Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
301 reviews

Future Shop Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice industry, always introducing new products and technologies
Operations Manager (Former Employee), GTA, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: exciting alectronics industry, great associates.
Cons: work-life balance for management
Dealing with all regular operations as well as with daily unexpected events and opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Expert des produits (Former Employee), Lasalle, QcApril 1, 2014
Pros: staff pricing
Cons: no job security
There isn't something called a typical day at work since it changes everyday. I've learned many things at Future shop, such as giving great customer service can reward someone nicely in the long run. I enjoyed working there very much, the most enjoyable part must have been the satisfaction on a customers face once they have been received help. The store – more... I worked at was basically a huge family, and I fit it very well. The hardest part of the job must have been to prevent theft while helping clients, but it's something we overcame very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Operations/Futureshop.ca Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Working at Future Shop has definitely made me a more sociable person. The atmosphere is very welcoming, as the coworkers are. I have made some very great friends at this store and have learned many skills that will stick with me forever. This is a very fast paced job, that has taught me that you can still have fun while being the best. There's always – more... a different story with every customer each day, that gives you a very personal hands on feel to every situation. You get to really know and understand your customers. The hardest part of the job is sometimes having to disengage from one customer so you can help the next. This doesn't mean necessarily rushing with the customer you're currently helping, but being worried that the next will become impatient. However, I have learned that sometimes you have to act as two, or maybe even three people at the same time in order to get the job done and keep all of your customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Ever
Home Office Product Expert & DSMIT (Former Employee), Chatham, OntarioMarch 31, 2014
Would never recommend this place as an employer to anyone! Management and big-wigs only care about money money money. No one cares about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, good, first job. But lack of direction can Make it very stressfull
Commission Product Expert (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 30, 2014
Pros: good pay when its busy, lots of down time
Cons: long hours, terminating people and expecting productivity to go up, lack of company direction
Futureshop was a good first Job which provided me with experience that would be hard to obtain anywhere else. The problems came with the lack of direction and unfair rating and performance reviews for part-timers. Part timers are rated in the same group as a full time employee. For example 35 percent of the rating is on volume and if a part timer works – more... only 20 hours a week how can they possibly compete with a full timer who works 40 hours. lack of set direction is one of the hardest parts of this job. Also managers change almost every year making it very hard to create a relationship with your direct supervisor. Often make employees work when they are not actually getting paid due to the way the commission structure is oriented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Seasonal Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 29, 2014
Pros: commission, good hours, motivating
Cons: bad discount, annoying co-workers
I did seasonal work there from November 2013-January 2014. Generally everyone was very inviting, however, when there's 30 of us there at any given time, you're bound to run into a few co workers that are just ok.

The commission is just ok there. If you have the choice, do computers or TV's, that's where the money is.

The head manager was a nice guy, – more... very professional and highly motivating. However, the assistant manager was just ok. She seemed genuinely miserable whenever I came into contact with her, and just really wanted nothing to do with me.

A lot of the employees that have been there a while kind of have this 'holier than thou' attitude about themselves which can get very annoying, quickly, as they sort of talk down to you.

