Find companies:
GAP Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,997 reviews

GAP Inc Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning environment, challenging and rewarding
Loss prevention Agent (Former Employee), MarkhamJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great learning environment
Cons: a lot of travelling
I would start my day by reviewing financial reports and shipment logs to make sure there were minimal discrepancies. I would then check my email for any new information need to know for that day or that specific location. After completing all paper work and reviewing previous store audits, which are completed on a monthly basis. I would review previous LP agent logs; these logs indicate the areas of the store that need immediate attention. After tackling the issues in the store and training staff on prevention methods I would then begin floor walking. While floor walking I would apprehend any shoplifters and de-escalate any potential threats in the store. After a apprehension there is paper work that needs to be filled out immediately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Merchandise processor (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, incentives, i.e. giftcards
Cons: long hours
When you arrived for your shift you swiped in and waited for the shifts SOS meeting the supervisors held to inform employees what they would be doing for the shift, before we did a few stretches and began the shift. we had three breaks, and everybody was friendly and willing to help if you needed anything, there was no one particular person of head you had to go to discuss your problem, it could be any level of command.

Co workers and supervisors kept the energy up and going, being friendly was key

The hardest part of the job was long hours, and sometimes doing the same task for the whole shift. usually after the lunch break the supervisors would switch us to another task, but not always

the most enjoyable part of the job was the easygoing atmosphere the job had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff, great work environment
Sales Support/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 12, 2014
Time management, multi-tasking and patience are two of the main things I learned
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sqeezing Culture
Merchandise Handler (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 29, 2013
Pros: cross function training, information dissemination, safety
Cons: not fun environment making work stupendous with fake work performance history, squeezing culture to the last drop of lemon, peers and staff bullying, only temporary/seasonal hires/part time/ less working hours, firing on small pretext
Not fun environment making work stupendous with fake work performance history, squeezing culture to the last drop of lemon, peers and staff bullying, only temporary/seasonal hires/part time/ less working hours, firing on small pretext
cross function training, information dissemination, safety a plus only areas to praise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not-so-great corporate structure
Acting Brand Logistics Expert (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 21, 2013
Pros: great work culture, friendly staff and management
Cons: very competitive, minimal pay, politics
I stay in this position for the amazing people that work here. The employees are fun, the culture is pretty relaxed as well and the management team is laid back like the schedule.

