Find companies:
G4S
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,044 reviews

G4S Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with the kids
Youth Care Worker (Current Employee), Okeechobee FLNovember 18, 2014
The job is enjoyable and a learning experience. You meet different youths of different races, and personalities. The youths learn from and you learn from them as well. Being able to become a role model from troubled youths is a honor. The hardest part of the job is driving to okeechobee florida.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with others. Fellow employees were honest
Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Danbury, CTNovember 17, 2014
Pros: management attempted to allow flexibility in work hours
Cons: no holiday time, poor 403 program
Excellent management. However benefits offered by company were poor. I was granted descretion in my duties and never felt I was micro-managed. Weekly web meetings were held with sites from around the country participating. Group and individual needs were discussed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Steward (Current Employee), Silverstone, ENGNovember 17, 2014
Pros: we are provided with a free lunch
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work would be getting up at around 5am to get to work for 6 and to start at 7, I have learned how to portray myself to others to make myself more approachable and how to conduct my sentences so they are clear and make sense as before working there I used to ramble an mix my words. My management team are really good, they listen to you – more... if you have a problem, and if they have a a complaint about you or something you have done they will ask you about what has happened before making a decision on what must be done. My co-workers are lovely and make the shifts go so much faster than they would if I was to be working on my own. The hardest part of the job is being on your feet for 12 hours, in either the freezing cold or swelteringly hot. The most enjoyable part of my job is all the interesting people I meet on a daily basis and that you get to form relationships with people you see from event to event. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no confidence
Security Officer (Former Employee), Crewe East, ENGNovember 17, 2014
Pros: mates
Cons: everthing else
Coworkers good.manager belligerent.hr weak.top brass cant access.pros -work areas good. cons- atmosphere tense,client demands on officers, poor support, wages low.
Been off for 22 weeks,welcome back none existant- treated like a criminal. humiliated in front of mates, public and staff!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks bad place to work
CPO Security Officer (Former Employee), Omaha, NENovember 16, 2014
Bad company to work for the staff is terrible to work with. the supervisor I had had an ego trip. he did care about any one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management.
guard (Former Employee), westchester ilNovember 16, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: unprofessional and non-empathetic management. expensive health benefits
I won't go into detail, but when you make it known that you can't work a certain day from the beginning, it shouldn't be the cause of you being separated from the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Waste your time
Officer (Current Employee), Charleston SCNovember 13, 2014
Cons: healthcare, management, benfeits
Where to begin. Lets first start with a company that claims they have benefits, but they don't. They offer no retirement program. They h ave a 401K which they don't match a dime. Secondly the leadership is there for themselves and not the officers. Only place I know that can have numerous write-ups sent to their headquarters the leaders are still in – more... place – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SOCIAL LIFE
STEWARD/SECURITY SIA WORK (Current Employee), U.KNovember 13, 2014
I LIKE TO GO JOGGING TWICE A WEEK. I DO NOT DRINK AND DO NOT SMOKE . I LIKE TO GO OUT FOR A MEAL OR CHAT AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK IF POSSIBLE AND MEET UP WITH FRIENDS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep looking you can do better! Much better! Amazon is a mess
Security Officer (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 12, 2014
Pros: i cant name one
Cons: your whole body will hurt
A typical day at work- First off the louisville Office Staff . Burnt Out / Bitter / Rude

At the jeffersonville Amazon site - On the G4S side of things EXPECT 8 + Hours on your feet standing in one place not able to sit down at all. No Training, Unprofessional / Un Caring managers whom have no time to train or care. AMAZON staff that you service / You – more... will deal with some great employees at Amazon and also Many who are rude mainly due to temporary status, too many work hours and being grossly underpaid for their job. Thus making THEFT a huge risk to your job! And since constant theft happens, IF the Thief / Thieves make it through your check point YOU are to blame every time! Even though you are not trained properly by g4s site supervision! But since you cannot put your hands on anyone to pat them down or properly search or even touch their personal items, yea your going to be blamed allot for allot of things!! ---> Typical security catchall write off / blame pass game.

what you learned - Are their any good, wholesome security company's left in the USA? Where are all the honest security professionals?

management- Poor

your co-workers- A classic security staff mix of OCD, Paranoia and general unhireable at normal jobs bottom of the barrel Weirdo’s, Mixed with one or two people who actually are professional and of course does most of the work. ( In Reality they are being taken advantage of. )

the hardest part of the job- Not enough rest and no switching out sitting posts with standing so that staff can re fresh.

- A site supervisor thats next to impossible to get along with. short tempered , nasty and rapid mood changes. Foul Language, You get the picture

the most enjoyable part of the job- I have found none - perhaps minimum wage pay for the first 24 hours on post / plus 2
training days of your check?. And no the louisville office did not mention that in interview. they should.

