Formica Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, IN31 October 2016
Warehouse work, learned all aspects of this company. fabrication, auto press, banding. Certifications on pallet jacks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, be careful
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OH2 October 2016
Can make alot of money, be careful who you talk to, management is sneaky and underhanded also some Co workers, force you to do alot of overtime sometime last minute notice.
Pros
Money
Cons
Forcing you to work a shift, not willing to work with you
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, forced overtime, full benefits
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH16 June 2016
The money is decent for the work. Union job, so fees are deducted out of every check once the probationary period is completed. Overtime is scheduled, and refusal to work overtime results in points. Eventually the points will lead to termination. Often scheduled to come into work for 4 hours on off days. Can schedule up to 12 hours. Full benefits. A lot of hours, but overall a decent place to work for the amount of money.
Pros
Unlimited overtime
Cons
Forced overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for exercise
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Comfort, IN2 December 2015
has awesome people to work with on second shift. It does require a lot of heavy lifting and walking which makes it great for exercising so you don't have to shell out a lot money for gym membership. the hardest part of the job is constant over time which takes away from the daytime. it has great benefits when you get hired on.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you acquire a lot of skill and know how job can be farely easy
Vitx Treater Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH29 September 2015
Formica is GOOD company its had its ups and downs,but through it all I had a great chance to learn a unmeasureable amount knowledge about machinery and the laminate process
Pros
companies willing to give you work to match you individual pace
Cons
you will handle a lot of chemicals and can get dirty a times
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship
Design Development Coordinator and Co-op (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH26 September 2015
A great learning opportunity with some very fun people. Got to go to Chicago to Global Shop and help with the show report thereafter.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible work environment with advancement opportunities
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH19 September 2015
Time management is the most important factor in my daily activities.

My goal everyday is respond to customers and the outside sales team within the guidelines established by our corporate office. If I do not have answers before end of business day, I contact the customers and/or the outside sales team whether I have an answer or not.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I have co-workers and management to assist me if I have questions or need help.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job duties.
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OH14 July 2015
Enjoyed the detail work and the daily challenges. Great co-workers. Great benefits. Needs better understanding and open communication between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Order Picker, Put Away Items (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, IN24 June 2015
the worst part of the job is that it was really hot an not enough fans to keep it cool. the co-workers were rude and hard to work with and the management was unprofessional.
Pros
breaks every 2 hours
Cons
management needs help
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company for young men and women
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Samples Department17 June 2015
Full service distribution warehouse, serving Formica Distributors and Direct Accounts. Offers incredible benefits.
Pros
Quarterly bonus
Cons
Slim opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Production Worker
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH12 January 2015
Putting sheets of lamented material on convertor table. And driving lift machinery. And help checking the finish product for defects.
Pros
Work alot of hours
Cons
I wasn't given the opportunity to advance in job position
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and coaching new associates
Assistant Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN6 November 2014
Day to day scheduling of all site operations.

How to teach and coach operational associates.
Pros
To see the sites sucess with our customers requriments
Cons
Having to terminate associates
Was this review helpful?Yes4No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding place to work
Set Up Operator (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CA11 September 2014
well structured and organized clean and safe work environment that provided good benefits and income. Has a wide range of advancement opportunity
Pros
a fair place to work
Cons
noise
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lithia Springs, GA24 July 2014
I have nothing bad to say about formica, it was a pleasure to meet so many wonderful people.My mananger was not to much of a good person but I made it through.
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there over 20 years and was fired while on medical leave
Industrial Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH3 July 2014
Super weak union, might as we'll be company sponsored. In 23 years needed union help once. Was told too bad, would not even return my calls. When I started there in the 80's was an excellent workplace. Has slowly gone downhill after numerous buyouts, 2 and 3 tier wages etc. if offered my job back today would say no!
Pros
Good employee's
Cons
Management is lost
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed Gor business
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Odenton, MD8 January 2014
Closed for business. They no longer exist in the US but it was a great place. Everyone experiences things differently
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Production worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, Ohio7 September 2013
I love my job!!! Management is easy to get along with. The employees are friendly. You can make a lot of money if you don't mind working.
Pros
Great Pay, great management, tons of overtime . 401k, health benefits, credit union on site, quarterly incentive bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes45No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OH8 August 2013
Meeting at beginning of shift for carryover work and/or company news was very incomplete part of the time. On call for machine breakdowns and assigned tasks and/or P.M.s. Some production worker sabotage mostly at beginning and/or end of shift.
I learned a lot about T.S. with PLCs and a little about unions. Stayed very proficient at troubleshooting, ect.
Management very strict and trigger happy.
Co-workers were great.
Sabotage
Gratification of fixing the machine and extra electrical work.
Pros
Rewards for jobs well done.
Cons
Weak union and strict trigger happy management
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OH29 July 2013
Poor management, no advancement possible.
Nice sales team
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met my honey where I made a ton of money
Press Room / Floated to other departments (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, Ohio26 July 2013
Great place to work, the elders taught the newer generation about the old way of doing things right. Wages where great, people where great, and where I made my money I met my honey of 6years. Now I am a nurse and still miss that place!
Pros
$$$, great work schedule, great people
Cons
Some of the older generation was not welcoming of the newer generation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7