or six separately-trained tasks over the course of a day. Some multi-tasking, but well within reason most of the time.

• What I learned: Many interesting aspects of SMT assembly and Garmin's product line, brushed up on electronic assembly skills, mainly manual soldering and wave machine operation.

• Workplace culture: Civil and reasonable. Apart from some isolated instances of "office politics" (a resentful senior assembly worker who was about to retire, thus immune to any consequences of "throwing people under the bus," and an emotionally unstable test technician with territorial issues) it's ordinarily a very pleasant place to work, with supervisory staff quite approachable most of the time.

• The hardest part of the job: In the final months prior to being discharged for seeking permanent employment elsewhere, working with the knowledge that it would never be more than a temporary position.

• The most enjoyable part of the job: generally pleasant co-workers, a low-stress environment (usually) and always something new to learn about the process.

• Management: Generally rational, sensible and easy to work with, but not forthcoming about their intentions with regard to hiring. A supervisor who gives hiring preference to a 19-year-old (brought aboard as a temp several months after myself) on the basis of being friends with that candidate's father, should at least make the effort to come up with a more imaginative explanation than "your résumé got lost in the shuffle."
Pros
Clean, organized, well-lit work environment, line lead(s) and support staff always helpful, "permanent temps" are treated like full employees in some respects.
Cons
Gray hair viewed unfavorably with regard to bottom-end production floor hiring preferences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Employees
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS13 February 2017
Seems like a great pleace to work, but not enough work to keep me busy all day everyday. I don't like being bored and it seems the job is not what they told me about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, global experience
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Johannesburg9 February 2017
My role was to be the the primary contact for all IT functions & Infrastructure in South Africa and had to manage all the IT for the SA Office. Great experience going from a small company to a global company and was enabled to work on worldwide projects with worldwide remember , hardest part for me was to leave as i wanted to relocate & enjoyed the people the most , felt like family.
Pros
Good benefits including wellness programs
Cons
Working with global teams can be a challenge in terms of time zones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive company
CUSTOMER SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO2 February 2017
Enjoyed working for Garmin. Had excellent new employee training program. Excellent benefits. Was always given ability to use judgement when offering customer resolution. Opportunities to transfer to different device support.
Pros
Benefits, hours, fun yet rewarding cusotmer and coworker interactions
Cons
Some days were not as challenging as others
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Steady Job
Product Support Specialist- Marine (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR25 January 2017
Great place to work if you only want to pay your bills. Little to no chance for internal advancement. Very stingy on raises. EVERYTHING is decided by the people in Kansas.
Super chill atmosphere.
Pros
Good stable company.
Cons
No raises, no advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful - slave labour
Customer Care/ Product Support (Former Employee) –  Totton24 January 2017
Made a lot of promises in interview which wasn't kept. Only had 3 weeks training instead of the 6 promised and then you get moaned at constantly for not knowing answers or being slow. Told you can ask for help at any time but managers get stressy when you ask. Have reasonable breaks but got moaned at for going to the loo outside of breaks or getting water. If you finished phonecall and took more than 90 seconds to go on next one (to catch your breath) they would Skype you constantly saying hurry up. Same if you went to loo and were just about to sit down they would bombard you with Skype messages saying hurry up log on. Told in interview that you will do mix of time on calls and emails but you are given calls all day and have to do emails at same time, or you get publicly shamed. Forced to go to meetings but then have to sacrifice your lunch break.
Pros
Good facilities, occasional outings, discount products (if you pass probation which is impossible) friendly Co workers
Cons
Stressful work, no support, no progression, high staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develope skills
Product Support Specialist 2 (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS23 January 2017
On a daily basis I work with customers to determine what best serves the customer's individual needs. I provides “how to” assistance and support on consumer devices by answering phone calls and emails. I monitor and document then report failure trends in Garmin equipment while identifying and recommending improvements in Garmin products. I answer inquiries and requests regarding products, orders, pricing and other services offered by Garmin. I Mentor new hires, guiding them through their daily routine. I train in a class room setting or one-on-one to solidify procedural concepts and product knowledge.

Garmin is a amazing place to work. I have grown so much since I started here. Management is open and approachable, teams are focused on growth and level of service being offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garmin in UK very poor
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire20 January 2017
Garmin in the UK is awful. Their customer service if you can call it that is appalling. You are trained not to talk through the customers problem but to send emails with instructions.

Garmin products are not cheap and I expected better more professional people. Apparently in the states is a different story as this is were the company is from. I think Garmin products are great but Garmin UK is dreadful and you can tell by the trainers that they do not spend much money on getting good people actually I think they were from the council. Which shows how low Garmin are prepared to go to cut costs.

The place is ok if you have no experience and want to be around non professional people but want to gain some customer service experience but please do not think this is the standard to attain.
Pros
None
Cons
its a let down for garmin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Southampton10 January 2017
fun workplace to work, a lot of friends and funny people. The management was perfect and the salary too. Good city and place to live.
Pros
all
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and dynamic place but not the work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR3 January 2017
The most enjoyable part is the people who work there and the atmosphere. There is a certain amount of time that is recommended to help solve a problem but this is never a hard cap. Because of the lax requirements on the floor, people mingle quite a lot. In addition, the upper management are very friendly. In addition, everyone around you is in the same boat so if you need help with something there are plenty of people to ask. If it wasn't for the type of work it is I would have given a 5 star.
Pros
No time limit on calls, integrated system, friendly coworkers
Cons
Clunky tracking system, same call every day
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible people
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Salem, OR31 December 2016
Call center work can be challenging and stressful but when you have great people, both co-workers & Supervisors it makes the day easier to get through.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporation, horrible local management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Salem, OR13 December 2016
The company overall provides great benefits and treats employees well, globally. The local management / leadership needs to go through a culture change. Facilities and management in the mid west are top notch. Salem Oregon is in the stone age. Low level employees are not paid well and the level of politics holds many of the back from ever moving up in the ranks.
Pros
good insurance, recreation equipment and facilities
Cons
poor leadership and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good place to work
Administrative Assistant / Order Administrator (Former Employee) –  Mexico, ME12 October 2016
Garmin is a company who cares of their employees and gives oportunities to grow on knowledge and experience.
Garmin is a leading company in technology who cares of the enviroment and on giving the best product to people.
The star products are GPS for cars, airplanes and boats, also they offer products to improve health and to for measure data for athletes.
My experience working with them was productive and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it ok
Product Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KS 6606226 September 2016
they are moving everything to Olathe and i live in MO i cant afford to make the drive on the salary they provide so i have to quit and find a new job and they are offering no compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Garmin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 127 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8