Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
268 reviews

Future Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Expert (Former Employee), MonctonApril 24, 2014
This is a good place to work. But staff are quite competitive which can be hard to deal with at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle expérience
Électricien automobile CPA 2 (Former Employee), MascoucheApril 23, 2014
Pros: polyvalent, social, sentiment d'accomplissement
Cons: travail sous forte pression
L'emploi consistait a répondre au besoin de chacun des clients pour leur modification automobile, bateau et autres..

Les taches sont cédule au heure incluant l'intégralité l’accueil du client, les explications, la facture, l'installation, l'ajustement, ensuite l'explication du fonctionnement, signature de la garantie et le départ.

TACHES:
Changer – more... radio, speakers, sub, tweeter, ampli ainsi que nombre de pièces diverses.
Installer moniteur, caméra, commandes diverses, lumière, néon (anti)démarreur, solénoïdes, treuil, inverseur 120v, prise ACC, USB, AUX, RCA, HDMI.
Modification des plastiques de finissions et ajustement du résultat visuel est un art en soit.
Calibration des différent systèmes.
Le burinage (gravé un # de série) est l'une des taches les plus stressante a mon avis parce que le client souhaiterais ne pas en avoir donc le résultat doit être rien de moins que parfait.

Avec tout les modèles de tout les marques et tout les taches relié au poste, il ne va sans dire que cet emploi est pour les débrouillards.

Mon poste à été aboli dans tout future shop. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Vendeur (Former Employee), quebecApril 18, 2014
Pros: $$/ upper management/ people working there
Cons: long hours
Upper management was awesome the pay was really good and there waas a lot of really nice people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive and honest sales.
All Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 13, 2014
Pros: competetive, fun, alot of socializing.
Cons: irritated customers.
Working for Futureshop has instilled the importance of communication, integrity, and organization into me. We are required to maintain a padfolio with all inventory levels, plays, focus sku's, sales, and connect pro sku's in it. We use these as well as T-Bar's and planners to ensure that our customers get exactly what they need and the best deal for – more... it, all while being able to leave with a smile on their face, and with me knowing they will return to me for their next purchase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere- above average income potential based on merit
Senior product Expert (Former Employee), TORONTO,CANADAApril 13, 2014
Work/life balance, good compensation, good customers, management average and business model needs massive revamp to position in todays economic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy working environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee), kamloopsApril 6, 2014
Pros: discounts.
Cons: walking everywhere haha
Usually, working at future shop i just helped people out. the odd day i would stack shelves, and other retail. i learned how easy it is to work in retail haha. My co workers were awesome. It was only part time so i wasnt there for too long. hardesrt part of my job was mainly just walking around. haha it was pretty easy. Most enjoyable was being able – more... to understand everything and learning how to work as a sales rep in no time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Sociable
Product Process Associate (Current Employee), Markham ONApril 2, 2014
co-workers are great. typical day includes putting away product, pricing product etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice industry, always introducing new products and technologies
Operations Manager (Former Employee), GTA, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: exciting alectronics industry, great associates.
Cons: work-life balance for management
Dealing with all regular operations as well as with daily unexpected events and opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Expert des produits (Former Employee), Lasalle, QcApril 1, 2014
Pros: staff pricing
Cons: no job security
There isn't something called a typical day at work since it changes everyday. I've learned many things at Future shop, such as giving great customer service can reward someone nicely in the long run. I enjoyed working there very much, the most enjoyable part must have been the satisfaction on a customers face once they have been received help. The store – more... I worked at was basically a huge family, and I fit it very well. The hardest part of the job must have been to prevent theft while helping clients, but it's something we overcame very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Operations/Futureshop.ca Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Working at Future Shop has definitely made me a more sociable person. The atmosphere is very welcoming, as the coworkers are. I have made some very great friends at this store and have learned many skills that will stick with me forever. This is a very fast paced job, that has taught me that you can still have fun while being the best. There's always – more... a different story with every customer each day, that gives you a very personal hands on feel to every situation. You get to really know and understand your customers. The hardest part of the job is sometimes having to disengage from one customer so you can help the next. This doesn't mean necessarily rushing with the customer you're currently helping, but being worried that the next will become impatient. However, I have learned that sometimes you have to act as two, or maybe even three people at the same time in order to get the job done and keep all of your customers satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Ever
Home Office Product Expert & DSMIT (Former Employee), Chatham, OntarioMarch 31, 2014
Would never recommend this place as an employer to anyone! Management and big-wigs only care about money money money. No one cares about the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, good, first job. But lack of direction can Make it very stressfull
Commission Product Expert (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 30, 2014
Pros: good pay when its busy, lots of down time
Cons: long hours, terminating people and expecting productivity to go up, lack of company direction
Futureshop was a good first Job which provided me with experience that would be hard to obtain anywhere else. The problems came with the lack of direction and unfair rating and performance reviews for part-timers. Part timers are rated in the same group as a full time employee. For example 35 percent of the rating is on volume and if a part timer works – more... only 20 hours a week how can they possibly compete with a full timer who works 40 hours. lack of set direction is one of the hardest parts of this job. Also managers change almost every year making it very hard to create a relationship with your direct supervisor. Often make employees work when they are not actually getting paid due to the way the commission structure is oriented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Seasonal Sales Representative (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONMarch 29, 2014
Pros: commission, good hours, motivating
Cons: bad discount, annoying co-workers
I did seasonal work there from November 2013-January 2014. Generally everyone was very inviting, however, when there's 30 of us there at any given time, you're bound to run into a few co workers that are just ok.

