Find companies:
Future Shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
259 reviews

Future Shop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly overall a very good place to work.
Product Expert (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 22, 2014
Pros: almost everything from atmosphere, to how you are treated
Cons: honestly nothing really maybe the benefit package a little.
I don't have a lot of complaints, it is a very well organized operation. everyone has their roles and they do what they need to do. pay is good for the amount of work that needs to be done and over all the atmosphere is very positive. Management takes care of complaints and staff conflicts very well and in a positive manner. benefit package is average – more... but still good. To top it all off there are excellent EPP programs, events, and discounts. Would recommend working here to almost anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to start
Connect Pro Expert (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioJuly 19, 2014
Guide customer throughout the environment and help them get point accross.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merchandising
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Coquitlam bcJuly 18, 2014
Pros: half off electronics
Cons: n/a
• Provided Customer support and assisted customers with their needs.
• Ensured customer received direction assistance to product they were buying.
• Merchandising products.
• Worked in a team environment that focused on customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but high stress
Department Sales Manager (Former Employee), ottawa ontarioJuly 7, 2014
Futureshop is a very fun place to work but a very high stress for managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere.
Co-op Placement (Former Employee), Barrie, ONJuly 3, 2014
Co-workers & Managers where polite, helped me out whenever I had a question.

Atmosphere was great, everyone was always happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Lethbridge, ABJune 30, 2014
Pros: great staff and management
Cons: head office decisions
My days are always busy which I love because time just flying at work instead of dragging on by slowly. I actually really like working for Future Shop, the co-workers are usually fantastic and close knit. My bosses are also quite good for having jobs where they have to make tough decisions, they at least explain their decisions which it much appreciated. – more... It has it awesome days and its awful days just like all jobs. The bad days ranging from a angry customer experience or head office making a radical change to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 25, 2014
Learned customer service as this was my first job in canada
Learned how to handle cash
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
****
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brampton ONJune 25, 2014
• Built relationships with customers and assisted them in the selection and purchase of items
• Consistently achieved sales targets
• Processed cash and credit card transactions accurately and efficiently
• Checked the inventory listing with actual stock on the shop shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 12, 2014
Assisted customers with inquiries and complaints. Handled returns and exchanges. Loved all my coworkers, they were the best part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appliance Sales
Appliance Sales Expert (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCJune 9, 2014
I remained in the top 10-30th percentile of sales in western Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Project Manager/General Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Scott Road Surrey BCJune 9, 2014
Had a lot of fun working at future shop excellent environment and great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demonstrated sales selling skills, completed internal leadership program, build a culture based on customer for life.
Store Sales Manager, Markham (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 5, 2014
Actively served customers with product knowledge of Audio and Video technology equipment, customized and sold complete solutions with the goal of building “customers for life”
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Audio Expert Repersentative
Mobile Audio Expert (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 2, 2014
Pros: benefitsw like merchandise discounts
Cons: not enough hours
Have to meet daily quotas.
Environment is fast paced because you were pushed to get sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you like electronics and computer, and also people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Richmond, BCJune 2, 2014
Deal with customers who have issues with their computer and products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, always busy
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Moncton, NBMay 29, 2014
Enjoyed my short time there as it was only seasonal but was hoping they would keep me full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing work place
Sales and Merchandising (Former Employee), Vaughan Ontario CanadaMay 27, 2014
I believe this was the only place I got to work at besides comic-con or fanexpo where I could fully be myself and get praised for it. The look on customers faces when they came into a store expecting to talk to someone who had no idea of what they were looking for and then talking to me and I introduce them into new things surrounding what product they – more... were looking for. Priceless feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and crazy days at work
Entertainment sales co-op (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 23, 2014
Everyday I always learned something new at work. Everybody was nice, the management was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its got its ups and downs
Sales Associate (Former Employee), TorontoMay 20, 2014
Pros: good sales experience, meet friends, decent pay
Cons: management pressure, repetitive, exhausting, structural issues
Starting off as a seasonal, the job quickly changed as I grew into the position. Not planning to take this job anymore seriously than a summer job while I was in university, I managed to maintain my position as a PT employee.

The pros are you get good sales experience, if you are outgoing you'll meet friends, and you get a decent pay as well as an – more... employee discount. Probably one of the more well respected jobs as a part-time employee in university or college.

The cons however play a strong role, as depending on your person, you may get bogged down during periods of the year (boxing day, slow periods, and frequent structure changes). Starting off (and throughout) the job you will be harassed by managers, your relationship with management becomes conditional on the basis of your sale quality and quantity as well as any other new factor they throw into the equation. While it is a delightful and reasonable challenge to improve your abilities as a sales person, these demands become unrealistic (because of unreachable goals due to lack of foot volume, or demand in the store). Customer report is only as powerful as the amount of money in services and warranties that went into the sale. In order to make the company happy and keep management off your back may mean selling unsuspecting victims a monthly plan that ends of costing twice the price of the technology they purchased it for. Lastly, if you are not brainwashed easily by a repetitive managerial effort to convince you that the service plan they charge the customer twice the price on is worth it, you may be in for a rough ride.

While the job provides a decent pay and a fun work environment with lots to learn, the pressures of the job help push you away after several months to a year working there. Although it is wonderful getting customers you can relate to or help educate, Future Shop is one of those stores where the repetition of some customers will nearly kill you ("I guess you can call me a dinosaur!", "Can I get a hand over here!?!", "Do you do deals?" , "Any discounts?"). When the money is good, and the sales are there, its very easy to get lost on the train, but when you start getting returns and the profits start to fall, you can see the exit sign flashing, urging you to get out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMay 19, 2014
Worked at Futureshop for my co-op placement in Connect Pro.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the environment
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Scarborough, OntMay 15, 2014
Responsibilities
Cashier, handled customer service, inventory and consolidation
Accomplishments
I was promoted to MIT in 6 months but I had to leave for personal reasons.
Skills Used
Satisfied customers, counted the cash at the end of the day and reported to the manager. Accuracy was an
asset when dealing with $100,000 on certain days.
I learnt that – more... customers are always right so the aim was to try and find out ways to make that customer leave
our store with a smile whenever possible.
Product verification and watched out for fraudulent purchases. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Future Shop

History In almost 30 years, Future Shop has grown from a “one store operation” located in Vancouver, British Columbia, – Read more

Future Shop Photos