GAP Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 330 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON24 June 2017
this was one of my first jobs, I loved working for this company, I would go back in a heart beat. Tons of room for growth, and brand culture was absolutly incredible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical student job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC17 June 2017
I started out mainly doing part time work where I would clean and organize clothes and their arrangements on the show floor. But in 2016, I got very few of those shifts. I could mainly get 5 am shipment shifts, which were very difficult due to the timing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start a job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2017
people here are great
there is never a dull moment but it is very fast paced
know where all the products are
the discount is also great, 50 percent off of all regular priced items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Sale Associate/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON15 June 2017
busy
i learnt everything there is to know about retail that an associate should know
the management has changed over the 4 years but i cant company
Pros
the experience
Cons
not enough money and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Energetic working environment
Sales associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2017
Very friendly, relaxed working environment .
Great staff team !

We aim to provide the best quality products to different individuals with different unique style !

We represent our company by providing the best quality service and creating a loyal customer relationship .
Pros
great discount
Cons
barely any hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is very thorough, one of the best in retail.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC13 June 2017
Training is very thorough, one of the best in retail.
High management turn over.
Long hours.
Had to work outside of my location.
Too many closing shifts.
Pay is average.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 June 2017
Simple job, and gives you great experience. With that being said they told me i was part time and that i should not worry about not having a job so that i would accept the job offer and then randomly told me that they had told me initially i was a seasonal employee through email 5 months into having the job. I believe because they hired way too many people and needed an excuse to let employees go. Poor management on their part and very unprofessional.
Pros
salary, experience
Cons
short and unpredictable hours, always expect you to take someone's shift at short notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Associée en vente (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC31 May 2017
Milieu de travail très agréable. Gap m'a permis d'acquérir de nouvelle habileté et de découvrir de nouveau produit. Les employés comme les gérant sont très courtois et ils sont toujours près à vous aidée dans n'importe qu'elle situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 May 2017
they were good. they were paying good and the most important thing about that place was that working there was fun and in future if i get chance to work there, i will definitely work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start to your career
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2017
Gap will invest in their management team which has made me an exceptional leader. I have learned many important skills working with passionate employees and leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xx
sales and stock associate (Former Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC29 May 2017
It's a great company to work for but the management in Vaudreuil is very poor. Unprofessional would be the best way to describe it. It's a solid job to have though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Sales maintenance Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2017
Gap was a great experience I gained a lot of skills and developed networking skills. A typical day at work will be that we have a team meeting and talk about our sales goal on that day. The manager assigns our task that needs to be done.
Pros
Pizza parties and potlucks
Cons
Long Hours and overnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2017
Great place to work, very friendly environment. The mangers are great and they give you flexible hours to work with. There are many departments that you can work in and still feel like part of the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
PART-TIME ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON14 May 2017
Gap Factory Canada is a great company to work for! I learned a lot from this experience. All of my coworkers were fun to work with, and the management team was very nice and helpful!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 May 2017
typical day at work sales,greeting costumers
working with good staff. the hardest part of the job is dealing with angry customer. I learned a lot about the brand of GAP
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 May 2017
Great Place to work. Good intentions with regards to schedule but the hours in Retail for any retailer are not always matching with personal life. No fault of the employeer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, but terrible management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 May 2017
Though the people you work with are great, the management is very poor. They hire way too many people and so shifts are few and far between. And when there are shifts, it's a first come first serve to get them. And sometimes your shifts will be cut all together.
Pros
Discount, friendly coworkers, annual raise
Cons
Unpredictable hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON8 May 2017
it was alright working at gap, not much else to say. if you're naturally just a shy person i guess the job isn't really for you then, cause you're gonna have to do a lot of talking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with lots of great people. Experience is awesome
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
I really enjoy working at Gap. It has given me a lot of life skills and I've met a lot of awesome people as well. The management is very supportive in a lot of things you do, and will often back you up with your decisions.
Pros
experience, occasional free lunches and snacks, management team is willing to work with you and your schedule
Cons
Occasional short shifts/not always a lot of hours during the quiet times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity for advancement
Merchandising Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa Canada4 May 2017
I worked in merchandising in a very high volume location which was frequently open on bank holidays, I think I worked all of them every year! Always had a smile on my face, loved our entire team. At Christmas our staff sometimes went above 100, and we had 10-12 cash registers. Most enjoyable part of the job was hiring young students and mentoring them and watching them grow.
Pros
Great people! Discounts on clothing.
Cons
None, unless you are fussy about working holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GAP Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,720 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8