Everything else is not flattering enough for me to comment on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management team
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, BCDecember 15, 2013
Pros: helpful crew
Cons: poor shift management
Working at The Gap for a couple of months, I realize that they hire too many people and do not give their employees enough shifts. Although I have worked there for several months, I have only learned the very basics of folding and tending to customers in the retail world. Being given such little shifts does not give me an opportunity to grow in the company, even though they claimed that there would be lots of opportunities for each employee to advance. However, overall, working at The Gap is sometimes enjoyable if I encounter the right people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 21, 2013
Pros: little perks like coffee, and prizes
Cons: difficult customers
A typical day at work for me included setting up manequins and displays, folding clothing, calling other stores for products, sweeping the showroom, tending cash. I learned how to be more approachable to people and how to properly manage my time. My co-workers were fantastic! The hardest part about my job was being able to calm situations with angry customers. The most enjoyable part was seeing your customer happy with their purchases and excited to try them out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Leaders.
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee), 14 LocationsNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great discount.
Cons: working on holidays.
The open door policy enables you to communicate without boundaries of station or job title. During training a routine was created for daily responsibilities and once a year an evaluation of your work is completed. Management pushes friendly competition within team and acknowledges accomplishments. The hardest part of the job was trying to find ways to stay covert during down times or slow seasons. Team exercises and outings was the best part of the job other than arresting shoplifters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), OttawaNovember 7, 2013
Pros: great discounts
Cons: few shifts
Just started working not too long ago and can honestly say that it has the best working environment. Friendly and diverse staff, and very understanding managers. They all have a different approach, and the workers (while wearing the GAP attires) aren't all conformed to a certain way of dressing, not always something you see in other apparel stores... The work itself isn't all that easy, definitely a little challenging, but nothing too efffort consuming!
Best part of the job: helping customers, interacting with customers
Hardest part of the job: dealing with multiple customers/tasks at once
A great job for anyone doing their studies or looking for a laid back yet challenging workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment, No Hours + Lack of Training
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Conestoga Mall - Waterloo, ONOctober 22, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, fairly easy job
Cons: no hours due to too many people working there, lack of training
- coworkers and management friendly and usually helpful
- training is lacking, you go through their policies book and watch videos, cash training is all done yourself and expected to be done very quickly which prevents you from actually learning all of the steps to do more difficult things such as returns
- no training/ information about where things are (extra bags, ticketing guns, etc), how they're normal routine goes, and when they expect things to be finished throughout the day
- schedule varies a lot, nice that it's flexible to fit needs but isn't nice when you only get booked 3 hours a week sometimes, and many times you are sent home as they are overstaffed on slow days - you end up relying on getting called in or taking people's shifts.
- actual day of work is pretty good, usually folding and assisting customers, working on cash register
- enjoy working with people to find gifts and help them with sizes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace at the beginning, ended up hating it
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 10, 2013
Pros: free food for the first couple of months, good discount, fair breaks, bonuses
Cons: scheduling
Working at the company started great, I loved it. After a while, the company started cancelling a lot of shifts, thus leading to our store always being understaffed. This required me to do more work, I would work fitting rooms, cash, and sales floor all in one six hour shift, not fun when you're running around everywhere to get everything done. Average shift was around 5 hours. I never got the days I scheduled off. The customers were overwhelming, most of them either complaining about the store or trying to haggle for lower prices and always left a mess. This location required a lot of cleaning, closing took 2 hours, often extending shifts to stay and clean the store. Schedules never came on time and didn't matter anyway because when I came into work they would ask me to stay longer and I would end up missing a break because of the shift change. I ended up coming home everyday feeling like a did a 12 hour day when I worked 6. The only reason I liked coming into work is because you become friends with a lot of your coworkers and they make your shifts bearable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONOctober 6, 2013
Very nice coworkers, always helping each other. never felt over worked. Pay was fare for the work you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day Experience at the Gap
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 22, 2013
Pros: nice managers
Cons: lack of hours because they were over staffed
In this position I learned many on the job skills like restocking shelves and helping customers find items. A typical day at work would usually involve helping customers in and out of change rooms and returning cloths to the rack if they did not desire to purchase them. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to talk and help with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My best minimum wage job
Sales Associate (Current Employee), dufferin mall, toronto, ONSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: flexible shifts
Cons: very busy
It is typically busy because it is a Factory Store and located at Dufferin mall. Believe or not, I learned a lot. It taught me how deal with different kinds of people. It developed my interpersonal skills. It also improved my problem solving skills. The management is very professional, caring and respectful. They promote teamwork. People might think that my job is too easy because ' I just fold clothes'. However, sales associates like me deals with different kind of personalities everyday. The hardest part of the job is having to interact with customers with strong personality. The most enjoying part however, is when I am able to make customers happy by being able to find their size, letting them know about a current promotion , etc. And of course, making them loyal customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and great team
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 22, 2013
Excellent job at that time in my life but no higher role than what I was at
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal worker
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pointe-Claire, QCAugust 20, 2013
The company didn't really care must about teaching you things thoroughly, perhaps because they knew they were going to let you go. Did not feel part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Gap
sales, floor, cashier, shipment, cleaning (Current Employee), Rideau Center OttawaAugust 17, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: not as many hours as wanted
I am constantly greeting new people and helping them with their every need, I learned that you can make someones day with the littlest gesture, my management team is always enthusiastic and full of life making sure all their employees are safe and happy during their shifts, the hardest part of my job would have to be product knowledge seeing as we get new clothing in twice a week every week, and the most enjoyable part of working at the gap is getting to work with my fellow employees who make every shift fun and exciting, I also love meeting new people on a daily basis!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead in production standards, achieving work (Former Employee), Maple, ONAugust 16, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: bad location
took shipment, put clothes on sales floor. helped customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2013
This was also another Temp job for over the holiday season. They had a very positive staff hard working and organized, everything worked well during the crazy rush of Christmas shoppers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 3, 2013
Gap inc is a good company to work for the most enjoyable part for me is helping the costumers find clothes that suit their style.

About GAP Inc

The ubiquitous clothing retailer Gap has been filling closets with jeans and khakis, T-shirts, and poplin since the Woodstock – Read more

GAP Inc Photos