G4S Employee Reviews

Found 342 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2017
A very good experience with this company & I'm a happy fellow to be a part of this company, good working environment makes the difference. Enjoying a lot in Calgary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good for part-time, temp work.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2017
Its good for part-time temp work. Generally either sitting or standing for long periods of time. Very flexible scheduling, usually dont have a direct supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 April 2017
Good people, not organized though and pay rate is horrible. Takes some time before obtaining a full time position with a somewhat decent pay rate. good for experience on resume.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON12 April 2017
Great company to work for you are treated like your family you can always count on your team members females are well protected by other staff. You learn a lot and are trained well
Pros
Treated like family well protected
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lie and break the law or fail probation
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 April 2017
Management is disorganized you have to remind them 8 times for simple things... If you work Loss prevention you need to break the law on every arrest or your training officer gives you terrible reviews. training officer re writes your reports to make himself look good. Some Co workers are good where others are down right assaultive to accused persons then cover it up. All and all not enough pay for what you deal with on a regular bases.
Pros
Friendly non g4s staff
Cons
Lies, breaking the law, cover ups
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt much about safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2017
I learnt many things about safety of person, property and information.
I developed customer relations, clients focused service.
I developed patience, self-control, keen observatory skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but good work
Screening Officer (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC5 April 2017
Well advanced learning for those who are interested in the security workforce. hardest part of the job is very long hours and harsh working environment
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as loss prevention guard.
Loss prevention Security guard (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2017
The best professional company for me .
A company with confidence.
For me I was proud working with this company.
Before they gave me the last position sent me different sites and I got different experience worked with satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and careless with lives
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 April 2017
They hire you and then tell you the next day they don't need you after all. Then they call a day later and ask you to come in after all. Act all offended when you dont; for some mysterious reason...want to work for them. They send you a record of employment with all zeros on it to treat you like you were the WHOLE problem just because you gave up on a company that jerked you around!
Pros
Deciding not to work for the disorganization
Cons
Mambi-pambi hairy canary management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2017
Good place to work for. depends on the site you get to conduct security which can make it or break it. Some sites are welcoming, good people to work with and fun. Other sites can mean being alone for 12 hours straight.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 March 2017
G4S secures your people, property and assets by understanding and mitigating security risk. We offer a suite of products and services — including risk consulting and investigations, systems integration, security software and technology, and security professionals — that align to deliver innovative, essential and scalable solutions that span your entire operation.

Although each G4S solution is market leading on its own, we can combine our offerings to provide a comprehensive customer experience that delivers real, sustained and measurable value.
Pros
Online payment
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 March 2017
not enough hours
favouritism of particular employees
HR's poor communication (no call back, email back, nothing)
no possibility of advancement
dispatch department very hard to reach
Cons
insufficient hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.Everyone gets along and always trying to help your workmates
Security Controller (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
My day at work is always excellent cos we all work as a team. G4s is great company to wok for....everyone gets along and management always make sure you are fine..loads of traning provided for free to make sure you carry out your duties well
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 February 2017
You have to stand in one spot your whole shift and it is hard to take breaks. Have to beg someone to cover for you if you need to go to the washroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
find a good site!
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 February 2017
I worked for G4s for about 4 years. I was an entry level security guard but I loved my site. The problem came, when I was expecting my pay raise, it never came. I was paid at entry level rate right up until I left to further my career.

Second issue is I felt there was no way to advance as a security guard in the company unless you had friends in upper management.
Pros
find a good site
Cons
long hours, very little job security, no pay raise.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2017
Not a bad job, bad management but lots of room for growth. Good oppurtunities and great place to begin security, not to end it.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you are studying
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
Great place to work if you are studying, good work culture, great management, great training and experience. Do not expect a raise because the company doesn't give one.
Pros
Get to learn alot about security
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well known Security Company.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 February 2017
G4S, Canada is well known company in Canada and globe wide. I use to work for this company for several years as security officer for US Embassy Ottawa and US Consul;ate in Toronto.
The company providing security services for wide variety of client from private to public sectors.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid security companies
Security Officer/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 February 2017
This two companies that I still working with, very popular in Canada and globe wide.
There well organized working process and management.
Company providing security services for different level client, from private to Government organizations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a very good
Security guard (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB1 February 2017
very good experience, learnt many skills in the field of security. from writing all kind of reports to deal with all security situations in a professional way.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 6,008 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2