*Main office G4S louisville trainer was great. Very helpful man 20 plus years experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job has to be only a stop gap measure in your life !
Transport Officer (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WINovember 12, 2014
Pros: it's a paycheck in an economy where no one is really hiring.
Cons: all other parts of this company is a negative or a con.
Management is the one who makes the big bucks. Anyone else gets nothing out of this job but a paycheck. No real increases per year, health insurance more expensive than Obamacare, no benefits other than your earned vacation, no advancement to speak of. The only reason you would work for this sorry operation is to pay your bills, not make a career. Forced – more... overtime, no matter what your plans might be. Pay you "training pay" when you are forced to attend Saturday or Sunday "training", which is $7.50/hour. Discipline is harsh and swift with no real chance of appealing your reprimand/suspension. You are in the wrong no matter who was at fault. The "client" is always right.....even when they are wrong ! If you decide to work for this company the effort you put forth will not be recognized in any meaningful way. Working for this circus of a company should only be to keep from ending up homeless. That's my take. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee), Tukwila, WANovember 10, 2014
Great Company. I worked 12 hours shifts. My co workers were friendly. the hardest part of the job was staying busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was being in a vehicle for 12 hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORKING IN THE DAPART OF WORP AND PENSIONS. DWP.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Birmingham, ENGNovember 10, 2014
ON A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK I WI LAISON WITH MY TEAM TO MAKE CERTEN EVERYONE UNDERSTAND WHAT KIND OF DAY WE ARE EXPECTING TO HAVE AND WHO WILL WORK IN WHAT POSSISION , I LEARN THAT TEAM WORK IS IMPORTANT AND EACH DAY CAN BE DIFFERENT.I ALSO MANNAGE THE TEAM IN DIFFICULT TIMES, MAKE SHURE TIMEING IS ACCURATE ONE MUST ALWAYS LISTEN TO THE CUSTOMERS WHO IS – more... ALWAYS RIGHT, THE HARD PART OF MY JOB IS WHEN I HAVE TO EVICK SOMEONE FROM THE SITE , THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF MY JOB IS WHE A CUSTOMER IS SATISFIED AN SMILEING AND ON THERE WAY OUT I GET THAT BIG THANKS AND HAVE A NICE DAY , I THAT MAKE ME WANT TO CARRY ON DOING WHAT I LOVE BEST , – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
driver/ boxroomcontroller (Former Employee), Cape Town, WCNovember 10, 2014
Pros: trust, dedication, hardwork
Cons: when a client money goes missing or misplace
the job details about cash in transit picking up client money and transport it to banks when banks are closed the money goes the base where it is scan in and then the money is stored overnight in the vault ,the next morning the client money is transfer to the bank .the hardest part of the job is when client complains that his money is not in his account.therefore – more... we do our atmost to get the money as quickly to the bank as possiblethere is no enjoyable part of this job one must keep focusing on the clients money and a staff you work with as well. i depend highly on my co workers for there support trust and reliablity.when short staff we all must be hands on at all times – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive woek place
Custom Protection Officer (Current Employee), Morrisville, NCNovember 10, 2014
I enjoy working for G4S.I have a great working enviornment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for gas money basically
Upscale security officer (Current Employee), Memphis, TNNovember 9, 2014
Pros: easy job, its a job
Cons: no lunch break, pay, commute, benefits
I've been with this company for about 6 months. It's an easy job. Can be extremely boring at times. They don't care about employees, only important thing is that they have a body at a post. Terrible pay. Terrible benefits. Only good thing about this company is that the work is fairly easy and that's about it. There's a lot of down time, that can be – more... a pro or a con. They place u at the furthest available post, even if its one close by u. My commute is 45 mins one way, when there was an available post 10 mins from my home.?? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting ,everyday different
Prison custody officer (Current Employee), Edinburgh,November 9, 2014
Pros: job satisfaction
Cons: possibly being stood down early in the day
A typical day at work is always an adventure , no two days are the same .I have to work fast and efficiently to a time scale . I work as part of a team mostly always being aware of my surroundings .The job is enjoyable with friendly co workers who always look out for each other if any trouble occurs .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership and very poor management.
CPO (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 7, 2014
Cons: lazy, hire anyone with a pulse, not professional at all.
The "company" keeps you on the hook and does not keep you updated on anything. I visited the HQ several times with poor information. After being hired, 5 weeks and still no contact, guard card or any work. The business is in over their head with no ability to adapt and run a "global"
business. Not professional at all!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Security Officer (Former Employee), Rock Hill, South CarolinaNovember 7, 2014
Pros: the pay
Cons: harassment, disrespect, no job security
I've felt harassed at work places before, add in disrespected and objectified and you pretty much have my experience here. I politely kept the job until I found a better option, in retail.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at Sunderland hospital
operative (Former Employee), sunderlandNovember 7, 2014
Pros: zero
Cons: merting patients every day
Absolutely horrific to work for. No respect for anyone. The supervisors cause trouble all day trying to persecute the staff. Im a HR professional and would tell anyone who thinks about working for these at Sunderland royal to really think about it. If you have children they dont care and will not help you.they are in it for the money and nothing else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Main office is to far away(53 miles) to experience workers needs for compensation.
Upscaled Security Officer (Former Employee), Albany, NYNovember 7, 2014
Pros: hard working management, but not enough work sites for employees.
Cons: limited job sites
Very limited job sites within realistic travel distance from residence to job site (Gas cost & wear/tear on your vehicle) is not compensated by pay rate you receive.

About G4S

G4S is the leading global integrated security company specialising in the provision of security products, services and solutions. The – Read more