Fort McKay Group of Companies Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this company has good system for eployees
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 12, 2016
My last shift was 6 days on 6 dsys off, but It depends on positions. while I was working I didn't learn anything from the company. Training system isn't good, but Salary is not bed. Working Safety is good. Specially I like all my co-workers. so I was happy.
Pros
6 days on 6 days off. good safety systems.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, safe place to work. Employee is number asset.
930-E Haul Truck (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJune 20, 2016
Busy, fast pace with a high emphases on safety. Very understanding company to work for as I had a major family emergency and had to return home. They held my job for a couple of months, but unfortunately I was not able to return. I have nothing but positive words for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was happy at first but things changed
MRM 797 Team Leader/Supervisor, Shell Albian Sands (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurrayFebruary 7, 2016
initially i was happy with my employment at Fort Mckay but after the downfall of the economy things changed within the company that made it not so pleasant a place to work
Pros
good fellow employees
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job and was very disappointed to have been laid-off due to a shortage of work. I'm very enthusiastic about returning as an operator.
Heavy Haul Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurrayDecember 2, 2015
It was a wonderful experience, which I loved doing and can't wait to return too. I would highly recommend others to look into this field of work. I found it truly rewarding.
Pros
I loved the shift work, as it was 6 days on 6 days off. plenty of time with my family.
Cons
Although they were long hours, It was awesome to be making a difference at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 29, 2015
A very busy and fast environment to work in but the staff and management were informative and clear directions were given in regards to deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
HEO/On-boarder/Maintenance and HSE Admin (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurrayOctober 18, 2015
Everyone, including CEO and managers, always had time to sit down with you and explain and answer questions without hesitation
Very welcoming atmosphere
Everyone worked as a team
Every day was fun and exciting
Always had the opportunity to move up and achieve goals
Pros
Perfect company to work for
Cons
Lay-offs were always a worry
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
General Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABSeptember 16, 2015
to disorganized company, money in the company wasted or lost through bad management. worst part is the company has not reinvested any money back into company. very poor at dealing with bad management and getting rid of them. that is why that company will never succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Rock Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 28, 2015
good workers, committed, strong ethnical hiring practice, safety orientated company training programs, communicate with all personal and community involvement.
Pros
Safety Training
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn new skills
Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 30, 2015
Overall, it is a secure job environment, but there is too much favoritism practiced when position placement and advancement opportunities arise.
Pros
Union based
Cons
Favoritism heavily practiced
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 15, 2015
A good company to work with, a great opportunity to learn and expand my knowledge. A great team to work with and learn from.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A team oriented environment
Heavy Equipment Operator/Acting Tech/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray ABApril 9, 2015
Fun, operating haul trucks: CAT 797B 797F, 793D, 793F, 789D, 785D, 777D, 777F, 773F. Electric haul Trucks: Komatsu 930E, Hitachi EH 500, Liebherr T282.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company lost more than a few projects to other subcontractors due to poor planning and not having the right equipment for the project at hand.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 7, 2015
Gave me an opportunity to work in the oilsands. I heard that this was the company to work for 3 or 4 years ago. No more profit sharing or LOA. I worked with a great group of people while I was there and enjoyed my time working for FMGOC.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsecure
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  fort mcmurray albertaMarch 21, 2015
not sure if working day to day
low morel
lowest paying company in area
micro management team leads and GF
very few natives in any management positions ...for a native company that's sad
wrong people in management most are there for fast cash and don't care about company future
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace to be apart of. would always be learning something new
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 25, 2015
i would have to say that working at a companines takes focus and a level of maturity. being comfortable talking to your coworkers can also help make an experience better. i would say the best thing about this job is always getting to learn something new.
Pros
friendly coworkers, get to learn new things
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
HEO (Former Employee) –  fort mcMurrayFebruary 24, 2015
12 hour day

review safety practice
preform walk around on equipment
receive task list
preform tasks safely and efficiently
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my day at work
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABAugust 10, 2014
I start my day off at work by doing our toolbox talk safety is number one. After we are finished the toolbox talk in the morning we go off with the people we are teamed up with for the day and start our route for the day. Which is picking up the used coveralls and after doing so we scanned them and then they get picked up by the company that cleans them ; then they drop off the clean coveralls. After the clean ones are dropped off our team begins sorting them into their sizes and then we distribute them through out the site. what i have learned from this job is how to problem solve and how to get the job done on a tight schedule. the thing I enjoy most about working were i am at now is my co-workers i love to get to know people and learning how to work with others. the hardest part about my job would be the repetitive movement its constant bending and twisting.
Pros
the benefits
Cons
no double time after 8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and positive plave to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 26, 2014
Great place to work and the workload is very light.
Amazing co-workers
Management is great
Pros
great supervisors, great lunch time and free drinks in case of
Cons
long paid hours but i loved it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get site experience
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 26, 2014
Shovel snow in rotating areas of responsibility. work depends on the weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Development and Marketing Coordinator
Business Development & Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABMarch 13, 2014
I enjoy a challenging work atmosphere and opportunity to advance within the company I work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Assistant
Admin. Assitant to GM Mine Operations (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 28, 2014
No job security - here today gone tomorrow
No communication
Management all power hungry
**Direct supervisor very good to work for but hands tied by upper management**
A lot of work place bullying and harassement
Was this review helpful?Yes25No2Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

Fort McKay Group of Companies Reviews by Location