Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
810 reviews

GM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
LINE WORKER (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMay 3, 2013
Pros: availability
Cons: long hours
Work environment was fast-paced and energetic
Learned to work as a team to complete certain jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
auto manufacturer
Machine repairman/millwright for line repair (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONApril 23, 2013
Pros: lots of hours and training
Cons: plant reductions and man power reductions
Great company to work for with lots of training and experiences in maintenance departments, operating fork lifts, mobile cranes, man lifts, cherry pickers, bucket trucks, as well as doing installations, break downs, Maximo reporting, PM's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good industrial work experience
Assembler (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONApril 19, 2013
Pros: good work experience
I Learned how to work in mass production, at a fast work pace, and how to pace myself and produce a quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a lot of hours and very union.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), stcatharinesApril 10, 2013
Pros: great benifits
Cons: too many eyes waiting for you to mess up.
Everyone is watching you all the time and no one works. Amazing that anything gets done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Clerk
Chassis Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), Oshawa ONFebruary 28, 2013
I currently am employed on Contract at General Motors Oshawa. It is a very challeging position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
MACHINE OPERATOR & LABOURER (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: the rate of pay is good
Cons: benefits are getting worse every contract and jobs are getting faster
Great people there but management doesn't care for it's workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Laborer (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: we got a lot of over time, usually weekends
Cons: sometimes it was extremely hot and dirty
I worked steady days. We carried a pager so that when a call came in we would answer the page via computer. We would then check out what we needed for the job and get the necessary tools /equipment for the job.

I learned how to work with others, patience, safety.

Management was for the most part cooperative. If I didn't feel that the job wasn't safe – more... I was free to voice that without consequences.

My co workers were the same. We worked together in an adult fashion. We would discuss the best wa tio handle the job and get it done.

The hardest part of the job was explaining to a production supervisor why we had to shut a machine down to do a certain job. We had to lock out al power to a machine for it to be safe to work on and production didn't like to do that.

We had freedom of the plant, so we were able to go to different areas on free time. We weren't tied down to a job and our supervisor didn't mind as long as we had our pagers with us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worth to work
Senior Engineer (full time) (Current Employee), banagloreSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: very good culture
Cons: sometimes routine work
working in GM is a wonderful experince . I learnt new FEA softwares. All co-workers are very supportive always.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn new skills
ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL ASSEMBLER/ LEAD HAND (Former Employee), London, ONJune 18, 2012
This company was a good place to work because I was given the opportunity to develop new skills. My co-workers were great to wor with and very supportive. Management was always open to suggestions to improve quality and productivity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly, enjoyable company to work for.
Customer relation in business development (Current Employee), Hamilton, ONMay 29, 2012
I enjoy working for General Motors, but as I am currently only part-time, I am looking to get into a full-time position in my field as an Administrative assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Oshawa OntarioMay 22, 2012
Pros: i have learned a great deal about quality control.
Cons: not to fond of afternoons.
I have learned a great deal in quality when dealing with the assembly of a variety of cars/parts. I fully enjoyed working with the people at General Motors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
repair vehicle
Shop Foreman/Mechanic (Former Employee), kentville NSMay 21, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: not enough hours
company was great to work for people were always there to help u in anyway they could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a fast pace enviroment with a lot of slow downs
Production Worker (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMay 11, 2012
My coworkers were good to work with and made the shifts go by fairly good. Since it was a job that is dictated by market demand it was a bit of a roller coaster for job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Company for individuals willing to solve problems and run the business.
Launch Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYSeptember 17, 2014
I had the opportunity to successfully perform in many disciplines: Manufacturing Supervisor, Quality Engineer, New Product Plant Launch Training Coordinator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work in with balance between personal and professional life
C Source Code Checker and Parser (Former Employee), Bangalore, KASeptember 17, 2014
Best company to work in with balance between personal and professional life.lot of scope to learn new technologies
good Management with Good salary
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to work for my favorite company was awesome
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: 40hrs guarnteed
Cons: only temporary help
Showed up to my job everyday Monday thru Friday and did the same thing over and over again. Had many different jobs applying certain parts to cars as they came down the line to my designated job. It was hard on my hands at first but once I got used to it then it wasn't that bad. The most enjoyable part of the day was getting to show up to work everyday – more... with a guaranteed lunch break and it wasn't hard labor and I got to make some friends. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but everyday is like a box of chocolates...
Assembly Operator (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INSeptember 13, 2014
I cant speak for all GM plants but this was what I took away from the Ft Wayne, IN plant. Its incredibly hard to get your foot in the door and once you do its a pretty lengthy process before you're actually working. I was a temp for 14 months with the impression I was going to be hired in but was eventually laid off anyway despite getting an award for – more... reporting quality defects and saving the company loads of money. Good pay but no benefits and still had to pay dues to the local union hall without any real representation as a temp. The extremely fast pace was a real challenge at first but co-workers were a big help and eventually I got used to it and enjoyed it. Made some pretty good friends too. Upper and middle management are often a mess of miss-communication and way more concerned about the bonuses they receive for higher numbers than the quality or well-being of any of the employees. Overall its not a bad place but its got some serious issues that need resolved. Maybe they pay well enough so you'll look the other way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was so excited to be hired and part of the GM Family.
Distribution Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CASeptember 13, 2014
It was a nice experience learning Production and Distribution during my time with General Motors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outstanding places to work.
official retirement date 4/1/10 (Former Employee), wentzville, moSeptember 12, 2014
Work was outstanding. The work place was well put together and very well run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Paint booth operator (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: short breaks
come in make sure every booth is cleaned, prep and ready for cars to be painted. hit was a nice team of co worker that was on the same page which made it easier to get the task done

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more