Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
268 reviews

Future Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Role then I have done ever
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: 30 min breaks
Cons: was far from home
-Role was different as I was a part time cashier. Never had done cashier in a different retail enviroment.

-Made sure that I kept myself busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pasted business with new electronic trends
District Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: worked with cool new products and fun toys
Cons: advancement
1. Reviewed sales performance for Southern Alberta and Manitobia.
2. Worked through a district team of 5 to improve all areas of the business daily.
3. Involved with improving inventory control / systems for Western Canada.
4. Conducted PNL reviews with the district team and store managers.
5. Reviewed people development plans for all stores.
6. Overseen – more... sales development plans for the professional sales consultants.
7. Reviewed sales forcasts and worked on marketing strategies to increase sales and profits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great Tech
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Surrey, BCFebruary 22, 2014
If you love tech and love interacting with people, this is the place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, always completing something different
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: amazing culture around team work
Cons: job security
- A typical day at work? In the world of retail you hardly have a structured day. Tasks consistence are, assisting customer with purchases, sending customer units our for repairs, looking up Product Service information, process returns and exchanges and process products order from smartphones.

- What you learned? Everyday is different and at all times – more... you have to maintain professionalism. This will build customer confidence and will assist them making a decision returning to your store, knowing that we are able to make their visit an enjoyable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future Shop review: Great learning step.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: salary
My typical day at work at Future Shop consists of helping customers find what they need, give them no pressure for returns on products or warranties, and balancing my til at the end of the night or in the morning.

The people there make it worth while to make it through your day. Everyone is willing to help others and have a good laugh when needed. – more... For the most part, everyone is smiling and cheerful but everyone has their bad days.

I've learned a lot about myself while being employed at Future Shop. With the help of my supervisor, I've learned that I can't take criticism to hard and too personal. I must leave work at my work and home at my home. My patience has been tested but I've managed to work on my ability to over react and calm myself and others around me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales at it's best?
SALES (Former Employee), VancouverFebruary 17, 2014
Learning the mental game that is sales. One extended warranty at a time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Wraping boxes - Volunteer (Former Employee), Gatineau , QCFebruary 17, 2014
Around christmas time in 2008 i was volounteering at Futur shop , wraping presents. It was a fun experience :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced at times. Fellow staff were easy to work with
Senior Sales Person (Former Employee), Halifax, NSFebruary 15, 2014
Cons: very log hours over christmas holidays....12-15 hr shifts at times
The day always starts with a group meeting discussing the wins of the previous day and the daily targets. We would review the department, and address anything that was out of place. Including the cleanliness of the dept. to pricing changes. The management was very much interested in your thoughts and wanted you to succeed. Your coworkers were all easy – more... to get along with, and a pleasure to work beside. The hardest part was the extra long hours required over the Christmas Holidays, as it left very little time for family. The best part was the freedom to create your own success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Representative - Co-op Placement (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 14, 2014
this is a fun job and is pretty slow until you hit christmas time. but even then you are well staffed and organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, always changing sales environment
Merchandising Supervisor/Entertainment Coordinator (Former Employee), Stoney CreekFebruary 13, 2014
Inventory counts
Prepare for shipments incoming/outgoing
scheduling
equipment inspection
merchandising
setting up displays
morning meetings
floor managing
assisting with customers
ordering supplies
checking email/ sending emails for many purposes
product knowledge training
interpersonal skills
coaching/training staff
maintained a safe work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Merchandiser (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 12, 2014
A typical day at work is very buisy always on the move. Learned alot of product knowledge in electronics and customer service. Store managment team always helping and listening to ideas and thaughts. work with a great bunch of peope who are friends outside of the store as well as inside. The hardest part of the job was the Christmas season, long days – more... very little time off. What was most enjoyable for me is being able to multi task work in groups leading a team and completing goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 12, 2014
i was a car audio rep. for a girl who did not know anything bout cars it was a great opportunity to better myself. management was great they were very supportive. in my section i worked with men they were very supportive in teaching me all things cars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Department Sales Manager (Former Employee), Medicine Hat, ABFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: super cool team
It was awesome to interact with team members and customer's alike. Who doesn't like working with all the latest and greatest technology?
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good job
Sales Associate - Elite Member (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: almost out of buss.
there just in big ----- now!
good co-workers
would still be there if they had any jobs left....but no more no more !!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment while maintaining department
Cashier, Customer Service, Sales Associate (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, ONFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day at work involved
•accepting ATS
•maintaining and grooming gaming department
•assisting customers

What I learned was
•quick and efficient time management
•working well with others
•working well independently

Co-workers
•worked well together
•stayed focus

Most enjoyable part of the job
•being satisfied with work accomplished
•have returning – more... customers who appreciated you
•putting in hard work and being recognized for it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun place to work
Lead Technician / Mobile Department Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: staff discount
Cons: not so personable
Future shop was a great place to work. Plenty of chances to grow and move with the company. co-workers were great and education and product knowledge continued regulalry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun sales job very interactive
Product Expert (Former Employee), Kanata, ONFebruary 4, 2014
ability to read your client and cater to their needs brings a fruitful result. it was commission based and due to high online competition commissions were low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experince, Benifits and Culture
Entertainment Associate (Former Employee), Markham EastFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: great benifts
Cons: under staffed
The best part of the job was the customers, but also was the hardest. Trying to meet there needs while being under staffed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work!
Cashier and Web Sales (Former Employee), Courtenay, BCFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: great place to work!
Cons: scheduling inconsistencies.
This was a great place to work! More like family than a job.

Typical day at work for me involved greeting customers coming into the store, processing sales transactions, credit and debit as well as cash handling, kept the cash wrap well stocked and clean, made sure all price tags were current and accurate.

My coworkers were always friendly and upbeat. – more... Management was approachable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Futureshop Chilliwack has been an amazing place to work with a great friendly staff environment
Merchandising (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCJanuary 31, 2014
FutureShop is a great place to work everyone at the location felt like family as well as easy laid back job, but as of with new organization of the company I feel that my job is no longer secure.

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos