Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
261 reviews

Future Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced sales enviroment!
PRODUCT EXPERT (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: commission, rrsp/stock options, staff purchase, variety of shifts
Cons: very high turn over, consist management changes, working weekends and stats
Working with Future Shop was an excellent experience and treated me very well for quite some time. It is a fast paced sales floor that really keeps you on your feet.

I held a roll as a Product Expert and a typical day included :
- Maintaining a World Class standard in Merchandising
- Training and remaining current with our products
- Training customer – more... service and sales techniques
- Hitting sales targets and various attachment percentages

The stores generally have a complex layering of management with each of them responsible for a direct area, although most are cross trained and able to support anyone within their role. Future Shop also has a diverse range of employees. The greatest percentage would be in the 20-25 years old range with many of them being students, however there is a group of long term career minded individuals within the sales areas.

As with most jobs the environment had many perks as well as a few issues that always weighed on my mind. In the end I always seen the perks as the winner as it worked for my lifestyle at the time. The biggest perk in my eyes was the commission system. Having direct control over my work ethic I was able in effect my own pay cheque and this outweighed many of the side issues I had with the position. Leaving the company I have left behind a family that I will dearly miss. Arriving to work each day and bonding with my team mates of which were all like minded individuals will always be a positive memory for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff,good environment.
Computer Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: flexible, opportunity to make a good salary
Cons: job security, not enough hours
A typical day at work is based entirely around interacting with customers and ensuring that they get the best product for their needs. Associates are pressured to hit targets for services such as computer setups and warranty programs.
Through my experience I've learned different ways of interacting with clients and increased my knowledge about computers – more... and related products.
Management is fairly good but somewhat absent.
The staff at Future Shop is great. There is an excellent staff culture based on respect for one another and a willingness to help others succeed.
The most difficult part of the job is not getting enough hours to make a decent living. My hours have been cut from 5 days a week to 3 without notice.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with unique customers everyday. You get to meet interesting people and feel good about helping them get the right product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and a great sales experience
Senior Cellular Expert (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: part-time and school
-learning new and different things everyday
-inventory management
-preventing theft and shrink
-sales techniques
-work with top sales expert
-commission based
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
South Surrey Future Shop was great
Sales Associate (Former Employee), South Surrey, BCFebruary 26, 2014
I had a great time working at the South Surrey Future Shop. I can say that if it wasnt for this particular location I would have never considered working for Best Buy Canada. The other associates that work there are phenomenal when it comes to great customer service and that is why I stayed for as long as I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers , fun and productive place to work with many after work family gatherings ..
Shipper/Receiver and merchadiser (Current Employee), Courtenay, BCFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits, a good schedule, store get functions such as golf, volleyball and store bbq's
Cons: hours and job cuts due to our present economy .
Always kept busy which is important . Got along well with co-workers and the management team were easy to approach if there were any concerns about anything in general . Any input l may have had was greatly appreciated . It felt like a great accomplishment when we received a large shipment and we separated and merchandised it in record time . We always – more... tried to improve our performance . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Product Expert (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: very encouraging environment..
Cons: nothing indeed
My career in CANADA started with FUTURE SHOP in 2003.
Since then i enjoyed my job a lot. Infact that was the job i was looking at.

Due to my sincere work and achievement of sales over the target.. i got awarded in top 10 in circle of excellence .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career advancement
General Manager - South Edmonton (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 24, 2014
Great people and benefits. Excellelnt opportunities for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with good pay, benfits and co-workers.
Terra Losa, as a commissioned salesman (Former Employee), Edmonton West Tera LosaFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits and sick leave options.
Cons: commisioned sales pressure.
Future-shop was great place to work, with good pay, benfits and co-workers.

The managers took time and great pains to accommodate their employees, with concerns to scheduling health and work environment.

The was some on the job training in regards to working with a WAVE (a device similar to a cherry picker for accessing items on high shelves), and – more... first aid training options. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Role then I have done ever
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: 30 min breaks
Cons: was far from home
-Role was different as I was a part time cashier. Never had done cashier in a different retail enviroment.

-Made sure that I kept myself busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pasted business with new electronic trends
District Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: worked with cool new products and fun toys
Cons: advancement
1. Reviewed sales performance for Southern Alberta and Manitobia.
2. Worked through a district team of 5 to improve all areas of the business daily.
3. Involved with improving inventory control / systems for Western Canada.
4. Conducted PNL reviews with the district team and store managers.
5. Reviewed people development plans for all stores.
6. Overseen – more... sales development plans for the professional sales consultants.
7. Reviewed sales forcasts and worked on marketing strategies to increase sales and profits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great Tech
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Surrey, BCFebruary 22, 2014
If you love tech and love interacting with people, this is the place to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, always completing something different
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: amazing culture around team work
Cons: job security
- A typical day at work? In the world of retail you hardly have a structured day. Tasks consistence are, assisting customer with purchases, sending customer units our for repairs, looking up Product Service information, process returns and exchanges and process products order from smartphones.

- What you learned? Everyday is different and at all times – more... you have to maintain professionalism. This will build customer confidence and will assist them making a decision returning to your store, knowing that we are able to make their visit an enjoyable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future Shop review: Great learning step.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Red Deer, ABFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: salary
My typical day at work at Future Shop consists of helping customers find what they need, give them no pressure for returns on products or warranties, and balancing my til at the end of the night or in the morning.

The people there make it worth while to make it through your day. Everyone is willing to help others and have a good laugh when needed. – more... For the most part, everyone is smiling and cheerful but everyone has their bad days.

I've learned a lot about myself while being employed at Future Shop. With the help of my supervisor, I've learned that I can't take criticism to hard and too personal. I must leave work at my work and home at my home. My patience has been tested but I've managed to work on my ability to over react and calm myself and others around me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Sales at it's best?
SALES (Former Employee), VancouverFebruary 17, 2014
Learning the mental game that is sales. One extended warranty at a time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Wraping boxes - Volunteer (Former Employee), Gatineau , QCFebruary 17, 2014
Around christmas time in 2008 i was volounteering at Futur shop , wraping presents. It was a fun experience :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced at times. Fellow staff were easy to work with
Senior Sales Person (Former Employee), Halifax, NSFebruary 15, 2014
Cons: very log hours over christmas holidays....12-15 hr shifts at times
The day always starts with a group meeting discussing the wins of the previous day and the daily targets. We would review the department, and address anything that was out of place. Including the cleanliness of the dept. to pricing changes. The management was very much interested in your thoughts and wanted you to succeed. Your coworkers were all easy – more... to get along with, and a pleasure to work beside. The hardest part was the extra long hours required over the Christmas Holidays, as it left very little time for family. The best part was the freedom to create your own success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Representative - Co-op Placement (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 14, 2014
this is a fun job and is pretty slow until you hit christmas time. but even then you are well staffed and organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, always changing sales environment
Merchandising Supervisor/Entertainment Coordinator (Former Employee), Stoney CreekFebruary 13, 2014
Inventory counts
Prepare for shipments incoming/outgoing
scheduling
equipment inspection
merchandising
setting up displays
morning meetings
floor managing
assisting with customers
ordering supplies
checking email/ sending emails for many purposes
product knowledge training
interpersonal skills
coaching/training staff
maintained a safe work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Merchandiser (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONFebruary 12, 2014
A typical day at work is very buisy always on the move. Learned alot of product knowledge in electronics and customer service. Store managment team always helping and listening to ideas and thaughts. work with a great bunch of peope who are friends outside of the store as well as inside. The hardest part of the job was the Christmas season, long days – more... very little time off. What was most enjoyable for me is being able to multi task work in groups leading a team and completing goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABFebruary 12, 2014
i was a car audio rep. for a girl who did not know anything bout cars it was a great opportunity to better myself. management was great they were very supportive. in my section i worked with men they were very supportive in teaching me all things cars.

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos