Find companies:
GE Oil & Gas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

GE Oil & Gas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but usually rewarding work environment
Senior Product Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 8, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: overly diversified, too many meetings
A typical day at work included many meetings and interactions with colleagues. I learned a lot about the oil & gas industry and most recently learned about being a business leader. Some managers have been good mentors but for the most part they have allowed me the freedom to be autonomous, which I like. The hardest part of the job is trying to work – more... in a matrix environment where goals and objectives are not necessarily aligned. I really enjoyed working internationally and meeting customers all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Project Finance Manager (Current Employee), Nailsea, BristolAugust 8, 2014
Pros: working with the team
Cons: long hours and travelling
Review costs for two projects:
Personnel
Material
Manufacturing & engineering
Checking for misbookings and journal out
Preparing management reports:weekly, monthly, quarterly
margin review
variation orders
contracts
invoicing & milestone completion
Working with a small team
Hardest part of job at present is getting information out in a usable form and – more... having to manipulate
Most enjoyable is interacting with project teams and learning the craft. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Certified Welding Inspector (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
In the inpection world it is almost required to be on the job 75% of your time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good colleagues and very good experience
E&I Field Service Engineer (Current Employee), PNG LNG EPC3, Port Moresby, Papua New GuineaMay 26, 2014
A normal job as an E/I for me the difference only is this is my first time working as a vendor. This is a very good opportunity for me to learn more in terms of turbine and compressors. My co-workers are very good and very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture but very less salary
Sales (Former Employee), vadodaraMay 3, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: no growth, very less salary
Very slow decision making, very process oriented. Good Ethics but lack of professional growth. Not recommended at early stage of carrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sourcing experience
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Firenze, TOSApril 24, 2014
From Dec 2009, I work in GE Oil & Gas Sourcing Dep. My first year was in Vibo Valentia plant, from 2011 I live in Florence working at TM Headquarter.
Sourcing Team high level includes different groups of people, committed in Operation goals of productivity and materials on time delivery. My role requires cross-functional activities:
- Based to engineering – more... defined scope of supply, in reference to our qualified supplier base, I send request for quotation for materials useful for production
- Goals to be pursuit: price reduction vs previous year or defined target, on time delivery for purchase order issue and materials receiving
- Asked cooperation with: product leaders, project management, supplier quality, business strategy team, budgeting owners, fulfillment area.
My learning experience in GE Oil & Gas also concerns courses for Product Familiarization, Presentation-Influencing-Negotiation skills, Finance, Six Sigma, Foundation of Leadership, Supply Chain Management
APICS CPIM certification – graduation on 2013 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
data book specialist (Current Employee), broussard, laMarch 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, flexible schedules
I typically go in log onto computer and begin tracking my jobs. I first track the ones needed for the end of quarter every three months. I also check to see if new ones have arrived. Any updates on current job I'm working on i update it, then update a tracker that team uses. I also talk with inspectors or surveyors with any errors caught by our team – more... and go forward with making necessary changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Lead Engineer (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAMarch 17, 2014
Good to work if you have a good project. GE Management practises are the best in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exciting place to work at
General worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
loved punching in and loved waking up for the job.very friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Lead Systems Engineer (contract) (Current Employee), Lewistown, PAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: great place
Great place................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOOKING TO GROW
Senior QA/QC Inspector- Level II (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: learning dayly
Cons: some time it can be alot of parts
WORKING HARD AND ENJOYING IT, LEARNING ABOUT NEW PART DAYLY. I GET ALONE WITH MY CO-WORKERS VERY WILL. SOME THERE A LOT OF PARTS CAN COME ALL AT ONCE BUT I HANG IN THERE.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE LOB IM BUILDING MY NDT SKILLS UP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT IS A GREAT ENVIRONMENT TO AT
Shop Technician (Former Employee), Williston, NDFebruary 14, 2014
I in joy working with coworker, management and a nice clean safe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like it but...
Engineering Planner Lead (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 12, 2014
An okay company to work for if you can play fhgh jhvdc fgcxfdx fgcxdz fcy vrt dz dfs gfcs hhjcd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
warehouse operator (Former Employee), montroseFebruary 6, 2014
was a good company just felt i had no security there as i was kept on a temp contract
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2014
A typical workday consisted of analyzing reports for accuracy and making JE if necessary. I learned alot about Project Accounting and Fix Asset accounting. The management was awesome. I enjoyed everything about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, team work is outstanding.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Teague TXJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: happy place, gained new experience
Cons: pay and location
When I started at GE I had little admin experience. I started from the bottom with very little knowledge and gained more experience than most admins at the company. I learned Oracle, Syteline, accounts payable and recievable in a short period of time. The management is outstanding and constantly provides an open door policy that has always been easy – more... to trust. My co-workers are amazing people to be around, always exhibiting the greatest respect for team work. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the fact that we were all like a family, if any of us had problems, we helped each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management plays favorites and doesn't make it a good work place
Operator (Current Employee), Alvarado,TXJanuary 7, 2014
Management doesn't help you. They only take care of themselves. Not everyone has to come to shop. They try and use their power to belittle you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corperation
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great salary level / benefits
Cons: lack of knowledge in management
Work closely with shop to schedule equipment for on time delivery as customer request. Manage accounts sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Knowledgeable.
Calibration Engineer (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGDecember 13, 2013
There is growth of career in GE. Hard work is appreciated. The management is really helpful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Operations & Management Leadership Program (Current Employee), Farnborough, ENGNovember 27, 2013
Pros: global exposure
Cons: stratified
Challenging Work place. Metrics are very important.
You are continuously reviewed and many opportunities if you show flexibility.

Great co-workers and at time social events depending on the locations.

The hardest part of the job is you are stretched continuously.

1 2 3

About GE Oil & Gas

GE Oil & Gas is a world leader in advanced technologies and services with 43,000 employees in more than 100 countries supporting – Read more