The commission is just ok there. If you have the choice, do computers or TV's, that's where the money is.

The head manager was a nice guy, – more... very professional and highly motivating. However, the assistant manager was just ok. She seemed genuinely miserable whenever I came into contact with her, and just really wanted nothing to do with me.

A lot of the employees that have been there a while kind of have this 'holier than thou' attitude about themselves which can get very annoying, quickly, as they sort of talk down to you.

The employee discount is pretty bad as well. It's just simply whatever they buy it from the manufacturer from, which believe it or not, on anything other than an HDMI cable, is anywhere from 25 cents to a few dollars. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and productive workplace
Microsoft Product Consultant (Current Employee), WaterlooMarch 28, 2014
Future Shop allowed me to expand my selling skills and experience. Management did an effective job of cultivating a results and preformance based workplace that emphasizes, recognizes, and rewards success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Sales Representative (Former Employee), OntarioMarch 27, 2014
Pros: great people to work with in store
Cons: poor business planning from company stand point
Day to day future shop can be a fun place to work, easy going and for the most part the employees are good, The company itself however is not the best employer, Rapid Structure changes in recent years have caused alot of people to loose their jobs, everyone from new employees to those who have been with them for well over 10 years. If your a student – more... wanting to make a quick buck, sales could be a good stepping stone but only in a area with high traffic of customers, or else youll find your self working for min wage at part time hours with no reward. Be wary of your wants before applying to this company – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
Product Expert (Former Employee), Whitby, OnMarch 25, 2014
Lots of stress due to sales environment. Commission structure is not healthy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped and assisted customers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Cambridge, ONMarch 23, 2014
Pros: love working with people
Cons: irriate customers.
Helped customers by answering phone calls and processing cash and credit card transactions.Merchandised products on to the sales floor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady workload doing my favorite thing, customer service and tech work
Computer Technician (Former Employee), London, ONMarch 21, 2014
Pros: lots to learn. new equipment
Cons: nasty customers
Lots of tech work, learned a lot. Had to quit because I moved to Calgary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional fun retail environment with many interesting staff
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee), Queensway, EtobicokeMarch 20, 2014
-very demanding fast pace environment , technology is constantly changing and so does how customers shop.
-the ability to interact with many different social streams.
-hitting targets on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 19, 2014
Pros: great place to have fun
Cons: na
very friendly place, customer service, computer tech and repairing

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos