Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
751 reviews

GM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided me with 24 years of employment
Cadillac SRX Replacement Garnish Engineer (Former Employee), Warren, MiJune 11, 2014
Provided me with 24 years of employment. Culture is changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work-Life Balance
Call Center Team Lead, Tier II (Current Employee), Warren, MIJune 10, 2014
Cons: no tuition reimbursement
Good work-life balance and there is opportunity for career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1
Technician of Electrical Motors (Current Employee), White Marsh, MDJune 8, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: co-workers
It's Ok to work here. Innovative ideas ut hourly workers are more efficient then the engineers at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get out while you still can
Controls, Plant and Quality Engineer, Supervisor (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 5, 2014
All of my experience is pre-bankruptcy... hopefully they have gotten better.

Don't bet the farm on it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good atmosphere to work
Test Engineering Supervisor, GM Powertrain, June (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 4, 2014
Work hard, respect each others contribution. Site is closing and moving to Pontiac, Michigan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Product Assistance Claims Specialist (Current Employee), Warren, MIJune 4, 2014
Pros: recognition for great work
Cons: benefits such as paid sick days and the point system
A typical day at work included interactions with GM dealership employees to assist in investigations for product failure claims. I started out as a tier II agent and was promoted to Product assistance claims. I have learned a great deal about the how vehicles work in regards to air bags, seatbelts and how the vehicle is inspected when calims are made – more... that the vehicle caused an accident due to mechanical failure. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the repercussions behind the recalls GM has issued on numerous vehicles. The most enjoyable part about the job is the great friends I have made in some of my co workers and the things I have leaerned that can help me and others when it comes to vehicle safety. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Communicative Job
Maintance Supervisor (Former Employee), Ramos Arizpe, COAJune 4, 2014
My typical day at GM would be to get there by 5:30 in the AM, review last shift failures and what machines were causing trouble on the line, then go to my module grab my Nextel and my radio so I could keep the communication between me and the technicians, if a machine needed them. The hardest part of the job was to keep in track of the module when various – more... machines had failure, but it was all right, I am good at thinking and working under stress. The most enjoyable part of the job was that I was never seated, I was working around my module and my section, and kept communication with people, I am so good at communicating and developing new creative ideas for the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too far away from home.
Inspector (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHJune 2, 2014
Pros: nice supervisor and co-workers
Cons: 30 miles away from home.
Inspection of all 5.0 Manifolds prior to shipping to Ford Motor Company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to work
Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIJune 2, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: benefits in 1997 was okay
GM offered individual freedom in decision making with little or no management needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun Team environment
QA / PRR-PSM Coordinator (Former Employee), Pontiac, MI (joslyn)June 2, 2014
Pros: the administrative challenges
Cons: my contract did not last long enough.
In a typical day I would help with any data issues from the data engineer, such as working on graphs and entering data into the computer for the testing equipment. Facilitating and coordinating the Problem Report and Resolution meetings. Organizing employees for involvement and confirming resolution reports. Ordering supplies. Verifying previous data – more... and gathering data for reports. Stream ling one area of reporting from a two person 40 hour job, to a one person two hour job. Using data entered by each department and then utilizing our system to print and collate the data. This report was used to update staff at the plant for morning meetings. It was my duty to report at these staff meetings.Learning the proces in the valuable meetings for trouble shooting the problems. Management in our department was encouraging and promoting a team environment. The hardest oart of the job was also the most enjoyable which was conducting the trouble shooting issues and finding the solutions to the problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler (Current Employee), Arlington, TXMay 30, 2014
Pros: looks good on your resume.
Cons: no health care coverage
I've learned that I am much stronger than i anticipated. The hardest thing about the job would have to be entering as a temporary employee. I have been a temporary employee for nearly a year now. You cant have any days off to take your child to the doctors office. Nor any personal time for yourself. The most enjoying part would have to be the adversity – more... of the people. You never know what to expect at General Motors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for non-Contract employees
Executive Customer Assistant (Current Employee), Warren, MIMay 28, 2014
Not very fun if you are contract, nothing more to say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general motors
Distribution Manager (Former Employee), Levittown, PAMay 28, 2014
free lunches
great pay
great benefits
great workers
company is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looked forward to going to work every day.
Warehouse Specialist/Shipping/Receiving (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIMay 26, 2014
Pros: salary and hourly employees worked together to meet goals.
Cons: can't think of any major cons.
Always felt like a valued employee. This company offered many opportunities and chances for advancement. Co-workers were like family. We all had a goal to produce the best product to meet customer satisfaction.

Company paid for my college classes and helped me earn a college degree. My degree was an asset to my success and aided in advancement throughout – more... the company.

I gave a 5-Star Overall rating because there was not a time that I had anything negative to say about working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experince
SALES ASSOCIATE- SPECIALIST- CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Stroudsburg, PAMay 22, 2014
Great experience in sales, service. The product is tops and there are a lot of vehicles to choose from. All renovated to current standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Assembly Worker (Former Employee), Moraine, OHMay 22, 2014
I loved working at Gm. Everyone was very friendly. You also learn different jobs at different stations throughout the plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very casual day in my opinion
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIMay 22, 2014
Pros: great organization very neat area
Cons: not much of a con but didn't see my manger everyday
a typical day at work would consist of going in find out the numbers of vehicles that were getting built today and by what time also some classes. what i had learned there were things that i had learned previously but they were great refresher courses they provided. most of the co-workers i knew from school so i got along with them quite well. the hardest – more... part of my job was when it was a very busy day with more cars on the line and i had a more things too assemble. the most enjoyable part of my day were like an hour before the end of my shift, the reason for me saying this is because by that that time i'd would have gotten in the rhythm of my job so i'd forget what time it was and wouldn't even think of leaving – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Lead Paint Supervisor/Engineer (Former Employee), Bowling Green KYMay 21, 2014
GM was a horrible place to work and I wished I had left sooner than I did. If you like to be verbally assaulted and have your job threatened daily this is a place for you. If you want your career to be based off of your merit then Run! this place is not for you. It is who likes you and who does not. Culture is cutthroat......
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Energetic Environment
Chief Information Security Officer (Current Employee), Detroit, MIMay 21, 2014
Being in a very competitive area, talent is the key in driving the company forward. Innovation and forward thinking is fostered throughout the organization. It is a very fast paced environment, with talented staff and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always exciting
District Manager Aftersales (Current Employee), Sioux Falls, SDMay 19, 2014
A typical day includes driving to one of my dealership and peforming consulting to the dealership's fixed operations department.

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more