Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
810 reviews

GM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), Swartz Creek, MISeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great location.
First job after graduation, it was a great learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing what I love
Software Engineer (Former Employee), WarrenSeptember 9, 2014
I like doing what I love in development, project management and design for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
continually gave training classes in management
General Supervisor (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 8, 2014
I received continuous guidance and schooling to help make my future with the company as enjoyable and fulfilling as possible. We had annual evaluations and received counseling in order to improve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to learn but slow growth for your career.
Engineer (Mechanical) (Current Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 7, 2014
It is a good place to learn but slow growth for your career. Management is good but it is not responsible for your growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work when raising a family.
Operator BOC Lake Orion and Retired (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MISeptember 5, 2014
I have worked almost every department while at GM and have gained a lot of experience at all jobs in manufacturing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun and got along well with everyone.
Production Worker (Former Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: i was able to buy a new truck
Cons: i was just a temp, got no benefits, and lost my job.
I loved being in the work. I never miss work, and was very responsible. I'm a self starter and can get along with anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a clean and producktive place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Waterford, MISeptember 3, 2014
I worked in a group setting wit several people. Packing and assenbly of automobile parts. I learned to work with others and be part of a team.Management was very fair and friendly and willing to help. Some of the equimtment was old and outdated. fillinng your quoto for the day was rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Assisitant
Administrator Assistance / Security (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 3, 2014
This job was great. My co workers, management were awesome. I enjoyed every part of that job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Coworkers
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Warren, MISeptember 2, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers
Cons: not flexible
Being a contract employee. It felt there wasn't much room for advance. I enjoyed the co-workers wasn't a big fan of all of the customer complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management
Production and Quality Control Supervisor (Current Employee), Lordstown, OHSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: what the offer their employees such as, benefits, fitness and etc.
Cons: keeping contract hired employees to long without hiring them outright.
The Upper Management team was willing to teach new personnel and the other employees were very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Build Trucks
Assembler (Former Employee), Fort Wayne INSeptember 2, 2014
Work 3rd shift
How hard it is to build trucks
Worked Trim line
management was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Warren, MISeptember 1, 2014
Outplaced when skill set did not match job requirements.
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life experience
Volunteer for Brain Tumor Society (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 1, 2014
Good cause. Love to help others who are in need and support. Learning experince.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace work
Assembly Line Operator (Former Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 29, 2014
Everyday work was fast pace and being about to stand on your feet for 8-11 hours.

i learned that you have to work efficient and smart.

Didn't really like the management there it seemed as if they played favorites.

My coworkers were fine i had friends with everybody.

Hardest part of the job was just the hours on my shift

Most enjoyable part was – more... not have someone watching over me as i worked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Hand assembly of lay (Former Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 25, 2014
Cons: only hiring in as temp with huge worries of layoffs
GM is a great company to have an opportunity to have worked for. The company was main goals were keeping the workers safe and providing excellent quality work. My co-workers were like family to me, no one was ever treated as a stranger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Automotive Manufacturer competing in a highly competitive industry
Cadillac District Sales Manager (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARAugust 25, 2014
Focus is on sales and market share growth
Concentrated effort toward sales
Incredible amount of talented employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working in the production plant, amazing to see vehicles build from scratch.
Assembly worker (Former Employee), Doraville, gaAugust 23, 2014
Pros: free snack machine
Cons: short breaks
A day at general motors is very busy. the assemble line starts moving at 6 a.m continuing every 4 hours until break. Management was very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its mentally and physicallly exhausting
production worker (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHAugust 21, 2014
Pros: some co-workers
Cons: short breaks, management
A typical day was waiting to be told where to go and of course being a temp you got handed the worst jobs. I did learn about 25 jobs in the year I was there. The co-workers were ok. Ugh, management there was absolutely horrendous!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not provide job security
Material/Forklift Driver- (Current Employee), Flint, MIAugust 19, 2014
Pros: receiving a paycheck is always a positive
Cons: can be employed for several years as a temporary employee
You could be a temporary employee with GM for upwards of 7 years which presents no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GM is a good company to work for overall!
Group Leader (Former Employee), Lansing, MIAugust 17, 2014
Enjoyed my time working for GM! Management wasn't the best but the overall day of in the plant was great.

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more