Find companies:
GE Oil & Gas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

GE Oil & Gas Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), AfricaJuly 10, 2013
Pros: good friends
Cons: alot of travel
Great place to work, I got to do a lot of travel and meet new friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Close Out and Current Projects
Senior Document Controller (Current Employee), Bristol, ENGNovember 17, 2014
Throughly enjoy working everyday on projects everyday love a different challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
SAP ABAP Consultant (Current Employee), HyderabadNovember 16, 2014
Well & Good
Fun at Work
learning
challenges
interacting with business teams
co-ordination with other consultants
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Field Service Planner/Scheduler (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 14, 2014
A good company to work for, just that they only hired contract employees. It was very difficult to get on permanently. They focused primarily on contracted employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Training Center Facility Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 12, 2014
I love GE its a great company and my boss is awesome. I would love to move through the company but there are just no openings right now. I want o get in to HR, Marketing and PR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Project Manager
IT Project Manager (Current Employee), Newcastle Upon TyneNovember 5, 2014
A typical day is based on working to stabilize projects previously rolled-out. Work with functional team and developers to fix issue and enhance the systems according to the business needs and priorities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a productive and enjoyable workplace to have experience at.
Trainee Engineer (Former Employee), Glasgow, SCTNovember 4, 2014
Pros: frequent breaks
Cons: long hours
I learned a fair bit about certain valves and how they operate on offshore oil rigs. I also was invited to join a conference between GE Oil & Gas in Glasgow and the one in Aberdeen, the ongoing conference gave me insight to what real work as an engineer is like and how they tackle and resolve issues found with certain valves used offshore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job, Bad Management
Temporary Logistics Administrator/Co-ordinator (Current Employee), Montrose, SCTOctober 29, 2014
I like this job, but the job security is not great neither is the training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GE Oil and Gas
Senior Electronics Engineering Technician - NPI (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2014
Pros: a major company with good people
Cons: balance of work and family can suffer
A good company overall. People are very good.

Work load can be overbearing depending on the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiting place to work
Logistics Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2014
Pros: bonus
Cons: opportunity to move up
Through practice and preparation I am fully capable of managing and coordinating materials for production and projects. Training has prepared me for upcoming task of planning and scheduling of work orders and also tracking down needed parts.

I rely on manufacturing and logistics experience through projects like Byford Dolphin, Maersk 2019 and any future – more... upcoming projects that I will have to coordinate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
ECLP Summer Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 14, 2014
High growth industrial segment, very intelligent workforce, good work-life balance, good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Skemersdale, LiverpoolOctober 9, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: company only care about profit instead of employee's
inspection

learned alot about quality

management is poor

co-workers are great

management

working as a team is the best part of any day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multifaceted supervisory role that included regular customer interaction
Electrical Controls Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2014
Daily responsibilities included meeting with team leader to layout priorities for team members. Utilized engineering skillset to troubleshoot and develop process improvement ideas as well as worked with product engineering on new product introduction. Engaged daily with supply chain and sourcing team to prioritize past due items and expedite short cycled – more... orders. Organized and schedule customer witness tests with project manager and engineers to ensure full support and resource allocation was available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Senior Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: ability to work anwhere remotely, with full business support.
Cons: lack of quality time away from the business
The nature of our business never involved a typical day. Our customers relied on our family and team cohesive effort, in critical situations, to resolve many types of situations. The Field service team was truly a family which included our leadership team. We were available 24/7 with little backfill for rotation, which made for difficult family scheduling – more... and quality time. I really enjoyed and thrived on the "pressure cooker" atmosphere and challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management and Leadership
Marketing Strategy Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2014
While the pay does not compare to other oil & gas companies in the Houston area, the culture is diverse. There is a focus on great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay is good. Long hours and no set schedule.
Assembly Technician (Current Employee), Cleburne, TXSeptember 18, 2014
Great company to work for. If your willing to relocate. You can make more money. Bad part no life and no set hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work and attain global exposure
Techno-Functional Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free food trucks every week
Cons: unstructured advanced hierarchy
Global roll outs. Wave releases.Enhancements with a copy of 70% of existing set ups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organised, safety conscious, environmentally conscious.
Surface and Subsea Wellhead Engineer (Former Employee), Pacific, MOSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: well organised & able to prioritise time and workloads in a high activity environment.
Cons: being away from my family.
Well organised & able to prioritise time and workloads in a high activity environment.
Environmentally conscious, safety conscious, competent in Permit to Work, Risk Assessment, Project Planning and Tool Box Talks. Strong leadership and communication skills. Committed and decisive individual with experience of manual and fully automated high-tech, Cyber – more... based Subsea and Surface equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but usually rewarding work environment
Senior Product Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 8, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: overly diversified, too many meetings
A typical day at work included many meetings and interactions with colleagues. I learned a lot about the oil & gas industry and most recently learned about being a business leader. Some managers have been good mentors but for the most part they have allowed me the freedom to be autonomous, which I like. The hardest part of the job is trying to work – more... in a matrix environment where goals and objectives are not necessarily aligned. I really enjoyed working internationally and meeting customers all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Project Finance Manager (Current Employee), Nailsea, BristolAugust 8, 2014
Pros: working with the team
Cons: long hours and travelling
Review costs for two projects:
Personnel
Material
Manufacturing & engineering
Checking for misbookings and journal out
Preparing management reports:weekly, monthly, quarterly
margin review
variation orders
contracts
invoicing & milestone completion
Working with a small team
Hardest part of job at present is getting information out in a usable form and – more... having to manipulate
Most enjoyable is interacting with project teams and learning the craft. – less

1 2 3 4

About GE Oil & Gas

GE Oil & Gas is a world leader in advanced technologies and services with 43,000 employees in more than 100 countries supporting – Read more