Find companies:
Freescale Semiconductor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

Freescale Semiconductor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be mediocre
Senior individual contributor (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 22, 2014
Pros: good benefits package, generally positive work environment
Cons: regular upper management churn, high dilbert phb quotient
In 30+ years around this organization, I was regularly stunned by how the leadership squandered the hard work of very creative employees.

There are three classes of employees here: 1) the senior leadership (lots and lots of Directors, VPs, SVPs and EVPs) who play political games, 2) chip designers who work extremely long hours to meet unreasonable – more... deadlines, and who as a defense mechanism adopt a prima donna attitude toward 3) the rest of the company who scrambles to adapt to the political games of the executives and the demands of the prima donnas to do things their way at the expense of all others' work processes.

So why did I (and so many others) hang around for so long? The pay and benefits are competitive, obviously. And the work environment is exciting. And there's a lingering hope that the management will finally pull things together to do really great things. It seems the company is always on the verge of breakthrough. And then a management change, market shift, or internal politics - coupled with short-sighted thinking - fritters away the opportunity.

And everyone settles back into mediocrity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work if you are looking stability and work/life balance
IT Business analyst (Former Employee), Guadalajara, MexicoMarch 11, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, work/life balance, good benefits, lots of freebies
Cons: lack of challenge, you can reach your comfort zone easily
Disclaimer: this review is form someone who worked on the Business Operations area of the company, I cannot say my view applies to other areas like Engineering RH, etc.

This is great place to work if you are looking stability, not much stress and work/life balance, but do not expect much opportunities to move your career to a new path or learn new – more... abilities besides those required by your position.

The work hours are very flexible in most of the teams, they offered good compensation and benefits, and had many well appreciated extra freebies like fresh coffee everyday, breakfast, a small library, table games, yoga classes, etc. Management is usually very nice and they seem to hear most of the demands of the employees.

However, as I stated above, the company is not focused in helping their existing employees into exploring new career opportunities within the organization, and neither in improving their skills offering business training.

I would highly recommend this company for young self motivated people that plan to actively keep searching new opportunities after a while, or for those that do not mind not being challenged but appreciate stability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, strong proffesionals
Engineer (Former Employee), Tempe, AZFebruary 13, 2014
Well defined responsibilities
Recognition of ideas and people behind them
Intelligent conversations
great coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great, lange company to navigate, and learn
Director, Field Application Engineering, Asia (Current Employee), ShenzhenFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: large business base, and diverse products to learn
Very big semi-conductor manufacture with great culture of collaboration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and rewarding engineering experience
Facilities Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Designing, managing, maintaining and repairing gas, chemical and water purification systems under a demanding manufacturing organization. Exceptionally competent, accomplished co-workers fostered a welcoming environment for developing engineering talents. Focused on the goal of improving wafer production, the team's manager directed and supervised hundreds – more... of projects that improved and enhanced facility products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Intern (Former Employee), Noida, UPJanuary 27, 2014
Employees are nice and helpful, have exhaustive knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Design Lead (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJanuary 23, 2014
Engineers with good knowledge
Training courses for different level of engineers and managers
Good place to learn management skill
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to balance work and personal life.
Marketing Metrics and Analytics manager (Current Employee), Guadalajara, MexJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: compensation
Great company and great opportunities as well as challenges. Managment commited to growth, a sense of collaboration and contributions between peers is seen and great to work in such a innovative company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, lots of re-orgs
Demand Creation Manager (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 16, 2013
I have worked with this company for 5 years. I enjoy working with my team members and love the flexible schedule. During my five years there I have seen too many re-orgs, this makes it difficult to build consistency for reporting and measuring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No training or quality systems
Photolithography Process Engineer C3 (Current Employee), Austin, TXDecember 8, 2013
Motorola culture has been carried over which is not effective for employee growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, friendly work place
Manufacturing Operator (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 7, 2013
Pros: laid back work environment, friendly
Cons: worked thru temp agency, old tools in areas
Freescale is a great, easy laid back work environment. Everyone is very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care about employees or career advancement.
Equipment Technician III (Current Employee), Chandler, AZNovember 22, 2013
Pros: decent pay
Cons: stressful, long hours, management is disconnected from employees.
Difficult work environment, management is disconnected from employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freescale Chandler Site
South Fab Opeator (Former Employee), Chandler, ArizonaNovember 9, 2013
Pros: extended contract work, weekly paycheck, high pay for previous semiconductor experience, 12-hour schedule
Cons: [all of the following depend on the shift] morale, training regiment, hostile work environment, poor management, favoritism
I was contracted with GCA Services to work for the Freescale Chandler Site, former MOS 8.

