Find companies:
G&K Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

G&K Services Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, had a great time there.
Super Route Sales/Service Rep. (Former Employee), Santa Fe Springs, CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: outdoors everyday. working independently out in the field. working with people.
Cons: early morning start to the day, sometimes have to change your routine to deal with challenges that arise.
A typical work day started at 5 am. Checking out the load for the day and teaming up with my helper and manager for sales strategies and service issues to be dealt with.
I learned that there are many ways to achieve success in the service industry. Management was very creative in their ability to tackle some very challenging situations.
The hardest – more... part of my job, was getting up at 4 am to be at work by 5 am.
The most enjoyable part of my job was working with a team of people that were committed to taking care of our customers. I also enjoyed working with people in the field on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good Job with good benefits
Route Service Manager (Former Employee), West Valley City, UTFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: good pay, good corperate culture, excellent benifits
Cons: dealing with traffic, long hours
great job. opportunities for advancement. I am a morning person. so i enjoy getting up before the sun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and poor management
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Kingsport, TNJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: compensation and benefits
Cons: long hours and management
I would go in extremely early and get the day started by loading the truck with what I needed for the day. Work for however long it took to get the route over with, which was usually around 5 or 6. Extremely long hours about 11 or 12 hour days. Management always expected more than what you were giving. A lot of drama each day in the office. Good pay – more... and benefits but that was about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporate culture
Territory Sales Executive/National Account Seller (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 24, 2014
Sales position is a hunter. It requires a lot of follow up. Management is supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company to work for that had a lot of potential.
Graphic Emblem Designer/Stockroom Lead (Former Employee), Waterbury, CTJanuary 16, 2014
My day started at 6am and never started the same way twice. Some mornings were quiet while others were so chaotic that not even a cup of coffee would help. Everyday was challenging but I always tried to keep a positive attitude to keep some of the other employees at an even keel. I learned to multi task and how to deal with a variety of personalities – more... because you can not expect everyone to respond the same to a current situation. Communication was a huge issue. Departments could not figure how to work together which I had a problem with. If there is an issue or a mistake, those that had part in it should take responsibility and work together to come up with a solution to resolve it instead of blaming each other. Management did not blend well. the hardest part of the job was getting people to listen to ideas that could help the company. Their mindset was pretty well written out from A to Z. What I did enjoy about my job is that I always put myself out there so when there was a new project I was first in line. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun
Accounting Assistant (Current Employee), Graham, NCDecember 25, 2013
Record accounting transactions, as well as perform accounting reconciliation
Reviewed accounting book entries to ensure accuracy of the General ledger
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, team-oriented environment
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GasDecember 17, 2013
Pros: paid holidays off
Cons: short breaks, not many advancement opportunities
Very productive workplace with co-workers that work together as a team to expedite orders quickly and efficiently. I was cross-trained to operate sewing machines, audit garments, and ship. My supervisor encourages suggestions for improvement and implements many ideas to improve work performance. The hardest part of the job would be using techniques – more... that slows the process of the workflow which isn't productive for a person who is trying to reach their goal for production. The most enjoyable part of the job is working in other positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!
Territory Sales Manager (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALDecember 14, 2013
Pros: great training
Cons: selling against current contracts in place
They provide an excellent training program. I learned a great deal about sales negotiations. The hardest part of the job was having to sell against existing contracts. These contracts had huge penalties for breaking them and made it not practical to choose our company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wants to be like competitors, but will never be
Major Account Representative (Former Employee), Justice, ILDecember 10, 2013
Pros: good for young sales reps to learn prospecting skills
Cons: high turn-over. wants to be like competitors
This company competes with Cintas and Aramark, and other garment cleaning services. They try to sell specialty services, but at the end of the day... it is a uniform company and customers recognize this core business before any attempts to add specialized solutions. This is a good place to work if you are looking to learn some guerrilla sales techniques – more... of prospecting. There was high turn-over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall company.
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LADecember 4, 2013
