Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
298 reviews

Future Shop Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Sales Representative (Former Employee), OntarioMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great people to work with in store
Cons: poor business planning from company stand point
Day to day future shop can be a fun place to work, easy going and for the most part the employees are good, The company itself however is not the best employer, Rapid Structure changes in recent years have caused alot of people to loose their jobs, everyone from new employees to those who have been with them for well over 10 years. If your a student – more... wanting to make a quick buck, sales could be a good stepping stone but only in a area with high traffic of customers, or else youll find your self working for min wage at part time hours with no reward. Be wary of your wants before applying to this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Product Expert (Former Employee), Whitby, OnMarch 25, 2014
Lots of stress due to sales environment. Commission structure is not healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped and assisted customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: love working with people
Cons: irriate customers.
Helped customers by answering phone calls and processing cash and credit card transactions.Merchandised products on to the sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady workload doing my favorite thing, customer service and tech work
Computer Technician (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 21, 2014
Pros: lots to learn. new equipment
Cons: nasty customers
Lots of tech work, learned a lot. Had to quit because I moved to Calgary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional fun retail environment with many interesting staff
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Queensway, EtobicokeMarch 20, 2014
-very demanding fast pace environment , technology is constantly changing and so does how customers shop.
-the ability to interact with many different social streams.
-hitting targets on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great place to have fun
Cons: na
very friendly place, customer service, computer tech and repairing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment terrible business
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, ONMarch 16, 2014
Great place to work but the company has had so many closures and lay offs in the thousands, the company will be sold if not go bankrupt within the next few years. very very very poor business sense at a store and regional level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer service experience
Entertainment and Product Expert (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 16, 2014
Pros: customers for life and unique salesmanship
Cons: long hours walking
Having worked at Future Shop I have used my unique ability to make customers comfortable and make shopping an enjoyable experience. Clocking in at either 9am or 5pm I take the floor and provide 5 star product service and close deals with clients every second. I always believe you should dress as you feel and the ability to dress professionally is a – more... must and I always like to appear sharp. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, not so good location/management
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: bad management
Depending on the day, different tasks will be required for me to do. If I am opening the store, I will need to do the opening procedures (count tills, print out morning reports, etc.). Throughout the day, all kinds of things are thrown at me. Being a member of the customer service team, the main part of my job is dealing with returns. There are certain – more... decisions that I have to make based on what the customer tells me, and at times I have to choose to between good customer service (siding with the customer) and making our store's number's look good (politely telling them they're wrong), the latter of which I'd rather not do, but more recently have been told to do. I'd say the hardest part of my job is when you get the kind of customer that just cannot be pleased. Everything is your fault specifically, and even if you give them everything they ask for, they still wanna spit in your face. Just really gets to you, drains your energy. I've learned in this job that being patient with both the customer and coworkers works in your favor about 97% of the time. With the other 3% you just have to smile and try to understand their point of view.

