Find companies:
GM Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

GM Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots and Lots of Politics
Sales Operations (Former Employee), Arlington, TXNovember 1, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance.
Cons: if you are viewed as an "outsider", there is no real career path here for you.
GM Financial is not the "old AmeriCredit" when it comes to corporate culture. What everyone who has worked a long time at the company says about the culture no longer exists. GMF is a typical large company that has "silos" as well as managers, AVPs and VPs who are extremely protective of their silo/turf. They are very knowledgeable, but also very political. – more... Advancement opportunities are far more based upon who you know and whose back side you have kissed than it is about performance and merit. I suppose this is fairly common in the auto finance industry, but GMF tries to portray itself as being something that it most definitely is not. Pay is also below industry average on the sales side of the equation, although benefits are pretty decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Structure. No Room For Growth. Unprofessional Management.
Collections Account Rep II (Former Employee), Arlington TX AOC 2October 10, 2013
Pros: there is a caffeteria down stairs. you get lots of pto, you will need it when you are sick of being there. the regular employees are awesome.
Cons: no room for advancement, count on the most un-professional individuals to be advanced, you are required to break fdcpa, lack of structure (all team leads have different rules), drama (commonly caused by management), and the list goes on and on and on
I spent nearly 8 years at this company and asked for at least 4 years to be made CAR III... I was declined every time, even though I was asked to work special teams that no one else could work, was asked to train people to do what I did (Skip Tracing and working "mandatory" [91+] accounts)... I asked for advancement and was not even considered for an – more... interview... I finally got a team lead that said she would help me advance... She gave me a sentence or two of advice... And that was it... She was moved to another team shortly after and I got another team lead... When I followed the first TL's advice, I got chewed out by the new TL... I finished my day there and left... I never went back... Getting chewed out was normal there... A TL (was a TL but is now an AVP) yelled at me so loud one day that the floor was standing up and looking to see what was going on... And he made AVP shortly after... All because I was talking to him and dialing my phone to keep my stats up... If you don't keep up your stats you get in trouble... It took nearly 8 years to figure out this place is not a good one to work... The employees that mean nothing to the management) were awesome... Anyone who says this is a great place for advancement was either advanced when it was AmeriCredit or is buddies/friends with someone in management... There is no room for advancement otherwise... If there where, I'd been an AVP before I left... I SUGGEST STRONGLY THAT YOU DO NOT WORK HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE NO OTHER OPTIONS!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funds Now Specialist
Funds Now Specialist (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 3, 2013
Pros: leaving
Cons: everything
This is the worst place I have ever worked for.I almost cried everyday after work. It's stressful, you are underpaid, and if you don't kiss butt, you don't get anywhere. The managers were the worst!!!! They are ghetto, unprofessional, and sneaky They find ways not to give you your EARNED bonus and the turnover rate is super high. The best part about – more... the job was leaving at 5:00 pm sharp everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Account Support Clerk (Current Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 29, 2013
Productive and fun workplace..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive
Customer Account Representative II (Former Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
I enjoyed working there. There were plenty opportunities for growth within the company and I loved working with the customers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Analyst (Current Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 17, 2013
Pros: strong team members
Cons: stalemate for advancement
Fast paced enviroment, comparable compensation packages, with strong team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Funding Specialist (Current Employee), Chandler, AZAugust 5, 2013
Pros: none. avoid this company.
Cons: i've listed them.
This is one of the worst places to work I've ever seen. If you're a man, you simply cannot be promoted here. Odd, but true. The inexperienced "team leaders" consistently confuse patronizing and bullying behavior with leadership. Common professional courtesies such as employment verification and references are routinely denied. Sitting at your desk 10 – more... minutes before your shift begins is rewarded with the threat of a "Corrective Action" write up. Avenues of advancement are eternally on the horizon, but never materialize. Any hint of intelligence, free thought or critical scrutiny of policy is quickly labeled as a "bad attitude". Evidence of true leadership is perpetually absent. And finally, to compensate you for your troubles, the base pay and bonus structure are far below average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Account Maintenance
Supervisor Account Maintenance (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great team and team work to get the job done
Cons: no room for growth
I manange day to day Loan Service Request to ensure service levels are met daily, train new an exsisting employees. I have enjoyed my team memembers and meeting the new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Quality Assurance Representative I (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 19, 2013
working at GM was the best and easy job especially working with my coworkers and customers who were the best. I learn that customers come first always and never let them down on anything, smile while talking on the phone are to a customer face to face. The hardest part was never hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply to work here unless you are content with fitting into a mold!!
everyone's a worker bee (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJune 25, 2013
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: everything else
This is the worst company I've ever worked for! They are behind on technology and do not want to improve. They hire people for their expertise, yet do not allow them to help advance the company with new ideas. If you are ok with joining a company of people who have never worked anywhere else, been there for 15+ years, and who don't want to change, this – more... is the place for you. If you enjoy being nit-picked and micro-managed, you will be in heaven. If you are skilled, knowledgable, and desire to work for an innovative company, look elsewhere!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days that consist with steady and fast pace moving to complete job in timely manner
Collections Account Representative (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJune 4, 2013
Pros: computer systems that assist with workflow
In a typical work day i work about 40 accounts an hour which consist of inbound and outbound and i work in a timely manner to assist each individual account as needed. Since working at GMF I have learned to be patient,gained better customer service,being efficient. I work with about 200+ people and each person is different, with that being said i am – more... allowed to see and learn a lot of different personalities in addition to different cultures and backgrounds. There is not a lot that is difficult about my job just have to make sure you stay on task so you are completely what is expected of the company. The different activities the job gives to motivate reps to meet goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
csr (Former Employee), arlington,txMay 30, 2013
Pros: half days on fridays
Cons: low pay
Typical work day was very productive. Iearned how to work with others. Management was very helpful.My co workers always were willing to assist when needed. hardest part of the job was for the company as a whole to reach company goals. The most enjoyable part of the job was reeiving a bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Medical Benefits I have EVER had
Analyst (Current Employee), TexasApril 18, 2013
Pros: competitive salary and friendly colleagues
Cons: everything else
And this is not an exaggeration. I can only believe that people who say this place has great benefits haven't really experienced great benefits anywhere, because they are the absolute worst I have ever had. Although the salary is competitive, if you have any medical condition at all, you will be paying out the nose for benefits - both from your paycheck – more... and high out of pocket for many medical costs. If you have health benefits elsewhere, then take it for the salary if you can deal with a negative workplace. Position that I accepted is not the job they have had me do since day 1. Most employees in the department are miserable and actively seeking jobs elsewhere, 6 have left in last 3 months, many are afraid to speak up. Management team micro-manages, is indicisive, and doesn't trust the teams, despite hiring highly skilled workforce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
listed below
collections (Former Employee), Arlington, txMarch 27, 2013
Pros: lunches were held when we were center of the month.
Cons: did no encourage bathroom breaks.
bonuses were given when meeting certain standards.
This was a sit at your desk type of job. I got along well with my co-workers. We had birthday lunches each month there was a birthday in our area. hardest part of my job was being agressive with customers when they told me about there problems and why they couldn't pay. the most enjoyable part of my – more... job was the people I worked with and being able to help customers find solutions to help bring them current. . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, productive and goal setting
TEAMLEADER-FUNDSNOW (Current Employee), Chandler, AZMarch 10, 2013
Pros: the feeling you get when we hit goal
Cons: the high school mentality that management allows
come in and assign out subprime deals to the team members, get the team members together to let them know the changes and goals we need to set for that day, review emails, calls or verbally finding obsticals to remove so we can get the deals funding. Motivate team memebers to make sure the daly and monthly goals are met. Dealing with esclations from – more... customers, dealership and team members.
It is not really the hardest, just the most demanding is if we are not close at the end of the month, the pressure you have to make sure we hit it the monthly goal or come as close as we can and know we did everything we could to get it.
I enjoy my team and other team meber. I like the goal setting and the determination we have to ensure are goals are set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, dedicated team, great place to work
Buyer II (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 8, 2013
Pros: great bonus and stability
Cons: stressful, ever changing procedures a lot to learn
This is a stressful position but worthwhile and great opportunity for a beginning buyer. Great group of team members to work with and dedicated hard working VP and Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Unorganized
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), Arlington, TXMarch 2, 2013
Pros: you get a paycheck
Cons: lots of stress and no positive feedback
On a normal basis you will be given 4 to 5 different tasks all being top priority and then asked about why you are not working on the project that was not assigned to you.

There is zero chance for advancement. I was told that that the company would eliminate a position before promoting someone to the position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up company
Underwriter - Commercial Credit Lending Services (Current Employee), Arlington, TXFebruary 16, 2013
Company is still in the process of developing policy and procedures. Great group of coworkers with a wealth of knowledge. Our overall team goal is to mitigate the company's risk exposure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very flexible
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Huntersville, NCDecember 21, 2012
Pros: bonuses
Cons: managements not showing good work ethics
A typical day at work would be fulfilling my collection duties. Management did not show good ethics and morals within the company. My co-workers were great to work with and we developed meaningful relationships. The hardest part of the job was not knowing one day to the next if you would have a job the next day. The most enjoyable part of my day was – more... helping my customers and interacting with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasent work enviorment also very professional in all aspects.
Collector (Former Employee), Huntersville, NCDecember 18, 2012
Pros: benefits
everyone was very nice and professional and always willing to lend a helping hand.