Find companies:
GE Oil & Gas
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

GE Oil & Gas Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), AfricaJuly 10, 2013
Pros: good friends
Cons: alot of travel
Great place to work, I got to do a lot of travel and meet new friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiting place to work
Logistics Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 23, 2014
Pros: bonus
Cons: opportunity to move up
Through practice and preparation I am fully capable of managing and coordinating materials for production and projects. Training has prepared me for upcoming task of planning and scheduling of work orders and also tracking down needed parts.

I rely on manufacturing and logistics experience through projects like Byford Dolphin, Maersk 2019 and any future – more... upcoming projects that I will have to coordinate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
ECLP Summer Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 14, 2014
High growth industrial segment, very intelligent workforce, good work-life balance, good pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Skemersdale, LiverpoolOctober 9, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: company only care about profit instead of employee's
inspection

learned alot about quality

management is poor

co-workers are great

management

working as a team is the best part of any day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multifaceted supervisory role that included regular customer interaction
Electrical Controls Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 1, 2014
Daily responsibilities included meeting with team leader to layout priorities for team members. Utilized engineering skillset to troubleshoot and develop process improvement ideas as well as worked with product engineering on new product introduction. Engaged daily with supply chain and sourcing team to prioritize past due items and expedite short cycled – more... orders. Organized and schedule customer witness tests with project manager and engineers to ensure full support and resource allocation was available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Senior Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: ability to work anwhere remotely, with full business support.
Cons: lack of quality time away from the business
The nature of our business never involved a typical day. Our customers relied on our family and team cohesive effort, in critical situations, to resolve many types of situations. The Field service team was truly a family which included our leadership team. We were available 24/7 with little backfill for rotation, which made for difficult family scheduling – more... and quality time. I really enjoyed and thrived on the "pressure cooker" atmosphere and challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management and Leadership
Marketing Strategy Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2014
While the pay does not compare to other oil & gas companies in the Houston area, the culture is diverse. There is a focus on great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and pay is good. Long hours and no set schedule.
Assembly Technician (Current Employee), Cleburne, TXSeptember 18, 2014
Great company to work for. If your willing to relocate. You can make more money. Bad part no life and no set hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work and attain global exposure
Techno-Functional Consultant (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free food trucks every week
Cons: unstructured advanced hierarchy
Global roll outs. Wave releases.Enhancements with a copy of 70% of existing set ups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organised, safety conscious, environmentally conscious.
Surface and Subsea Wellhead Engineer (Former Employee), Pacific, MOSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: well organised & able to prioritise time and workloads in a high activity environment.
Cons: being away from my family.
Well organised & able to prioritise time and workloads in a high activity environment.
Environmentally conscious, safety conscious, competent in Permit to Work, Risk Assessment, Project Planning and Tool Box Talks. Strong leadership and communication skills. Committed and decisive individual with experience of manual and fully automated high-tech, Cyber – more... based Subsea and Surface equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but usually rewarding work environment
Senior Product Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 8, 2014
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: overly diversified, too many meetings
A typical day at work included many meetings and interactions with colleagues. I learned a lot about the oil & gas industry and most recently learned about being a business leader. Some managers have been good mentors but for the most part they have allowed me the freedom to be autonomous, which I like. The hardest part of the job is trying to work – more... in a matrix environment where goals and objectives are not necessarily aligned. I really enjoyed working internationally and meeting customers all over the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Project Finance Manager (Current Employee), Nailsea, BristolAugust 8, 2014
Pros: working with the team
Cons: long hours and travelling
Review costs for two projects:
Personnel
Material
Manufacturing & engineering
Checking for misbookings and journal out
Preparing management reports:weekly, monthly, quarterly
margin review
variation orders
contracts
invoicing & milestone completion
Working with a small team
Hardest part of job at present is getting information out in a usable form and – more... having to manipulate
Most enjoyable is interacting with project teams and learning the craft. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Certified Welding Inspector (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
In the inpection world it is almost required to be on the job 75% of your time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good colleagues and very good experience
E&I Field Service Engineer (Current Employee), PNG LNG EPC3, Port Moresby, Papua New GuineaMay 26, 2014
A normal job as an E/I for me the difference only is this is my first time working as a vendor. This is a very good opportunity for me to learn more in terms of turbine and compressors. My co-workers are very good and very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work culture but very less salary
Sales (Former Employee), vadodaraMay 3, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: no growth, very less salary
Very slow decision making, very process oriented. Good Ethics but lack of professional growth. Not recommended at early stage of carrier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sourcing experience
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Firenze, TOSApril 24, 2014
From Dec 2009, I work in GE Oil & Gas Sourcing Dep. My first year was in Vibo Valentia plant, from 2011 I live in Florence working at TM Headquarter.
Sourcing Team high level includes different groups of people, committed in Operation goals of productivity and materials on time delivery. My role requires cross-functional activities:
- Based to engineering – more... defined scope of supply, in reference to our qualified supplier base, I send request for quotation for materials useful for production
- Goals to be pursuit: price reduction vs previous year or defined target, on time delivery for purchase order issue and materials receiving
- Asked cooperation with: product leaders, project management, supplier quality, business strategy team, budgeting owners, fulfillment area.
My learning experience in GE Oil & Gas also concerns courses for Product Familiarization, Presentation-Influencing-Negotiation skills, Finance, Six Sigma, Foundation of Leadership, Supply Chain Management
APICS CPIM certification – graduation on 2013 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
data book specialist (Current Employee), broussard, laMarch 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, flexible schedules
I typically go in log onto computer and begin tracking my jobs. I first track the ones needed for the end of quarter every three months. I also check to see if new ones have arrived. Any updates on current job I'm working on i update it, then update a tracker that team uses. I also talk with inspectors or surveyors with any errors caught by our team – more... and go forward with making necessary changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Lead Engineer (Current Employee), Bangalore, KAMarch 17, 2014
Good to work if you have a good project. GE Management practises are the best in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exciting place to work at
General worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2014
loved punching in and loved waking up for the job.very friendly people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Lead Systems Engineer (contract) (Current Employee), Lewistown, PAFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: great place
Great place................................................................................

1 2 3

About GE Oil & Gas

GE Oil & Gas is a world leader in advanced technologies and services with 43,000 employees in more than 100 countries supporting – Read more