Gap Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2018
Work is really easy and helps pass time quickly. Typical day includes cashing out customers, folding clothes, helping customers find the right item. All the management is nice.
Pros
Everyone is nice
Cons
very few hours unless it is the holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good place to work
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 February 2018
I have worked as a return creditor,handling merchandise.I have learnt to manage multiple tasks at one time.The work culture is good.All colleagues are helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much room to go up
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC11 February 2018
Working here is fun at times, but they dont give people fulltime hours unless they are promoted to a manager position. This leaves people in a situation where they might have to get a second job or find another full time job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clothing organized and on racks
Sales / Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
I really enjoy organizing and setting up clothes on racks or on show tables, I learned to organize them with the flow of customers coming into the store. The challenge is some customers were hard to understand because of their accent.
Pros
get clothes at discount
Cons
a few hard to please customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Enjoyed my time there
LEAD / Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB8 February 2018
My typical day was anywhere from 6:30 to 5pm. M-F
Form promo to markdown, merchandizing to organizing the department, to opening the store and closing & Inventory.
Shipping and Receiving was the hardest as there was lost of heavy boxes.
The most enjoyable and relaxing was at the cash when very busy.
Organizing the warehouse.
Pros
I met some great people
Cons
Better management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON1 February 2018
The gap is a very well respected brand and well liked. Customers from all backgrounds and ages enjoy their shopping experience with Gap. We pride ourselves on great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Brand Rep (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON31 January 2018
Great People to work with. Hard work is everything here. If you put in work, you will see your rewards. Very organized and strong management team. Love working here.
Pros
Free Snacks & Lunches Sometimes
Cons
Understaffed At times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC31 January 2018
Great company to work for. Fun work enviorment and a great way to make new friends and get out of your comfort zone. really helps people come out of their shells.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've ever had
Cashier/Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS26 January 2018
They hired me by going out on a limb. I never had a job before and was new to the whole experience but they made it easier to adjust to. They were able to work around my school hours and had no problem giving time off when asked. The staff was friendly and I felt well trained and prepared for the job. As they closed they were able to offer me a position with either another GAP location or a sister company (Banana Republic, Old Navy.) Ive been through 4 jobs now and none of them even add up to how great that job was.
Pros
Relaxed work enivronment, good co-workers
Cons
difficult customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love fashion? Love this!
running fitting rooms and making sales (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 January 2018
Fun not too bad! Can be super competitive and management can be a bit pushy but overall super fun! Organized company to work with :) a lot of staff which is always a plus
Pros
50 percent off
Cons
mall job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuetral Workplace
Customer Representative/Stock Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2018
- Just trying to get the job done and keep the store clean
- Always ask for emails
- Organize the stockroom
- Try your best to reach sales goals
- Cashier efficiency was great
Pros
breaks
Cons
shift cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 January 2018
It was great working for this company. I enjoyed the challenges that came with the role. My colleagues were very helpful and it was a very collaborative environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly enviornment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC21 January 2018
I am very glad to work at such a big brand across the globe . I have heard about the brand reputation and kind of staff that work within the gap stores. so, I just want to be one of those worker in gap store available near to my location
Pros
safety while working
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my field
Sales Associate/Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 January 2018
After working here I discovered retail was not for me. I didn't enjoy it but I gained a lot of sales experience and how stores are run along with promotions and sales quotas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Stocking (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 January 2018
easy if you know all the functions
i have learned how to operate a forklift
Gap have some amazing management
replacing the pallet after ever delivery
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Work Period (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 January 2018
I am working part-time as a sales associate at Gap. Based on my three months experience please find below pros and cons of working at Gap :

Pros :
1. The workplace is good and well maintained.
2. Managers are very supportive and helped all the newcomers in understanding the roles and responsibilities.
3. Shift times are flexible and can be changed with prior notice.
4. After every two hours of work, you can take 15 min break.

Cons:
1. Salary is very less not as per minimum wages.
2. Timings and number of hours per day were not fixed, sometimes we worked only for 3 hrs a week in off-season months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old navy
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2018
loved working for this company!! and still miss it, there so much to learn and the environment is amazing, so full of energy,and opportunity for advancement which as long as your driven is easy to achieve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service skills are a must
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 January 2018
Day goes by really slowly. Not much to do other than keeping the store cleaning. It is not a physically demanding job. Customer service skills are a must in order to engage with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in shipping and reciveing
Key Holder/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB14 January 2018
I enjoy the fast paced environment where I can use a variety of skills. From recieving the items and organizing the back room to making sure the store is fully stocked I enjoy my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Co-op Placement (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2018
Everyone was nice and helpful. They really put me to work. I really enjoyed it and would work there again. All the workers are friendly and nice. I'd be happy to work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gap. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 5,776 reviews
51.9K
42K
31.3K
2350
1209

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture