Formica Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for exercise
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Mount Comfort, INDecember 2, 2015
has awesome people to work with on second shift. It does require a lot of heavy lifting and walking which makes it great for exercising so you don't have to shell out a lot money for gym membership. the hardest part of the job is constant over time which takes away from the daytime. it has great benefits when you get hired on.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you acquire a lot of skill and know how job can be farely easy
Vitx Treater Operator (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 29, 2015
Formica is GOOD company its had its ups and downs,but through it all I had a great chance to learn a unmeasureable amount knowledge about machinery and the laminate process
Pros
companies willing to give you work to match you individual pace
Cons
you will handle a lot of chemicals and can get dirty a times
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internship
Design Development Coordinator and Co-op (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 26, 2015
A great learning opportunity with some very fun people. Got to go to Chicago to Global Shop and help with the show report thereafter.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible work environment with advancement opportunities
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHSeptember 19, 2015
Time management is the most important factor in my daily activities.

My goal everyday is respond to customers and the outside sales team within the guidelines established by our corporate office. If I do not have answers before end of business day, I contact the customers and/or the outside sales team whether I have an answer or not.

The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing I have co-workers and management to assist me if I have questions or need help.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job duties.
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHJuly 14, 2015
Enjoyed the detail work and the daily challenges. Great co-workers. Great benefits. Needs better understanding and open communication between departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Order Picker, Put Away Items (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, INJune 24, 2015
the worst part of the job is that it was really hot an not enough fans to keep it cool. the co-workers were rude and hard to work with and the management was unprofessional.
Pros
breaks every 2 hours
Cons
management needs help
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company for young men and women
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Samples DepartmentJune 17, 2015
Full service distribution warehouse, serving Formica Distributors and Direct Accounts. Offers incredible benefits.
Pros
Quarterly bonus
Cons
Slim opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Production Worker
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 12, 2015
Putting sheets of lamented material on convertor table. And driving lift machinery. And help checking the finish product for defects.
Pros
work alot of hours
Cons
i wasn't given the opportunity to advance in job position
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and coaching new associates
Assistant Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 6, 2014
Day to day scheduling of all site operations.

How to teach and coach operational associates.
Pros
to see the sites sucess with our customers requriments
Cons
having to terminate associates
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding place to work
Set Up Operator (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CASeptember 11, 2014
well structured and organized clean and safe work environment that provided good benefits and income. Has a wide range of advancement opportunity
Pros
a fair place to work
Cons
noise
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lithia Springs, GAJuly 24, 2014
I have nothing bad to say about formica, it was a pleasure to meet so many wonderful people.My mananger was not to much of a good person but I made it through.
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there over 20 years and was fired while on medical leave
Industrial Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 3, 2014
Super weak union, might as we'll be company sponsored. In 23 years needed union help once. Was told too bad, would not even return my calls. When I started there in the 80's was an excellent workplace. Has slowly gone downhill after numerous buyouts, 2 and 3 tier wages etc. if offered my job back today would say no!
Pros
good employee's
Cons
management is lost
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed Gor business
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Odenton, MDJanuary 8, 2014
Closed for business. They no longer exist in the US but it was a great place. Everyone experiences things differently
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Production worker (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioSeptember 7, 2013
I love my job!!! Management is easy to get along with. The employees are friendly. You can make a lot of money if you don't mind working.
Pros
great pay, great management, tons of overtime . 401k, health benefits, credit union on site, quarterly incentive bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes38No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHAugust 8, 2013
Meeting at beginning of shift for carryover work and/or company news was very incomplete part of the time. On call for machine breakdowns and assigned tasks and/or P.M.s. Some production worker sabotage mostly at beginning and/or end of shift.
I learned a lot about T.S. with PLCs and a little about unions. Stayed very proficient at troubleshooting, ect.
Management very strict and trigger happy.
Co-workers were great.
Sabotage
Gratification of fixing the machine and extra electrical work.
Pros
rewards for jobs well done.
Cons
weak union and strict trigger happy management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 29, 2013
Poor management, no advancement possible.
Nice sales team
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met my honey where I made a ton of money
Press Room / Floated to other departments (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OhioJuly 26, 2013
Great place to work, the elders taught the newer generation about the old way of doing things right. Wages where great, people where great, and where I made my money I met my honey of 6years. Now I am a nurse and still miss that place!
Pros
$$$, great work schedule, great people
Cons
some of the older generation was not welcoming of the newer generation
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Lead
Production Lead (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAJune 8, 2013
a typical day was well organized and fast paced, I learn to make fast decisions and take responsibility for my own actions. The hardest part of the day was to re-group after the previous shift. The most enjoyable part of the job was the pay.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
worked the 3rd shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hours,productive workers great inventory
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  piscataway new jerseyApril 4, 2013
learned to report inventory control,trucking manifests,driver communication skills,writing bills of laden,manifests,purchasing products and the right products for the right customer
Pros
great working communications with workers
Cons
all good
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Countertop maker
Collator (Former Employee) –  Evendale, OHMarch 13, 2013
Great place to work, great pay and benefits. Management is respectable.
Pros
great pay, overtime available, weekly pay
Cons
was part of a massive lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture