Find companies:
FUTURESHOP
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

FUTURESHOP Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job for a student
Car Audio Install Bay Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 7, 2014
If this is what interests you, not to bad of a part time job for a student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Futureshop's internal culture varies from store to store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Good Coworkers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: longs hours
My coworkers and management made working very pleasant.
I efficiently cashed people out, answered any questions and followed company procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the future is not here
Home Theatre Expert (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: cool gadgets, fast paced at times
Cons: adversarial attitude towards customers
a decent place to work with good if sometimes misguided people but don't expect the future here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with good people
Mobile Product Expert/Salesman (Former Employee), Barrie, ONSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great discount and merchandise
Cons: n/a
Working at Future Shop taught me a lot about teamwork and customer service, as well as multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Energetic environment, Good Team work and fun to work.
Product Expert (Current Employee), Coquitlam, BCAugust 13, 2014
Pros: good experience.
In my view I enjoy working with Futureshop.
You always learn about new products and technologies.
Customer service skills gets better and it provides you good team environment which helps to work in a team environment.
Overall atmosphere of futureshop is very energetic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Retail sales, Home (Former Employee), MississaugaAugust 5, 2014
Pros: vital experience to enhance communication skills
Cons: long hours sometimes
• Retail sales, Home theatres department
• Sold items such as lcd, led tvs, dvds, and music sound systems
• Demonstrated active listening by addressing customer concerns and needs after review
• Performed other duties as assigned by the Manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fs
Department sales manager (Current Employee), vancouverJuly 31, 2014
Pros: vision
Cons: sales ups and downs
demanding but rewarding

the company works for you as much as you work for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
futureshop
Keyholder/Sales Management (Former Employee), Langley, BCJuly 30, 2014
Futureshop is great place to obtain retail experience.. Everyday you learn something new. Most exciting part is you get to play newest technology with owning one. Meeting all sorts of customers and getting to know them is amazing part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gatineau, QCJuly 16, 2014
worked there 2years. you get pad well when you sell psp.
nice co-workers but bad management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work, management does not know when they're doing
Sales/Customer Service (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJuly 9, 2014
Pros: some people are nice
Cons: everything else
A typical day would involve unobtainable sales goals and constant harassement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, fun and exciting.
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCJune 6, 2014
Pros: great discounts
Cons: long hours
Working at Future Shop was always exciting, with a awesome staff that I also called my friends. Everyday was something new and sometimes challenging but you learn something everyday. My management were always letting me try new things with all their support and ambition. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that every customer I help they will – more... leave extremely satisfy and will come again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Kanata, ONMay 1, 2014
Great company to work for where you are allowed to do what you love!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to expand your skills and make new contacts.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONApril 28, 2014
Pros: great people, rewarding work
Cons: constant pressure, performance based scheduling meant that those who do well would have hard times having days off, even for school.
A typical day revolved around one thing; the customers. It is a Product Expert's job to dust, face, tag, and ensure every product was available and easily accessible for any customers who walked in. Being a commission salesperson also means you must be trained in a variety of products and be able to close sales.

I learned many things at Futureshop, – more... namely, how to approach difficult situations and work them out to find a solution. I also learned the ins and outs of the accounting and marketing of the company.

The management is normally only top salespeople, and sometimes lack leadership qualities. Nevertheless, many of them are great at what they do.

The coworkers are an integral part of the company. It was a family atmosphere, and most people will do anything to help each other out.

The hardest part of the job for me personally was being the translator for most of the store. Out of a staff of 80+ people, there were only 3 of us who could speak French, and with Laurentian Univeristy and College Boréal in Sudbury, there were many customers who could only speak French. They would take me away from those I was helping, and ask me to translate for someone else.

The most enjoyable part of the job were the people. I made many best friends there, and many of the customers I interacted with would leave you smiling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and informative job place
Technical Product Expert (Former Employee), Brandon, MBMarch 10, 2014
Pros: have chance to know about new technology
Cons: no growth
i like to deal with new and new electronics.it was really nice place to work specially
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have fun, great staff purchase and access to new product.
Product Expert in Appliance (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 1, 2014
Pros: good environment where everyone are friendly, helping each other out and have fun.
Cons: schedule is not very flexible and very stressful.
Good place to get training on sales skills. Offer great staff purchase program and Circle of Excellence is a bonus to worker who love to win free trip.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level sales... that's about it!
Product Expert (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaFebruary 27, 2014
Great for entry level sales for a young adult, but if you're really looking to earn a good living, Futureshop is not the place.

Competing with the new market for electronics, such as amazon.ca and other web retailers, prices became more and more competitive, thus commissions would be less and less on an annual basis. Typically you would like a job – more... where you had the potential to earn more money year after year, but in order to stay relevant, Futureshop employees are actually taking a pay cut every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and inviting work environment with many opportunities for challenging yourself
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: commission based.
Cons: begin at part time
- A typical day at work included Updating pricetags and making sure my designated department was presentable. Thereon, I assisted customers in finding the product that best suited them and educated them on how to get the most out of it.
- I learned how to react to different types of customers. I also learned a lot about the products i was selling. I – more... learned that sometimes the product a customer comes in for is not always the one that best suits them. If you have an open mind there are endless things to learn on a daily basis.
- My coworkers at Futureshop were always friendly. They always kept a positive attitude and were very supportive.
- The Job was not hard at all. However, there were constant opportunities to challenge yourself.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was coming into work and seeing the satisfied customers leave with their product and knowing they look forward to seeing you again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passable Employer
Computer Repair Technician (Former Employee), Guelph, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, adequate managment
Cons: techs are overworked compared to the rest of the store, and paid considerably less
Not great by any means, but not a horrible job either. This is a nice middle of the road job until you find something better. The high turn over is a good indicator
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very self-empowering
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Nanaimo BCJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: the staff discount
Cons: pressure of comission
As a cell tech at Futureshop you tear your department as your own store. You meet and greet customers, find solutions to their "problems" and help identify the right products and services to them. As you gain experience in sales and with the company you are less micro-managed and gain the privileged to make your own decisions on the companies behalf. – more... I have had very good experiences with co-workers as many have become good friends and almost every one is willing to give a helpful hand.
The most difficult part of this job is pleasing each and every customer. Giving topnotch service while increasing your commission can sometimes be challenging but can also be very rewarding at the same time – less

1 2 3