Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
262 reviews

Future Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, OntMay 15, 2014
Responsibilities
Cashier, handled customer service, inventory and consolidation
Accomplishments
I was promoted to MIT in 6 months but I had to leave for personal reasons.
Skills Used
Satisfied customers, counted the cash at the end of the day and reported to the manager. Accuracy was an
asset when dealing with $100,000 on certain days.
I learnt that – more... customers are always right so the aim was to try and find out ways to make that customer leave
our store with a smile whenever possible.
Product verification and watched out for fraudulent purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and amazing place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Surrey, BcMay 12, 2014
Every day was a new challenge

New activities and new type of customers every day.

wide range of learning experience

Management and co-workers were really helpful.

Competitive environment as it was a salary-commision based job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific place to learn sales
DEPARTMENT SALES MANAGER (Former Employee), CalgaryMay 11, 2014
Pros: staff cost on electronics unparalleled in retail.
Cons: usually work afternoons to close the store
Enjoyed the experience, dynamic environment. Constantly changing product line ensured you were never bored.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are Racist!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New GlasgowMay 11, 2014
Pros: discount, 10% below costs
Cons: racist employers, management.
Future Shop discriminates against Aboriginal Canadians. They do not hire First Nations people, and employees/ managers make buying things difficult, They try to charge tax on a sale when a sale is tax exempt.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Burlington, OntarioMay 10, 2014
Pros: great management team, great atmosphere
Cons: not enough hours
I loved the overall atmosphere at Future Shop. Co-workers were friendly and made it easy to work as a team to provide customers with the best service possible. I learned a lot about customer service and helping customers to the best of my abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and active
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 10, 2014
fun and active work place
dynamic atmosphere
long hours
friendly co-workers and manager
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management. drama.
Customer Service Desk (Current Employee), brovkvilleMay 7, 2014
Cons: lots
Terrible place to work in that location and in that department. Associates not knowledgeable. No job security. Maybe five hours a week. Not a busy store. Expected to learn a lot in short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non-Professional/ Childish Management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONMay 2, 2014
Pros: quiet store
Cons: no hours, learnings must be done, management doesn't care, boring days, most people don't know what they're doing
The managers who work here are childish and do not know what they are doing. They do not know how to make schedules (the new assistant manager in particular), ever since February when people got laid off, the hours have been horrible, whenever you call for a manager, they purposely come after the customer leaves. It's disgusting and pathetic. There – more... have been many complaints by associates, yet nothing has changed. Perfect place if you are unprofessional, enjoy drama, and working 5 hour shifts maybe one or two days a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 29, 2014
Good discounts, limited or useless benefits. during holiday season is busy but later is slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a sales career
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONApril 27, 2014
Pros: training, environment and culture
Cons: layoffs
Great place to start a sales career. Nice blend of training and floor hours. People and staff are generally helpful. A competitive environment. If your a tech lover its a great place to spend most of your hours of day at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee), New Minas, NSApril 27, 2014
Future Shop was a fun place to work. Always training and coaching to reach that next target that came out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Product Expert (Current Employee), South Common NW Edmonton, ABApril 26, 2014
Pros: everyone helps each other
It is all about dealing with customers, understanding their need and providing them the products which will be beneficial for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Expert (Former Employee), MonctonApril 24, 2014
This is a good place to work. But staff are quite competitive which can be hard to deal with at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Vendeur (Former Employee), quebecApril 18, 2014
Pros: $$/ upper management/ people working there
Cons: long hours
Upper management was awesome the pay was really good and there waas a lot of really nice people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive and honest sales.
All Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONApril 13, 2014
Pros: competetive, fun, alot of socializing.
Cons: irritated customers.
Working for Futureshop has instilled the importance of communication, integrity, and organization into me. We are required to maintain a padfolio with all inventory levels, plays, focus sku's, sales, and connect pro sku's in it. We use these as well as T-Bar's and planners to ensure that our customers get exactly what they need and the best deal for – more... it, all while being able to leave with a smile on their face, and with me knowing they will return to me for their next purchase. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy working environment
Sales Rep (Former Employee), kamloopsApril 6, 2014
Pros: discounts.
Cons: walking everywhere haha
Usually, working at future shop i just helped people out. the odd day i would stack shelves, and other retail. i learned how easy it is to work in retail haha. My co workers were awesome. It was only part time so i wasnt there for too long. hardesrt part of my job was mainly just walking around. haha it was pretty easy. Most enjoyable was being able – more... to understand everything and learning how to work as a sales rep in no time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Sociable
Product Process Associate (Current Employee), Markham ONApril 2, 2014
co-workers are great. typical day includes putting away product, pricing product etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice industry, always introducing new products and technologies
Operations Manager (Former Employee), GTA, ONApril 2, 2014
Pros: exciting alectronics industry, great associates.
Cons: work-life balance for management
Dealing with all regular operations as well as with daily unexpected events and opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Expert des produits (Former Employee), Lasalle, QcApril 1, 2014
Pros: staff pricing
Cons: no job security
There isn't something called a typical day at work since it changes everyday. I've learned many things at Future shop, such as giving great customer service can reward someone nicely in the long run. I enjoyed working there very much, the most enjoyable part must have been the satisfaction on a customers face once they have been received help. The store – more... I worked at was basically a huge family, and I fit it very well. The hardest part of the job must have been to prevent theft while helping clients, but it's something we overcame very quickly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Operations/Futureshop.ca Associate (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
Working at Future Shop has definitely made me a more sociable person. The atmosphere is very welcoming, as the coworkers are. I have made some very great friends at this store and have learned many skills that will stick with me forever. This is a very fast paced job, that has taught me that you can still have fun while being the best. There's always – more... a different story with every customer each day, that gives you a very personal hands on feel to every situation. You get to really know and understand your customers. The hardest part of the job is sometimes having to disengage from one customer so you can help the next. This doesn't mean necessarily rushing with the customer you're currently helping, but being worried that the next will become impatient. However, I have learned that sometimes you have to act as two, or maybe even three people at the same time in order to get the job done and keep all of your customers satisfied. – less

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos