Find companies:
GAP Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,823 reviews

GAP Inc Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant environment to work in
Salesclerk (Current Employee), Montreal, QuebecApril 15, 2014
Typical day consists of serving customers to the best of your ability with their store purchases. Placing and arranging stock on floor,making sure store is neat and presentable at all times.

I've learned even more how important team work is especially in retail and how it can effect the over all store quota.

The management is very cool and down to – more... earth as well as co-workers. Great team and easy to get along with.

Hardest part of the job is keeping occupied when everything is pretty much done, without getting bored.

Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting and greeting new customers and having customers leave with smiles on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing guidance from District Managers!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 8, 2014
Pros: company cared about employees
I loved this job. I had an amazing district who really took the time to learn about her management team and associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), PickeringApril 8, 2014
- Great Co-workers
- Comfortable working environment
- Learned how to efficiently manage tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, not enough hours though.
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 7, 2014
Pros: easy job
Cons: not enough hours
If I happened to be lucky enough to get schedualed, 9/10 times my shift would be cancelled before I had the chance to get there due to budgetting and schedualing failures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retail store I have worked with.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 24, 2014
Pros: gap and banana republic discount
Cons: late hours and over night
The people are so great and fun to work with, which means a lot if you are there quite often in the store working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very friendy envitroment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 16, 2014
Pros: all the workers were friendly and had great communication skills.
Cons: i felt like the managers could have done a better job when giving hours.
A typical day at work was always busy so I was I always doing something. I learned great working skills such as how to speak with customers and also I learned a lot about the business and responsibility. I thought the management could have been better but overall I thought it was quite professional. I was really fond of my co workers, they were very – more... friendly. the hardest part of my job was only when I did over nights but other than that it was great. The most enjoyable part of the job was actually working and keeping busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest company but great people to work with.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 7, 2014
Not the greatest company to work for. Rules and work productivity was not consistent. But managers and coworkers were great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love being a part of the Gap, but part time hours aren't satisfactory
Sales Associate (Current Employee), North Bay, ONMarch 6, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: not a lot of hours
People are great, environment is perfect for anyone who likes fast paced work places. I learned a lot about customer service and the retail business. I enjoy coming to work, I just wish I could work more than I am scheduled. 5 hours a week doesn't support much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), 1800 Sheppard Ave E, Toronto, ON M2J 5A7March 5, 2014
Cons: to far
Didnt enjoy it .
manager was extremely nice
the most enjoyable part of the job was talking to customers
my co-workers were hilarious
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really disliked working in retail.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCMarch 4, 2014
I really enjoyed the time at the Gap as it helped me realize that my qualifications would be best suited in a Hotel atmosphere, and not in a retail atmosphere. Management was not up to par, and there was constant miss communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal Environment and excellent Employers
Co-op Placement (Former Employee), Pickering, ONFebruary 6, 2014
Through this co-op experience, I was able to acquire many skills. This experience overall was a pleasant intro to fashion retail and marketing goods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with an amazing team
Assistant-Brand Manager (Current Employee), Pickering, ONFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: great benefits, very organized company
Cons: commute
Very fast paced environment to work in. Lots of new product coming in weekly/bi-weekly. The team are amazing staff to work with, anybody would love coming into to work. There is lots of opportunity for part-time staff to get lots of shifts every week, which you don't see very often. The management staff is awesome, and great at training and providing – more... help and suggestions when staff need assistance. There is always something to do, and customers to be helped as the store is always fairly busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 25, 2014
Fun place to work with with great associates and friendly management. Really has a great team dynamic with so much room to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning environment, challenging and rewarding
Loss prevention Agent (Former Employee), MarkhamJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great learning environment
Cons: a lot of travelling
I would start my day by reviewing financial reports and shipment logs to make sure there were minimal discrepancies. I would then check my email for any new information need to know for that day or that specific location. After completing all paper work and reviewing previous store audits, which are completed on a monthly basis. I would review previous – more... LP agent logs; these logs indicate the areas of the store that need immediate attention. After tackling the issues in the store and training staff on prevention methods I would then begin floor walking. While floor walking I would apprehend any shoplifters and de-escalate any potential threats in the store. After a apprehension there is paper work that needs to be filled out immediately. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Merchandise processor (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, incentives, i.e. giftcards
Cons: long hours
When you arrived for your shift you swiped in and waited for the shifts SOS meeting the supervisors held to inform employees what they would be doing for the shift, before we did a few stretches and began the shift. we had three breaks, and everybody was friendly and willing to help if you needed anything, there was no one particular person of head – more... you had to go to discuss your problem, it could be any level of command.

Co workers and supervisors kept the energy up and going, being friendly was key

The hardest part of the job was long hours, and sometimes doing the same task for the whole shift. usually after the lunch break the supervisors would switch us to another task, but not always

the most enjoyable part of the job was the easygoing atmosphere the job had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff, great work environment
Sales Support/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 12, 2014
Time management, multi-tasking and patience are two of the main things I learned
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sqeezing Culture
Merchandise Handler (Former Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 29, 2013
Pros: cross function training, information dissemination, safety
Cons: not fun environment making work stupendous with fake work performance history, squeezing culture to the last drop of lemon, peers and staff bullying, only temporary/seasonal hires/part time/ less working hours, firing on small pretext
Not fun environment making work stupendous with fake work performance history, squeezing culture to the last drop of lemon, peers and staff bullying, only temporary/seasonal hires/part time/ less working hours, firing on small pretext
cross function training, information dissemination, safety a plus only areas to praise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not-so-great corporate structure
Acting Brand Logistics Expert (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 21, 2013
Pros: great work culture, friendly staff and management
Cons: very competitive, minimal pay, politics
I stay in this position for the amazing people that work here. The employees are fun, the culture is pretty relaxed as well and the management team is laid back like the schedule.

Everything else is not flattering enough for me to comment on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management team
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, BCDecember 15, 2013
Pros: helpful crew
Cons: poor shift management
Working at The Gap for a couple of months, I realize that they hire too many people and do not give their employees enough shifts. Although I have worked there for several months, I have only learned the very basics of folding and tending to customers in the retail world. Being given such little shifts does not give me an opportunity to grow in the – more... company, even though they claimed that there would be lots of opportunities for each employee to advance. However, overall, working at The Gap is sometimes enjoyable if I encounter the right people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 21, 2013
Pros: little perks like coffee, and prizes
Cons: difficult customers
A typical day at work for me included setting up manequins and displays, folding clothing, calling other stores for products, sweeping the showroom, tending cash. I learned how to be more approachable to people and how to properly manage my time. My co-workers were fantastic! The hardest part about my job was being able to calm situations with angry – more... customers. The most enjoyable part was seeing your customer happy with their purchases and excited to try them out. – less

About GAP Inc

The ubiquitous clothing retailer Gap has been filling closets with jeans and khakis, T-shirts, and poplin since the Woodstock – Read more

GAP Inc Photos