Find companies:
Forever 21
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,275 reviews

Forever 21 Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace, friendly people, fun, good music
Sales Associate of merchandise (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 6, 2013
Pros: good working environment
my shifts were 5 hours on weekdays and 8 hours on weekends.
my job was a sales associate, i helped out customers by reaching their needs of merchandise by assisting them on finding specific articles of clothing. I would great customers and ask them if they needed any help or how their day was going. When it would get busy we work as a team to keep the – more... store tidy and reach customer service goals. Some days i worked in the fitting room and helped out other associates in their department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 19, 2013
working at Forever21 taught me about customer service and also how to work as a team in order to provide the highest level of service to customers. Also Maintained friendly and professional customer interactions.My co-workers were friendly to work with.The hardest part of the job was serving some customers because they walk in the store not knowing – more... what they are looking for or what they want. The most enjoyable part of the job was having friendly conversation with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright.
Sales/Stock Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: nice co workers
Cons: managment, short hours
A typical day of work is folding clothes, tending to customers who actually need your help, keeping ht eplace clean,etc...managment at my location was horrible they didnt care about their workers, they made up they own rules and showed favoritism to others. they gave horrible hours also.the only cool thing was there was good co-workers everybody was – more... nice...overall retail is a horrible job lol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Team Leader (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONFebruary 5, 2013
Loved working at forever 21,
hard working team
fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace. Have learned alot about customer service
Cashier (Current Employee), TorontoJanuary 7, 2013
-Clean
-Help Customers
-Co-workers are friendly and easy to get along with
- I enjoy making customers happy and having leave the store feeling like they will return
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun Filled Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 2, 2013
Pros: managers were friendly
Cons: finger scan not scanning properly
When I worked there I mostly sorted the clothing, keeping my area of the workplace clean, and making sure everything was in its place. I assisted customers with their needs and answered any question they had based on a clothing item.The managers were always on the go but made sure everyone was doing their job. The co-workers were cooperating with each – more... other in order to keep the store organized for all the customers. The hardest part of the job was to assist every customer as fast as you can especially when it came to being busy. Other than that the job in general was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive Day
Sale and Cash Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 11, 2012
A typical day would begin at 9:45 during the week which I worked quite often in which I would help customers on the floor and was promoted to cashier because of customer compliments. I learned that the customers needs are important and that team work makes the dream work. I was always asked to stay later and I did I enjoyed my fellow co-workers and – more... we did are best to make the target for the day and the weel – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work for.
Sales associate. (Current Employee), Calgary, Alberta CanadaNovember 3, 2012
Let me start of by saying this review is for my store only, and i can see why people enjoy this job. Let me first talk about the way the managers treat the sales associates. The will talk to us like trash, always put us down. I've been constantly insulted by my managers, and i have heard them talking about sA in the back room. One time i called my manager – more... out on it and she told me thats not what they were talking about. I was appalled. The management calls us 'replaceable' and 'useless' when ive never seen any harder workers that the f21 girls. We work out butts off to have all the go backs under control, and to help customers. The fits at my store are so terrible to work in. They are the worst place to be on a busy day because there is no help for you what so ever. The managemtient doesn't do their figure 8's so we have constant customers comming into fits asking for us to do things for them. Another thing is cutting hours. I under stand places need to do this, but when it's a game of favorites... its a different story. If youre not favored, cutting will not be fair. They will cut 1 girls whole shift, and some other girls shifts in half, but some girls never get cut. It's totally unfair, like why not cut everyones shifts by a few hours.. Minus all these problems the sA's are wonderful, and everyone is nice. One last thing is when we have a lot stolen from us at one time, they blame everyone, and i menan call you out infront of customers. The management at f21 sucks.. Very unproffesional. I would really think twice before getting a job here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: fashion industry, meeting new people
Cons: not enough hours, not scheduled some week, isn't fun environment
A typical day starts off as you clock in and have our opening meeting of where we are placed in the store for the remainder of the night. Through the day of work we greet customers, help customers and keep our shop clean. What I've learned is that customer service is very important in the business world. I have some amazing co-workers, I have made many – more... good relationships with workers. The hardest part about working in such a enormous store is finding the proper place for a particular article of clothing, so you tend to see a lot of blended clothes which is not appealing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing environment
Visual Merchandiser (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 5, 2012
Always new challenges, and learning opportunities everyday to help expand on knowledge and growth within merchandising.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brea, CAOctober 23, 2014
they work you so hard but get paid minimum wage and also make you work overnight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again!!!
Cashier (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor management, same music, snobby people
I worked in the forever 21 in times sqaure and I hated every minute of it! The managers are horrible, the music drove people nuts, and their rules are terrible. I'm happy for my promotions but my time there was total depression.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun exiting experience, I learned a lot working at a retail store for the first time.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: understandable manager
Cons: team leader forcing more work on associates
A typical day at work was always fast paced, Forever at Sawgrass is huge and it is a popular store most love to shop at. Lots of customers come in and ask for a specific item(s) Merchandise information, Sale goals, explaining features/benefits,respect/integrity, zone coverage,greetings,teamwork and smiles. I learned a lot about retail stores and fashion/design. – more... Management were cruel but getting the job done was what mattered.My Co-workers were always careful, afraid of getting into trouble. At the time I was working I was shy and to myself, the hardest part of the job was when someone's stealing. I had to watch the thief closely, stand at the exit way to block the thiefs and ask questions. I enjoyed a new experience and increase fashion sense of style. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere to work at.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 22, 2014
Pros: getting paid.
Cons: not being paid enough.
Typical day at work would differ depending on what position I was working that day. If I worked stocked, then my day would consist of; cleaning sales floor, tracking new shipment, managing new shipment, managing the fitting rooms, unloading boxes, processing clothes, and servicing customers to make sure they feel at home.

If I worked cash wrap/registers, – more... then my day would consist of; maintaining neat racks, greeting customers, sharing my opinion, etc.

I loved my co-workers and how social everyone was. Even the customers were very chatty with you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDOctober 20, 2014
Retail can be a hard job at times, especially holidays, but work hard and you can move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,fast paced, no growth
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDOctober 20, 2014
Pros: fast pased, free lunch when on the clock
Cons: management, over working or under working employees
a regular day id open the store by prepping the food. then id ring up customers all day while going back and forth to clean the bathrooms and the lobby where people ate. Sometimes id help the food line if it got busy. id get 30 minute breaks. we also shared the tips we got from customers out of the tipjar with whomever you worked with on your shift. – more... Clsoing required cleaning the lobby bathrooms and the kitchen/ food line area and the back room.Everyone pitched in here. All five guys are different but the management at the one i worked at was not good no were the co workers. the managers would make the schedule and they gave more hours to the people they became friends with in the workplace, because whomever they felt like they could pass time with would be the people they want to work with them on their shifts. this is not to say if you were not good at your job youd get less hours, this was if the managers didnt hang with you outside of work and couldnt make certain jokes and talk to you in certain waysyou wouldnt be on the schedule much, however we wer told it was based on performance. we also had a case in the Five guys i worked in where if you were having any type of relations with any level of management,that your not even allowed to have, that youd get more hours then others and personally, got away with alot like stealing and such.This was only what i dealt with at the location i worked at mid you. other could be possibly much better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 18, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: they don't work with other jobs schedules
Customer service, customer service, customer service is very important. The best part is leaving for the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAOctober 17, 2014
Not associate focused at all. Every store looks like a sweatshop. They do not offer that much room for growth and development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLOctober 17, 2014
Pros: i was given great hours. and an easy schedule
Cons: management
I worked various shifts for this Company.

Each day was relatively easy .

if I went in at 5am. I would go to each cash wrap (3)
collect the censors, empty the trash. and dust mop each floor.
there was 2.

then I would go to the stock room and see if there was shipment that needed to be worked on/sorted

shipment came in tuesdays and thursdays
it ranged – more... from 100-1,000+ boxes of clothes make up ext.

I would usually censor or hang clothes.

there would be shifts where I would work with the visual managers on the floor hanging clothes and moving displays/mannequins.

I also worked over night shifts 9:30pm-8am

during these shifts I would help visual managers hang clothes
move displays

my job mostly consisted of organization which was heaven because
I tend to have ocd tendencies
so sorting clothes by color/brand came very easy for me.

nothing about this job was hard.

not even the heavy lifting I did every day was difficult.

The hardest thing about this job was quitting.

I felt that the company didn't know how to constructively
criticize their employees. it was more along the lines of
a manager saying
"hey can you do this for me because
i told this idiot to do it and they couldn't get it right"

I've been asked that by a manager before and I didn't think it was very professional.

I understand that forever 21 is a very popular and upbeat fashion
store but for me it lacked management I felt like i was going to highschool most days and for a 26 year old it got very old. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcoming but disorganized
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 16, 2014
Pros: team oriented
Cons: apathetic coworkers
Great team first attitude but disorganized management. Everyone takes the time to show you new ideas, but too much focus on being trendy. No true identity.