Find companies:
GM Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

GM Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin./Customer Service
Admin./Customer Service (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 12, 2013
In the beginning great place to work, started to go down hill with too much office politics. If you BBQ with a Supervisor/Manager than you would get the promotions. Majority of women in higher positions, need to be in their group before you can be promoted. They surround themselves with weaker team leads to ensure their position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with long term benefits
Lead End of Lease Administrator (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 13, 2013
Pros: lots of social activities
Cons: not really
Managing end of lease inspections and follow up with inspection companies overseas and domestic. Working with 2 systems infolease and web based system to keep track of daily reports.
Interacting with colleagues and inspection companies to order or cancel inspections as well as make any special arrangements as per client requests as may be required.

Updated – more... client information on systems and releasing inspections requests.
The best part of my job is interacting with inspection companies and my colleagues as we are great tem and it is fun working.
I believe that working should be fun as the day goes by fast and people are more productive when they are enjoying what they do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excitement quickly faded to disappointment!
Cash Management Rep (Current Employee), Arlington, TXApril 17, 2014
Pros: job stability; good benefits;location
Cons: poor management; long work hours; no positive feedback
I had applied with AmeriCredit but never got a response. But when GM Financial took over, I submitted my application and got an interview and was hired. I was very excited to be working for GM doing what I love most, working with money. It is close to home and everything. I have been working in A/R and Collections for over 15 yrs so I knew I could handle – more... the job.

What I was not prepared for was the position I was put into. The Senior Rep has run off one experienced employee and she started in on me. Talking down to you and watching everything you do. We eventually had a blow up and ended up in an office with the so called "AVP". Still don't know what THAT is! Anyway, I was highly disappointed after working so hard to learn all of the detailed reports and deposit procedures to be told I was too slow! What!?? There was no mention of speed in the interview. I came away from that meeting extremely angry and disappointed in the position I chose. I will not be remaining in this department.