The employee discount is pretty bad as well. It's just simply whatever they buy it from the manufacturer from, which believe it or not, on anything other than an HDMI cable, is anywhere from 25 cents to a few dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and productive workplace
Microsoft Product Consultant (Current Employee), WaterlooMarch 28, 2014
Future Shop allowed me to expand my selling skills and experience. Management did an effective job of cultivating a results and preformance based workplace that emphasizes, recognizes, and rewards success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Sales Representative (Former Employee), OntarioMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great people to work with in store
Cons: poor business planning from company stand point
Day to day future shop can be a fun place to work, easy going and for the most part the employees are good, The company itself however is not the best employer, Rapid Structure changes in recent years have caused alot of people to loose their jobs, everyone from new employees to those who have been with them for well over 10 years. If your a student – more... wanting to make a quick buck, sales could be a good stepping stone but only in a area with high traffic of customers, or else youll find your self working for min wage at part time hours with no reward. Be wary of your wants before applying to this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Product Expert (Former Employee), Whitby, OnMarch 25, 2014
Lots of stress due to sales environment. Commission structure is not healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped and assisted customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: love working with people
Cons: irriate customers.
Helped customers by answering phone calls and processing cash and credit card transactions.Merchandised products on to the sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady workload doing my favorite thing, customer service and tech work
Computer Technician (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 21, 2014
Pros: lots to learn. new equipment
Cons: nasty customers
Lots of tech work, learned a lot. Had to quit because I moved to Calgary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional fun retail environment with many interesting staff
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Queensway, EtobicokeMarch 20, 2014
-very demanding fast pace environment , technology is constantly changing and so does how customers shop.
-the ability to interact with many different social streams.
-hitting targets on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great place to have fun
Cons: na
very friendly place, customer service, computer tech and repairing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment terrible business
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Stoney Creek, ONMarch 16, 2014
Great place to work but the company has had so many closures and lay offs in the thousands, the company will be sold if not go bankrupt within the next few years. very very very poor business sense at a store and regional level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer service experience
Entertainment and Product Expert (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 16, 2014
Pros: customers for life and unique salesmanship
Cons: long hours walking
Having worked at Future Shop I have used my unique ability to make customers comfortable and make shopping an enjoyable experience. Clocking in at either 9am or 5pm I take the floor and provide 5 star product service and close deals with clients every second. I always believe you should dress as you feel and the ability to dress professionally is a – more... must and I always like to appear sharp. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, not so good location/management
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: bad management
Depending on the day, different tasks will be required for me to do. If I am opening the store, I will need to do the opening procedures (count tills, print out morning reports, etc.). Throughout the day, all kinds of things are thrown at me. Being a member of the customer service team, the main part of my job is dealing with returns. There are certain – more... decisions that I have to make based on what the customer tells me, and at times I have to choose to between good customer service (siding with the customer) and making our store's number's look good (politely telling them they're wrong), the latter of which I'd rather not do, but more recently have been told to do. I'd say the hardest part of my job is when you get the kind of customer that just cannot be pleased. Everything is your fault specifically, and even if you give them everything they ask for, they still wanna spit in your face. Just really gets to you, drains your energy. I've learned in this job that being patient with both the customer and coworkers works in your favor about 97% of the time. With the other 3% you just have to smile and try to understand their point of view.

When I first started this job, it was awesome. Amazing team that worked so well together, pretty good management team that was supportive. Lunch room with a tv and free coffee. Benefits even for part timers. Recently though, Future Shop Inc had to do some reformatting of the way they run things from store to store, and a lot of my coworkers and a few managers got laid off. Now, I completely understand why they needed to do this and how it could help. Unfortunately, my store has left the wrong people in management. With the current management, I just feel that things in the store aren't run very well, and I am looked down upon with such scorn. Everything I do seems to be wrong in some way, and I do not feel comfortable talking to my manager. In my opinion, a manager is someone who should be the glue holding a team together, not the thing that's tearing it apart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and enjoyable workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 15, 2014
Pros: friendly working environment
Cons: not enough hours
Future Shop was a wonderful store to work in as a Customer Service Representative. All of the employees were very friendly and easy to get along with. I enjoyed working at the check-out area and talking to all of the great customers. My managers were amazing people who cared for their employees and made the environment very enjoyable to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and develop skills.
Customer Service Manager - Operations (Former Employee), Oakville, ONMarch 14, 2014
Enjoyable place to work. fun and challenging all in a days work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, however, due to economy, I got laid off after 6 years with no notice..along with 1000 others canada wide
Appliance and Cell Phone Sales Expert (Former Employee), North Bay, ONMarch 14, 2014
Lost job due to layoffs company wide, over 1000 employees lost their job due to the company trying to raise profits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Satisfying
Entertainment Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 13, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: long
Providing customer service for customers interested about the games and technology available at Futureshop. Management and coworkers are respectful and friendly.

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos