GM Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 153 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn new skills
ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ASSEMBLER/ LEAD HAND (Former Employee) –  London, ONJune 18, 2012
This company was a good place to work because I was given the opportunity to develop new skills. My co-workers were great to wor with and very supportive. Management was always open to suggestions to improve quality and productivity
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very grateful for the chance to work for GM.
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, OnFebruary 24, 2014
I work at General Motors of Canada as a Temporary Part-Time worker. This job involves shift work twice or thrice a week on the line in the south Oshawa assembly plant.

I was given this job in early 2013 and have loved working here. This job has allowed me to pay for my ongoing university education and to gain an inside perspective of the manufacturing field (something I think all engineers working in the field should learn).

The work here is simple, but it has allowed me to network and to learn from people inside the business. Shift time works perfectly with school, as I work in the night shift, so work never clashes directly with school.

Overall, I absolutely love working at General Motors of Canada and I'm thankful for the opportunity to learn from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Pipefitter Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONSeptember 16, 2013
I was able to take my Pipefitter Apprenticeship & worked for 33 years. Due to the economic time I was offered a retirement package. I feel too young to just take life easy. I would like to work for a few weeks, months or years as required.
Pros
great job assignments & great career
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Fan Services (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONFebruary 12, 2015
this is really fun place to work as a little part time job but nothing else. Not much room to move up in managment although that seems to be changing rather quickly. so.
Pros
fun
Cons
only weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of room for advancement if you have connections with the upper management
Production Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Leader, SKNovember 22, 2012
Fast paced and loads of oppotunity if you know the right people. Very challenginfg and educational. Training was bar none
Pros
opportunities for learning
Cons
very long hours and no time for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Financing
Sales and Finance (Former Employee) –  Florida, MichiganJanuary 29, 2014
This job was not just about selling cars . I learned how to help people repair there credit . Auto sales and financing is the second largest purchase most people buy it was a good felling when you would see your client drive off in there new car .
Pros
helping people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company on the rebound.
Fixed Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2013
A typical day is reviewing Customer Service Retention numbers, reviewing KPI's, and forecasting sales volumes. Production Management with "just in time" arrival of parts and shipments was heavily planned.
Pros
buying a car at cost.
Cons
no budget to build brand with new customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Cafeteria employee (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONDecember 16, 2014
When I got to work there was always people saying hello and Being very gracious.
I learned how to prepare food for the cafeteria and serve to employees of general motors Canada I also got tours of The G.M Centre it was really Cool to see the Truck plant and car plant lines and how the employees there were definitely a team
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fast pace enviroment with a lot of slow downs
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONMay 11, 2012
My coworkers were good to work with and made the shifts go by fairly good. Since it was a job that is dictated by market demand it was a bit of a roller coaster for job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Company in Transition
Truck Plant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONFebruary 10, 2014
General Motors has been the worlds largest car manufacturer for a great many years. It is owned by a series of share holders that in my opinion interfere with its ability to adapt to the newer world markets.They are in a state of transition between old world and new.At my time of employ they were having trouble embracing the new world ways of manufacturing. I hope that they survive in the future for the sake of all of us.They have produced some truly iconic vehicles.They like any other company have good and bad in them.
Pros
well paid if you were full time
Cons
a harsh environment to work in sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and fast paced workplace
Automotive Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONFebruary 23, 2013
A typical day of work consisted of constant movement, lifting, and accuracy
Pros
great friendships, and competitive salaries
Cons
heavy lifting, bending, and twisting all shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company
It Operations (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ONMay 19, 2014
the only issue is there is no place for me to grow
-best manager
-best benefits
-love working for GM
Pros
love the work enviroment
Cons
can't grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and fun place to work
Bilingual Dealer Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONFebruary 10, 2013
Answer part related questions on availability , locate parts for dealers. Speakers with dealers all day was enjoyable,
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
put together transmission parts
Machine Operator/ Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ONJuly 16, 2013
Worked at General motors. I was committed to working long hour shifts. I would put together the transmission parts on the line.
Pros
promotions
Cons
on the line
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worth to work
Senior Engineer (full time) (Current Employee) –  banagloreSeptember 27, 2012
working in GM is a wonderful experince . I learnt new FEA softwares. All co-workers are very supportive always.
Pros
very good culture
Cons
sometimes routine work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working the line
Line Worker, Student Temp (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONApril 10, 2014
This was my favourite place to work

I would punch in at 6 am or 3 pm. shifts where 8 hours with a 30min lunch and two 15 min brakes.

The people all worked as a team and where all was willing to help each other. Very positive workplace.

A day on the line would consist of lots of little pieces to be attached to the vehicle in one minute. These little jobs would be repeated for 4 hours than after lunch every one had the option to switch places.

Very fast paced environment
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
extremely repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Cafeteria Staff (Former Employee) –  OshawaOctober 9, 2013
The customers for the Cafeteria were great, management for the cafeteria was awful, very high security, very relaxed environnement
Pros
free lunch, good people
Cons
management sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Employed
Self Employed (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONMarch 31, 2014
• Provided general contracting services to independent small businesses and property owners for interior and exterior renovation solutions across the GTA.
• Services included decking repair or replacement, interlocking stone, general exterior maintenance, painting, plumbing, minor electrical, specialized landscaping and general interior repairs.
• Quickly established a solid client base resulting from referrals.
• Seasonal work - not very stable with a bad winter like we just had.
Pros
challenging
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a lot of hours and very union.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  stcatharinesApril 10, 2013
Everyone is watching you all the time and no one works. Amazing that anything gets done.
Pros
great benifits
Cons
too many eyes waiting for you to mess up.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Environment
Departmental Group Leader (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ONMarch 16, 2014
You would not to wish the workplace on your worst enemy. Those that work in management are treated like dogs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,585 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture