Find companies:
FRASER HEALTH AUTHORITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

FRASER HEALTH AUTHORITY Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
patient care is utmost
Clerk/Receptionist (Current Employee), Abbotsford, BCJune 19, 2013
Pros: i get to help all i can help, physicians, units, dr. offices, various departments.
Cons: frustrating at times.
I dont have a typical day, all are different. I do run audit reports every morning. From then on its phone calls, emails, Etc. Prioritizing workload.
My management team has been great. They will listen to feedback.
Hardest part of my job is some days the frustration levels can get pretty high.

I truely enjoy helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Third Class Power Engineer/Chief Engineer (Current Employee), Surrey, BCJune 8, 2013
Pros: five minutes to go to work
Cons: pay parking
As a full time shift engineer, I only work 12 days per month. Working there for over 20 years, co-workers make a great environment to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent organization to be a part of.
Social Work & Speech Pathology Secretary (Current Employee), Port Moody, BCJune 6, 2013
Pros: the diversity, flexibility, my co-workers, living and working in the same community.
Cons: not the proper workspace provided.
I work in an extremelly fast paced, high volume environment on a daily basis. As I work for 2 different departments I am always needing to switch gears and re-prioritize my day and do what is most important first. Working at FHA has provided me with many great skills, both professionally and personally. I enjoy all the people I work with and will miss – more... the people who have been a second family to me through out my time at FHA. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help, support and listen to patients and families and provide them with resources needed to get through their illness or difficulties they are facing. I would say the hardest part of my job is to try and not be a sponge and absorb what you have heard or seen through out your day and not take it home with me. I would not be leaving FHA if I did not have to re-locate to Kamloops. I am excited for the relocation and am already in love with Kamloops. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work. Fun people. Meeting new people
Receptionist Secretary (Current Employee), Vancouver. BCApril 3, 2013
Very busy, welcoming clients
Variety of work
Lovely people to work with
Most enjoyable part of my work is meeting new people and helping them feel at ease and comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great setting
ER, casual as an LPN (Current Employee), abbotsford,bcJanuary 21, 2013
It's a nursing job, so who you work for is sort of irrelevant. The patient are the focus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding
Community Support Worker (Former Employee), Maple Ridge, BCJanuary 3, 2013
Caring for elderly and sick community members is demanding but rewarding. A typical day can be from bathing an elderly gentleman to taking out a young person for a walk in their wheelchair. Management is understanding but also demanding at times. Hardly see co workers as we are one on one in private homes. The hardest part of this job is leaving it – more... at work but most enjoyable to hear someone enthusiastically say THANK YOU as you are leaving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fraser Health Authority is an equal opportunity employer who provide their staff with a safe, secure and respectful workplace.
LPN (Current Employee), Chilliwack, BCOctober 27, 2012
Pros: great wage and benefits with a pension.
Cons: long shifts with physical and mental exhaustion.
Each day is new and different at my job in health care. The challenges that are presented to me at work are usually unique and have an impact on lives in a deep and meaningful way. Some of the choices and decisions we make can mean the difference between life and death in some cases. I have learned that to be a "health care provider" takes daily sacrifice, – more... constant reflection, collaboration and critical thinking among many other factors. Our management is professional, informed, well educated, fair minded and has a open door policy. My co-workers form a tight network of multi talented people in areas such as: social work, dietary, cleaning, recreation and music therapy, pastoral/ clergy, office work, psychology, medical science, and a host of others. We all have the common goal in extended care of ensuring our clients/residents a safe and secure environment to live in dignity and comfort as they sojourn in their final journey of life. Our objective is comfort. As opposed to the fast paced acute care setting where our goal is to give the patient the best quality care in the most professional and proficient manner possible. Our overall objective is to promote health and wellness in all areas of health care.The most difficult part of being a nurse is saying goodbye to people we care for. It's also about seeing how fragile and valuable life and our bodies really are. The best part of my job are the close relationships that are formed under these extreme conditions where life is laid bare and emotions are often raw, where life is real. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment.
Shift Engineer fourth class/maintenance worker 5 (Current Employee), Maple Ridge, BCOctober 21, 2012
Pros: good working environment.
Cons: no overtime.no advancement.
Power Plant,operation including firing steam boiler, maintaing heating boilers,boiler water analysis,plant maintenance including fan/pump preventitive maintenance/repair/replacement.Chiller operation[up to 30 ton],chiller water tower water testing [corrosion inhibitor /biocide concentrations].I also maintain/repair all of the ice-machines in the hospital.I – more... just passed the required certification for charging/recovering/purchasing refrigerants on oct 13 2012 @ B.C.I.T.. I also have my first year of commercial refrigeration training B.C.I.T. certificate of completion.Management/co-workers all good people. The hardest part of the job is working on equipment that there is no reference material[ maintenance manuals].Also, very little overtime.No advancement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and secure job
Food Service Supervisor/ Diet Technician (Current Employee), Surrey, BCOctober 14, 2012
Pros: great benefits and job security
Cons: rotational shifts
Great co workers
Very strong Union
Great Benefits
Full time hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work ethics with friendly and personable co-workers
Student Environmental Health Officer (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: being able to interact with many different people on different levels
Cons: driving a lot
A typical day at work would start with me checking for phone and email messages. I would then prioritize my inspections appropriately according to their urgency.

I learned that team work and communication are paramount in the office with co-workers as well as outside the office when I am interacting with operators.

The office I had worked at was strong – more... in work ethics and people were truly satisfied with their jobs and they are proud with the quality of work that is accomplished with the the care and time they put into their work.

The hardest part of the job was breaking through language barriers when communicating with operators coming from a different cultural backgroud. I need to spend more time and use more body language in order to get my point across to them.

The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to meet different people on a daily basis. It's a continual learning experience everyday and I am very humbled by it. I am also excited to share my knowledge from school to educate the importance of public health to better the health of the public and the community in which we live. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Secure Place to Work
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Jim Pattison Outpatient Care and Surgery CentreSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: health benefits, paid time off, job security
Cons: culture and job satisfaction vary, change can be slow in large complex organization
Fraser Health is a large employer in the metro Vancouver area.

Depending which hospital, facility or corporate office you work at, management and culture can vary greatly. Belonging to different unions also affect culture and job satisfaction.

Advancement opportunities can be a bit limited as this is quite a bureaucratic organization, but job security – more... is good. People don't call healthcare/goverment jobs the "Golden Handcuffs" for nothing. Security is good, but that means that poor performers often get awarded the same as star performers. Benefits are among the best you can get. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home and fun to work at Mission Memorial Hospital
LPN (Current Employee), Mission,BCApril 27, 2013
Pros: freindly environment to work.
Cons: not so much opportunities to go back to same level of nursing i have graduated back in 1993.
I have started working as a Care Aide at Mission Memorial Hospital since Feb.2006 and continued working and I got my LPN license in Nov.2007,I got full time job on the medical floor on Feb.2008 up to now. I had support from the manager and the CNE to go back to school and complete the RN Re-entry Program and I have completed the 300 hours preceptorship – more... at Mission Meomrial Hospital. Back in 2012 I have failed to pass the RN Licensing Exam twice, and the CRNBC held my temperary license untill passing the RN Exam.
I like working at Mission Memorial Hospital every one knows me and I know every one too, we are working as a team here at Mission Memorial Hospital. – less

About FRASER HEALTH AUTHORITY

Fraser Health provides health care to 1.5 million people in Metro Vancouver and the Fraser Valley, BC. Services range from acute – Read more