G4S Employee Reviews

Found 350 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment
Security Guard/ Secondary Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 May 2017
Working with the members of my platoon has helped me grow as a guard/ person. I've learnt how to efficiently perform every day tasks and developed de-escalation techniques. The best part of this job is providing support to our clients and helping to make their day safer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynmic organization going through change management
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto and Vancouver16 May 2017
Contract reviews and forecasting
Review on adequacy of finance team and recruitment of successor
Culture of "caring attitude" of senior management. Hardest part of job relates to teaching non finance managers how to understand importance of forecasting based on complex data.
Pros
Good communications
Cons
No major issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Security company
Security officer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2017
G4S has provided me with enough experience in the first 2 months i started working for them than other companies, they also provide exceptional service for both employees and clients and is a great company to work for.
Pros
Flexible hours and Break at your own timing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More hours
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
COnvenient and easy location. Front end staff, Great supervisor, always helping and cooperating, Willing to teach, Great training opportunities. Good pay.
Pros
Convenient locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2017
Okay company that finds you a position within their sites but does not necessarily means you will get the desired salary. Minimum pay and in terms of benefits they do have but they do not tell their employees about it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Guard (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2017
Good security company provider. Easily available job. Still continuing there as a security guard. Good pay as well. Build contacts i one year. Also completed more than one year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh workplace.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON1 May 2017
Not a very good workplace at G4S as all the employees there will try to take an advantage of you will it be being late to work intentionally or just taking long breaks and letting you be there alone by yourself to do all the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Timmins30 April 2017
Increased workload with no fair pay. Haven't received a wage increase since the day I started. Guards are quitting and management doesn't care.....
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2017
A very good experience with this company & I'm a happy fellow to be a part of this company, good working environment makes the difference. Enjoying a lot in Calgary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good for part-time, temp work.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2017
Its good for part-time temp work. Generally either sitting or standing for long periods of time. Very flexible scheduling, usually dont have a direct supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 April 2017
Good people, not organized though and pay rate is horrible. Takes some time before obtaining a full time position with a somewhat decent pay rate. good for experience on resume.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON12 April 2017
Great company to work for you are treated like your family you can always count on your team members females are well protected by other staff. You learn a lot and are trained well
Pros
Treated like family well protected
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lie and break the law or fail probation
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 April 2017
Management is disorganized you have to remind them 8 times for simple things... If you work Loss prevention you need to break the law on every arrest or your training officer gives you terrible reviews. training officer re writes your reports to make himself look good. Some Co workers are good where others are down right assaultive to accused persons then cover it up. All and all not enough pay for what you deal with on a regular bases.
Pros
Friendly non g4s staff
Cons
Lies, breaking the law, cover ups
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt much about safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2017
I learnt many things about safety of person, property and information.
I developed customer relations, clients focused service.
I developed patience, self-control, keen observatory skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but good work
Screening Officer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 April 2017
Well advanced learning for those who are interested in the security workforce. hardest part of the job is very long hours and harsh working environment
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as loss prevention guard.
Loss prevention Security guard (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2017
The best professional company for me .
A company with confidence.
For me I was proud working with this company.
Before they gave me the last position sent me different sites and I got different experience worked with satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and careless with lives
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 April 2017
They hire you and then tell you the next day they don't need you after all. Then they call a day later and ask you to come in after all. Act all offended when you dont; for some mysterious reason...want to work for them. They send you a record of employment with all zeros on it to treat you like you were the WHOLE problem just because you gave up on a company that jerked you around!
Pros
Deciding not to work for the disorganization
Cons
Mambi-pambi hairy canary management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Good place to work for. depends on the site you get to conduct security which can make it or break it. Some sites are welcoming, good people to work with and fun. Other sites can mean being alone for 12 hours straight.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 March 2017
G4S secures your people, property and assets by understanding and mitigating security risk. We offer a suite of products and services — including risk consulting and investigations, systems integration, security software and technology, and security professionals — that align to deliver innovative, essential and scalable solutions that span your entire operation.

Although each G4S solution is market leading on its own, we can combine our offerings to provide a comprehensive customer experience that delivers real, sustained and measurable value.
Pros
Online payment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 March 2017
not enough hours
favouritism of particular employees
HR's poor communication (no call back, email back, nothing)
no possibility of advancement
dispatch department very hard to reach
Cons
insufficient hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 6,163 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

67%
1,893 ratings
Add your rating