Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
885 reviews

GM Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Managers learn to balance customer service with corporate policies to achieve sales goals.
Fixed Operations Development Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco North Bay, CAOctober 11, 2014
Pros: advancement, good pay
Cons: security, management
A great career opportunity to develop sales skills using encouragement and motivation to improve business processes in fixed operations customer service. Leadership is essential in this position to motivate service drive behavioral change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience
Software Developer (Former Employee), Austin, TXOctober 10, 2014
Pros: great money, good benefits, great if you're into cars
Cons: slow company culture, disorganized, maximal buracratic environment
This company is exceptionally disorganized. It is highly bureaucratic and slow. There are not enough experience hires to speed up the company. It could be a hit or miss, depending on what you want out of life. My experience was a miss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging, and learning business.
Line Leader (Former Employee), Mansfield, OHOctober 10, 2014
Pros: learning new skills, being challenged daily.
Cons: lazy attitudes of union workers.
I absolutely loved working for GM and was very disappointed when the plant I worked at closed down.
I enjoyed being part of a team and constantly learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive.
Job Setter/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Anderson, INOctober 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches, sometimes surprise packages
Cons: didn't like rumors of job going out of business
Each day I went to work it was interesting and there was a lot to learn. I learned how to work robots, overhead crane, and setup injection molding. The management under union and it was ok. My co-workers were all team workers and they were very intelligent. The hardest part of the job was keeping the job because they were going out of business. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was making good money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
DISTRICT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Warren, MIOctober 5, 2014
Pros: break rooms
Cons: hours of operation are not convenient
This is a very busy job reviewing customer cases regarding their vehicle concerns and working to find a solution in conjunction with General Motors dealership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Application Support Engineer I (Former Employee), ChennaiOctober 3, 2014
Learnt a lot about the automotive domain.

Dealing with the dealer of GM at a critical period of delivery is the hardest part.

Communicating with each dealer is an enjoyable one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ATTENED TEAM LEADER MEETING
Team Leader (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 2, 2014
Pros: taking a new cadillac home for the week end.
Cons: people not showing up for there shift
SUPPLY ALL MATERIALS-HOOK UP TOOLS TRUN LINE ON.-HOW TO WORK AS A TEAM- RECEIVED INSTRUCTIONS FROM MANAGEMENT- WORKED WELL WITH CO- WORKER;S- KEEPING QUALITY TO THE HIGHEST LEVEL- KNOWING WE REACHED 100%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment and benefits
Lead Product Engineer 3 (Current Employee), pontiac, MIOctober 2, 2014
work load 8hr/day.
Analysis and hardware debugging.
management is nice.
coworkers are nice.
highly paid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very large company with many opportunities
HR Administrator (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MISeptember 29, 2014
General Motors has a lot to offer, however, it can be too large of a company for some people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honoured working with worlds best automobile company.
Area Manager (Current Employee), Chandigarh, CHSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: work life balance
GM is one of the most enjoyable automobile company to work with.
Its helpful for both personal and professional growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Maintenance Electrician/supervisor (Former Employee), Pontiac/saginaw miSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: fair pay and treatment
Cons: having to work with others that did want to work
fast paced and fun.fixing down machinery was very rewarding.working with others for a common goal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enough entry level training, did not let anyone advance or explain the way to advance.
Contact Representative Manager (Former Employee), Austin,TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: driving a company car for free to be able to familiarize with gm products.
Cons: not able to advance in company.
A typical day is to sit at desk and take calls until you can break. I learned that the auto dealerships do have to have ongoing training and do have trouble obtaining such and that GM training is a necessary part of the business. My co-workers were all a bunch of young kids who had no work ethic and interest in company at all but just to get paycheck – more... and go home. The hardest part is to stay focused and complete the call accurately and in a timely manner with all the silliness going on around. The most enjoyable was completing a call with the most customer service possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment could use better communication amongst workers.
Temp (Former Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: too many people that lack communication skills.
Nice pay, but not very organized. Needs more job security. They always have lay offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall decent career with excellent benefits.
General Labor (Current Employee), Lansing, MISeptember 21, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: overall employee moral
The jobs themselves are not too difficult to learn nor do. Not a whole lot of room for advancement. Everything is based on seniority so it does not really matter too much how you preform the job. This is quite discouraging in the job itself as it promotes an average or slightly below average work habit. I wish there was some sort of challenge motivating – more... you to do your absolute best. The benefits are the best I have seen anywhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Company for individuals willing to solve problems and run the business.
Launch Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYSeptember 17, 2014
I had the opportunity to successfully perform in many disciplines: Manufacturing Supervisor, Quality Engineer, New Product Plant Launch Training Coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work in with balance between personal and professional life
C Source Code Checker and Parser (Former Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 17, 2014
Best company to work in with balance between personal and professional life.lot of scope to learn new technologies
good Management with Good salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to work for my favorite company was awesome
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: 40hrs guarnteed
Cons: only temporary help
Showed up to my job everyday Monday thru Friday and did the same thing over and over again. Had many different jobs applying certain parts to cars as they came down the line to my designated job. It was hard on my hands at first but once I got used to it then it wasn't that bad. The most enjoyable part of the day was getting to show up to work everyday – more... with a guaranteed lunch break and it wasn't hard labor and I got to make some friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but everyday is like a box of chocolates...
Assembly Operator (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INSeptember 13, 2014
I cant speak for all GM plants but this was what I took away from the Ft Wayne, IN plant. Its incredibly hard to get your foot in the door and once you do its a pretty lengthy process before you're actually working. I was a temp for 14 months with the impression I was going to be hired in but was eventually laid off anyway despite getting an award for – more... reporting quality defects and saving the company loads of money. Good pay but no benefits and still had to pay dues to the local union hall without any real representation as a temp. The extremely fast pace was a real challenge at first but co-workers were a big help and eventually I got used to it and enjoyed it. Made some pretty good friends too. Upper and middle management are often a mess of miss-communication and way more concerned about the bonuses they receive for higher numbers than the quality or well-being of any of the employees. Overall its not a bad place but its got some serious issues that need resolved. Maybe they pay well enough so you'll look the other way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was so excited to be hired and part of the GM Family.
Distribution Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 13, 2014
It was a nice experience learning Production and Distribution during my time with General Motors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding places to work.
official retirement date 4/1/10 (Former Employee), wentzville, moSeptember 12, 2014
Work was outstanding. The work place was well put together and very well run.

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more