Find companies:
GE Oil & Gas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

GE Oil & Gas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), AfricaJuly 10, 2013
Pros: good friends
Cons: alot of travel
Great place to work, I got to do a lot of travel and meet new friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
data book specialist (Current Employee), broussard, laMarch 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, flexible schedules
I typically go in log onto computer and begin tracking my jobs. I first track the ones needed for the end of quarter every three months. I also check to see if new ones have arrived. Any updates on current job I'm working on i update it, then update a tracker that team uses. I also talk with inspectors or surveyors with any errors caught by our team – more... and go forward with making necessary changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Lead Engineer (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAMarch 17, 2014
Good to work if you have a good project. GE Management practises are the best in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exciting place to work at
General worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
loved punching in and loved waking up for the job.very friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Lead Systems Engineer (contract) (Current Employee), Lewistown, PAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: great place
Great place................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOOKING TO GROW
Senior QA/QC Inspector- Level II (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: learning dayly
Cons: some time it can be alot of parts
WORKING HARD AND ENJOYING IT, LEARNING ABOUT NEW PART DAYLY. I GET ALONE WITH MY CO-WORKERS VERY WILL. SOME THERE A LOT OF PARTS CAN COME ALL AT ONCE BUT I HANG IN THERE.THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE LOB IM BUILDING MY NDT SKILLS UP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT IS A GREAT ENVIRONMENT TO AT
Shop Technician (Former Employee), Williston, NDFebruary 14, 2014
I in joy working with coworker, management and a nice clean safe environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like it but...
Engineering Planner Lead (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 12, 2014
An okay company to work for if you can play fhgh jhvdc fgcxfdx fgcxdz fcy vrt dz dfs gfcs hhjcd
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
warehouse operator (Former Employee), montroseFebruary 6, 2014
was a good company just felt i had no security there as i was kept on a temp contract
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2014
A typical workday consisted of analyzing reports for accuracy and making JE if necessary. I learned alot about Project Accounting and Fix Asset accounting. The management was awesome. I enjoyed everything about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, team work is outstanding.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Teague TXJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: happy place, gained new experience
Cons: pay and location
When I started at GE I had little admin experience. I started from the bottom with very little knowledge and gained more experience than most admins at the company. I learned Oracle, Syteline, accounts payable and recievable in a short period of time. The management is outstanding and constantly provides an open door policy that has always been easy – more... to trust. My co-workers are amazing people to be around, always exhibiting the greatest respect for team work. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the fact that we were all like a family, if any of us had problems, we helped each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management plays favorites and doesn't make it a good work place
Operator (Current Employee), Alvarado,TXJanuary 7, 2014
Management doesn't help you. They only take care of themselves. Not everyone has to come to shop. They try and use their power to belittle you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Corperation
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: great salary level / benefits
Cons: lack of knowledge in management
Work closely with shop to schedule equipment for on time delivery as customer request. Manage accounts sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Knowledgeable.
Calibration Engineer (Former Employee), Leicester, ENGDecember 13, 2013
There is growth of career in GE. Hard work is appreciated. The management is really helpful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Company
Operations & Management Leadership Program (Current Employee), Farnborough, ENGNovember 27, 2013
Pros: global exposure
Cons: stratified
Challenging Work place. Metrics are very important.
You are continuously reviewed and many opportunities if you show flexibility.

Great co-workers and at time social events depending on the locations.

The hardest part of the job is you are stretched continuously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-competitive pay
Inspector (Former Employee), 12221 north houston rosslyn houston, tx 77086November 19, 2013
Pros: almost impossible to get fired no matter how lazy you are...
Cons: 40-50 hours a week, pay not competitive, no opportunity to advance without a degree
I worked here for several years and worked my way up from painter, to assembly mechanic, to inspector. The pay was much better than what I was used to initially. We worked 60-80 hours a week, it was great for me at the time. As time went on and I grew I found that it was very difficult to get a pay increase, based on knowledge and certifications. Typically – more... additional certifications translates into pay compensation, but not at GE. The pay rate you start at is where you will stay, and if you don't have a degree then it is unlikely you will get promoted. The operations leader role is a position they do not take seriously because they put people in the role that have no clue what's going on. Another issue is that the operations leaders think that the best way to save money is cutting overtime so now everyone works 40 hours. It put several employees in a tough financial situation because their salaries were reduced by 40-50% with no hourly rate change to compensate for lost time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with great mentors
Sales Order Correspondent (Current Employee), Pineville, LAOctober 30, 2013
Very fast paced environment. Working efficiently and effectively is a plus. Must be very organized and detailed to keep up with day to day functions. Great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Production Manager (Current Employee), OKCOctober 23, 2013
It is an unusual setting where much is expected of you. People are pretty friendly and its a fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stage at GE Oil & Gas
maintainer (Former Employee), Firenze, (FI)October 15, 2013
During this stage i have learned how repair lathe machines and other machines, to make up a gas turbine.
It was only a stage by school, but GE Oil & Gas is a very big company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Welding Supervisor/Machinist (Current Employee), Broussard, LAOctober 12, 2013
Pros: airconditioned shop
Cons: healthcare
Good Environment to work in. I learned to use a manual lathe.
Co-workers was friendly and helpful. My boss was always helpful and honest. We all worked together to make a quality product. My hardest part of the job was the little work space provided to me.

About GE Oil & Gas

GE Oil & Gas is a world leader in advanced technologies and services with 43,000 employees in more than 100 countries supporting – Read more