My advice to any one considering employment with GM, do not go to the Payment Services Dept. The management is clueless and arrogant and you work like a dog with no positive feedback. I think GM is a good company but they don't know what they have hired to represent their company. Please ask detailed questions about your job so you know what you are getting! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCApril 16, 2014
Calling customers with auto loans to get delinquent payments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walk in others shoes and really care don't be FAKE!!!
Unprofessional (Former Employee), Fake blvdApril 10, 2014
Pros: give a certain type a position
Cons: fake pride etc...
I thought I was doing good learning my job without the best of help..The one person at randstad was cruel. The two I guess managers or what ever their title was were fake, selfish etc..I couldn't believe how these so call educated managers were so fake.. One manager bragged or gloated about how HE fired someone.. I've seen managers Bragg and even be – more... prideful about Firing people..DO Know your day IS coming..I hope the best for GMF BUT!!!!! do know their day is coming to fail. Rome only ruled for a season..pay back IS coming to those certain people who Bragg and talk bad about people they FIRED..one of the managers need a colon cleanse because their breath is toxic SAD...you reap what you sow. Just listen to your own words that you say about people it's coming back to you 4 times worst, I'm not against GMF but Randstad..EVIL, These people should have known and help me not stab Me in the back but that's how we have learn to do is be fake, low down , dirty, dog eat dog, NICE NASTY... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Area
Freedom Park Valet (Former Employee), Irving, TexasMarch 4, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of pushing contracts to the curing stages of GM Financial contracts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work perspective for the other side of the auto industry
Senior Credit Analyst (Current Employee), West Chester, OHFebruary 19, 2014
Great employees, fun environment, good place to work to learn the auto business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Compensation and No Work/Life Balance
Account Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee), Arlington, TXNovember 21, 2013
Low Compensation and No Work/Life Balance
Must know what each employee is doing at all times of day time in kept in database of how long it takes an assignment to be completed .Every minute of your day is accounted for. Micro-Managed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customer comes first
Concierge Team - Customer Service (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXNovember 20, 2013
Making inbound and outbound calls to customers. Conflict resolution along with first call resolution. Assisting with collection procedures on delinquent accounts. Setting payment arrangements and assisting with deferments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots and Lots of Politics
Sales Operations (Former Employee), Arlington, TXNovember 1, 2013
Pros: good work/life balance.
Cons: if you are viewed as an "outsider", there is no real career path here for you.
GM Financial is not the "old AmeriCredit" when it comes to corporate culture. What everyone who has worked a long time at the company says about the culture no longer exists. GMF is a typical large company that has "silos" as well as managers, AVPs and VPs who are extremely protective of their silo/turf. They are very knowledgeable, but also very political. – more... Advancement opportunities are far more based upon who you know and whose back side you have kissed than it is about performance and merit. I suppose this is fairly common in the auto finance industry, but GMF tries to portray itself as being something that it most definitely is not. Pay is also below industry average on the sales side of the equation, although benefits are pretty decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Structure. No Room For Growth. Unprofessional Management.
Collections Account Rep II (Former Employee), Arlington TX AOC 2October 10, 2013
Pros: there is a caffeteria down stairs. you get lots of pto, you will need it when you are sick of being there. the regular employees are awesome.
Cons: no room for advancement, count on the most un-professional individuals to be advanced, you are required to break fdcpa, lack of structure (all team leads have different rules), drama (commonly caused by management), and the list goes on and on and on
I spent nearly 8 years at this company and asked for at least 4 years to be made CAR III... I was declined every time, even though I was asked to work special teams that no one else could work, was asked to train people to do what I did (Skip Tracing and working "mandatory" [91+] accounts)... I asked for advancement and was not even considered for an – more... interview... I finally got a team lead that said she would help me advance... She gave me a sentence or two of advice... And that was it... She was moved to another team shortly after and I got another team lead... When I followed the first TL's advice, I got chewed out by the new TL... I finished my day there and left... I never went back... Getting chewed out was normal there... A TL (was a TL but is now an AVP) yelled at me so loud one day that the floor was standing up and looking to see what was going on... And he made AVP shortly after... All because I was talking to him and dialing my phone to keep my stats up... If you don't keep up your stats you get in trouble... It took nearly 8 years to figure out this place is not a good one to work... The employees that mean nothing to the management) were awesome... Anyone who says this is a great place for advancement was either advanced when it was AmeriCredit or is buddies/friends with someone in management... There is no room for advancement otherwise... If there where, I'd been an AVP before I left... I SUGGEST STRONGLY THAT YOU DO NOT WORK HERE UNLESS YOU HAVE NO OTHER OPTIONS!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funds Now Specialist
Funds Now Specialist (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 3, 2013
Pros: leaving
Cons: everything
This is the worst place I have ever worked for.I almost cried everyday after work. It's stressful, you are underpaid, and if you don't kiss butt, you don't get anywhere. The managers were the worst!!!! They are ghetto, unprofessional, and sneaky They find ways not to give you your EARNED bonus and the turnover rate is super high. The best part about – more... the job was leaving at 5:00 pm sharp everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Account Support Clerk (Current Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 29, 2013
Productive and fun workplace..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive
Customer Account Representative II (Former Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
I enjoyed working there. There were plenty opportunities for growth within the company and I loved working with the customers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Analyst (Current Employee), Arlington, TXAugust 17, 2013
Pros: strong team members
Cons: stalemate for advancement
Fast paced enviroment, comparable compensation packages, with strong team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Funding Specialist (Current Employee), Chandler, AZAugust 5, 2013
Pros: none. avoid this company.
Cons: i've listed them.
This is one of the worst places to work I've ever seen. If you're a man, you simply cannot be promoted here. Odd, but true. The inexperienced "team leaders" consistently confuse patronizing and bullying behavior with leadership. Common professional courtesies such as employment verification and references are routinely denied. Sitting at your desk 10 – more... minutes before your shift begins is rewarded with the threat of a "Corrective Action" write up. Avenues of advancement are eternally on the horizon, but never materialize. Any hint of intelligence, free thought or critical scrutiny of policy is quickly labeled as a "bad attitude". Evidence of true leadership is perpetually absent. And finally, to compensate you for your troubles, the base pay and bonus structure are far below average. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Account Maintenance
Supervisor Account Maintenance (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great team and team work to get the job done
Cons: no room for growth
I manange day to day Loan Service Request to ensure service levels are met daily, train new an exsisting employees. I have enjoyed my team memembers and meeting the new hires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Quality Assurance Representative I (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJuly 19, 2013
working at GM was the best and easy job especially working with my coworkers and customers who were the best. I learn that customers come first always and never let them down on anything, smile while talking on the phone are to a customer face to face. The hardest part was never hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply to work here unless you are content with fitting into a mold!!
everyone's a worker bee (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJune 25, 2013
Pros: competitive pay
Cons: everything else
This is the worst company I've ever worked for! They are behind on technology and do not want to improve. They hire people for their expertise, yet do not allow them to help advance the company with new ideas. If you are ok with joining a company of people who have never worked anywhere else, been there for 15+ years, and who don't want to change, this – more... is the place for you. If you enjoy being nit-picked and micro-managed, you will be in heaven. If you are skilled, knowledgable, and desire to work for an innovative company, look elsewhere!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days that consist with steady and fast pace moving to complete job in timely manner
Collections Account Representative (Current Employee), Arlington, TXJune 4, 2013
Pros: computer systems that assist with workflow
In a typical work day i work about 40 accounts an hour which consist of inbound and outbound and i work in a timely manner to assist each individual account as needed. Since working at GMF I have learned to be patient,gained better customer service,being efficient. I work with about 200+ people and each person is different, with that being said i am – more... allowed to see and learn a lot of different personalities in addition to different cultures and backgrounds. There is not a lot that is difficult about my job just have to make sure you stay on task so you are completely what is expected of the company. The different activities the job gives to motivate reps to meet goals. – less