Future Shop Employee Reviews

Found 699 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tech centre at its finest
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 May 2017
Stressful environment as sales target are always pushed on employees but store traffic wasn't much so its hard to sell. Other then that great environment great people
Pros
free food
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 May 2017
Great workplace, very laid back and you're your own manager. Management is very lenient and fair and trains you to the best of your ability. Management wants you to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 May 2017
A typical day at work would be cleaning fixed product and putting it into a package where it would be shipping out to various locations. We had to make sure everything was getting sent to the proper locations.
Pros
Work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC17 May 2017
I had great time and learn lots of things at Future shop.
Lots of lovely people was working in the store
It is Best buy store right now but it is totally different
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was good to work at now it has merged with Best Buy
Sales Associate Commission Based (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 May 2017
Very good wage with commission based environment. It was great up until it closed down and merged and now Best Buy really cares for the customers that are now Best Buy Employees was one of the lucky ones that got simultaneously switched over before the merger.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun job but...
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 May 2017
It was nice working there but they let me go after Christmas even if I was supposed to be a permanent employee. Nice work environment. Would like to work for them again (bestbuy)
Pros
Nice work place
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Product Consultant (Former Employee) –  Weston, ON8 May 2017
Too much fun while you work, play music on audio system and give demo to customer, play with technology. Management was good, Amazing store, miss it
Pros
Circle of excellance
Cons
Rewards on performance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome company to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB2 May 2017
Future shop was a cauldron of learning during its time in Canada. A performance oriented culture combined with great training made it an employer of choice.
Pros
benefits, culture, training
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager-On-Duty, Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON29 April 2017
Fast paced environment. Something new happens every day. The best place to seek knowledge about any new electronic equipment. Gained a world of experience and knowledge in sales and customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great energetic company
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON29 April 2017
-Repairing customers electronic devices

-Learned something new everyday with all the different device problems

-Management was very understanding and caring

-Telling a customer we weren't able to repair the unit because we didn't have the tools necessary

-Having the tools necessary to repair customers devices
Pros
Laid back management
Cons
Small store, less variety of inventory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was the best job ever
Seasonal Sales Associate - Christmas (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON21 April 2017
Super friendly people and nobody ever came into work letting something personal bother them they always put forth the most effort they could and it really showed
Pros
amazing staff
Cons
It closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Technical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON20 April 2017
Pros
Fantastic range and depth of exposure to industries, functional areas, and business issues. Accelerated access to work directly with senior level managers and the "C-suite" much more quickly than via industry path.
Cons
Very long hours and substantial travel. Organization is results-driven but there's some risk of frustration / disillusionment about being an advisor and not really owning the results.
Advice to Management
Continue to invest heavily in training and supporting your people. It's what sets the firm apart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, competitive
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB19 April 2017
There was a lot of traffic in terms of customers. It was always high paced and highlly cmpetitive sales environment. This allowed many opportunitis to ubild on sales skills, customer service skills and multitasking skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 April 2017
If you know how to sell, FutureShop is the way to go! Unfortunately, the company closed down, but if they ever opened up I would re-apply. Its motivating especially when you have targets to hit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Product Process Worker (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON10 April 2017
the way future shop in Barrie, ON worked was they would hire you then right before your 3 months probation would be up they would fire you and move onto someone else .
Pros
nothing
Cons
management sucked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
turned into bestbuy, HQ staff nice, store staff it depends, Overall toxic.
Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2017
HQ insulated from the toxic store level nonsense. Organisation is rule bound. Creativity and independent employees have the spirit beaten out of them through sheer red tape. Zero job security, customers come last, you will be terminated if someone doesnt like you, it doesnt matter how much the customers love you or how good you are at the job.

They terminate or lay off the most qualified, most experienced techs and salesmen every so often, usually because of politics or staff start asking too many questions or trying to challenge stupidity.
Pros
Good RRSP matching.
Cons
Petty vindictive manageresses with axes to grind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work. I learned a lot.
Computer Product Expert (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 April 2017
Great place to work. I was employed by them for almost 5 years. That is where i got my love for the sales industry and had the chance to learn from some of the top sale people in calgary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future great learning experience
Product Expert (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 April 2017
Future Shop was self driven sales job. They had preset employee standards, which gave all associates direction and a development pathway. I throughout the years learned/developed my sales and customer service skills. Also I learned to evaluate, customers, associate preformance, overall department and sales analysis.

Future Shop began with an exceptional "can do" company culture. The level of product, product and overall sales knowledge I gain was very humbling. Everyday the learning library I acquired increased. This was a major driving force in my career there.
Pros
Constant development and learning
Cons
decreasing commision structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commissioned sales
Commissioned Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC1 April 2017
Meet and build relationship with customers, educate customers on Future Shop policies and products, assist in buying electronics, services and warranty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 March 2017
I have nothing to say here but i have to continue writing they were very good about my leaving when my husband got sick . which was very nice of them
Pros
fun
Cons
they closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Future Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 709 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

67%
113 ratings
Add your rating