When I first started this job, it was awesome. Amazing team that worked so well together, pretty good management team that was supportive. Lunch room with a tv and free coffee. Benefits even for part timers. Recently though, Future Shop Inc had to do some reformatting of the way they run things from store to store, and a lot of my coworkers and a few managers got laid off. Now, I completely understand why they needed to do this and how it could help. Unfortunately, my store has left the wrong people in management. With the current management, I just feel that things in the store aren't run very well, and I am looked down upon with such scorn. Everything I do seems to be wrong in some way, and I do not feel comfortable talking to my manager. In my opinion, a manager is someone who should be the glue holding a team together, not the thing that's tearing it apart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and enjoyable workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 15, 2014
Pros: friendly working environment
Cons: not enough hours
Future Shop was a wonderful store to work in as a Customer Service Representative. All of the employees were very friendly and easy to get along with. I enjoyed working at the check-out area and talking to all of the great customers. My managers were amazing people who cared for their employees and made the environment very enjoyable to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and develop skills.
Customer Service Manager - Operations (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 14, 2014
Enjoyable place to work. fun and challenging all in a days work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, however, due to economy, I got laid off after 6 years with no notice..along with 1000 others canada wide
Appliance and Cell Phone Sales Expert (Former Employee), North Bay, ONMarch 14, 2014
Lost job due to layoffs company wide, over 1000 employees lost their job due to the company trying to raise profits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Satisfying
Entertainment Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: long
Providing customer service for customers interested about the games and technology available at Futureshop. Management and coworkers are respectful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations, high rewards
Connected Solutions Sales Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 12, 2014
Pros: work as part of a team, develop interpsonal skills, gain valuable sales experience, staff purchase program
Cons: inconsistent scheduling, lack of experienced management
A lot of hard work to get started and up to speed with available products sold and solutions offered by company in addition to the many point of sale systems implemented. The most difficult aspect beyond this is trying to make up for customer's previous experiences if they were treated poorly or had something misrepresented to them by another associate – more... at another store even. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting many new people through fellow coworkers but also building relationships with customers and honing valuable skills to talk to people and approach them. Management is a mixed bag as everyone has pressure to meet targets and make profits. Those who succeed do very well but the work needs to be put in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sporaddic hours and immature co workers
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 11, 2014
Pros: company discount, "work at your own pace"
Cons: crazy hours, unfair management, immature co-workers
Being schedule to close and then stock shelves the next day very early in the morning was a big downside to this jobs. I learned quite a bit about merchandising in general from this job, mostly due to the fact that I was thrown into the job with very little training. The co workers were all high school graduates or undergrads of college/university. – more... This created a lot of drama, especially between male and female co-workers. The management acted a lot like kids in a class room - when the higher ups showed their faces, they would behave. Otherwise, they would act very immature. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 3, 2014
it's all commision thus you basically write your own paycheck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great attention to customer safisfaction.Friendly and Positive.
Marketing/Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: employee discounts
My time employed at Future Shop was a positive experience. Employees were able to cross train in all departments. Product knowledge and customer service were our top priority. All employees were involved in the annual inventory process. Management and staff worked as a team on flyers, product placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales enviroment!
PRODUCT EXPERT (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: commission, rrsp/stock options, staff purchase, variety of shifts
Cons: very high turn over, consist management changes, working weekends and stats
Working with Future Shop was an excellent experience and treated me very well for quite some time. It is a fast paced sales floor that really keeps you on your feet.

I held a roll as a Product Expert and a typical day included :
- Maintaining a World Class standard in Merchandising
- Training and remaining current with our products
- Training customer – more... service and sales techniques
- Hitting sales targets and various attachment percentages

The stores generally have a complex layering of management with each of them responsible for a direct area, although most are cross trained and able to support anyone within their role. Future Shop also has a diverse range of employees. The greatest percentage would be in the 20-25 years old range with many of them being students, however there is a group of long term career minded individuals within the sales areas.

As with most jobs the environment had many perks as well as a few issues that always weighed on my mind. In the end I always seen the perks as the winner as it worked for my lifestyle at the time. The biggest perk in my eyes was the commission system. Having direct control over my work ethic I was able in effect my own pay cheque and this outweighed many of the side issues I had with the position. Leaving the company I have left behind a family that I will dearly miss. Arriving to work each day and bonding with my team mates of which were all like minded individuals will always be a positive memory for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff,good environment.
Computer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: flexible, opportunity to make a good salary
Cons: job security, not enough hours
A typical day at work is based entirely around interacting with customers and ensuring that they get the best product for their needs. Associates are pressured to hit targets for services such as computer setups and warranty programs.
Through my experience I've learned different ways of interacting with clients and increased my knowledge about computers – more... and related products.
Management is fairly good but somewhat absent.
The staff at Future Shop is great. There is an excellent staff culture based on respect for one another and a willingness to help others succeed.
The most difficult part of the job is not getting enough hours to make a decent living. My hours have been cut from 5 days a week to 3 without notice.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with unique customers everyday. You get to meet interesting people and feel good about helping them get the right product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and a great sales experience
Senior Cellular Expert (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: part-time and school
-learning new and different things everyday
-inventory management
-preventing theft and shrink
-sales techniques
-work with top sales expert
-commission based

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos