GardaWorld Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very negative place to work
Screening Officer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 September 2017
Very negative place to work. Your movements are watched and you are judged always. The stress level in this place is toxic! Your breaks are never on time and you have to wait if you asked to go to the washroom. Everything is put on the screeners shoulders and management is never accountable for anything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
preboard screening officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 September 2017
job not very secure and one gets watched all the time would love to work there if hired again .get to meet all kinds of people.. envitonment is excellent.
Pros
trade shifts when possible
Cons
long hours are ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good start
Pre-board Screening officer (Current Employee) –  Pearson Int Airport14 September 2017
Great job for students and older people. Shift work based on seniority. Will not get full time soon. Benefits not shared for family members with part-time. Schedule very flexible meaning you can easily trade or give away your shifts. Good luck!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently In Training
CATSA - Pre-Board Screening Officer Training (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 September 2017
Very good training and instructors. Level of knowledge for the position is high and important. The expectations of the employee are high, however, the help to attain those expectations is very good.
Pros
Good Training
Cons
None I am aware of as of yet
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management
Security Guard Mobile Division (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2017
This is one of the worst managements I've come across in my entire history of security, they let a guy that gets fired from paladin for losing $25,000,000 in contacts and bring him to Garda and what happens contacts start dropping like flies. Management is ignorant and stuck in their ways don't ever expect a raise or promotion.
Pros
None
Cons
Better to work for a different security company
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well enjoyed job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 September 2017
Well the job at Garda was a close family atmosphere. we were well trained and taught thoroughly to do our job to the best of our ability. the shifts were well planned and management was very understanding when it came to needing time off.The benefits and pay were exceptional. everyone enjoyed working with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, well managed.
Mobile Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 September 2017
A typical day on patrol can be quite hectic. Alarm response can set you back and you have to time manage. You learn the lay of the land, trouble spots, how long it takes you to get somewhere, the type of people you will deal with. Management takes an active interest in what you do and puts you back on track to get the best job done. The hardest part of the job is the dealing with the criminal element of course. It's satisfying to put in a good nights work and solved most problems.
Pros
Benifits for mobile drivers.
Cons
Some danger involved with drug users.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place if your not management or higher
Guard (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 September 2017
treats their guards poorly, poor pay for such high expectations. one of the only good things about it is you can find some good coworkers but most end up leaving from being treated poorly, high turnover rate.
Pros
multiple job sites
Cons
low pay, terrible work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Security Guard & ID Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB27 August 2017
Work as a Security guard at the gates entering the site. Often moves from gate to gate as well as sometimes worked in the ID station. This is shift work.
Pros
6 on and 6 off
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very good learning exprience.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 August 2017
During the 5 years working for GARDAWORLD in the oilsands;

I received exposure and gain 4 years experience as K9 Supervisor, and work along side with retired RCMP, Corrections, Border Services CBSA and Calgary Police dog handlers.
Pros
Very good work experiences.
Cons
Health benefits could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work opportunities
Loss Prevention Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
Lots of contracts and hours to be filled. Not short on available work. Provides all nessecary training and certifications. Can be flexible with different schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 August 2017
Work hours are long as expected, however in certain locations these long hours with the amount of work that needs to be done does not justify the pay that comes with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 August 2017
Good Company To Work With
Benifits For Full Time Employees
Unioned
Competitive Rates
Kind Caring And Willing To Train In All Aspects
CPR/First Aid Required
Cons
Different Pay Rates Per Site
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC25 July 2017
Great people coupled with good operations makes this place a fantastic to work at.
As a manager, i communicated with all levels of the corp management and I am very happy with how I was treated.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Long Hours (Normal)
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environnment
Pre Board Screening Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2017
Fast paced which i liked and it was always busy which helped the day go by faster, My co workers were very supportive and the training staff was helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2017
I was in accounts payable

Learned a lot about deadlines

Management were great

Great place to work

Hardest part was relocating

Enjoyable was stafff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy working environment
Pre-Board Screener (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2017
I enjoy working at the airport. Interact with new people everyday. Get new experiences. How to deal with different situations. Management is quite helpful. Working Environment is healthy. Fellow screening officers are really helpful. The hardest part of the job is you have to be extra vigilant & very cautious. Sometimes it becomes stressful.
Pros
Shift schedule, good working environment
Cons
Sometimes it's stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Security Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 July 2017
A decent security company. They have pretty good sites all over Toronto. Laid back and offers good experience working in a professional environment. A lot better than most security companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment and employees, but poor pay expectations
Tailoring Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 July 2017
- Work place culture is good
- Doesn't feel like a place to grow
- Was not offered benefits or reviews until 1 year
- Expected to travel to multiple locations with no travel compensation
Pros
Challenging work environment
Cons
Low Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and respecful place with qualified professionnals
Agent de sécurité (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 July 2017
I work for GARDA at an interesting place, I do customer services and I secure life, materials and goods. I love my job and I need to earn more money and face other situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GardaWorld. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 1,355 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9