The new hire contractor orientation, unlike several I've unattended, was actually enjoyable yet remained informative. Many kudos to the OSHA trainer; said individual made that portion very fun and was very funny.

Before I continue on with the rest of my review, – more... I'd like to make a disclaimer: This was my experience on one of the night shifts and as such have no idea how the work environment is on other shifts.

I greatly enjoyed my work, the duties assigned to me and the 12-hour compressed shift.
Unfortunately, the one major flaw or con, were the Freescale Employees.
Morale, dissatisfaction, drama, favoritism were rampant on that particular shift.

You have a great deal of former Motorola employees, some having been there for 20-30 years, still working at the site, many of which contributed to the drama and low morale in the workplace.
Being negative, unwilling to work or cooperate with others, throwing tantrums and being manipulative were just some of the examples of their behavior.

The training provided on that shift has been the worst I have ever experienced, that being very disorganized, unprofessional and unforgiving.
During my employment, there was no official training regiment, nor designated trainers.
Employees were chosen at random to train contract workers; employees who they themselves had no people skills, patience, understanding or empathy and were quite vocal about their disapproval in being a trainer.
Trainers should want to be trainers, or else it lends even further to low morale and inefficient training.

Contract workers were encouraged to voice their concerns to the GCA On-Site representative, but this individual was more so a paper tiger of sorts, simply a figure head and in most cases gave the feeling that our concerns were overblown, exaggerated, or we were being too sensitive.
If there were any issues that could not be resolved, the contract worker would be relocated and assigned to a different bay... however, doing so would become public knowledge, being that it was not difficult to surmise why the individual was transferred.

This had definite ramifications; there was a no-tolerance policy for retaliation but it was done in such a way that it was subtle and indirect and thus unable to prove, ranging from gossip, rumors and negative discussions to being labeled as "difficult to teach".

The double-edged sword of working at the Chandler Freescale site was that they didn't follow the typical contingent worker contract; reliable, responsible, hard-working individuals could remain with the company on contract for several years, some having been there for up to 4 years.... unlike many Semiconductor companies that usually only employ you for at least a year (I'm looking at you Intel)

Unfortunately, the very same thing that made Freescale appealing, was also a major negative; the managers unwillingness or inability to hire permanently was a major negative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation and design development tasks
Intern (Former Employee), Noida, UPOctober 21, 2013
As i am passionate to work in VLSI field, it was a great learning experience to work with freescale ssemiconductor.
The key to success in that organization is innovation
Tasks performed were purely technical and related to digital design in front end team with which i was working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment, Good People
Semiconductor Operator (Current Employee), Austin, TxSeptember 16, 2013
Great company to work for, very demanding but also very rewarding.Work with great people and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Process Technician (Former Employee), Chandler, AZSeptember 2, 2013
Cons: 85% of employees are temp. workers
Management was good.
Permanent employees were helpful.
Too Many Temp. workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Supportive Work Environment
IT/Software Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 26, 2013
Pros: benefits, work/life balance, productive environment
Cons: career advancement, salary, training
- Must be a self-motivated to initiate the work and to accomplish the job well.
- Must be a self-learner to pick up newest technology in the software development process/environment.
- Supportive team and team members especially to rearchitect the automation application and troubleshoot issue that involving integrated application in the manufacturing – more... software system.
- Inline managers usually are on the employee's side, but their hands are also tight. Sometimes, they try to do our best to better compensation raise and/or training budget, but the budget is limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong tech company
sales (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 24, 2013
A good place to work. Leading edge on MCU and networking. Middle of the road compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Maint tech (Former Employee), chandler,azAugust 3, 2013
It's a good company at first but there is alot of corporate politics within the chain of command.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech company bailing themselves out of debt
Director (Current Employee), Chandler, AZJuly 26, 2013
Pros: benefits, but get a good salary going in
Cons: raises this year were first in three years.
Great company with Motorola heritage. Strapped with debt it's difficult for them to invest as needed to grow. New leadership and lots of change makes Freescale a risky proposition right now for employment.

About Freescale Semiconductor

Freescale Semiconductor Holdings I, Ltd. (Freescale) is engaged in the design and manufacture of embedded processors. In addition – Read more