Fortinos Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is embarrassingly ill-suited
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 February 2018
Managment attempted to rule through oppressive and threatening attitudes. They paid horribly, with little-to-no chance for advancement. Promised high hours when I was hired, but never followed through, and actually reduced it to 20 hours a week.
Pros
None
Cons
Many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 February 2018
Great part time job with flexible hours. learn how to give great customer service. Management is good for the most part. Most co-workers are awesome. Tasks are easy.
Pros
breaks
Cons
hour cuts and repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2018
I have learned a great deal about .ustomer service and problem solving from my experience at Fortinos. I have been given many opportunities to learn new things and have made great friends with my co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 January 2018
It is a job that allows you to develop Customer Relations skills. You are dealing with all sorts of people and cultures and it gives you an opportunity to appreciate and be helpful to everyone.
Pros
No pros, a bit of benefits and flexible hours part time
Cons
Management is not that great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorest management within grocery stores
Carvery Clerk, Main St West (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2018
The management would rather gossip about what other employees personal lives than actually properly manage them. They are also so unreliable considering the Carvery department was without a direct manager for over 4 months which is outrageous to have a department without a proper manager for so long.
Pros
Flexible timetables
Cons
Poorly Managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Part-Time Pizza and Panini Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 January 2018
A typical day at work:
- cutting dough
- stretching dough
- dealing with customers
- dealing with cash/registrars
- the different kinds of breads and pizzas
- how to deal with complaints
- how to take orders
- how to take orders through phone call
- how to operate ovens/working with ovens

What I learned:
- how to interact with customers
- how to handle cash
- how to deal with complaints

Management:
- really awesome managers at Fortinos
- friendly environment
- helpful and approachable

Hardest Part:
- workplace stress (whenever it got busy, or if there was a complaint)

Most Enjoyable Part of Job:
- working with you co-workers
- building relationships with customers
Pros
Guaranteed breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work atmosphere
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 January 2018
All though my experience of working at Fortinos is short, I see that it is a fair work environment with many different job opportunities. The job tasks and workload is reasonable as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fortinos
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 January 2018
repetitive work with hour cuts the management is very disrespectful and show favouritism toward certain employees. a lot of your co workers will be awesome but management is a mess. The job is easy but as you could expect some customers aren't the friendliest but that is not a big deal. best thing about it is that you get benefits even as a part timer.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
management, favouritism and hour cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2018
gave me fewer shifts after an injury and when all the cashiers already needed hours they hired a bunch of new people, leaving the senior cashiers with even less then they had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable and unproductive workplace
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON9 January 2018
Terrible terrible mamagement. My deli department manger barely finished high school and quite frankly was dumb as a doorknob. She treated employees with no respect and was discriminatory against me for both my mental health issues and sexuality. Union had to get involved before i was finally fed up and quit. Worst first job I could've possibly gotten, my parents came so close to filing a law suit against the company. You'd think they'd try and hire management that was at least half politically correct and intelligent.
Pros
awesome co-workers
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very reliable job , perfect for students
Bakery Clerk / cake decorator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 December 2017
I learned a lot of skills working here, management is pretty decent thanks to the union, very flexible with hours when I worked there, and I worked my way up to having benefits which is hard to find nowadays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op
Co-op at Fortinos Supermarket (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, BM27 December 2017
it was fun. I did photo-editing in the photo lab. it including prepping the photos, editing the photos and making sure the customers receive their photographs on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment with Flexible Hours
Carvery Chef (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON26 December 2017
Great place to work with amazing staff. Serving customers is my favourite part as I love being friendly with everyone. My only complaint has nothing to do with the specific job, but rather the distance I have to travel between my apartment in Hamilton and this Fortinos in Burlington.
Pros
Flexible hours, great co-workers
Cons
Far location (I live in Hamilton, work in Burlington)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
floral Clerk (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON22 December 2017
A lot of work for very little pay but the people were great.

Didn't stay for very long as I had accepted a full time career elsewhere. I've worked with Fortino's in the past.
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
terrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work evironment
Dairy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterdown, ON19 December 2017
Stocking supplies
Time management and hard work
Great staff and customers
Fun environment that is not to strict
Dealing with rude people
Helping nice customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Grocery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON19 December 2017
Great place to work if you are a student. Management is good about accommodating school schedules. Fast paced work environment with deadlines. Most staff gets along well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 December 2017
great place to work, friendly staff, clean store, many different products to learn about. hardest part of job in deli is staying warm. many different departments to walk thru
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Deli (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 December 2017
it was a nice to work, to come into work was exciting. loved the workers i worked with. my manager was calm and outgoing. pay was not very good as well as the benefits.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GEt repetitive but good job security
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON22 November 2017
A good place to work when you are starting out. Very hard to become a manager though. No room for growth but the environment has great people that love to help customers.
Pros
Job security/ Decent hours for a teenager
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON21 November 2017
Wonderful people. Coworkers are understanding and provide a sense of support. Always given schedule well ahead of time. Never had any problems. Hope to return.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport