Find companies:
G&K Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
93 reviews

G&K Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Supply Company that Cannot Supply
Route Manager / Account Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: monday to friday job with reasonable salary
Cons: long thankless hours, poor corporate atmosphere
Overall the job of Route Manager at G&K Services was fun. You arrive to work for 6:30am, get all of your employees on the road after they all approach you indicating they are short product. (Uniforms, Mats, Linens).... This is where the term "The Supply Company that Cannot Supply" comes from.
Once the employees are off on their routes, depending how – more... you scheduled your day, you would either be on the road or working in your office, unfortunately ALWAYS putting out fires. There's never a day where you can be proactive with this company. Unfortunately they stray far away from their CORE VALUES and the CUSTOMER PROMISE which are posted around the office and warehouse. Customer invoices are touch negatively on what seems to be a quarterly basis. Inventories are increased without their knowledge, annual increases which state 5% on the agreements are only 5% for garments and 10% for all other products they receive (mats, soaps, linens).... Then there's the garment protection packages which should be reviewed with the customers, but instead isn't. All of the above play key factors in customers wanting to quit their accounts with G&K.

The hardest part of the job is trying to make your customers happy and believe in the company that ripped them off for the last 5 years, and then hid behind their auto-renewal clause on their agreements.

I learned that no matter how hard you work, no matter how many hours are put in, and no matter what kind of positive return you bring to the company, at the end of the day you're just a number. It's a corporate environment with no care for employees personal well-being. As a member of management, I seen first hand how employees were treated.

The most enjoyable part of the day.... Meeting with the customers. Getting an understanding for the many businesses out there and all of the interesting contacts you come in touch with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste company I ever worked for
General Labour (Former Employee), calgaryMarch 19, 2014
Bad management, no job security, bad company. No proper system following there. Not a professional way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational
Office clerk (Current Employee), Lakeside, NSFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: it is a great place to work.
Cons: there were no full time positions in my field, and the pay is low.
Interacting with the elderly taught me compassion, as well as a love for the elderly and the stories they have to tell. The most enjoyable part of the day would have to be doing something special for one of the residents, something as simple as , " an ear". The hardest part would be seeing them decline, and eventually pass away.

I had a very good relationship – more... with the management, as an employee who worked there for 8 yrs in food service, then left to go to College, they gave me the opportuntity to do my work placement there at the Reception Desk, to practice my skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Environment
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: warm and cold weather conditions
Going door to door Cold Calling, building prospects and gaining new customers. Learn to accept rejections and to never allow it to bother me. I had a great relationships with the management group, they were very supportive. I have build great relationship with my co-workers with G&K, I'm the type of person that would say Hi to every one and I always – more... thought that that made me easily approachable. The hardest part of the Job at the beginning was to accept rejection. The Most enjoyable part of my Job is knowing that I have met my Sales Objectives by continuoulsy working hard and keeping a positive attitude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
(Calgary) - (Payables clerk) (Former Employee), calgaryOctober 13, 2013
Pros: great
great enviroment and people to with.

good team work

great understanding with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
service mgr (Former Employee), windsorNovember 12, 2012
Pros: great frontline people
Cons: lousy mgmt and philosophy
extremely unprofessional organization to work for; "sweeps" conducted regularly to boost revenue without customer knowlege or consent. real life it is called stealing. unethical to the 10th degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and Customer Service
Route Manager, Team Leader, Route Salesperson (Former Employee), Belleville, ONNovember 11, 2012
G&K Services has been committed to enhancing image and safety in the workplace for more than 100 years. G&K helps customers create a lasting impression in the workplace by enhancing their image and safety. More than rental work uniforms, G&K's technical expertise extends to food safety and flame resistant solutions as well. G&K customizes to your unique – more... image, safety, and security needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work and caring people
Sales/service Coordinator (Current Employee), Jonesboro, ARJune 18, 2014
Pros: they work with you if you have doctors appts etc.
Cons: the insurance is really pricey.
I answer emails ,phones, and take care of sales and service force. I key in daily orders for direct sales, emblems and logo mats. I collect money from the RSR's and process this. Also take care of accounts payable. I work with all microsoft systems. I also work in SAP and IMPACT. I pull reports daily and download into word and excel to be sent out. – more... I take calls for the RSR's from customers. I enjoy the ladies I work with and we all get along well. Hardest thing is keying orders when I don't have all the information and have to call RSR's on their runs to get this. Most enjoyable part is being to able to help people and get things corrected. It will be sad when the plant relocates in December and I am not moving to new location. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you put in the work, it pays off.
ROUTE SALES REPRESTATIVE (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 9, 2014
Delivering products to customers.
You learn customer service.
Good management team.
In our branch everyone helps everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
A/R Assistant (Former Employee), Marcy, NYJune 4, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no advancement opportunities at my location
Each day at work, I would pull account balances based on delivery dates and call customers with past dues on their account. I would retrieve and process credit card payments for posting to accounts. I compiled data to hold weekly A/R meetings with the 2 branched that I represented. I learned about aging cycles and month end procedures. I learned the – more... effects of accounts receivable on our corporate reserve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
T errible location
R SR (Former Employee), G reen Bay WiJune 1, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: bad management and long hours
Worst management I ever worked under. Don't help you with anything. No one listens..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities.
Management (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 4, 2014
Great Opportunities to excel.

Great Learning Experience.

Production, Sales, Service and Business Management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic factory work.
Floor worker (Former Employee), Rockford ilApril 27, 2014
Everyday was the same with no change day to day. I learned to watch for detail and make sure everything was where it should be. Management was not present unless it was a meeting. The co-workers made the job better than what it really was. The hardest part of my job was working with used towels and clothes from the costumers. I have a weaker stomach, – more... so the smells got to me. The best part of the day was having some laughs with the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company-Horrible Branch
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALApril 18, 2014
Cons: everything
My Birmingham branch lacked competent management for years prior to me working there. The uniform business is the most hated in industry because of divisions/branches such as mine. Don't work here if you care anything about your personal integrity or care about your customers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Belleville, NJApril 16, 2014
Pros: very productive
Cons: n/a
 Prepared correspondence and typed legal documents, including pleadings, motions, briefs, discovery documents and subpoenas
 Maintained complex docket systems to track the myriad of legal filing deadlines
 Indexed and updated pleadings and discovery binders
 Scheduled depositions, site inspections, hearings, closings and meetings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an Ok Place
Accounts Receivable (Current Employee), Pleasant Hill, IAApril 15, 2014
Nothing spectacular to say. I liked my job until it got outsourced and had to learn a new job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production? fast paced environment
General Laborer (Former Employee), Justice, ILApril 10, 2014
Employees and supervisors were absolutley prejudice and very unprofessional! I am glad to not work there anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to down town and freeway.
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNApril 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: writes you up if your only 1 minute late even on snow days in minnesota
Nice place to work, very nice people, fair to all. Advancment,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I lke my co-worked and the work that i did
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 4, 2014
Pros: my co-worker
Cons: time off with pay if i needed to be off.
The company was a good place to work for ,my co-workers was very nice. It was very hard went the company closed.

t
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement if you work hard to earn it. Would not recommend to anyone not willing to work 60+ hours on a regular basis
Route Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNApril 2, 2014
Pros: off on weekends and major holidays.
Cons: long hours, intimidation style of upper management, upper management always raising customer's pricing which creates alot of problems.
G&K is a stable company with room to grow your career, especially if you are willing to re locate and get in with the right people. In management the work life balance is almost non existent as you will work 12- 14 hrs a day and still not have all the days work done. The management style is changing to more of an intimidation approach and not many people – more... feel secure in their jobs. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About G&K Services

A leader in uniform rental and facility products for more than 100 years, G&K Services is committed to enhancing your business – Read more