I developed great realtionships with co-workers and new customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work.
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMNovember 12, 2013
Work starts very early and ends whenever...long hours good pay. Very competitive and challenging work environment. Good overall company. If you strive for a challenge...this is the company for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Territory sales rep (Current Employee), Phoenix AZNovember 9, 2013
Pros: not sitting in an office everyday
Cons: micro management, excessive phone, paperwork, office and phone meetings
This co. expects the route drivers to do their job and sell, find the sales reps new leads! If they don't find any they are chastised. The management team is passive aggressive, rude , demeaning, cold, condescending, manipulative and hire others just like themselves from outside.
The turn over is so high they now have an elaborate training cycle. It – more... lasts for 3 months. No company does this unless they know they are going turn and burn employees. Sales reps are told to do more and more every week, but the only team reaping your rewards and commission is the managers and owners, investors. This is a good stop if your in a tight bind and need a job. It's not a career, you won't go very far in a 5 yr stretch !
You will put lots of miles, wear & tear on your car and then be told you need a newer car , upgrade your cell phone for their systems in place and your reimbursement on both is minimal. When the economy turns more than half of their staff that is now very unhappy will bale out. Since these are hard times they can get away with treating everyone like dirt and the know it. Once were gone they will hire others like yourself that is just looking for a good position. It's all smoke & mirrors! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family atmosphere
TSR (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALOctober 14, 2013
Pros: promotes from within, customer oriented
I have work at G&K for over 5 years. I'm currently in my 5 position. G&K loves to promote from within and they provide constant training for you to help you reach your goals!! If you show that you are capable anything is possible with this company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great local management, good hours
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), Loveland, ColoradoSeptember 16, 2013
I liked working there. They took good care of me. Hours could be long but had good support from Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
New Order Supervisor (Former Employee), Albuquerque NMAugust 30, 2013
In my interview I was promised so much and was told I was being hired with a great possibility of advancement to a good paying salary. I was offered 16.50 an hour. It was a little more that I was making at my previous job, After beginning employment they made me salaried and they were expecting me to work until the job was done witch is not a issue – more... if they were staffed adequately to perform the job requirements. My work schedule soon became 5:30am to 700pm for the same amount of pay since they make you salaried since the start since they know that you are going to have to work more that 40hr a week. No mater how many times you ask for them to train you in there antiquated systems you never get any assistants. Their idea of training you is to throw you in to the stock room and let the employees train you to what every they know and for you to figure out everything else on your own, But your commitments still have to be met even though you were not given the correct skills to help met the job duties. When voicing my concerns of the hours I was having to work because they kept firing staff and not hiring replacement nor being trained adequately and asking them when they were going to hire more employees so I could have a adequate staff to alleviate me working the ridicules amount of hours for a salaried employees they just gave me the option to resign. Thanks G&K very professional – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of people and family balance
Employee Solution Center Analyst (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNAugust 24, 2013
I enjoy working for G&K Services. I've been their 3 1/2 years in the HR Dept.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active demanding environment
Procurement Coordinator (Current Employee), Direct Purchase Atlanta, GeorgiaAugust 2, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: facility closing
Daily time sensitive duties everyday, problem solving in between adds spice to the routine.

Multiple departments allowed a broad range of personalities to interact with co-workers.

Hardest part of the job has been the ever existing Must have Rushes.

The most enjoyable part of the job has been accomplishing the ever existing Must have Rushes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers but Pay Low
Industrial Wastewater Operator (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTAugust 1, 2013
Pros: nice people
Cons: pay was low
Short but sweet... Really liked co-workers and supervisor was good.
Pay was just to low for an experienced WWT Tech.
Spent day treating wastewater and doing some basic maintenance work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD MANAGEMENT
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Justice, ILJuly 23, 2013
Pros: work hours
Cons: lay off
THE MANAGEMENT AND CO-WORKERS WERE GREAT TO WORK WITH EVERYONE WAS HELPFUL IN THE TIME AS NEEDED
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace was fun to go to work
Production Laborer (Former Employee), Augusta, GAJuly 14, 2013
Pros: could leave the site to eat lunch.
Cons: when somebody did not show up for that day.
every moring we were greeted with donuts and coffee at our mornig meetings.

About G&K Services

A leader in uniform rental and facility products for more than 100 years, G&K Services is committed to enhancing your business – Read more