Find companies:
GAP Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,701 reviews

GAP Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and Supportive Environment to work in.
Sales Associate Lead (Current Employee), Toronto, ONApril 14, 2013
Pros: free dinners, bonus payment if goals are met and supportive managers
Cons: part- time hours
A typical day involves being able to assist customer as best as you can and well as being able to support your follower Co-workers and being supported when need. .
I have learned to not take things personally and to be patient with my self and the customer through our interactions.
I do enjoy working with my follower Co-workers, we are all very supportive – more... and accepting of each other.
I do enjoy where I worker therefore I do not find anything hard about the job so far. Every day is a bit different even though there is a routine aspect to what is carry out.
Apart from the fact that I generally enjoy where I work we also get free dinner parties and snacks I think once a month if I am not mistaken. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service and Sales (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 15, 2013
the most enjoyable part is that i like fashion a lot ,that made the work so much fun,management is the best ,and i like dealing with people wich made it the job easier
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 12, 2013
Staff is absolutely amazing, helpful, and supportive everytime. It is easy to learn what goes on in the store and there are always many tasks to be done, which keeps it busy and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress work environment
Brand Experience Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: wealth of talent in people
Cons: absolutely no work life balance, not enough recognition, terrible training (sink or swim dynamic)
- extremely disorganized company
- filled with extremely passionate and talented individuals who work extremely hard for little to no recognition
- says it wants to make its branding and merchandising #1 priority but doesn't provide the right framework or payroll allotment to allow for proper landing of flow
- managers can't get enough office time
- – more... difficult to move up in company once at a certain level
- district managers only assist high level stores, rarely come and spend their expertise in other stores
- district managers are condescending and rude
- company is constantly changing its rhetoric and focus
- little to no structured training - once "training" is over it is sink or swim; after a while you are seen as "being here long enough" and "should know" things which makes it difficult for people who are not fast learners - definitely needs to invest time in solid learning plans and dedicated payroll and time for management to get solid training
- fast paced environment
- staff Gap recruits are passionate, bright and cheerful people
- as a merchandiser, you have to do considerable overnights for long stretches of time in peak seasons and then switch back to days with almost no time off in between nights and days; extremely difficult on body, mind and motivation – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Working Place
Cashier (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: flexible
Cons: high level of staff
A typical day at work included doing cash, fitting rooms, stock, helping customers find what they are looking for and putting add on items to increase the sale. The management at The Gap was incredible. The managers and supervisors are very supportive and are always there when you need help with something or just need to talk. I enjoyed working with – more... all my co-workers, working at The Gap was like working with one big family. The hardest part of the job was dealing with I-rate customers, although it is very important to know how to deal with them. The most enjoyable part of working at The Gap is knowing your working in a very friendly environment and helping customers through their shopping adventures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 7, 2013
A typical day at Gap would involve selling products to customers.

Gap was my first job and, I learned many transferable skills that I used at University and Beddington's such as: organization skills, time-management skills, communication skills, and learning to use the computer software.

The management at Gap consisted of four managers such as, three – more... associate managers and one store manager. Typically all the management worked together to instil great customer service to their employees.

Co-workers were fun to work with because most of them were all close in age. We all got along quite well and helped one another when it was needed.

The hardest part of the job was learning the different sizes. Working at the children store the sizes ranged from newborn, infant, toddler and kids.

The most enjoyable part was working with the staff to make it a fun-filled environment and the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and management team, great atmosphere
Brand Logistics Expert (Current Employee), Victoria, BCJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: excellent work/life balance
Cons: erratic schedule
As a brand logistics expert I worked primarily with the brand and product side in store. I would delegate tasks and coach the team to meet KPIs. The management style here is great, with an emphasis on work like balance. Very customer and sales focused.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty management team, and nasty workplace
sales associate (Former Employee), Kitchener (Fairview Mall) ONJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: nothing
The only thing that is good about working at Gap is 50% discount, which is not even great when the clothes get markdown and then go additional 40% off.
The manager is bully and she thinks she owns you.
The work hour is so strict and not flexible at all, and that you can't even take a time off to go take x-ray when you are seriously wrong. They still – more... ask you to find someone to replace you, unless you can't take a time off... although you KNOW there is something wrong. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, co-workers and friendly environment.
Customer Service Associate & Cashier (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJanuary 8, 2013
It's a fast-paced clothing store with customers from various all background and age-groups. Over 5 years of retail customer service experience dealing with customer satisfaction, needs, complaints and more. Management has rotated few times but all are great leaders to work under and work with along with the amazing group of co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 27, 2012
Great place,great people,,you learn alot,fast pace,heart of montreal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Montréal, QCDecember 13, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: salary
IT was very fun working at Gap. The management were okay. But the team was fabulous. I was able to take a bunch of vacation and they were VERY flexibles with hours because we were all students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Corporate Culture
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Windsor, ONDecember 10, 2012
GAP Inc. instills their vision and values in everything they do. The culture they have created within the store is unique and creates a great atmosphere for all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall productive place to work
Clothing Associate/ Cashier (Current Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2012
Pros: discount on the product that is sold at gap inc.
Cons: the wage
My typical day at work would consist of handling all monetary transactions, helping customers with their needs, and keeping a clean and tidy workplace.I learned how to be independent while still working in a group setting. The management always did their best to accommodate the needs of their employees wether it came to the amount of hours one wanted – more... or if there were any issues that the employee was facing. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with customers, being able to interact and build a relationship with the customer and the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Salesperson/Maintenance (Former Employee), Montréal, QCOctober 29, 2012
i was at Gap for almost 4 years, i love the fact that they can transfere within the companies anywhere in the city. it was a wonderful place to work, i met great people and the management was great. it was very flexable and its perfect for student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with the workplace
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: discount lunch
Cons: long time
At the gap i learn different kind thing like promoter on clothes and our sale . i help customer with sale and help on the fun .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gap outlet South CommonSeptember 26, 2012
Pros: free snacks
Cons: not enough workers
Operates the cash register, I assist in floor moves, merchandising, display maintenance and housekeeping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Spirited team
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Carrefour LavalSeptember 17, 2012
Pros: dynamic team
Cons: a lot of ridiculously long shifts
Worked in a clean environment
Mixed cultures and ages
Well organized and understanding managment
Room for advancement
Wonderful clients that really made the day pass quickly
They are ready to teach you, if you are ready to learn.
Truly enjoyed my time here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job
Warehouse Helper (Former Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 15, 2012
it was fun working at the gap in the receiving department, the only reason i left this job was i had babysitting problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with the workplace
Co-op Student (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONAugust 27, 2012
Pros: meet new friend
Cons: long hour
i learn at the gap help the customer with size and meet new co-woker. help with customer on the phone if we the items .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCAugust 13, 2012
Pros: helping customers
Cons: unorganized
Was a mind opening and active experience, when learning how to deal with customers! Some co-workers were friendly, I learned how to apply myself professionally to my task! The hardest part of the job was busy rush hours and moving quickly to help the customers.