Future Shop Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more productive and fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC18 February 2018
Future shop was my first job where i learned everything from shipper, to receiver to team leader, inventory control, supervisor then management position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented sales team
Product Sales (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC9 February 2018
A lot of intelligent, bright employees, flexible hours, team-oriented strategies and great management. A great place to learn about sales and customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 February 2018
I was only there during Christmas hiring (seasonal)
Loved the fast pace environment, professional working culture, everyone very accommodating and always ready to teach to new comers and make them feel comfortable
Shift job was not so easy, but because of amazing staff, i didn't mind that too
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and good memories
Sales representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON31 January 2018
great environment to work with many perks and great staff/management. They had a great Training program for new employees. unfortunately they went out of business.
Pros
Training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 January 2018
While unfortunately out of business it was a good job to be around a younger crowd, see upcoming electronics, and work for a decent paycheque.

This job was not a job for a person with no experience with technology.
Pros
good atmosphere, decent pay, benefits.
Cons
no longer open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gone
Customer Service Specialist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON25 January 2018
Its hard to review a company that no longer exists. It was an ok job. It was more the people than the job that made it a good place to work. Too bad it's gone now.
Pros
Team
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company fires employees for no reason
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 January 2018
Company had a great commission structure but decides to go bankrupt and fires all employees ranging from senior to junior with no forewarning or notifaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn about technology
Cashier, Sale Representative, Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 January 2018
Before Future Shop closed down I worked as a geek squad member and repaired laptops. I learned a lot about computers while working here and I also made great connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC19 January 2018
When it was open it was a fun place to work and help people find there goods

Training was accpetional

Co workers were fantastic

Decent benefits

Too bad it shutdown
Pros
Fun enviroment
Cons
Greedy co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 January 2018
Very dynamic work environment. Must have strong sales abilities to survive. The company no longer exists, but keeping great memories of the time I spent there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 January 2018
 Promoted sales items to consumers and provide general customer service
 Provided customers with presentations on the benefits and uses of electronic, various computer hardware, software products and warranty services
 Reviewed and adapted to information regarding product innovations, competitors and market conditions
 Conducted sales transactions and receive payments via automatic debit, credit or cash
 Completed return and exchanges for eligible customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Fun , Competetive
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 January 2018
This was a wonderful place to work. The managers were prepared and they had expectations and great at managing their departments. The staff were appreciated and well trained
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Too much staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Appliance Expert (Former Employee) –  West Vancouver, BC1 January 2018
Future Shop was a very interesting place to work. I enjoyed the competitive sales environment. Working there was a lot of fun, and I met a lot of great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with gaming systems in lunchroom
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON28 December 2017
Future Shop was a great place to work at, then it became Best Buy and everything changed. It wasn't so fun when it changed. Customers could tell the difference quit a bit.
Pros
fun place
Cons
then it changed the name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Employee
Home Theatre Product Expert (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 December 2017
I was a seasonal employee at FutureShop. I worked hard for sporadic shifts. I was treated with respect and given adequate training. Paid my bills during a transition period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work before the downfall
Multi-Channel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 December 2017
Was a great way to gain sales and customer facing experience. Had a lot of fun working there and was a great first job. The discounts were amazing and it was a good place for students.
Pros
Great discounts
Cons
Questionable management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Future Shop was unfortunate.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 December 2017
This employer did not fulfill their obligations to their employees. They were not compensated fairly nor were they treated fairly. nepotism was very strong here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place for work
I.T Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 November 2017
Was able to get to play and knowing the new electronics product as well as a very good place for learning about customer service.Sad that Store like Futureshop is closed permanently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sell Sell Sell
Product Expert (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2017
Your there to sell not make friends . If your approached by a customer who wants product in a different department tv etc help them take the sale. Dont be bullied by this isnt your department. It can be very cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 November 2017
This company was amazing to work for, everybody was chill and fun but we got our work done and enjoyed it. Because of the job culture I didn't care much for the Salary.
Pros
Culture
Cons
It was bought out by Best Buy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Future Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 782 reviews
5269
4283
3164
246
120

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture