Find companies:
Garda
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
102 reviews

Garda Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Leanient with time off for many reasons
Security Officer (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 10, 2012
Pros: very friendly crews at my site
Cons: we do about 6 different jobs on a daily basis.
Standard security procedures, pleasant working environment with several crews. Shift work is rough on some days, but overall bearable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work at; meet new people
Team Leader Screening Officer/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 27, 2012
• Trained and mentored fellow screening officers
• Assisted emergency personnel (police, bomb squad, paramedics) with incidents that resulted in aviation threats
• Collected data and completed operational shift log reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a ghetto industry which pays its people poorly to maxamize profi
Security Officer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 27, 2012
8 - 12 shifts, learned little other than uses skills I trained for, management is typical of a ghetto industry.My co workers are fine but than I work alone, as we all do..boredom is the hardship and sleep deprivation. There is no enjoyable part when dealing with the lower rungs of the food chain
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
supervisor (Former Employee), ottawaAugust 14, 2012
over disapointed in the company,very misleading,poor p/r, job title taken away and given to new hire, put on the back burner
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, enjoys decipline, hard worker
Security gaurd (Former Employee), Vancouver and EdmontonJuly 26, 2012
I enjoyed bing among the people and being helpful to the society.
My manager and co-workers were are very nice. respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Pre-board Screening Officer (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 25, 2012
Pros: interesting job.
Cons: management at airport makes it tougher than it needs to be.
I love the job in that it does protect the flying public. What I don't like is how management makes the good people go and lets the bad ones stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but rewarding.
Control Operator/Scheduler (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 30, 2012
Pros: good hours, some dead time, great environment
Cons: redundant work, workload only divided by a few people, lots of calls
- answering a lot of phone calls
- lots of data entry (scheduling & payroll)
- sometimes the phones ring non-stop & sometimes it barely ever rings
- multi-tasking: answering phones & working different applications at the same time
- alarm dispatching to mobile security
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work, independence, repetitive, no heavy lifting
Security Guard (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 5, 2012
Pros: i can get more hours if i request
Cons: driving little bit more
- I do lots of partrols in the site I work in every day. I also prepare the daily reports at my site.
- I leanred how to be responsible for a job site without the supervision of other personels
- I work alone, so I don' t have any coworkers
- the hardes part of my job is that it is repetitive
- it is not physical work that makes you tired so that is – more... the most enjoyable part – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garda
Armored Guard (Former Employee), Laurel, MDJune 16, 2014
Early start and never know when your done. very difficult to manage a family working here. Management is horrible and probably shouldnt be managing a mcdonalds, never mind a branch that handles millions of dollars. Benefits cost $800 a month for family plan and have huge deductibles so your pay is reduced by almost 300 bucks plus taxes every 2 weeks. – more... constant lies about promotions and transfers. NO AIR CONDITIONING in Summer and NO HEAT in winter inside the trucks. Management will not report this to mechanics to fix and if you refuse a truck they send you home and you loose pay. Safety is also none of their concern because they sit in an office all day and not on the road. Time off requests are only granted to their favorite employees. Cannot get a hold of management on off hours or weekends so if you have a problem your stuck, thats it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Teller (Current Employee), st louisJune 5, 2014
Pros: weekend off
Cons: healthcare
Working at garda you are never bored because you are dealing with a lot of money. At garda I learned how to be very accurate, how amazing it is to work with others. My co-worker are awesome they are all about team work. the hardest part of my job would be trying to balance all the money without error. the most enjoyable is working with my team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate this company
armored driver/ Messenger (Current Employee), Clarksburg, MdJune 2, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: nothing
When I got hired they made believe that this would be a great company to wrk for, you can move up and become a supervisor, but since I have been there for several months, I'm ready to get out just as fast as I got in. The trucks are in horrible condition. There are no fans or Air conditioning and you report it to the branch manager and nothing happens. – more... They just want u to roast in the trucks and get there job done for them. Im getting out of this company as soon as I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for learning security
Driver/Guard (Current Employee), FairField NJMay 30, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: long drive to work prefer closer location
we load trucks up with money to be delivered to banks and shops and ensure safe transport to and from base to store locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent but scattered
Driver/Messenger (Former Employee), Smyrna, GAApril 7, 2014
At the time I was there it was really scattered and everybody was every where. Needed some structure and new guidance. Union came in and changed a lot of things to what they wanted and started taking money from everyone even if you didn't want their services. That was not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun workplace
Armed Security (Former Employee), Portland, ORMarch 25, 2014
Pros: unamred and armed training, weekend supervisor, long hours.
Cons: short breaks
Get to work ten minutes early and load up the armor truck with the money for the route I was on. Drive from one company to the next in a timely matter. We had set times we had to be at each stop and to be able to make it back to Garda to unload the money and load them up in another armored truck that took the money to the banks. Some days I would be – more... scheduled to drive the truck to the bank.

I learned about strict company polices that was in place for our safety due to the work we performed. Learned how to handle situations that could happen during routes and the laws that we had to follow.

Management was great.

Most enjoyable part of the job was when I was the weekend supervisor with my partner and kept track of the trucks on route. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced, hectic job
Vault Teller (Current Employee), Girard, OHMarch 16, 2014
Pros: i'm earning a pay check
Cons: stressful, too fast paced, too much overtime
The hours are long, I have to stand on my feet for 8 hours to up to 15 hours a day. Its fast-paced and stressful to get all the work done in the day it comes in. We recently got a new manager, it is hard to tell how things will go, so far, I'm not impressed. My co-workers and wonderful. I have no issues with the other teller I work with. The hardest – more... part of my job is that I do not get the support from management that I need. The cash room is without one girl and we are short handed, we need some help from our manager, and he doesn't help us like we need. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to work with a nice girl. We get along well and work well together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job, just alittle on the dangerous side
Armed Driver/Messenger (Former Employee), columbus ohJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: good hours good pay
Cons: no comment
job is good if you are up for this kind of work. You do meet alot of great people at the stops that you do. hours are good. the job is interesting and can be fun at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Lead Teller/ Supervisor Assistant (Former Employee), Edison, NJJanuary 17, 2014
It a good company but it doesnt pay enough. Learned great work ethic
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Driver/Messenger (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 30, 2013
Pros: very quick work environment
Cons: very stressful
Hard work pays off. If you're willing to put in the effort, it can be very rewarding. Unfortunately, because you're working directly with money, it's a very stressful environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Work experience (Former Employee), DublinDecember 17, 2013
learned loads about the Glasnevin cemetery
the general running of the museum
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse place to work ever. not understanding manipulative and nothing is ever good enough
Armed Guard (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTDecember 15, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
if you want no life and want to become a slave this is the perfect job for you.