Find companies:
G&K Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

G&K Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Supply Company that Cannot Supply
Route Manager / Account Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: monday to friday job with reasonable salary
Cons: long thankless hours, poor corporate atmosphere
Overall the job of Route Manager at G&K Services was fun. You arrive to work for 6:30am, get all of your employees on the road after they all approach you indicating they are short product. (Uniforms, Mats, Linens).... This is where the term "The Supply Company that Cannot Supply" comes from.
Once the employees are off on their routes, depending how – more... you scheduled your day, you would either be on the road or working in your office, unfortunately ALWAYS putting out fires. There's never a day where you can be proactive with this company. Unfortunately they stray far away from their CORE VALUES and the CUSTOMER PROMISE which are posted around the office and warehouse. Customer invoices are touch negatively on what seems to be a quarterly basis. Inventories are increased without their knowledge, annual increases which state 5% on the agreements are only 5% for garments and 10% for all other products they receive (mats, soaps, linens).... Then there's the garment protection packages which should be reviewed with the customers, but instead isn't. All of the above play key factors in customers wanting to quit their accounts with G&K.

The hardest part of the job is trying to make your customers happy and believe in the company that ripped them off for the last 5 years, and then hid behind their auto-renewal clause on their agreements.

I learned that no matter how hard you work, no matter how many hours are put in, and no matter what kind of positive return you bring to the company, at the end of the day you're just a number. It's a corporate environment with no care for employees personal well-being. As a member of management, I seen first hand how employees were treated.

The most enjoyable part of the day.... Meeting with the customers. Getting an understanding for the many businesses out there and all of the interesting contacts you come in touch with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste company I ever worked for
General Labour (Former Employee), calgaryMarch 19, 2014
Bad management, no job security, bad company. No proper system following there. Not a professional way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational
Office clerk (Current Employee), Lakeside, NSFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: it is a great place to work.
Cons: there were no full time positions in my field, and the pay is low.
Interacting with the elderly taught me compassion, as well as a love for the elderly and the stories they have to tell. The most enjoyable part of the day would have to be doing something special for one of the residents, something as simple as , " an ear". The hardest part would be seeing them decline, and eventually pass away.

I had a very good relationship – more... with the management, as an employee who worked there for 8 yrs in food service, then left to go to College, they gave me the opportuntity to do my work placement there at the Reception Desk, to practice my skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Environment
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: warm and cold weather conditions
Going door to door Cold Calling, building prospects and gaining new customers. Learn to accept rejections and to never allow it to bother me. I had a great relationships with the management group, they were very supportive. I have build great relationship with my co-workers with G&K, I'm the type of person that would say Hi to every one and I always – more... thought that that made me easily approachable. The hardest part of the Job at the beginning was to accept rejection. The Most enjoyable part of my Job is knowing that I have met my Sales Objectives by continuoulsy working hard and keeping a positive attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
(Calgary) - (Payables clerk) (Former Employee), calgaryOctober 13, 2013
Pros: great
great enviroment and people to with.

good team work

great understanding with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
service mgr (Former Employee), windsorNovember 12, 2012
Pros: great frontline people
Cons: lousy mgmt and philosophy
extremely unprofessional organization to work for; "sweeps" conducted regularly to boost revenue without customer knowlege or consent. real life it is called stealing. unethical to the 10th degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Customer Service
Route Manager, Team Leader, Route Salesperson (Former Employee), Belleville, ONNovember 11, 2012
G&K Services has been committed to enhancing image and safety in the workplace for more than 100 years. G&K helps customers create a lasting impression in the workplace by enhancing their image and safety. More than rental work uniforms, G&K's technical expertise extends to food safety and flame resistant solutions as well. G&K customizes to your unique – more... image, safety, and security needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Receptionist (Former Employee), Marcy, NYSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers & that's all i miss.
Cons: no time for breaks or lunch, horrible raises.
G&K bought out my previous employer and it was not a smooth transition. They gave you a impossible amount of work to do and expected it to be done in 8 hours with no overtime. I was given the work of 3 people and then was reprimanded when I was behind. Poor management, I was a prisoner at my desk. I couldn't go to the bathroom without permission while – more... others were taking 6 breaks a day. How was I rewarded for all my hard work? After 15 years my position "was eliminated". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun work place
RSR (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: no advancement
I loved talking and helping the customer. I loved all my co - workers. No advancement , Bad Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
wash floor tech (Former Employee), Rockford ilAugust 29, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Hey ready for that smell and maggots every where. The employees are great fun times on breaks and after work activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company, horrible management
Sales (Current Employee), CanadaAugust 25, 2014
Pros: on your own 4 days a week
Cons: horrible mondays, micromanagement, unrealistic greedy management constantly breathing down your back
Micro management all the way where management doesn't care about anything other than you bringing in more money. Quotas are unrealistic, favoritism with zero room for advancement. Crook industry no different than competition. Management needs to listen to their sales people more. Get rid of call center Mondays and do it from home office like every other – more... sales job. This company blames sales people but in reality they have a constant turnover among managers and sales staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting work with horrible unorganized company
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee), colorado springs, coAugust 18, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
The pay was decent, but that is all. You get up very early, sometimes at ridiculous times like 1:30 in the morning, and end whenever the route is done and if that means a 16 hour day then so be it. Management only cares about the customer and if the customer doesn't like you, they can lie and tell management that you flipped them off or something and – more... you will get written up immediately even if you didn't do anything. They don't care how long your route is, they will continue to add more and more stops no matter how much you complain. This company is also very shady. I have seen them screw customers over and over way overcharging them just to see them shrug when I would complain that I was the one who had to deal with their anger at seeing their higher bill. You get screamed at constantly by the customer by things you have no control over such as missing uniforms that come down from a different city and they are constantly unorganized and confused as to what is going on. The management expects way way to much out of their RSR's. They expect you to exhaust yourself while selling a whole bunch of merchandise all the while being screamed at and treated like dirt by the customer. If you don't sell a certain amount of merchandise then after your exhausting day at work you get the privilege of being screamed at for not making them more money. I could go on but just note, this is a horrible horrible company to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
underemployed
Assistant Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Belleville, NJAugust 14, 2014
Pros: learned and practiced electrical/mechanical, pnuematic, hydraulics techniques
Cons: management
job responsibilities were mundane. Needed more variation in work responsibilities. Culture was not uplifting due to management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 8, 2014
Long hours and hard labor. Short handed and work Saturdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work and caring people
Sales/service Coordinator (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARJune 18, 2014
Pros: they work with you if you have doctors appts etc.
Cons: the insurance is really pricey.
I answer emails ,phones, and take care of sales and service force. I key in daily orders for direct sales, emblems and logo mats. I collect money from the RSR's and process this. Also take care of accounts payable. I work with all microsoft systems. I also work in SAP and IMPACT. I pull reports daily and download into word and excel to be sent out. – more... I take calls for the RSR's from customers. I enjoy the ladies I work with and we all get along well. Hardest thing is keying orders when I don't have all the information and have to call RSR's on their runs to get this. Most enjoyable part is being to able to help people and get things corrected. It will be sad when the plant relocates in December and I am not moving to new location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you put in the work, it pays off.
ROUTE SALES REPRESTATIVE (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 9, 2014
Delivering products to customers.
You learn customer service.
Good management team.
In our branch everyone helps everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
A/R Assistant (Former Employee), Marcy, NYJune 4, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no advancement opportunities at my location
Each day at work, I would pull account balances based on delivery dates and call customers with past dues on their account. I would retrieve and process credit card payments for posting to accounts. I compiled data to hold weekly A/R meetings with the 2 branched that I represented. I learned about aging cycles and month end procedures. I learned the – more... effects of accounts receivable on our corporate reserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
T errible location
R SR (Former Employee), G reen Bay WiJune 1, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: bad management and long hours
Worst management I ever worked under. Don't help you with anything. No one listens..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities.
Management (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 4, 2014
Great Opportunities to excel.

Great Learning Experience.

Production, Sales, Service and Business Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic factory work.
Floor worker (Former Employee), Rockford ilApril 27, 2014
Everyday was the same with no change day to day. I learned to watch for detail and make sure everything was where it should be. Management was not present unless it was a meeting. The co-workers made the job better than what it really was. The hardest part of my job was working with used towels and clothes from the costumers. I have a weaker stomach, – more... so the smells got to me. The best part of the day was having some laughs with the co-workers. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About G&K Services

A leader in uniform rental and facility products for more than 100 years, G&K Services is committed to enhancing your business – Read more