G4S Employee Reviews

Found 332 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 March 2017
G4S secures your people, property and assets by understanding and mitigating security risk. We offer a suite of products and services — including risk consulting and investigations, systems integration, security software and technology, and security professionals — that align to deliver innovative, essential and scalable solutions that span your entire operation.

Although each G4S solution is market leading on its own, we can combine our offerings to provide a comprehensive customer experience that delivers real, sustained and measurable value.
Pros
Online payment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 March 2017
not enough hours
favouritism of particular employees
HR's poor communication (no call back, email back, nothing)
no possibility of advancement
dispatch department very hard to reach
Cons
insufficient hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.Everyone gets along and always trying to help your workmates
Security Controller (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
My day at work is always excellent cos we all work as a team. G4s is great company to wok for....everyone gets along and management always make sure you are fine..loads of traning provided for free to make sure you carry out your duties well
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 February 2017
You have to stand in one spot your whole shift and it is hard to take breaks. Have to beg someone to cover for you if you need to go to the washroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
find a good site!
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2017
I worked for G4s for about 4 years. I was an entry level security guard but I loved my site. The problem came, when I was expecting my pay raise, it never came. I was paid at entry level rate right up until I left to further my career.

Second issue is I felt there was no way to advance as a security guard in the company unless you had friends in upper management.
Pros
find a good site
Cons
long hours, very little job security, no pay raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2017
Not a bad job, bad management but lots of room for growth. Good oppurtunities and great place to begin security, not to end it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you are studying
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
Great place to work if you are studying, good work culture, great management, great training and experience. Do not expect a raise because the company doesn't give one.
Pros
Get to learn alot about security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well known Security Company.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2017
G4S, Canada is well known company in Canada and globe wide. I use to work for this company for several years as security officer for US Embassy Ottawa and US Consul;ate in Toronto.
The company providing security services for wide variety of client from private to public sectors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid security companies
Security Officer/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 February 2017
This two companies that I still working with, very popular in Canada and globe wide.
There well organized working process and management.
Company providing security services for different level client, from private to Government organizations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a very good
Security guard (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 February 2017
very good experience, learnt many skills in the field of security. from writing all kind of reports to deal with all security situations in a professional way.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDP Guard
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC26 January 2017
-Verify that the area is secure
-Body scan employees upon exiting the secure area
-Confiscate any device that can transfer data
-Notify supervisor of anything of a suspicious nature
Cons
Cannot leave the area what so ever until another agent replaces you
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job without benefits
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2017
life is good. enough time to spend with family.not a goog salary for the family stat of 5 people.need beter job than security.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experienced in security field
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 January 2017
good experienced people working with also well organised management.
proud to worked there.
love to work 14 and 14 in the camp.
12 hours a day.
always safety first.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to gain experience
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 January 2017
G4S is the world's largest security company and as such has a wide range of operations. If you are interested in law enforcement, being a security guard gives you a good opportunity in dealing with many people and handling conflict situations.
Pros
You gain experience in dealing with high volumes of people
Cons
Low pay, no advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't work for again
Mobile Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2017
Wasn't happy with the office environment. There was no team feeling around the company. Everyone was there for themselves.............................
Pros
Payed
Cons
Lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and Productive
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC16 January 2017
Finally found a job I enjoy. Gained new experiences and have learned many new thing along the way. Management is very welcoming and always willing to answer questions you may have.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and flexible workplace , no advancement opportunities
SECURITY GUARD (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 January 2017
needs improvement when it comes to benefits and getting the guard's their coverage.

no chances for career advancement.
Pros
job flexibility.
Cons
boring, far, low salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job with just a bunch of old people who hate their lives
bi law officer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 January 2017
first of all.

they waste your time. they are not helpful all the people in the office seen like they are tired of their lives or something. I'm a good guy if not great and very respectful but I could not stand anyone in that office and they are just rude and not helpful.

what a waste of my time will never ever go there again.
Pros
non
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4s
Security Agent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2017
a typical day at work is always the same.
i learned that i do not want to work in the oil industry due to the fact i wasn't able to practices my skills. the management was alright but they never really encouraged us to do better.
my coworkers were all lazy.
sitting in the the vehicle all night with nothing to do.
being able to see wildlife.
Pros
wildlife
Cons
no motivation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON12 January 2017
Love everything to do with this company. I have worked for hospitals, Mayors, police, and with a lot of people. A lot of shifts when I worked. There was day shifts and night shifts. Patrols were great and the desk jobs as well. I don't have any negative words to say about the company
Pros
Meet a lot of people
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 5,826 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2